DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 01/28/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 16, 20 and 25 have been amended, and claims 2-15, 17-19, 21-24 and 26-30 were previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/28/2026 have been fully considered they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that
The Office Action fails to teach “receiving, from the second UE, one or more additional CSF parameters of one or more second beams that are associated with the second UE and selected based on the one or more beam coefficients in response to transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE”, (Pages 11-12, Remarks).
In response to A) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gulati explicitly discloses, Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive, from the second UE, feedback information (new additional CSF parameters) about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0058]-[0059], [0066] states “a set of precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504 “ and [0071], lines 1-5 describes the first UE can use the feedback that received from the second UE, (such as PMI, set of precoders, channel estimation, and rank indicator (RI), which can be used to obtain the required new beam coefficients)). Fig. 8 is clearly depicted this process, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, which select the best beam according to the beam coefficients. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component (part of beam coefficients)) which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28.
Harrison also confirms that the CSF (which is the feedback of the CSI as stated in [0013], lines 9-10, [0059], lines 1-5, and [0065]) can be used to determine the beam coefficients, such as a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), beam power, beam rotation and CQI. Moreover, [0097]-[0099] describes how the precoder structure includes the beam cophasing coefficients. Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
The Office Action fails to teach “selecting one or more new beam coefficients for the first UE based on at least the one or more additional CSF parameters of the one or more second beams associated with the second UE”, (Pages 11-12, Remarks).
In response to B) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gulati explicitly discloses at [0090]-[0091] in response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38. Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
The Office Action fails to teach “selecting one or more beams of the second UE for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients associated with at least the first UE”, (Page 13, Remarks).
In response to C) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gulati explicitly discloses at[0032], Fig. 4, [0049], “ As illustrated in FIG. 4, the UEs may transmit and receive beamformed signals. For example, UE 410 may receive a beamformed signal from the UE 404 in one or more receive directions 424a, 424b, 424c, 424d, 424e. UE 404 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the in one or more of the directions 420a, 420b, 420c, 420d. The UE 404, 410 may perform beam training to determine the best receive and transmit directions. “ which is part of beam coefficients , and states in [0091], “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE”, where the precoders are directly related to beamforming using beam coefficients. ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38. Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
The remaining claims are dependent on one of independent claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 are allowable over the art of record for at least reasons similar to those presented for claims 1, 10, 16, and 25. (Page 14, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14, 16-20, 22-23, 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US- 20200007247 A1) in view of Harrison et al. (US-20180279293 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Gulati teaches A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE) (Figs. 1,3-5, describe the wireless communication between two wireless devices UEs and Figs. 6-7 illustrates the method of wireless communication between two UEs, as mention in [0022] and [0068]), comprising selecting one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0050], the UE select the CSF parameters as a feedback “the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback.” these feedback are used to determine the optimal beam coefficients, where PMI indicates the preferred precoding matrix for beamforming , claim1, CQI used for adjust the beam coefficient as described in [0064], [0088] highlights “adjusting the CQI feedback may include adjusting ACK/NACK feedback. For example, the CQI feedback may be adjusted based on a formula such as CQI=(1−α)*(feedback CQI)+α*(predicted CQI). The coefficient α may be varied based on ACK/NACK reception from the second UE”, which is challenge condition in V2X communication as states in [0006], as in [0061], RI can be used to determine the special characteristics of the channel and based on that the UE can adjust the beam coefficients to optimize the transmission at the certain channel conditions [0054], lines 17-19), transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least a second UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], where these parameters (feedback) are used to derive beam coefficients and then for beamforming process [0050] “ the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback. “, [0032], although beamformed signals are illustrated between UE 104 and base station 102/180, aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication”); receiving, from the second UE, one or more additional CSF parameters of one or more second beams that are associated with the second UE and selected based on the one or more beam coefficients in response to transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE (Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive, from the second UE, feedback information (new additional CSF parameters) about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0058]-[0059], [0066] states “a set of precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504 “ and [0071], lines 1-5 describes the first UE can use the feedback that received from the second UE, (such as PMI, set of precoders, channel estimation, and rank indicator (RI), which can be used to obtain the required new beam coefficients)). Fig. 8 is clearly depicted this process, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, which select the best beam according to the beam coefficients. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component (part of beam coefficients) )which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28); selecting one or more new beam coefficients for the first UE based on at least the one or more additional CSF parameters of the one or more second beams associated with the second UE; ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38); and sending a transmission using one or more beams associated with at least the one or more new beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE.
