DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-16, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlofske, III et al. (US 2022/0050287) in view of Ishii (US 2017/0153450).
Claim 1, Verderlofske teaches a display system for displaying information, the display system comprising:
a. a glazing that includes a first transparent rigid substrate (i.e. first glass layer), a second transparent rigid substrate (i.e. second glass layer), and an interlayer (i.e. reflective film) positioned between the first and the second transparent rigid substrates (p. 0024);
b. a projector (i.e. projector) that emits light toward the glazing (i.e. glass layers) at three discrete wavelength ranges in the visible spectrum (i.e. red green and blue ranges) (p. 0021 0034);
c. one or more narrow-band absorbers (i.e. absorbing material), disposed in a vision area of the glazing (i.e. in the skin layer), that selectively absorb light within at least one of the three discrete wavelength ranges (p. 0029); and
d. one or more narrow-band reflectors (i.e. reflective film), disposed in the vision area of the glazing, that selectively reflect light within at least one of the three discrete wavelength ranges (i.e. narrow band ranges) (p. 0033-0034).
Verderlofske is silent regarding the specific features of:
wherein the one or more narrow-band absorbers and one or more narrow-band
reflectors are arranged such that the visible light transmittance through the vision area is at least 70%; and
wherein the display system exhibits a contrast ratio of greater than 30:1.
Ishii teaches the specific features of:
wherein the one or more narrow-band absorbers (i.e. light absorbers) and one or more narrow-band reflectors (i.e. holographic reflector) are arranged such that the visible light transmittance through the vision area is at least 70% (i.e. high transparency) (figs. 8-9, 16; p. 0002, 0016, 0044, 0048, 0051); and
wherein the display system exhibits a contrast ratio of greater than 30:1 (i.e. 1000:1) (p. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided high contrast ratios as taught by Ishii to the system of Verderlofske to provide visibility (p. 0044).
Claim 3, Verderlofske teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors comprises a dielectric multilayer stack (i.e. glass layer and refletive film) (p. 0020-0021).
Claim 5, Verderlofske teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein the alternating high and low index materials are polymers (i.e. polymeric layers) (p. 0024).
Claiim 7, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors (i.e. reflective film) reflects in the blue range of visible light (p. 0034).
Claim 8, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors (i.e. reflective film) reflects in the green range of visible light (p. 0034).
Claim 9, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors comprises two reflectors (110, 210) that reflect in the blue range of visible light and in the green range of visible light, respectively (p. 0034).
Claim 10, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors is provided in the interlayer (i.e. between glass layers) (p. 0024).
Claim 11, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein one or more narrow-band reflectors is in or on one of the rigid substrates (i.e. bonded to the glass layers interpreted as “in”) (p. 0024).
Claim 12, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow-band reflectors are in a coating or film attached to one of the two rigid substrates substrates (i.e. bonded to the glass layers interpreted as “in”) (p. 0024).
Claim 13, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow band absorbers (i.e. absorbing material) are in the interlayer (p. 0024).
Claim 14, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow band absorbers are in or on one of the rigid substrates (i.e. included in adhesive layer) (p. 0024).
Claim 15, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the one or more narrow band absorbers are in a coating or film attached to one of the two rigid substrates i.e. included in adhesive layer) (p. 0024).
Claim 16, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the interlayer is provided with a wedge portion which aligns primary and secondary images reflected from the glazing (i.e. wedge design) (p. 0020).
Claim 22, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the narrow-band absorbers are selected from dyes and pigments (p. 0029).
Claim 23, Verderlofske teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the narrow-band absorbers is a polymethine dye (i.e. polymeric layers with dye) (p. 0029).
Claim 24, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the interlayer comprises PVB (p. 0021-0022).
Claim 25, Verderlofske teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein the narrow band absorbers are in a film positioned between two PVB layers in the interlayer (i.e. reflective film between PVB glass layers) (p. 0021-0022).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlofske, III et al. (US 2022/0050287) in view of Ishii (US 2017/0153450), and further in view of Patrickson et al (US 2020/0147935).
Claim 2, Verderlofske teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the narrow-band reflectors (i.e. predetermined visible wave length in reflective film) exhibits both a narrow secondary reflection in the visible range that selectively reflects the light within at least one of the three wavelength ranges emitted by the projector (i.e. red green blue ranges), and a primary reflection in the near-infrared range.
Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
“a primary reflection in the near-infrared range”.
Patrickson teaches the specific feature of:
“a primary reflection in the near-infrared range (i.e. major surface reflecting film)” (p. 0076-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided infrared ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to reduce misting on the windscreen (p. 0309).
Claim 6, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the alternating high and low index materials are metal oxides.
Patrickson teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the alternating high and low index materials are metal oxides (p. 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided infrared ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to reduce misting on the windscreen (p. 0309).
