DETAILED ACTION
Applicant' s arguments, filed 5/7/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 5/7/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-20 are the currently pending claims. Claim 20 has been previously withdrawn; and claims 1-29 are hereby under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb.
Regarding claim 1, Falb teaches that a cassette 222 is used with a robotic catheter system 210 having a robotic mechanism 212 that drives elongated medical devices during a catheter-based procedure: a cassette for use in a robotic drive of a catheter-based procedure system (Falb, FIG. 1; ¶[0045], “a robotic catheter system 210 includes a robotic mechanism 212 robotically moving an elongated medical device”, Falb teaches a catheter-based procedure system (robotic catheter system 210) having a robotic mechanism that performs robotic movement of an elongated medical device; ¶[0054], “During a medical procedure such as a percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) guide catheter 228 is used to guide other elongated medical devices such as a guide wire and balloon stent catheter into a patient”, Falb teaches the catheter-based procedure context and that the system is used in a catheter-based medical procedure; ¶[0054], “Robotic mechanism 212 drives a guide wire and/or a working catheter such as a balloon stent catheter in and out of a patient”, Falb teaches the “robotic drive” as the robotic mechanism that drives elongated medical devices); the cassette comprising: a housing comprising a cradle having a longitudinal cradle axis, the cradle configured to receive an elongated medical device having a longitudinal device axis (Falb, FIG. 1-6; ¶[0050], “an elongated medical device such as a guide catheter 228 is operatively secured to robotic mechanism 212 through cassette 222”, Falb teaches cassette 222 as the physical structure through which the elongated medical device is secured and supported within the robotic system, corresponding to the claimed housing; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that cassette 222 includes structural components forming the cassette body, including a support member that is part of the stationary cassette structure and physically supports the catheter; ¶[0053], “Guide catheter 228 maintains a linear position along its longitudinal axis 248 within cassette 222”, Falb teaches that the elongated medical device is received and held within the cassette along a defined longitudinal device axis; ¶[0053], “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222”, Falb further ties the device axis to the longitudinal orientation of the cassette housing; FIG. 2-4, Falb depicts cassette 222 including a longitudinally extending catheter-receiving channel or cradle formed by the stationary cassette structure, including support member 245, that physically receives and supports guide catheter 228 along its longitudinal axis, such that the longitudinal cradle axis corresponds to the longitudinal axis of the received guide catheter, with the catheter longitudinal axis positioned above the lower support member/face of the cradle structure, thereby corresponding to a housing comprising a cradle configured to receive the elongated medical device along its longitudinal device axis); a connection mechanism coupled to the housing at a position below the longitudinal cradle axis (Falb, FIG. 2-4; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that lid 243 is connected to support member 245, which is part of the cassette/Y-connector holder structure; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb teaches a pivoting connection for the cover/lid relative to the cassette/Y-connector holder structure; ¶[0053], “Guide catheter 228 maintains a linear position along its longitudinal axis 248 within cassette 222”; ¶[0053], “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222”; FIG. 2, Falb depicts guide catheter 228 received along longitudinal axis 248 above the lower support member/face of the catheter-receiving cradle structure (see FIG. 4 for the loaded catheter), it also shows the component relationship between lid 243 and the flat face including support member 245, and when viewed with the side profile depicted in FIG. 3, the figures together show the face extending toward the lid side of enclosure member 244, with a pivot connection between the lid and its stationary support component at the interface of those components, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from FIGS. 2-4 that the lid-to-support-member pivot connection is located at or adjacent to the lower support member/face, such that the connection mechanism is below longitudinal axis 248 of the catheter-receiving cradle and therefore below the longitudinal cradle axis; see also annotated figures 2 and 3 below); and a cover pivotably coupled to the housing using the connection mechanism (Falb, ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, corresponding to the claimed cover, and support member 245, corresponding to the underlying cassette/Y-connector holder structure to which the cover is coupled; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb expressly teaches a cover that is pivotable between open and closed positions; FIG. 2-6, Falb depicts lid/cover 243/244 pivoting relative to the underlying cassette/Y-connector holder structure, including support member 245, thereby teaching a cover pivotably coupled to the housing using the connection mechanism).