However, Harrison teaches determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE (claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters, as states in [0328], which describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”, “functions described herein as being performed by a wireless device or a network node may be distributed over a plurality of wireless devices and/or network nodes.” [0175], [0172], “Examples of a wireless device are user equipment (UE), target device, device to device (D2D) wireless device, machine type wireless device or wireless device capable of machine to machine (M2M) communication” That means it is applicable for V2X, V2V, or D2D communication);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Harrison further teaches selecting one or more ports for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients (Fig. 9, [0051], lines 1-3, [0013], lines 9-10, [0073], lines 5-7, the precoder matrix , which includes beam coefficients , is used to select the port for beamforming [0083], lines 1-5 , [0099], lines 1-4, the figure illustrates how precoder elements are mapped to antenna port, beam coefficients like cophasing factors and amplitude scaling are used to create the precoder matrices which define how signals distributed across antenna ports to form the beams [0048], lines 1-5, [0180], [0328], describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Harrison further teaches wherein selecting the one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters comprises selecting one or more precoders associated with the one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0337], lines 1-6, [0345], lines 6-9, [0099], lines 1-4, and [0098], the precoders are selected based on the beam coefficients (the general precoder structure for precoding matrix w is constructed using beam coefficients that derived from the CSF parameters ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Gulati further teaches wherein selecting the one or more new beam coefficients is also based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.”, This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA” step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091]);.
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Harrison further teaches selecting one or more new ports for beamforming based on the one or more new beam coefficients (Fig. 9, [0051], lines 1-3, [0013], lines 9-10, [0073], lines 5-7, the precoder matrix , which includes beam coefficients , is used to select the port for beamforming [0083], lines 1-5 , [0099], lines 1-4, the figure illustrates how precoder elements are mapped to antenna port, beam coefficients like cophasing factors and amplitude scaling are used to create the precoder matrices which define how signals distributed across antenna ports to form the beams [0048], lines 1-5, [0180], [0328], describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Harrison further teaches wherein the one or more CSF parameters are codebook based and include a report that includes at least one of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) ([0048], lines 5-9 and [0061], the PMI and other indicators are included in the CSI/CSF report sent by the wireless device), channel quality information (CQI), rank indication (RI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or an indication of at least one wideband (WB) beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Gulati teaches after sending the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE, repeating, based on the control signal ([0066], lines 17-27, states “UE 502 may cycle though those precoders over the bandwidth of the second transmission 520. For example, a set of beams/precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504. …. the first UE 502 may cycle every tone as Open Loop Spatial Multiplexing (OLSM), or the first UE 502 may perform sub-band based cycling. For example, control signaling from the first UE 502 may indicate the precoders being cycled though”): selecting one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0050], the UE select the CSF parameters as a feedback “the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback.” these feedback are used to determine the optimal beam coefficients, where PMI indicates the preferred precoding matrix for beamforming , claim1, CQI used for adjust the beam coefficient as described in [0064], [0088] highlights “adjusting the CQI feedback may include adjusting ACK/NACK feedback. For example, the CQI feedback may be adjusted based on a formula such as CQI=(1−α)*(feedback CQI)+α*(predicted CQI). The coefficient α may be varied based on ACK/NACK reception from the second UE”, which is challenge condition in V2X communication as states in [0006], as in [0061], RI can be used to determine the special characteristics of the channel and based on that the UE can adjust the beam coefficients to optimize the transmission at the certain channel conditions [0054], lines 17-19), transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); receive one or more additional CSF parameters from the second UE in response to transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE (Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive feedback information about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0050], lines 1-4 and [0071], lines 1-5 , which is clearly depicted in Fig.8, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE); select one or more new beam coefficients based on at least the one or more additional CSF parameters, ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.”, This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA” step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091]); and send a transmission using one or more beams associated with at least the one or more new beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach receiving a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, medium, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI); and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE.
