DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant discloses that Hauge along with Glass fail to teach wherein the leak detection system is configured to detect normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors by comparing two or more signatures in the expected operational region, the two or more signatures comprising at least one of: a difference between estimated data and the real time data a normalized difference between the estimated data and the real time data or a distance between at least one of the multiple pressure sensors and an ambient fluid.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hauge teaches wherein the leak detection system is configured to detect normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors by comparing two or more signatures in the expected operational region, the two or more signatures comprising at least one of:
a difference between estimated data and the real time data;
a normalized difference between the estimated data and the real time data;
or a distance between at least one of the multiple pressure sensors and an ambient fluid [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195]. The disclosed paragraph from the applied reference further teach the additional amendment of the leak detection system detecting the normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors based on the comparing the two or more signatures in the expected operational region.
It is for this reason, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “normalized” in claims 1, 19 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normalized” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the specific standard, context, or baseline against which the data is adjusted (there is no established minimum or maximum) and is therefore rendered indefinite. To overcome the rejection, examiner suggest clearly defining a range/limit for the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-4 and 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauge et al. (US20190169982A1, 2019-06-06) herein referred to as Hauge in view of Glass et al. (US20190323337A1, 2019-10-24), herein referred to as Glass.
Regarding Claim 1, Hauge teaches a method comprising:
receiving real time data wherein the real time data comprise at least pressure sensor data from multiple pressure sensors of a hydrocarbon fluid production network for multiple locations in the hydrocarbon fluid production network [0160-0161];
generating an expected operational region in a multidimensional domain using at least a portion of the real time data [0048];
operating a leak detection system using the expected operational region (Figure 7; [0160]), wherein the leak detection system is configured to detect normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors by comparing two or more signatures in the expected operational region, the two or more signatures comprising at least one of:
a difference between estimated data and the real time data;
a normalized difference between the estimated data and the real time data;
or a distance between at least one of the multiple pressure sensors and an ambient fluid [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195];
tracking at least a portion of the real time data in the multidimensional domain [0160-0161]; and
issuing a leak detection signal responsive to the tracking indicating an excursion from the expected operational region, the leak detection system detecting the normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors based on the comparing the two or more signatures in the expected operational region [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195, Claim 34-35], wherein the leak detection signal indicates the presence of a leak in the hydrocarbon fluid production network (Claim 34 and 35; Figure 7). Hauge further teaches the ability to determine the location of a leak (abstract) and adjusting a choke in the pipeline based on the leak detection signal [0056].
Hauge further teaches pressure sensor data indicative of pressure change [0153], issuing a leak detection signal based on pressure change and the issuing of control instruction to control a piece of equipment in response to the leak detection (i.e. choke) [0159; 0179].
Hauge fails to specifically teach introducing an emulsifier into a pipeline of a hydrocarbon fluid production network;
However, in a related field, Glass teaches introducing an emulsifier into a pipeline of a hydrocarbon fluid production network [0026; 0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hauge to incorporate the teachings of Glass by including: introduction of emulsifier/additives to the hydrocarbon fluid production network in order to indicate leaks within the system.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein tracking at least a portion of the real time data in the multidimensional domain comprises tracking real time data for at least two of the multiple locations (Hauge: [0287]).
Regarding claim 3, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the multiple locations comprise wellhead locations (Hauge: [0026]).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the wellhead locations comprise corresponding wells that are in fluid communication with a common reservoir(Hauge: [0026]).
Regarding Claim 9, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising refining at least one of an estimated leak location in real time and an estimated leak size in real time (Hauge: [0163]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination further teaches the method of claim 9, comprising transmitting instructions to dynamically render at least one graphic to a display that indicates at least one of the estimated leak location in real time or the estimated leak size in real time (Hauge: [0287]).
Regarding Claim 11, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the expected operational region characterizes fluid communication between at least two of the multiple locations(Hauge: [0136]).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the expected operational region characterizes fluid communication between at least two of the multiple locations via a reservoir (Hauge: [0136]).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the leak comprises an outward leak or an inward leak (Hauge: Figure 7; [0161]).
Regarding Claim 14, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor data from the multiple pressure sensors of the hydrocarbon fluid production network for the multiple locations in the hydrocarbon fluid production network are configured to impart redundancy that increases confidence of the leak detection system (Hauge: [0161]).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising utilizing a real time model to generate simulated data during operation of the hydrocarbon fluid production network and comparing at least a portion of the real time data to at least a portion of the simulated data (Hauge: [0301]).
Regarding Claim 16, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the real time data comprise at least one of multiphase flow sensor data, temperature sensor data, salinity sensor data, viscosity sensor data, water break sensor data, emulsion sensor data, and density sensor data (Hauge: [0175)].
Regarding Claim 17, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the expected operational region is a no leak region (Hauge [0284]).
Regarding Claim 18, The combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the hydrocarbon fluid production network comprises a manifold wherein multiple pipelines join the manifold (Hauge: [0107]).
