DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/07/2023was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 11, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 line4 and claim 6 line 3 recites the term “though.” This recitation appears to be a misspelling of the term “through.” Examiner suggests amending claims 4 and 6 to correct the misspelling.
Claim 11 line 2 and claim 17 line 2 recite the article “a” before the term “electrode”. This recitation appears to be a grammatical error. Examiner suggests amending claims 11 and 17 to correct the grammatical error by replacing “a” with “an.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 appears to depend on claim 2 which is categorized in a different statutory category. For the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret that claim 15 depends on claim 11. Examiner suggests amending claim 15 to depend on the proper claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halstead et al (US 6,772,932) in view of Ulrich et al (US 2007/0262058).
Regarding claim 1, Halstead discloses a method for controlling a welding machine comprising an electrode lead and a workpiece lead connectible to one of a plurality of welding platforms.
However, Halstead does not disclose the method comprising determining if the workpiece lead is connected to a desired welding platform mounting a workpiece to be welded, and only applying a welding current to the electrode lead when the workpiece lead is connected to the desired welding platform.
Nonetheless, Ulrich in the same field of endeavor being welding devices teaches determining if the workpiece lead is connected to a desired welding platform mounting a workpiece to be welded (Performed by the operator; Ulrich teaches an electrode lead (Fig. 1 #18 weld cable) and a workpiece lead (Fig. 1 #22 ground cable) both connectable to a welding platform. The operator may choose to connect or observe a workpiece lead to a mounting platform.), and only applying a welding current to the electrode lead when the workpiece lead is connected to the desired welding platform (Performed by the operator; Ulrich teaches using the electrode lead to perform a welding operation. Figs. 3-6 shows the welding operation being performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Halstead by incorporating the steps of connecting a workpiece lead to a welding platform and applying a current to the electrode lead as taught by Ulrich for the benefit of performing a welding operation.
Regarding claim 2, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Ulrich teaches wherein determining if the workpiece lead is connected to the desired welding platform comprises: a. applying a probing current to the electrode lead and contacting the electrode lead to a workpiece mounted on one of the plurality of welding platforms ([0013] lines 4-9 ---" As explained below, the power control unit 12, in some embodiments, may be configured to conduct a test current through a stud and measure some electrical parameter indicative of contact between the stud and a workpiece, such as voltage of the stud.”);
and b. monitoring current through a ground connection of each welding platform and determining that the workpiece lead is connected to the desired welding platform if less than a threshold current level is detected flowing through the ground connection of any welding platform ([0038] lines 8-11 ---" Next, a test current i.sub.test may be transmitted through the stud 26, as depicted by block 96, and it may be determined if the voltage of the stud 26 (V.sub.s) is less than the threshold voltage V.sub.t.”; A skilled artisan is capable of deriving current using Ohm’s law.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the applying of a probing current and monitoring the probing current for the benefit of determining if the electrode is in contact with the workpiece.
Regarding claim 3, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ulrich teaches comprising, if less than the threshold current level is detected flowing through the ground connection of any welding platform, ending contact between the electrode lead and the workpiece and applying the welding current to the electrode lead ([0038] lines 8-11 ---" Next, a test current i.sub.test may be transmitted through the stud 26, as depicted by block 96, and it may be determined if the voltage of the stud 26 (V.sub.s) is less than the threshold voltage V.sub.t.”; A skilled artisan is capable of deriving current using Ohm’s law.; [0024] lines 7-12 ---"In the present embodiment, after receiving the correct feedback at the power control unit 12, a solenoid in the stud drive 42 may be energized, thereby compressing the main spring and lifting the chuck 36. As the chuck 36 lifts, the stud 26 may rise perpendicularly from the workpiece 16, as depicted by arrow 54.; [0024] lines 27-32 ---"A welding current may flow to/from the power control unit 12, through the weld cable 18, through the stud 26 and into/from the workpiece 16 across an arc 56. In the present embodiment, the arc 56 heats the metal in the stud 26 and the workpiece 16 and causes localized melting.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the comparing of test currents to the threshold, and if current is below the threshold, retracting the electrode lead and applying welding current as taught by Ulrich for the benefit of performing a welding operation.
Regarding claim 5, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ulrich teaches comprising, if more than the threshold current level is detected flowing through the ground connection of any of the plurality of welding platforms, generating a connection problem alert ([0035] lines 15-22 ---" Alternatively, if V.sub.s is relatively large, for example above a threshold voltage V.sub.t, then the voltage sensor 70 may transmit a workpiece signal 76 that indicates that the stud 26 is not contacting the workpiece 16. That is, if the present voltage sensor determines that R.sub.gap is large, then the voltage sensor 70 may signal the power supply controller 66 that the stud is not contacting the workpiece 16.” A skilled artisan is capable of deriving current using Ohm’s law.).
Regarding claim 7, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ulrich teaches wherein the probing current is under 10 amps ([0029] lines 12-17 ---" In some embodiments, the low voltage power source 64 may output current less than or generally equal to 200 milliamps, 100 milliamps, 80 milliamps, 70 milliamps, 60 milliamps, 50 milliamps, 40 milliamps, 30 milliamps, 20 milliamps, or milliamps, for example.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the probing current under 10 amps as taught by Ulrich for the benefit of providing a current below the normal welding power state.
Regarding claim 9, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the threshold current level is 20% of the probing current.