However, Harrison teaches receiving a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0178], [0198], lines 1-3, the CSI report is carried on UL-SCH (in a MAC control element or RRC) for triggering the CSI reporting and related operations), access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, medium, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI);
and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE (claims 24 the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Gulati teaches a method for wireless communication by a second user equipment (UE) (Figs. 1,3-5, describe the wireless communication between two wireless devices UEs and Figs. 6-7 illustrates the method of wireless communication between two UEs, as mention in [0022] and [0068]); receiving one or more beam coefficients associated with at least a first UE of one or more UEs, from at least the first UE (Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive feedback information about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0050], lines 1-4 and [0071], lines 1-5 , which is clearly depicted in Fig. 8, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE); selecting one or more beams of the second UE for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients associated with at least the first UE ([0032], Fig. 4, [0049], “ As illustrated in FIG. 4, the UEs may transmit and receive beamformed signals. For example, UE 410 may receive a beamformed signal from the UE 404 in one or more receive directions 424a, 424b, 424c, 424d, 424e. UE 404 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the in one or more of the directions 420a, 420b, 420c, 420d. The UE 404, 410 may perform beam training to determine the best receive and transmit directions. “ which is part of beam coefficients , and states in [0091], “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE”, where the precoders are directly related to beamforming using beam coefficients. ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38); transmitting the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); and receiving a transmission using one or more beams associated with the one or more CSF parameters from the first UE([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of the one or more beams of the second UE that are associated with the one or more beam coefficients
However, Harrison teaches determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of the one or more beams associated with the one or more beam coefficients(claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters, as states in [0328], which describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”, “functions described herein as being performed by a wireless device or a network node may be distributed over a plurality of wireless devices and/or network nodes.” [0175], [0172], “Examples of a wireless device are user equipment (UE), target device, device to device (D2D) wireless device, machine type wireless device or wireless device capable of machine to machine (M2M) communication”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 11 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 10.
Gulati teaches wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients associated with the first UE comprises receiving one or more precoders associated with the one or more beam coefficients ([0061], lines 7-10, states “this determination can be done performed by a transmitting UE (e.g., UE 502), a receiving UE (e.g., UE 504), or jointly by both the transmitting and receiving UE”, [0066], states “the precoder may be adapted based on a predicted location of the first UE 502, the predicted location of the second UE 504, and a predicted AoA to the second UE.”, as supported by 5B and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 10.
Gulati further teaches after receiving the transmission using one or more beams associated with the one or more CSF parameters from the first UE, repeating, based on the control signal ([0066], lines 17-27, states “UE 502 may cycle though those precoders over the bandwidth of the second transmission 520. For example, a set of beams/precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504. …. the first UE 502 may cycle every tone as Open Loop Spatial Multiplexing (OLSM), or the first UE 502 may perform sub-band based cycling. For example, control signaling from the first UE 502 may indicate the precoders being cycled though”): receiving one or more beam coefficients associated with at least the first UE of the one or more UEs ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], where these parameters (feedback) are used to derive beam coefficients and then for beamforming process [0050] “ the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback. “, [0032], although beamformed signals are illustrated between UE 104 and base station 102/180, aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication”); selecting one or more beams for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients ([0032], Fig. 4, [0049], “ As illustrated in FIG. 4, the UEs may transmit and receive beamformed signals. For example, UE 410 may receive a beamformed signal from the UE 404 in one or more receive directions 424a, 424b, 424c, 424d, 424e. UE 404 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the in one or more of the directions 420a, 420b, 420c, 420d. The UE 404, 410 may perform beam training to determine the best receive and transmit directions. “, and states in [0091], “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE”, where the precoders are directly related to beamforming using beam coefficients);, transmitting the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); and receiving a transmission using one or more beams associated with the one or more CSF parameters from the first UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach receiving a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI); and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the one or more beam coefficients
However, Harrison teaches receiving a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0178], [0198], lines 1-3, the CSI report is carried on UL-SCH (in a MAC control element or RRC) for triggering the CSI reporting and related operations), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI);
determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the one or more beam coefficients (claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 10.