Annotated FIG. 2 and 3 from Falb.
Regarding claim 2, Falb teaches that the cover is pivotably coupled between a closed position and an open position (Falb, ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, corresponding to the claimed cover; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb expressly teaches that the cover pivots between open and closed positions); and wherein when the cover is in the open position a plane defined by an inner surface of the cover is perpendicular to a plane defined by a front surface of the housing (Instant Application, ¶[0033], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic drive (or an element of the robotic drive or other element of the catheter procedure system) that faces a bedside user and away from the positioning system, such as an articulating arm”; Falb, ¶[0047], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic mechanism that faces a user and away from the articulating arm”; Falb therefore uses the same directional definition of “front” as the Instant Application; Falb, FIG. 1, depicting the cover side of cassette 222 facing away from articulating arm 224; Falb, ¶[0011]: “FIG. 3 is a side front view of the front portion of the robotic catheter system of FIG. 2 with the guide catheter positioned within a Y-connector support in a raised position”, Flab’s description of FIG. 3 as a “side front view” supports that FIG. 3 shows the side geometry of the front side of the Y-connector support/cassette area, while separately describing the illustrated area as the ”front portion” of the robotic catheter system; Falb, ¶[0012], “FIG. 4 is an isometric view of the portion of the system of FIG. 2 with the Y-connector and support in a lowered position with the Y-connector support cover in the raised position”; ¶[0050], “Y-connector 233 is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”; FIG. 4 depicts lid/cover 243/244 in the open position while the Y-connector support is in the lowered operational position, and, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art from the depicted geometry, the plane defined by the inner surface of lid/cover 243/244 is perpendicular to the plane defined by the front surface of the cassette/Y-connector holder housing portion).
Regarding claim 3, Falb teaches that the connection mechanism is a hinge (Falb, FIG. 2-4, 6; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that the referenced enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, such that the “cover 244” includes a lid component; ¶[0052]: “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb teaches a cover that pivots relative to the cassette and the pivoting connection between the cover and the cassette housing corresponds to a hinge connection mechanism permitting pivoting about an axis as depicted in the figures).
Regarding claim 6, Falb teaches that the cassette includes a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position, wherein the cover includes an opening configured to receive a side port of the elongated medical device (Falb, FIG. 1–6B, FIG. 29–30, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that the cassette secures the hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) using enclosure member 244 including lid 243; Falb shows in the cited figures that the lid 243 includes an opening positioned adjacent the received Y-connector 233 so that the side port of the coupled assembly is received through the opening, thereby providing clearance for the side port, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the elongated medical device as installed in the cassette includes the guide catheter coupled with the hemostasis valve such that the side port of the coupled assembly is a side port of the elongated medical device).
Regarding claim 8, Falb teaches that the cassette secures a hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) coupled to the elongated medical device using a Y-connector base that is part of the cassette and an enclosure member including a support member, wherein the housing further comprises a recess configured to receive a side port of a hemostasis valve coupled to the elongated medical device (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 4, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb shows the support member 245 as part of the cassette housing structure and depicts, in FIGS. 2 and 4, that the Y-connector base/holder region 238 formed in the housing includes a shaped recess at the “Y” location to accommodate the hemostasis valve geometry including the side port when the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette; FIG. 29–30, ¶[0081], “The valve body includes a second leg extending at an angle relative to the first leg and in fluid communication with the first leg”, Falb describes the hemostasis valve as having a second leg extending at an angle, which corresponds to the claimed side port, and the recess shown in FIGS. 2 and 4 is configured to receive that angled leg while the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette).
