DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and the following species of (A), (B), and (C) in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group II is a use of Group I, and therefore, unity of invention exists, which is not persuasive. As stated in restriction/election requirement dated 09/11/2025 the technical features of components (A) and (B) are not novel and do not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) and Stierli et al. (WO 2017/055473 A1). As such, the common features shared by groups of inventions/species listed above cannot be considered "special technical features”.
The restriction/election requirement is deemed proper and made Final.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1) in view of Stierli et al. (WO 2017/055473 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Loy discloses a compound of Formula (I) for use in a fungicidal composition (abstract; pg. 101; [0005]).
Loy does not disclose component (B), such as N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5- (trifluoromethyl)- 1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl] cyclopropanecarboxamide.
Stierli teaches microbiocidal oxadiazole derivatives, such as N-methoxy-N-[[4-[5- (trifluoromethyl)- 1,2,4-oxadiazol-3-yl]phenyl]methyl] cyclopropanecarboxamide (pg. 91, hereinafter “Cmpd 1.2”) and teaches their use as a pesticide, especially as a fungicide in agrochemical compositions (abstract; pg. 1, lines 1-5).
Stierli teaches that the oxadiazole derivatives control or prevent infestation of plants, harvested food crops, seeds or non-living materials by fungi (pg. 1, lines 1-9).
Since Loy generally teaches a fungicidal composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include Cmpd 1.2, within the teachings of Loy, because Stierli teaches this oxadiazole derivative in an agrochemical composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use Cmpd 1.2 because Stierli teaches that the oxadiazole derivatives control or prevent infestation of plants, harvested food crops, seeds or non-living materials by fungi (pg. 1, lines 1-9).
Claims 2-3 are rendered prima facie obvious because Loy discloses the compounds are combined with other fungicides, such as prothioconazole, to form fungicidal mixtures [0039].
Claims 4-11 are rendered prima facie obvious because Loy discloses the compound of Formula (I) is present in compositions in an amount of 10 to 90 percent by weight [0030]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include Cmpd 1.2 within the teachings of Loy as previously discussed and Stierli teaches the active agent (i.e., Cmpd 1.2) in an amount of 0.01 to 90% by weight (pg. 51, line 36). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the amount of the compound of Formula (I) and Cmpd 1.2 have been taught by the prior art (Loy and Stierli); as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum ratio via routine experimentation to achieve the desired fungicidal effect.
Claim 12 is rendered prima facie obvious because Loy discloses the composition further includes an agriculturally acceptable carrier [0005] [0026].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 13-25 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/252,110.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-28 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/594,263.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the species (composition with components (A), (B), and (C)) recited in the claims of the copending application falls within the genus (composition) recited in the claims of the instant application, and thus reads on the instant claims.
The weight ratio of the components, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,501,425 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,899,724 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,066,375 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,180,462 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,974,572 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,264,138 in view of Loy et al. (WO 2019/173665 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for a compound of formula (I).
Loy teaches a compound of Formula (I) for use in a fungicidal composition (abstract; Cmpd. 278, pg. 101; [0005]). Loy teaches the compounds have been found to have significant fungicidal effect particularly for agricultural use [0043].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a compound of formula (I), within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition to include a compound of Formula (I) because Loy teaches the compounds have been found to have significant fungicidal effect particularly for agricultural use [0043].
The weight ratio of the components, as recited in the instant claims, would be achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612