Harrison further teaches wherein the one or more CSF parameters are codebook based and include a report that includes at least one of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) ([0048], lines 5-9 and [0061], the PMI and other indicators are included in the CSI/CSF report sent by the wireless device), channel quality information (CQI), rank indication (RI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or an indication of at least one wideband (WB) beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication in a wireless communication network (Figs. 1,3-5, describe the wireless communication between two wireless devices UEs and Figs. 6-7 illustrates the method of wireless communication between two UEs, as mention in [0022] and [0068]) comprising: a wireless transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory (Figs. 3 and 9, [0100]-[0101], Figs. 12 and 14 illustrate The processing system 914 may be coupled to a transceiver 910, and the transmission component 806, and based on the received information, generates a signal to be applied to the one or more antennas 920. The processing system 914 includes a processor 904 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 906) , wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0101], “The processing system 914 may be a component of the UE 350 and may include the memory 360 and/or at least one of the TX processor 368, the RX processor 356, and the controller/processor 359. Alternately, the processing system 914 may comprise the entire UE 350”): select one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0050], the UE select the CSF parameters as a feedback “the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback.” these feedback are used to determine the optimal beam coefficients, where PMI indicates the preferred precoding matrix for beamforming , claim1, CQI used for adjust the beam coefficient as described in [0064], [0088] highlights “adjusting the CQI feedback may include adjusting ACK/NACK feedback. For example, the CQI feedback may be adjusted based on a formula such as CQI=(1−α)*(feedback CQI)+α*(predicted CQI). The coefficient α may be varied based on ACK/NACK reception from the second UE”, which is challenge condition in V2X communication as states in [0006], as in [0061], RI can be used to determine the special characteristics of the channel and based on that the UE can adjust the beam coefficients to optimize the transmission at the certain channel conditions [0054], lines 17-19), transmit the one or more beam coefficients to at least a second UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], where these parameters (feedback) are used to derive beam coefficients and then for beamforming process [0050] “ the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback. “, [0032], although beamformed signals are illustrated between UE 104 and base station 102/180, aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication”); receive, from the second UE, one or more additional CSF parameters of one or more second beams that are associated with the second UE and selected based on the one or more beam coefficients in response to transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE ((Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive, from the second UE, feedback information (new additional CSF parameters) about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0058]-[0059], [0066] states “a set of precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504 “ and [0071], lines 1-5 describes the first UE can use the feedback that received from the second UE, (such as PMI, set of precoders, channel estimation, and rank indicator (RI), which can be used to obtain the required new beam coefficients)). Fig. 8 is clearly depicted the process, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, which select the best beam according to the beam coefficients. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component (part of beam coefficients) )which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28); select one or more new beam coefficients for the first UE based on at least the one or more additional CSF parameters of the one or more second beams associated with the second UE ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38); and send a transmission using one or more beams associated with at least the one or more new beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach determine one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE
However, Harrison teaches determine one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE (claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters, as states in [0328], which describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”, “functions described herein as being performed by a wireless device or a network node may be distributed over a plurality of wireless devices and/or network nodes.” [0175], [0172], “Examples of a wireless device are user equipment (UE), target device, device to device (D2D) wireless device, machine type wireless device or wireless device capable of machine to machine (M2M) communication”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Harrison further teaches select one or more ports for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients (Fig. 9, [0051], lines 1-3, [0013], lines 9-10, [0073], lines 5-7, the precoder matrix , which includes beam coefficients , is used to select the port for beamforming [0083], lines 1-5 , [0099], lines 1-4, the figure illustrates how precoder elements are mapped to antenna port, beam coefficients like cophasing factors and amplitude scaling are used to create the precoder matrices which define how signals distributed across antenna ports to form the beams [0048], lines 1-5, [0180], [0328], describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Harrison further teaches wherein selecting the one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters comprises selecting one or more precoders associated with the one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0337], lines 1-6, [0345], lines 6-9, [0099], lines 1-4, and [0098], the precoders are selected based on the beam coefficients (the general precoder structure for precoding matrix w is constructed using beam coefficients that derived from the CSF parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 19 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Gulati further teaches wherein selecting the one or more new beam coefficients is also based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.”, This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA” step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091]).
Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Harrison further teaches select one or more new ports for beamforming based on the one or more new beam coefficients (Fig. 9, [0051], lines 1-3, [0013], lines 9-10, [0073], lines 5-7, the precoder matrix , which includes beam coefficients , is used to select the port for beamforming [0083], lines 1-5 , [0099], lines 1-4, the figure illustrates how precoder elements are mapped to antenna port, beam coefficients like cophasing factors and amplitude scaling are used to create the precoder matrices which define how signals distributed across antenna ports to form the beams [0048], lines 1-5, [0180], [0328], describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 22 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Harrison further teaches wherein the one or more CSF parameters are codebook based and include a report that includes at least one of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) ([0048], lines 5-9 and [0061], the PMI and other indicators are included in the CSI/CSF report sent by the wireless device), channel quality information (CQI), rank indication (RI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or an indication of at least one wideband (WB) beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Gulati teaches after transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE, repeat, based on the control signal ([0066], lines 17-27, states “UE 502 may cycle though those precoders over the bandwidth of the second transmission 520. For example, a set of beams/precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504. …. the first UE 502 may cycle every tone as Open Loop Spatial Multiplexing (OLSM), or the first UE 502 may perform sub-band based cycling. For example, control signaling from the first UE 502 may indicate the precoders being cycled though”): selecting one or more beam coefficients based on the one or more CSF parameters ([0050], the UE select the CSF parameters as a feedback “the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback.” these feedback are used to determine the optimal beam coefficients, where PMI indicates the preferred precoding matrix for beamforming , claim1, CQI used for adjust the beam coefficient as described in [0064], [0088] highlights “adjusting the CQI feedback may include adjusting ACK/NACK feedback. For example, the CQI feedback may be adjusted based on a formula such as CQI=(1−α)*(feedback CQI)+α*(predicted CQI). The coefficient α may be varied based on ACK/NACK reception from the second UE”, which is challenge condition in V2X communication as states in [0006], as in [0061], RI can be used to determine the special characteristics of the channel and based on that the UE can adjust the beam coefficients to optimize the transmission at the certain channel conditions [0054], lines 17-19), transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); receiving one or more additional CSF parameters from the second UE in response to transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE (Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive feedback information about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0050], lines 1-4 and [0071], lines 1-5 , which is clearly depicted in Fig.8, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE); selecting one or more new beam coefficients based on at least the one or more additional CSF parameters, ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.”, This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA” step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091]); and sending a transmission using one or more beams associated with at least the one or more new beam coefficients to at least the second UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach receive a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, medium, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI); and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE.
However, Harrison teaches receive a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0178], [0198], lines 1-3, the CSI report is carried on UL-SCH (in a MAC control element or RRC) for triggering the CSI reporting and related operations), access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, medium, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI);
and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the first UE (claims 24 the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), Gulati teaches a second user equipment (UE) for wireless communication in a wireless communication network (Figs. 1,3-5, describe the wireless communication between two wireless devices UEs and Figs. 6-7 illustrates the method of wireless communication between two UEs, as mention in [0022] and [0068]) comprising: a wireless transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory (Figs. 3 and 9, [0100]-[0101], Figs. 12 and 14 illustrate The processing system 914 may be coupled to a transceiver 910, and the transmission component 806, and based on the received information, generates a signal to be applied to the one or more antennas 920. The processing system 914 includes a processor 904 coupled to a computer-readable medium/memory 906), wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0101], “The processing system 914 may be a component of the UE 350 and may include the memory 360 and/or at least one of the TX processor 368, the RX processor 356, and the controller/processor 359. Alternately, the processing system 914 may comprise the entire UE 350”): receive one or more beam coefficients associated with at least a first UE of one or more UEs, from at least the first UE (Fig. 5B, the first UE can receive feedback information about the channel, PMI, RI, from the second UE after receiving the first transmission from the first UE, as illustrated in steps 505, 507, and 518, [0050], lines 1-4 and [0071], lines 1-5 , which is clearly depicted in Fig. 8, transmitting