Regarding claim 10, Falb teaches that a cassette 222 is used with a robotic catheter system 210, including robotic mechanism 212 that drives elongated medical devices during catheter-based procedures, thereby teaching a cassette for use in a robotic drive of a catheter-based procedure system (Falb, FIG. 1; ¶[0045], “a robotic catheter system 210 includes a robotic mechanism 212 robotically moving an elongated medical device”, Falb teaches a catheter-based procedure system (robotic catheter system 210) having a robotic mechanism that performs robotic movement of an elongated medical device; ¶[0054], “During a medical procedure such as a percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) guide catheter 228 is used to guide other elongated medical devices such as a guide wire and balloon stent catheter into a patient”, Falb teaches the catheter-based procedure context and that the system is used in a catheter-based medical procedure; ¶[0054], “Robotic mechanism 212 drives a guide wire and/or a working catheter such as a balloon stent catheter in and out of a patient”, Falb teaches the “robotic drive” as the robotic mechanism that drives elongated medical devices); the cassette comprising a housing comprising a cradle having a longitudinal cradle axis, the cradle configured to receive an elongated medical device having a longitudinal device axis (Falb, FIG. 1-6; ¶[0050], “an elongated medical device such as a guide catheter 228 is operatively secured to robotic mechanism 212 through cassette 222”, Falb teaches cassette 222 as the physical structure through which the elongated medical device is secured and supported within the robotic system, corresponding to the claimed housing; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that cassette 222 includes structural components forming the cassette body, including a support member that is part of the stationary cassette structure and physically supports the catheter; ¶[0053], “Guide catheter 228 maintains a linear position along its longitudinal axis 248 within cassette 222”, Falb teaches that the elongated medical device is received and held within the cassette along a defined longitudinal device axis; ¶[0053], “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222”, Falb further ties the device axis to the longitudinal orientation of the cassette housing; FIG. 2-4, Falb depicts cassette 222 including a longitudinally extending catheter-receiving channel or cradle formed by the stationary cassette structure, including support member 245, that physically receives and supports guide catheter 228 along its longitudinal axis, such that the longitudinal cradle axis corresponds to the longitudinal axis of the received guide catheter, with the catheter longitudinal axis positioned above the lower support member/face of the cradle structure, thereby corresponding to a housing comprising a cradle configured to receive the elongated medical device along its longitudinal device axis); the housing having a distal end and a proximal end (Falb, FIG. 1-6 and FIG. 27-28; ¶[0047], “the direction distal is the direction toward the patient and the direction proximal is the direction away from the patient”, Falb defines distal and proximal directions for the robotic mechanism and cassette; ¶[0053], “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222”, Falb teaches that the cassette has a longitudinal axis along which distal and proximal ends are defined, thereby teaching a housing having a distal end and a proximal end along that longitudinal axis); a saddle positioned on the proximal end of the housing, the saddle configured to receive and restrain a hemostasis valve coupled to the elongated medical device (Falb, FIG. 1-6; ¶[0050], “In one embodiment proximal end 230 of guide catheter 228 is operatively secured to a Y-connector 233 and Y-connector engagement mechanism 236. In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches a Y-connector base/support structure on the cassette that receives and secures a hemostasis valve coupled to the proximal end of the guide catheter; ¶[0081], “A rotating male luer lock connector is rotatably connected to the valve body proximate the distal port to secure proximal end of guide catheter 228 thereto”, Falb teaches that the hemostasis valve is coupled to the elongated medical device at the proximal end, and the Y-connector engagement mechanism/base restrains the coupled hemostasis valve assembly on the cassette); a connection mechanism coupled to the housing at a position below the longitudinal cradle axis (Falb, FIG. 2-4; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that lid 243 is connected to support member 245, which is part of the cassette/Y-connector holder structure; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb teaches a pivoting connection for the cover/lid relative to the cassette/Y-connector holder structure; ¶[0053], “Guide catheter 228 maintains a linear position along its longitudinal axis 248 within