DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-12, 14-16, 20, 22, 24-25, and 29-32 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, 11, 12, 14, 22, 24, 25, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 6, 8, 10, 13, 17-19, 21, 23, and 26-28 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/02/2026 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 14-16, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200154476 A1), hereinafter Kim , in view of Fang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20120236822 A1), hereinafter Fang, and further in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160066257 A1), hereinafter Liu.
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches A communication method, performed by an access point, the method comprising:
determining a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises first information associated with spatial reuse of multiple links supported by the access point ([0220], AP (AP 1) transmits a trigger frame that requests UL MU transmission to a plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2). the trigger frame include trigger information (or configuration information) for supporting the UL MU transmission of a STA and SR indication information (or one or more first SR support parameter values) for indicating the SR of OBSS AP/STA (AP 2/STA 3) and generating SR support information (or one or more second SR support parameter values)), and the first information is used for spatial reuse in data interaction between the access point and a station ([0243], The SR indication information may be generated (or configured) by taking into consideration the worst case in which a link that belongs to links between an AP and STAs that will perform UL transmission and that has the worst link quality or is most sensitive to interference); and
sending the first message frame ([0220], AP (AP 1) transmits a trigger frame that requests UL MU transmission to a plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2).
Kim does not explicitly teach receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Fang teaches receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station ([0008], receiving, a third message from a mobile station, indicating that the mobile station supports the advanced RC capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang, receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim, in order to allow base stations having different protocol versions interoperate with mobile stations (Fang, [0007]).
The combination of Kim and Fang does not explicitly teach a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Liu teaches a spatial reuse capability of the station ([0027], a spatial reuse capability of the STA_12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a spatial reuse capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim and Fang, in order to o enhance the average throughput per station in a wireless network by optimizing spatial reuse (Liu, [0010]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the first information comprises a spatial reuse parameter set element ([0220])
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 2. Kim teaches wherein the first message frame comprises wherein the first message frame comprises a Multi-Link element, and the spatial reuse parameter set element is comprised in the Multi-Link element ([0220]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 2. Kim teaches wherein the spatial reuse parameter set element is set to be identical for each of the multiple links ([0223]).
With respect to claim 14, Kim teaches A communication method, performed by a station, the method comprising:
receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises first information associated with spatial reuse of multiple links supported by an access point ([0220], AP (AP 1) transmits a trigger frame that requests UL MU transmission to a plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2). the trigger frame include trigger information (or configuration information) for supporting the UL MU transmission of a STA and SR indication information (or one or more first SR support parameter values) for indicating the SR of OBSS AP/STA (AP 2/STA 3) and generating SR support information (or one or more second SR support parameter values)), and the first information is used for spatial reuse in data interaction between the access point and the station ([0243], The SR indication information may be generated (or configured) by taking into consideration the worst case in which a link that belongs to links between an AP and STAs that will perform UL transmission and that has the worst link quality or is most sensitive to interference);
performing a communication operation based on the first information ([0222], the plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2) send an UL MU PPDU (e.g., an HE trigger-based PPDU, an UL MU frame), generated based on the received trigger frame, to the AP (AP 1) (S920)).
Kim does not explicitly teach sending a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Fang teaches sending a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station ([0008], receiving, a third message from a mobile station, indicating that the mobile station supports the advanced RC capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang, sending a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim, in order to allow base stations having different protocol versions interoperate with mobile stations (Fang, [0007]).
The combination of Kim and Fang does not explicitly teach a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Liu teaches a spatial reuse capability of the station ([0027], a spatial reuse capability of the STA_12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a spatial reuse capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim and Fang, in order to o enhance the average throughput per station in a wireless network by optimizing spatial reuse (Liu, [0010]).
With respect to claim 15, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 16, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 29, Kim teaches An access point, comprising:
a processor ([0271], processor); and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor ([0271], memory); wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises first information associated with spatial reuse of multiple links supported by the access point ([0220], AP (AP 1) transmits a trigger frame that requests UL MU transmission to a plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2). the trigger frame include trigger information (or configuration information) for supporting the UL MU transmission of a STA and SR indication information (or one or more first SR support parameter values) for indicating the SR of OBSS AP/STA (AP 2/STA 3) and generating SR support information (or one or more second SR support parameter values)), and the first information is used for spatial reuse in data interaction between the access point and a station ([0243], The SR indication information may be generated (or configured) by taking into consideration the worst case in which a link that belongs to links between an AP and STAs that will perform UL transmission and that has the worst link quality or is most sensitive to interference); and
send the first message frame ([0220], AP (AP 1) transmits a trigger frame that requests UL MU transmission to a plurality of STAs (STA 1 and 2).