and receiving component of the first UE), select one or more beams of the second UE for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients associated with at least the first UE ([0032], Fig. 4, [0049], “ As illustrated in FIG. 4, the UEs may transmit and receive beamformed signals. For example, UE 410 may receive a beamformed signal from the UE 404 in one or more receive directions 424a, 424b, 424c, 424d, 424e. UE 404 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the in one or more of the directions 420a, 420b, 420c, 420d. The UE 404, 410 may perform beam training to determine the best receive and transmit directions. “ which is part of beam coefficients , and states in [0091], “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE”, where the precoders are directly related to beamforming using beam coefficients. ([0090]-[0091], In response to the feedback received from the second UE, as describe in Fig. 7, step 714, “the first UE may adapt (select) the precoder to rotate a PMI feedback precoder (which is part of CSF parameters, [0050], lines 12-15) that is based on a predicted change in an AoA relative to the second UE.” [0066] describes the set of beams/precoders may be derived based on an expected range of a predicted location. This process is part of predictive link adaptation [0053], “Adapt a precoder based on a predicted location of the first UE and second UE, and/or a predicted AOA”, where these feedback parameters can be used to derive the beam coefficients using the techniques like the Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) in DFT beamforming [0054]. [0032] describes using the beamforming to transmit/receive communication, where aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication. [0098] also describes 828, beam width component which configure to adapt/select the beam coefficient from the codebook (predefined set of precoding matrices or beamforming vector, [0050], lines 24-28 .step 716, Fig. 7 “the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE.” [0091], claim 38); transmitting the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”) transmit the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); and receive a transmission using one or more beams associated with the one or more CSF parameters from the first UE ([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach determine one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of the one or more beams of the second UE that are associated with the one or more beam coefficients
However, Harrison teaches determine one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of the one or more beams of the second UE that are associated with the one or more beam coefficients(claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, in uplink control information, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters, as states in [0328], which describe explicitly the CSI includes CSF parameters that can be used to derive beam coefficients “The CSI reports may include an identity of a plurality of beam cophasing coefficients, a plurality of beam index pairs (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), each beam index pair corresponding to a beam, k, at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).”, “functions described herein as being performed by a wireless device or a network node may be distributed over a plurality of wireless devices and/or network nodes.” [0175], [0172], “Examples of a wireless device are user equipment (UE), target device, device to device (D2D) wireless device, machine type wireless device or wireless device capable of machine to machine (M2M) communication”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the second UE of claim 25.
Gulati teaches wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients associated with the first UE comprises receiving one or more precoders associated with the one or more beam coefficients ([0061], lines 7-10, states “this determination can be done performed by a transmitting UE (e.g., UE 502), a receiving UE (e.g., UE 504), or jointly by both the transmitting and receiving UE”, [0066], states “the precoder may be adapted based on a predicted location of the first UE 502, the predicted location of the second UE 504, and a predicted AoA to the second UE.”, as supported by 5B and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the second UE of claim 26.
Gulati further teaches and after transmitting the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE, repeat, based on the control signal ([0066], lines 17-27, states “UE 502 may cycle though those precoders over the bandwidth of the second transmission 520. For example, a set of beams/precoders may be selected based on a probability of the predicted location of the first UE 502 or the second UE 504. …. the first UE 502 may cycle every tone as Open Loop Spatial Multiplexing (OLSM), or the first UE 502 may perform sub-band based cycling. For example, control signaling from the first UE 502 may indicate the precoders being cycled though”): receiving one or more beam coefficients associated with at least the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], where these parameters (feedback) are used to derive beam coefficients and then for beamforming process [0050] “ the feedback may comprise any of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) feedback, Rank Indicator (RI) feedback, and/or a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI) feedback. “, [0032], although beamformed signals are illustrated between UE 104 and base station 102/180, aspects of beamforming may similarly may be applied by UE 104 or RSU 107 to communicate with another UE 104 or RSU 107, such as based on V2X, V2V, or D2D communication”); selecting one or more beams for beamforming based on the one or more beam coefficients ([0032], Fig. 4, [0049], “ As illustrated in FIG. 4, the UEs may transmit and receive beamformed signals. For example, UE 410 may