cassette 222”; ¶[0053], “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222”; FIG. 2, Falb depicts guide catheter 228 received along longitudinal axis 248 above the lower support member/face of the catheter-receiving cradle structure (see FIG. 4 for the loaded catheter), it also shows the component relationship between lid 243 and the flat face including support member 245, and when viewed with the side profile depicted in FIG. 3, the figures together show the face extending toward the lid side of enclosure member 244, with a pivot connection between the lid and its stationary support component at the interface of those components, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from FIGS. 2-4 that the lid-to-support-member pivot connection is located at or adjacent to the lower support member/face, such that the connection mechanism is below longitudinal axis 248 of the catheter-receiving cradle and therefore below the longitudinal cradle axis; see also annotated figures 2 and 3 above in the rejection of claim 1); and a cover pivotably coupled to the housing using the connection mechanism (Falb, ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, corresponding to the claimed cover, and support member 245, corresponding to the underlying cassette/Y-connector holder structure to which the cover is coupled; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb expressly teaches a cover that is pivotable between open and closed positions; FIG. 2-6, Falb depicts lid/cover 243/244 pivoting relative to the underlying cassette/Y-connector holder structure, including support member 245, thereby teaching a cover pivotably coupled to the housing using the connection mechanism).
Regarding claim 12, Falb teaches the cassette according to claim 10, including a saddle having a U-shape wherein the saddle has a U-shape (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, QUOTE NOT FOUND, Falb’s FIGS. 2–3 depict the saddle region on the proximal end of the cassette as a U-shaped cradle in which components of the hemostasis valve assembly (including parts 230, 241, and 233) are seated and supported, thereby showing a saddle having a U-shape).
Regarding claim 13, Falb teaches that the cover is pivotably coupled between a closed position and an open position (Falb, ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, corresponding to the claimed cover; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb expressly teaches that the cover pivots between open and closed positions); and wherein when the cover is in the open position, a plane defined by an inner surface of the cover is substantially perpendicular to a plane defined by a front surface of the housing (Instant Application, ¶[0033], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic drive (or an element of the robotic drive or other element of the catheter procedure system) that faces a bedside user and away from the positioning system, such as an articulating arm”; Falb, ¶[0047], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic mechanism that faces a user and away from the articulating arm”; Falb therefore uses the same directional definition of “front” as the Instant Application; Falb, FIG. 1, depicting the cover side of cassette 222 facing away from articulating arm 224; Falb, ¶[0011]: “FIG. 3 is a side front view of the front portion of the robotic catheter system of FIG. 2 with the guide catheter positioned within a Y-connector support in a raised position”, Flab’s description of FIG. 3 as a “side front view” supports that FIG. 3 shows the side geometry of the front side of the Y-connector support/cassette area, while separately describing the illustrated area as the ”front portion” of the robotic catheter system; Falb, ¶[0012], “FIG. 4 is an isometric view of the portion of the system of FIG. 2 with the Y-connector and support in a lowered position with the Y-connector support cover in the raised position”; ¶[0050], “Y-connector 233 is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”; FIG. 4 depicts lid/cover 243/244 in the open position while the Y-connector support is in the lowered operational position, and, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art from the depicted geometry, the plane defined by the inner surface of lid/cover 243/244 is substantially perpendicular to the plane defined by the front surface of the cassette/Y-connector holder housing portion).
Regarding claim 14, Falb teaches that the connection mechanism is a hinge (Falb, FIG. 2-4, 6; ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that the referenced enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, such that the “cover 244” includes a lid component; ¶[0052]: “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb teaches a cover that pivots relative to the cassette and the pivoting connection between the cover and the cassette housing corresponds to a hinge connection mechanism permitting pivoting about an axis as depicted in the figures).