Nonetheless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a threshold current level being 20% of the probing current, since applicant has not disclosed that having a threshold current level being 20% of the probing current solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a threshold current sufficient enough to be detected by a current sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Halstead teaches wherein the welding machine (Fig. 2 #58 welding head) is part of a robotic welding system (Fig. 2 #50 robot assembly).
Regarding claim 11, Halstead discloses a welding system comprising:
b. a plurality of welding platforms (Fig. 1 #42 pair of tables), each welding platform having a workpiece mounted thereon (Col. 2 lines 25-26 ---" In operation, one or more work pieces are positioned in predetermined locations on one or more work tables.”).
However, Halstead does not disclose a. a welding machine having a electrode lead and a workpiece lead; and, c. a platform sensing circuit configured to determine if the workpiece lead is connected to a desired welding platform mounting a workpiece to be welded.
Nonetheless, Ulrich teaches a. a welding machine having a electrode lead (Fig. 1 #18 weld cable) and a workpiece lead (Fig. 1 #22 ground cable);
and c. a platform sensing circuit (Fig. 1 #12 power control unit) configured to determine if the workpiece lead is connected to a desired welding platform mounting a workpiece to be welded ([0013] lines 4-9 ---" As explained below, the power control unit 12, in some embodiments, may be configured to conduct a test current through a stud and measure some electrical parameter indicative of contact between the stud and a workpiece, such as voltage of the stud.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding machine of Halstead by incorporating the electrode and workpiece leads and the sensing circuit as taught by Ulrich for the benefit of determining the presence of a workpiece on a work table.
Regarding claim 12, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the welding machine as appears above (see the rejection of claim 11), and Halstead teaches a plurality of sensors (Fig. 3 # 60 sensors).
However, Halstead does not teach the sensors being current sensors,
Nonetheless, Ulrich teaches wherein the platform sensing circuit (Fig. 1 #12 power control unit) comprises a probing current source (Fig. 1 #15 electronics) connected between the electrode lead (Fig. 1 #18 weld cable) and the workpiece lead (Fig. 1 #22 ground cable), and a current sensor ([0029] lines 17-22 ---"Alternatively, or additionally, the workpiece sensor 68 may include a low voltage power source and an impedance sensor, a current sensor, or some other sensor configured to detect feedback indicative of if the low voltage power source 72 is electrically connected to the workpiece 16.”), each current sensor connected to measure current through a ground connection of one of the plurality of welding platforms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding machine of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the probing current source and current sensor as taught by Ulrich for the benefit of sensing the presence of a workpiece of a work table.
Regarding claim 15, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the welding machine as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ulrich teaches wherein the probing current source is configured to generate a probing current of under 10 amps ([0029] lines 12-17 ---" In some embodiments, the low voltage power source 64 may output current less than or generally equal to 200 milliamps, 100 milliamps, 80 milliamps, 70 milliamps, 60 milliamps, 50 milliamps, 40 milliamps, 30 milliamps, 20 milliamps, or milliamps, for example.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding machine of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the probing current under than 10 amps as taught by Ulrich for the benefit providing a current below the normal welding power state.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halstead et al (US 6,772,932) in view of Ulrich et al (US 2007/0262058) as applied to claim 2, further in view of Bailey et al (US 5,245,495).
Regarding claim 8, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the threshold current level is 0.5 amps.
Nonetheless, Bailey which solves the same problem of setting a threshold at which the next operation is performed teaches wherein the threshold current level is 0.5 amps (Col. 12 lines 63-66 ---" The signal on line 61 has a predetermined constant magnitude K3 corresponding to the deration threshold level of IGND (e.g., approximately 0.5 ampere).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the current threshold as taught by Bailey for the benefit of determining which operation should proceed.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halstead et al (US 6,772,932) in view of Ulrich et al (US 2007/0262058) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Daniel et al (US 2019/0163172).
Regarding claim 13, Halstead in view of Ulrich teaches the welding machine as appears above (see the rejection of claim 12), but does not teach wherein the probing current source comprises a voltage source and a power resistor.
Nonetheless, Daniel in the same field of endeavor being welding device teaches wherein the probing current source comprises a voltage source and a power resistor (Shown in the figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding machine of Halstead in view of Ulrich by incorporating the probing current source as taught by Daniel for the benefit of sensing current through the ground cable.
Regarding claim 14, Halstead in view of Ulrich and Daniel teaches the welding machine as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), and Ulrich teaches wherein the probing current source comprises a voltage monitor (Fig. 7 #70 voltage sensor) connected to monitor the voltage across the power resistor for confirming that the probing current is being applied to the electrode lead ([0030] lines 12-15 ---" In the present embodiment of a workpiece sensor 68, the voltage sensor 70 is disposed in series between the weld cable 18 and the ground cable 22 and in parallel with the power supply 64 and R.sub.gap.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding machine of Halstead in view of Ulrich and Daniel by incorporating the probing current source as taught by Daniel for the benefit of sensing current through the ground cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest automatically connecting the workpiece lead to a selected one of the plurality of welding platforms with current flowing towards ground though the ground connection and disconnecting the workpiece lead from the other welding platforms,
the connection problem alert identifies the desired welding platform of the plurality of welding platforms as the one with current flowing towards ground though the ground connection to be connected to the workpiece lead,
or an automatic platform switching assembly comprising a plurality of switches, each switch selectively connecting one of the plurality of welding platforms to the workpiece lead, and a controller controlling the plurality of switches.
Claim 17 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest an automatic platform switching assembly comprising a plurality of switches, each switch selectively connecting one of the plurality of welding platforms to the workpiece lead, and a controller controlling the plurality of switches.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761