receive a beamformed signal from the UE 404 in one or more receive directions 424a, 424b, 424c, 424d, 424e. UE 404 may also transmit a beamformed signal to the in one or more of the directions 420a, 420b, 420c, 420d. The UE 404, 410 may perform beam training to determine the best receive and transmit directions. “, and states in [0091], “As illustrated at 716, the UE may adapt a precoder by selecting a set of precoders based on the expected range of the predicted location of the first UE or the second UE”, where the precoders are directly related to beamforming using beam coefficients);, transmitting the one or more CSF parameters to the first UE ([0080], [0084], [0086], describe subsequence transmission beam coefficients between the two UEs (first and second UEs), Fig. 6A and 6B, step 602, describe the first UE can transmit/receive information from second UE, where Fig. 8 describe the communication link between the two UEs (802 and 806) and describe the components for update the transmission and receiving of the feedback [0050], which includes CQI [0064], PMI [0060]-[0066], RI [0072], these parameters are part of predictive link adaptation process as described in [0051], “V2X/V2V/D2D communication, such as unicast CV2X communication, involves unique challenges for performing link adaptation. As one example, the communication may rely on feedback that is received by the transmitter at the end of a transmission, for example, with back-loaded CSI-RS”); and receiving a transmission using one or more beams associated with the one or more CSF parameters from the first UE([0037], “the UE may comprise a Link Adaptation Component 199 configured to adapt a transmission parameter for a communication link 158 between the first UE 104’ and the second UE 104′ based on a predicted location for one of the UEs.” [0094], states “The first UE may transmit, or receive, a second transmission, e.g., 520, with the adapted transmission parameter, at 722. The transmission or reception may be performed by the reception component 804 or transmission component 806 of apparatus 802.”, as illustrates in Step 722, Fig.7, where the updating beam coefficients described in steps 714, 716, and 718 and transmit these parameters to the second UE).
Gulati fails to teach receive a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI); and determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the one or more beam coefficients
However, Harrison teaches receive a control signal via at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0178], [0198], lines 1-3, the CSI report is carried on UL-SCH (in a MAC control element or RRC) for triggering the CSI reporting and related operations), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signal, sidelink control information (SCI), or downlink control information (DCI);
determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the one or more beam coefficients (claims 24, the UE report multi-beam channel state information, CSI, providing an indication of a plurality of beam index pairs, (l.sub.k,m.sub.k), in the UCI in a first transmission, each beam index pair corresponding to a beam k; and providing an indication of at least one of a beam power, a beam rotation and a channel quality index, CQI, in the UCI in a second transmission, and claim 38 states “The user equipment of claim 33, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a CSI report corresponding to a first subframe, the CSI report including indications of at least one of a recommended precoder, a channel quality indicator (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), and a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI).” Which is CSF parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 29 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the second UE network entity of claim 25.
Harrison further teaches wherein the one or more CSF parameters are codebook based and include a report that includes at least one of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) ([0048], lines 5-9 and [0061], the PMI and other indicators are included in the CSI/CSF report sent by the wireless device), channel quality information (CQI), rank indication (RI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or an indication of at least one wideband (WB) beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati to incorporate the teachings of Harrison (in analogous art) by determining one or more channel state feedback (CSF) parameters of one or more beams associated with the UE since they are crucial parameters in optimizing the wireless communication performance (Harrison, [0058] lines 14-18).
Claims 6, 13, 21, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US- 20200007247 A1) in view of Harrison et al. (US-20180279293 A1) further in view of HE et al. (WO-2020213986 A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more additional CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state or one or more analog beamformers.
However, HE teaches wherein the one or more additional CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state ([0074], lines 6-8, [0255], lines 5-6, [0242], lines 1-4, a CSI-RS is intended for UEs to measure channel state information (CSI) to perform beam measurements for transmission, where the TCI state field in the first stage for the transmission of the PSCCH with the second stage SCI format or to transmit a PSSCH, [0252], lines 1-3) or one or more analog beamformers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gulati in view of Harrison to include transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state, as taught by HE, in combination with the system of Gulati in view of Harrison, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility in multi-beam transmission/reception scenarios (HE, [0229], lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 10.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state or one or more analog beamformers.