Regarding Claim 19, Hauge teaches A leak detection system comprising:
A pipeline [0044];
a processor [0003];
memory accessible by the processor [0003]; and
processor-executable instructions stored in the memory wherein the instructions comprise instructions to instruct the leak detection system [0003] to:
receive real time data wherein the real time data comprise at least pressure sensor data from multiple pressure sensors of a hydrocarbon fluid production network for multiple locations in the pipeline of the hydrocarbon fluid production network, the hydrocarbon fluid production network comprising the pipeline, the pressure sensor data indicative of a change in a fluid pressure in the pipeline [0159; 0179]; [0160-0161];
generate an expected operational region in a multidimensional domain using at least a portion of the real time data [0048];
operate a leak detection system using the expected operational region (Figure 7; [0160]), wherein the leak detection system is configured to detect normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors by comparing two or more signatures in the expected operational region, the two or more signatures comprising at least one of:
a difference between estimated data and the real time data;
a normalized difference between the estimated data and the real time data;
or a distance between at least one of the multiple pressure sensors and an ambient fluid [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195];
track at least a portion of the real time data in the multidimensional domain [0160-0161]; and
issue a leak detection signal responsive to the tracking indicating an excursion from the expected operational region, and issuing a leak detection signal responsive to the tracking indicating an excursion from the expected operational region, the leak detection system detecting the normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors based on the comparing the two or more signatures in the expected operational region [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195, Claim 34-35], wherein the leak detection signal indicates the presence of a leak in the hydrocarbon fluid production network (Claim 34 and 35; Figure 7).
Hauge further teaches pressure sensor data indicative of pressure change [0153], issuing a leak detection signal based on pressure change and the issuing of control instruction to control a piece of equipment in response to the leak detection (i.e. choke) [0159; 0179], adjusting a choke in the pipeline based on the leak detection signal [0056].
Hauge fails to specifically teach an emulsifier into a pipeline .
However, in a related field, Glass teaches introducing an emulsifier into a pipeline [0026; 0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hauge to incorporate the teachings of Glass by including: introduction of emulsifier/additives to the hydrocarbon fluid production network in order to indicate leaks within the system.
Regarding Claim 20, Hauge teaches one or more computer-readable storage media comprising computer-executable instructions executable by a computer processor in electrical communication with a hydrocarbon fluid production network, the instructions comprising instructions [0003] to:
receive real time data wherein the real time data comprise at least pressure sensor data from multiple pressure sensors of the hydrocarbon fluid production network for multiple locations in the pipeline of the hydrocarbon fluid production network [0160-0161], the pressure sensor data indicative of a change in a fluid pressure in the pipeline [0159; 0179];
generate an expected operational region in a multidimensional domain using at least a portion of the real time data [0048];
operate a leak detection system using the expected operational region (Figure 7; [0160]), wherein the leak detection system is configured to detect normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors by comparing two or more signatures in the expected operational region, the two or more signatures comprising at least one of:
a difference between estimated data and the real time data;
a normalized difference between the estimated data and the real time data;
or a distance between at least one of the multiple pressure sensors and an ambient fluid [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195];
track at least a portion of the real time data in the multidimensional domain [0160-0161]; and
issue a leak detection signal responsive to the tracking indicating an excursion from the expected operational region, and issuing a leak detection signal responsive to the tracking indicating an excursion from the expected operational region, the leak detection system detecting the normal operations of the multiple pressure sensors based on the comparing the two or more signatures in the expected operational region [0045; 0184; 0298; 0170-0171; 0195, Claim 34-35], wherein the leak detection signal indicates the presence of a leak in the hydrocarbon fluid production network (Claim 34 and 35; Figure 7).
Hauge further teaches pressure sensor data indicative of pressure change [0153], issuing a leak detection signal based on pressure change and the issuing of control instruction to control a piece of equipment in response to the leak detection (i.e. choke) [0159; 0179], and adjusting a choke in the pipeline based on the leak detection signal [0056].
Hauge fails to specifically teach introducing an emulsifier into a pipeline of a hydrocarbon fluid production network;
However, in a related field, Glass teaches introducing an emulsifier into a pipeline of a hydrocarbon fluid production network [0026; 0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hauge to incorporate the teachings of Glass by including: introduction of emulsifier/additives to the hydrocarbon fluid production network in order to indicate leaks within the system.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising directing a vehicle to a leak location based on the leak detection signal (Hauge: [0131]).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the two or more signatures further comprise one or more derived variables, including at least one of: a pressure difference between two of the multiple pressure sensors; a pressure gradient along the pipeline of the hydrocarbon fluid production network; or a pressure ratio within the pipeline of the hydrocarbon fluid production network [0156-0157; 0160; 0088; 0298].
Claims 5 through 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauge and Glass as applied to claims 1 through 4 and 9 through 20 above, and further in view of Li et al. (WO2015077768A1, 2015-05-28) herein referred to as Li.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination teaches all of the limitation of Claim 1. The combination fails to teach wherein the expected operational region comprises a convex hull. However, in a related field, Li teaches receiving information that defines three-dimensional subterranean structure and generating convex hulls (Fig. 3 [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hauge and Glass to incorporate the teachings of Li by including: the generation of a convex hull in order to convey a more accurate depiction of the subterranean formation.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. The combination further teaches wherein the convex hull is an ellipsoid ([0102] Examiner’s Note: The paragraph disclose the ability to define a three-dimensional subterranean structure. An ellipsoid is a 3D structure).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination teaches all of the limitation of Claim 1. The combination fails to teach wherein the tracking generates a transient region in the multidimensional space. However, in a related field, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the tracking generates a transient region in the multidimensional space [0102-0108]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hauge and Glass to incorporate the teachings of Li by including: generating a transient region in the multidimensional space in order to convey a more accurate depiction of the subterranean formation.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. The combination further teaches wherein the transient region comprises a convex hull [0102-0108].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J SINGLETARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857