Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the election/restriction requirement in the reply filed on 4/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected products, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/10/2026.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: luminescence element, light receiving element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations “element” and “the light receiving element is disposed at a higher position than an element facing the thicker lens”. It is unclear what is meant by the term “element”. Further, the term “higher position” is not made clear by the claim language (i.e. higher as compared to what other element of the imaging system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2020/0003870).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a distance measuring device (FIG. 11, 30B), comprising:
a luminescence element (21B) that irradiates an object with light ([0110], a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) or an LED light source illuminates an object);
a first optical element (22B) disposed on an optical axis of the luminescence element ([0110], the optical element 22B may be implemented as an optical diffraction element that functions to replicate and diffuse the laser generated by the projection unit 21B);
a light receiving element (31B) that receives light from the luminescence element reflected from the object ([0112], The photosensitive element 31B is configured to receive the reflected laser from the to-be-detected object and generate an inductive signal to implement acquisition of the depth information);
a second lens (33B) disposed on an optical axis of the light receiving element ([0112], The optical lens assembly 33B is configured to acquire reflected laser from the to-be-detected object); and
a substrate (11B) on which the luminescence element (21B) and the light receiving element (31B) are mounted (see fig.11),
wherein a thinner lens of the first optical element (22B) and the second lens (33B) is disposed farther from the substrate than a thicker lens (FIG. 11, optical element 22B is thinner than lens 33B and further away from substrate 11).
While Chen does not explicitly disclose the first optical element as being a lens, official notice is taken that the use of lenses in optical systems for controlling the spread of a transmitted or received light source is well known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate a lens into the light emitting system taught by Chen for controlling the spread of transmitted light (Chen, [0110], the optical element 22B may be implemented as an optical diffraction element that functions to replicate and diffuse the laser generated by the projection unit 21B).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein an element (FIG. 11, 21B) facing the thinner optical element (22B) of the luminescence element (21B) and the light receiving element (32B) is disposed at a higher position than an element (32B) facing the thicker lens (33B) (FIG. 11, element 21B is positioned higher than element 21B relative to substrate 11).
While Chen does not explicitly disclose the first optical element as being a lens, official notice is taken that the use of lenses in optical systems for controlling the spread of a transmitted or received light source is well known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate a lens into the light emitting system taught by Chen for controlling the spread of transmitted light (Chen, [0110], the optical element 22B may be implemented as an optical diffraction element that functions to replicate and diffuse the laser generated by the projection unit 21B).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein a bonding wire (112B) electrically connecting the light receiving element (32B) and the substrate (11B) ([0112], the receiving assembly 30B is configured with a lead 112B for electrically connecting the photosensitive element 31B to of the circuit board 11B) is not disposed on an edge of the light receiving element (32B) on a side of the luminescence element (see FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses wherein the light receiving element has a chip size package (CSP) structure ([0179], the photosensitive element 31B is mounted to the circuit board 11B by a COB (Chip On Board) method).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seurin et al. (Seurin) (US 2021/0281049) (FIG. 7, Lidar system including an emitter 150 and a sensor 151).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488