Regarding claim 16, Falb teaches that the cassette includes a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position, wherein the cover includes an opening configured to receive a side port of the elongated medical device (Falb, FIG. 1–6B, FIG. 29–30, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that the cassette secures the hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) using enclosure member 244 including lid 243; Falb shows in the cited figures that the lid 243 includes an opening positioned adjacent the received Y-connector 233 so that the side port of the coupled assembly is received through the opening, thereby providing clearance for the side port, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the elongated medical device as installed in the cassette includes the guide catheter coupled with the hemostasis valve such that the side port of the coupled assembly is a side port of the elongated medical device).
Regarding claim 18, Falb teaches that the cassette secures a hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) coupled to the elongated medical device using a Y-connector base that is part of the cassette and an enclosure member including a support member, wherein the housing further comprises a recess configured to receive a side port of a hemostasis valve coupled to the elongated medical device (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 4, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb shows the support member 245 as part of the cassette housing structure and depicts, in FIGS. 2 and 4, that the Y-connector base/holder region 238 formed in the housing includes a shaped recess at the “Y” location to accommodate the hemostasis valve geometry including the side port when the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette; FIG. 29–30, ¶[0081], “The valve body includes a second leg extending at an angle relative to the first leg and in fluid communication with the first leg”, Falb describes the hemostasis valve as having a second leg extending at an angle, which corresponds to the claimed side port, and the recess shown in FIGS. 2 and 4 is configured to receive that angled leg while the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb.
Falb teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 2, in the alternative, Falb teaches that the cover is pivotably coupled between a closed position and an open position (Falb, ¶[0050], “an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243, corresponding to the claimed cover; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”, Falb expressly teaches that the cover pivots between open and closed positions).
According to one interpretation of Falb with respect to the feature of when the cover is in the open position a plane defined by an inner surface of the cover is perpendicular to a plane defined by a front surface of the housing, Falb teaches a pivoting cover/lid for the cassette/Y-connector holder and depicts the cover in a raised open position (Instant Application, ¶[0033], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic drive (or an element of the robotic drive or other element of the catheter procedure system) that faces a bedside user and away from the positioning system, such as an articulating arm”; Falb, ¶[0047], “The term front refers to the side of the robotic mechanism that faces a user and away from the articulating arm”; Falb therefore uses the same directional definition of “front” as the Instant Application; Falb, FIG. 1, depicting the cover side of cassette 222 facing away from articulating arm 224; Falb, ¶[0011]: “FIG. 3 is a side front view of the front portion of the robotic catheter system of FIG. 2 with the guide catheter positioned within a Y-connector support in a raised position”, Flab’s description of FIG. 3 as a “side front view” supports that FIG. 3 shows the side geometry of the front side of the Y-connector support/cassette area, while separately describing the illustrated area as the ”front portion” of the robotic catheter system; Falb, ¶[0012], “FIG. 4 is an isometric view of the portion of the system of FIG. 2 with the Y-connector and support in a lowered position with the Y-connector support cover in the raised position”; ¶[0050], “Y-connector 233 is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”; ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position”; FIG. 4 depicts lid/cover 243/244 in the open position while the Y-connector support is in the lowered operational position, and, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art from the depicted geometry, the plane defined by the inner surface of lid/cover 243/244 is substantially perpendicular to the plane defined by the front surface of the cassette/Y-connector holder housing portion, but not explicitly perpendicular). Falb further teaches that the Y-connector enclosure pivots to a open install position “to provide easy installation of guide catheter 228 and Y-connector 233” (Falb, ¶[0051]).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Falb’s open cover such that the plane defined by the inner surface of the cover is perpendicular to the plane defined by the front surface of the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that configuring Falb’s cover to open to a position perpendicular to the front housing surface would provide predictable clearance for installation of guide catheter 228 and Y-connector 233, consistent with Falb’s disclosed purpose of providing easy installation of those components (Falb, ¶[0051]-[0052]). Selecting such an angular open position for a hinged cover would have been a routine design choice within the skill of the art because Falb already teaches a pivoting cover that opens and closes relative to the Y-connector holder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the modification merely sets the angular stop position of Falb’s already-pivoting cover and does not require changing the function of the cover, the hinge/connection mechanism, or the Y-connector holder structure. The modification would have predictably provided improved access and clearance while maintaining the same cassette/Y-connector holder structure.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Falb teaches that the cassette secures a hemostasis valve coupled to an elongated medical device using an enclosure member including a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position: wherein the cover includes a recess configured to receive a hemostasis valve coupled to the elongated medical device when the cover is in the open position (Falb, FIG. 1–6B, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches that the lid 243 is the cover portion of enclosure member 244 associated with the hemostasis valve; Falb, FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, Falb shows the lid 243 including a recessed region shaped to accommodate the hemostasis valve 233 such that, when the lid is pivoted to the open position, the recess receives the hemostasis valve while allowing the hemostasis valve to remain coupled to the elongated medical device without interference from the cover).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb, and further in view of Rotem et al. (US 20130116623 A1), hereto referred as Rotem.