However, HE teaches wherein the one or more CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state ([0074], lines 6-8, [0255], lines 5-6, [0242], lines 1-4, a CSI-RS is intended for UEs to measure channel state information (CSI) to perform beam measurements for transmission, where the TCI state field in the first stage for the transmission of the PSCCH with the second stage SCI format or to transmit a PSSCH, [0252], lines 1-3) or one or more analog beamformers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gulati in view of Harrison to include transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state, as taught by HE, in combination with the system of Gulati in view of Harrison, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility in multi-beam transmission/reception scenarios (HE, [0229], lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Gulati and Harrison teach the first UE of claim 16.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more additional CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state or one or more analog beamformers.
However, HE teaches wherein the one or more additional CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state ([0074], lines 6-8, [0255], lines 5-6, [0242], lines 1-4, a CSI-RS is intended for UEs to measure channel state information (CSI) to perform beam measurements for transmission, where the TCI state field in the first stage for the transmission of the PSCCH with the second stage SCI format or to transmit a PSSCH, [0252], lines 1-3) or one or more analog beamformers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gulati in view of Harrison to include transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state, as taught by HE, in combination with the system of Gulati in view of Harrison, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility in multi-beam transmission/reception scenarios (HE, [0229], lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 28 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the second UE of claim 25.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state or one or more analog beamformers.
However, HE teaches wherein the one or more additional CSF parameters comprise at least one of one or more transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state ([0074], lines 6-8, [0255], lines 5-6, [0242], lines 1-4, a CSI-RS is intended for UEs to measure channel state information (CSI) to perform beam measurements for transmission, where the TCI state field in the first stage for the transmission of the PSCCH with the second stage SCI format or to transmit a PSSCH, [0252], lines 1-3) or one or more analog beamformers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gulati in view of Harrison to include transmission configuration indicators (TCI) state, as taught by HE, in combination with the system of Gulati in view of Harrison, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility in multi-beam transmission/reception scenarios (HE, [0229], lines 10-12).
Claims 9, 15, 24, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200007247 A1) in view of Harrison et al. (US-20180279293 A1), further in view of Manolakos et al. (US-20180102821 A1).
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 1.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE([0114] explicates the CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, “the UE not only transmits CSF including PMI/RI/CQI, but additionally, where the UE reports explicit CSF. Explicit CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, the main beam directions in each contiguous allocation, and/or noise directions inside each contiguous allocation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati in view of Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second network entity comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels for better special multiplexing and improving the system capacity (Manolakos, [0055], lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the method of claim 10.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients from the first UE comprises receiving average covariance matrices of one or more channels ([0114] explicates the CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, “the UE not only transmits CSF including PMI/RI/CQI, but additionally, where the UE reports explicit CSF. Explicit CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, the main beam directions in each contiguous allocation, and/or noise directions inside each contiguous allocation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati in view of Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second network entity comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels for better special multiplexing and improving the system capacity (Manolakos, [0055], lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 24 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the first user equipment (UE) of claim 16.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second UE comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels ([0114] explicates the CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, “the UE not only transmits CSF including PMI/RI/CQI, but additionally, where the UE reports explicit CSF. Explicit CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, the main beam directions in each contiguous allocation, and/or noise directions inside each contiguous allocation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati in view of Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second network entity comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels for better special multiplexing and improving the system capacity (Manolakos, [0055], lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), Gulati and Harrison teach the second UE of claim 25.
Gulati and Harrison do not explicitly teach wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients from at least the first UE comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein receiving the one or more beam coefficients from the first UE comprises receiving average covariance matrices of one or more channels ([0114] explicates the CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, “the UE not only transmits CSF including PMI/RI/CQI, but additionally, where the UE reports explicit CSF. Explicit CSF may include feedback relating to a channel covariance matrix, the main beam directions in each contiguous allocation, and/or noise directions inside each contiguous allocation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulati in view of Harrison to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by transmitting the one or more beam coefficients to at least the second network entity comprises transmitting average covariance matrices of one or more channels for better special multiplexing and improving the system capacity (Manolakos, [0055], lines 7-10).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Rahman et al (US-20190059013-A1), Luo et al. (US-20190116605-A1), Rye et al. (US-20220053513-A1), Nilsson et al. (WO-2018157911-A1) teach methods to enhance the wireless communication efficiency and performance by enabling accurate reporting of CSI/CSF.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463