Kim does not explicitly teach receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Fang teaches receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station ([0008], receiving, a third message from a mobile station, indicating that the mobile station supports the advanced RC capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang, receiving a third message frame, wherein the third message frame comprises third information for indicating capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim, in order to allow base stations having different protocol versions interoperate with mobile stations (Fang, [0007]).
The combination of Kim and Fang does not explicitly teach a spatial reuse capability of the station.
However, Liu teaches a spatial reuse capability of the station ([0027], a spatial reuse capability of the STA_12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu, a spatial reuse capability of the station, into the teachings of Kim and Fang, in order to o enhance the average throughput per station in a wireless network by optimizing spatial reuse (Liu, [0010]).
With respect to claim 30, this claim recites the method of claim 1, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 31, this claim recites the method of claim 14, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 32, this claim recites the method of claim 14, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Fang, in view of Liu, and further in view of KNECKT et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210076437 A1), hereinafter KNECKT.
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 2. Kim teaches the first information as set forth above. The combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu does not explicitly teach link identifications, and the link identifications correspond to the multiple links respectively.
However, KNECKT teaches link identifications, and the link identifications correspond to the multiple links respectively (fig. 7, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KNECKT, link identifications, and the link identifications correspond to the multiple links respectively, into the teachings of Kim, Fang, and Liu, in order to support multilink devices (MLDs) that can operate concurrently in more than one link such as extremely high throughput (EHT) access points (APs) and EHT stations (STA) (KNECKT, abstract).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Fang, in view of Liu, and further in view of VERMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170325178 A1), hereinafter VERMA.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 3. Kim teaches wherein the Multi-Link element as set forth above. The combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu does not explicitly teach a field of common information, and the spatial reuse parameter set element is comprised in the field of common information.
However, VERMA teaches a field of common information (fig. 3A, [0053]), and the spatial reuse parameter set element is comprised in the field of common information (fig. 3A, [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of VERMA, a field of common information, and the spatial reuse parameter set element is comprised in the field of common information, into the teachings of Kim, Fang, and Liu, in order to utilize a single per-user information field of the trigger to signal a plurality of random access resource units that may be allocated to the one or more STAs in the network (STA) (VERMA, [0006]).
With respect to claim 20, this claim recites the method of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 9, 11-12, 22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Fang, in view of Liu, and further in view of ZHOU et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170325254 A1), hereinafter ZHOU.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 1. The combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu does not explicitly teach determining and sending a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises second information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the access point.
However, ZHOU teaches determining and sending a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises second information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the access point ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU, determining and sending a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises second information for indicating a spatial reuse capability of the access point, into the teachings of Kim, Fang, and Liu, in order to improve throughput and latency of communications by the STA with other nodes (ZHOU, [0048]).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu teaches the method of claim 1. The combination of Kim, Fang, and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein any one of the second information and the third information comprises at least one of: a first indicator for indicating whether a parameterized spatial reuse responder is supported.
However, ZHOU teaches wherein any one of the second information and the third information comprises at least one of: a first indicator for indicating whether a parameterized spatial reuse responder is supported ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU, wherein any one of the second information and the third information comprises at least one of: a first indicator for indicating whether a parameterized spatial reuse responder is supported, into the teachings of Kim, Fang, and Liu, in order to improve throughput and latency of communications by the STA with other nodes (ZHOU, [0048]).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Kim, Fang, Liu, and ZHOU teaches the method of claim 11. Kim teaches a Multi-Link element, and at least one of the first indicator or the second indicator is comprised in the Multi-Link element ([0220]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the second message frame.
However, ZHOU teaches the second message frame ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU, the second message frame, into the teachings of Kim, Fang, Liu, in order to improve throughput and latency of communications by the STA with other nodes (ZHOU, [0048]).
With respect to claim 22, this claim recites the method of claim 9, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 24, this claim recites the method of claim 11, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 25, this claim recites the method of claim 12, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469