Falb teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Falb teaches that the cassette includes a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position further comprising a mechanical locking mechanism configured to hold the cover in the closed position. Falb teaches a cassette having a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position, but Falb does not expressly teach a mechanical locking mechanism configured to hold the cover in the closed position (Falb, ¶[0052], “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position. Y connector holder 238 is releasably engaged to a portion of cassette 222 by a release button 246”).
Rotem teaches a medical device enclosure having a housing and a pivotable cover similar in form and function to Falb’s cassette cover, the cover including a locking mechanism that prevents accidental opening, thereby holding the cover closed (Rotem, FIG. 2, ¶[0033], “After assembly of interface unit 32 onto pump 22, a cover 54 may be closed against a rim 52 over the unit for added security. A locking mechanism 55 on the cover prevents accidental opening”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Rotem to further comprise a mechanical locking mechanism configured to hold the cover in the closed position. Such a modification would have been possible by incorporating a latch or other locking mechanism on Falb’s pivoting cover and corresponding mating feature on the cassette housing consistent with Rotem’s locking mechanism on a cover to prevent accidental opening. The benefit of the combination would have been improved retention of the cover in the closed position to reduce inadvertent opening during handling and use and to provide added security for components retained under the cover.
Claims 7, 9, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb, and further in view of Wenderow et al. (US 20100130987 A1), hereto referred as Wenderow.
Falb teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 7, Falb does not explicitly teach that the opening is configured to orient the side port of the elongated medical device in a vertical direction.
Rather, Falb teaches that “up” and “down” are defined relative to gravity (Falb, ¶[0047], “The term up and upper refers to the general direction away from the direction of gravity and the term bottom, lower and down refers to the general direction of gravity”). Falb further teaches that the robotic mechanism including the cassette is mounted to an articulating arm that allows a user to position the robotic mechanism proximate a patient (Falb, ¶[0049], “base 214 is secured to an articulating arm 224 that allows a user to position robotic mechanism 212 proximate a patient”). Falb also teaches that the hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) is secured to the cassette by an enclosure member including a lid and support member (Falb, ¶[0050], “Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”). As shown in Falb’s figures depicting installation and use configurations (Falb, FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 14–17, where the connection mechanism is below the axis and the port is in a vertical position), the opening in the cover that receives the side port maintains a fixed orientation of the side port relative to the cassette, and because Falb teaches the cassette is positionable by the articulating arm and defines “up” and “down” with respect to gravity, Falb at least implies that the cassette may be oriented such that the received side port is oriented in a substantially vertical direction in use, as FIGS. 14–17 depict the cassette in a rotated configuration during catheter loading; however, Falb does not expressly clarify whether this orientation reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes.