Claim 17, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 445 nm, 515 nm, and 642 nm.
Patrickson teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 445 nm, 515 nm, and 642 nm (i.e. wavelengths envisioned within the range of 380nm-780nm) (fig. 7; p. 0330-0332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided wavelength ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to provide wavelength variation (p. 0331).
Claim 18, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 445 nm, 550 nm, and 642 nm.
Patrickson teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 445 nm, 550 nm, and 642 nm (i.e. wavelengths envisioned within the range of 380nm-780nm) (fig. 7; p. 0330-0332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided wavelength ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to provide wavelength variation (p. 0331).
Claim 19, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein one of the discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector includes light having a wavelength selected from one or more of 635, 638, 650, or 660.
Patrickson teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein one of the discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector includes light having a wavelength selected from one or more of 635, 638, 650, or 660. (i.e. wavelengths envisioned within the range of 380nm-780nm) (fig. 7; p. 0330-0332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided wavelength ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to provide wavelength variation (p. 0331).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlofske, III et al. (US 2022/0050287) in view of Ishii (US 2017/0153450), and further in view of Ederer et al. (US 2023/0081209).
Claim 4, Verderlofske teaches the display system of claim 1, wherein the dielectric multilayer stack comprises alternating high and low index materials (i.e. PET, PETg) (p. 0082-0084).
Verderlofske is silent regarding the specific feature of:
“producing a primary peak in the NIR range and a secondary narrow peak in the visible range”.
Ederer teaches the specific feature of:
“producing a primary peak in the NIR range and a secondary narrow peak in the visible range” (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided primary peak and narrow peak as taught by Ederer to the system of Verderlofske to produce emitters with different wavelengths (claim 3).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlofske, III et al. (US 2022/0050287) in view of Ishii (US 2017/0153450), and further in view of Patrickson et al (US 2020/0147935), and further in view of Raring et al. (US 2012/0314398).
Claim 20, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the projector is a DPSS laser-based projector, and wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 457 nm, 532 nm, and 671 nm, and have a FWHM from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm.
Patrickson teaches the specific feature of:
“wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 457 nm, 532 nm, and 671 nm” (i.e. wavelengths envisioned within the range of 380nm-780nm) (fig. 7; p. 0330-0332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided wavelength ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to provide wavelength variation (p. 0331).
Raring teaches the specific features of:
“wherein the projector is a DPSS laser-based projector” (p. 0010);
“a FWHM from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm” (i.e. spectral width) (p. 0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided spectral width for projectors as taught by Raring to the system of Verderlofske to reduce speckle (p. 0091).
Claim 21, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the projector is a DPSS laser-based projector, and wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges include light of 473 nm, 532 nm, and 671 nm, and have a FWHM from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm.
Patrickson teaches the specific feature of:
“wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges emitted by the projector include light of 457 nm, 532 nm, and 671 nm” (i.e. wavelengths envisioned within the range of 380nm-780nm) (fig. 7; p. 0330-0332).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided wavelength ranges as taught by Patrickson to the system of Verderlofske to provide wavelength variation (p. 0331).
Raring teaches the specific features of:
“wherein the projector is a DPSS laser-based projector” (p. 0010);
“a FWHM from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm” (i.e. spectral width) (p. 0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided spectral width for projectors as taught by Raring to the system of Verderlofske to reduce speckle (p. 0091).
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderlofske, III et al. (US 2022/0050287) in view of Ishii (US 2017/0153450), and further in view of Sakellarides et al (US 2013/0344345).
Claim 26, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the glazing incorporates one or more UV light blockers.
Sakellarides teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the glazing incorporates one or more UV light blockers (i.e. UV blocker) (p. 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided UV blockers as taught by Sakellarides to the system of Vanderlofske to convert solar radiation to infrared radiation (p. 0014).
Claim 27, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the UV blockers are UV dye absorbers forming a layer blocking UV radiation to the narrow band dyes.
Sakellarides teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the UV blockers are UV dye absorbers (i.e. dye/absorber) forming a layer blocking UV radiation to the narrow band dyes (p. 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided UV blockers as taught by Sakellarides to the system of Vanderlofske to convert solar radiation to infrared radiation (p. 0014).
Claim 28, Verderlofske is not entirely clear in teaching The display system of claim 1, wherein the glazing system incorporates NIR absorbers.
Sakellarides teaches The display system of claim 1, wherein the glazing system incorporates NIR absorbers (i.e. infrared reflecting layer) (p. 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided UV blockers as taught by Sakellarides to the system of Vanderlofske to convert solar radiation to infrared radiation (p. 0014).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-28 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210200026 A1 SONOBE; Koichiro
US 20200055400 A1 Edmonds; William F. et al..
Inquires
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 1/23/2026