Wenderow makes this cassette-orientation teaching explicit by disclosing that the articulating arm provides multi-axis pivoting and multiple degrees of freedom to position the cassette in any orientation relative to the patient (Wenderow, ¶[0046], “First knuckle 32 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot about a vertical axis and or a horizontal axis. Second knuckle 34 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot up and down or about a horizontal axis. Articulating arm 18 may have multiple degrees of freedom to position cassette 24 in any orientation relative to the patient for proper positioning”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Wenderow to position the cassette in an orientation relative to gravity such that the opening that receives the side port correspondingly orients the side port in a vertical direction. This would have been possible because Falb already teaches an articulating arm for positioning the robotic mechanism, and Wenderow teaches the specific multi-axis pivoting and degrees of freedom that allow setting a desired cassette orientation. The benefit of the combination would have been improved procedural usability by allowing the clinician to orient the side port as desired for access and line management, including gravity-referenced positioning.
Regarding claim 9, Falb teaches that the cover includes a retaining element (Falb, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette by an enclosure member including a lid 243; Falb, FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, Falb depicts the lid 243 including a shaped retaining feature that constrains the angled leg of the hemostasis valve within the housing recess; Falb, FIG. 29–30, ¶[0081], “The valve body includes a second leg extending at an angle relative to the first leg and in fluid communication with the first leg”, Falb’s “second leg” corresponds to the claimed side port and the retaining feature constrains that side port to a fixed orientation relative to the cassette, however Falb only depicts the side port in a vertical orientation in FIGS. 14–17 and does not expressly clarify whether that depicted orientation reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes), but does not explicitly teach that the retaining element is configured to orient the side port of the hemostasis valve in a substantially vertical direction. Rather, Falb teaches that “up” and “down” are defined relative to gravity (Falb, ¶[0047], “The term up and upper refers to the general direction away from the direction of gravity and the term bottom , lower and down refers to the general direction of gravity”). Falb further teaches that the robotic mechanism including the cassette is mounted to an articulating arm that allows a user to position the robotic mechanism proximate a patient (Falb, ¶[0049], “base 214 is secured to an articulating arm 224 that allows a user to position robotic mechanism 212 proximate a patient”). As shown in Falb’s figures (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 4), the lid 243 includes a retaining feature that constrains the side port to a fixed orientation relative to the cassette by holding the side port within the housing recess, and FIGS. 14–17 depict a rotated cassette configuration which the side port is oriented upward relative to gravity (where the connection mechanism remains below the elongate axis and the port is in a vertical position). However, Falb does not expressly clarify whether the rotated depiction reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes.
Wenderow makes this cassette-orientation teaching explicit by disclosing that the articulating arm provides multi-axis pivoting and multiple degrees of freedom to position the cassette in any orientation relative to the patient (Wenderow, ¶[0046], “First knuckle 32 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot about a vertical axis and or a horizontal axis. Second knuckle 34 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot up and down or about a horizontal axis. Articulating arm 18 may have multiple degrees of freedom to position cassette 24 in any orientation relative to the patient for proper positioning”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Wenderow to position the cassette in an orientation relative to gravity such that the retaining element of the cover that constrains the side port correspondingly orients the side port of the hemostasis valve in a substantially vertical direction. This would have been possible because Falb already teaches a lid that retains the hemostasis valve side port in a fixed orientation relative to the cassette and teaches an articulating arm for positioning the robotic mechanism, and Wenderow teaches the specific multi-axis pivoting and degrees of freedom that allow setting a desired cassette orientation relative to gravity. The benefit of the combination would have been improved procedural usability by allowing the clinician to orient the hemostasis valve side port as desired for access and line management, including gravity-referenced vertical positioning.
Regarding claim 17, Falb does not explicitly teach that the opening is configured to orient the side port of the elongated medical device in a substantially vertical direction. Rather, Falb teaches that “up” and “down” are defined relative to gravity (Falb, ¶[0047], “The term up and upper refers to the general direction away from the direction of gravity and the term bottom, lower and down refers to the general direction of gravity”). Falb further teaches that the robotic mechanism including the cassette is mounted to an articulating arm that allows a user to position the robotic mechanism proximate a patient (Falb, ¶[0049], “base 214 is secured to an articulating arm 224 that allows a user to position robotic mechanism 212 proximate a patient”). Falb also teaches that the hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) is secured to the cassette by an enclosure member including a lid and support member (Falb, ¶[0050], “Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”). As shown in Falb’s figures depicting installation and use configurations (Falb, FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 14–17, where the connection mechanism is below the axis and the port is in a vertical position), the opening in the cover that receives the side port maintains a fixed orientation of the side port relative to the cassette, and because Falb teaches the cassette is positionable by the articulating arm and defines “up” and “down” with respect to gravity, Falb at least implies that the cassette may be oriented such that the received side port is oriented in a substantially vertical direction in use, as FIGS. 14–17 depict the cassette in a rotated configuration during catheter loading; however, Falb does not expressly clarify whether this orientation reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes.
Wenderow makes this cassette-orientation teaching explicit by disclosing that the articulating arm provides multi-axis pivoting and multiple degrees of freedom to position the cassette in any orientation relative to the patient (Wenderow, ¶[0046], “First knuckle 32 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot about a vertical axis and or a horizontal axis. Second knuckle 34 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot up and down or about a horizontal axis. Articulating arm 18 may have multiple degrees of freedom to position cassette 24 in any orientation relative to the patient for proper positioning”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Wenderow to position the cassette in an orientation relative to gravity such that the opening that receives the side port correspondingly orients the side port in a substantially vertical direction. This would have been possible because Falb already teaches an articulating arm for positioning the robotic mechanism, and Wenderow teaches the specific multi-axis pivoting and degrees of freedom that allow setting a desired cassette orientation. The benefit of the combination would have been improved procedural usability by allowing the clinician to orient the side port as desired for access and line management, including gravity-referenced positioning.
Regarding claim 19, Falb teaches that the cover includes a retaining element (Falb, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”, Falb teaches the hemostasis valve is secured to the cassette by an enclosure member including a lid 243; Falb, FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, Falb depicts the lid 243 including a shaped retaining feature that constrains the angled leg of the hemostasis valve within the housing recess; Falb, FIG. 29–30, ¶[0081], “The valve body includes a second leg extending at an angle relative to the first leg and in fluid communication with the first leg”, Falb’s “second leg” corresponds to the claimed side port and the retaining feature constrains that side port to a fixed orientation relative to the cassette, however Falb only depicts the side port in a vertical orientation in FIGS. 14–17 and does not expressly clarify whether that depicted orientation reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes), but does not explicitly teach that the retaining element is configured to orient the side port of the hemostasis valve in a substantially vertical direction. Rather, Falb teaches that “up” and “down” are defined relative to gravity (Falb, ¶[0047], “The term up and upper refers to the general direction away from the direction of gravity and the term bottom , lower and down refers to the general direction of gravity”). Falb further teaches that the robotic mechanism including the cassette is mounted to an articulating arm that allows a user to position the robotic mechanism proximate a patient (Falb, ¶[0049], “base 214 is secured to an articulating arm 224 that allows a user to position robotic mechanism 212 proximate a patient”). As shown in Falb’s figures (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 4), the lid 243 includes a retaining feature that constrains the side port to a fixed orientation relative to the cassette by holding the side port within the housing recess, and FIGS. 14–17 depict a rotated cassette configuration which the side port is oriented upward relative to gravity (where the connection mechanism remains below the elongate axis and the port is in a vertical position). However, Falb does not expressly clarify whether the rotated depiction reflects an actual use configuration or is presented for depiction purposes.
Wenderow makes this cassette-orientation teaching explicit by disclosing that the articulating arm provides multi-axis pivoting and multiple degrees of freedom to position the cassette in any orientation relative to the patient (Wenderow, ¶[0046], “First knuckle 32 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot about a vertical axis and or a horizontal axis. Second knuckle 34 enables articulating arm 18 to pivot up and down or about a horizontal axis. Articulating arm 18 may have multiple degrees of freedom to position cassette 24 in any orientation relative to the patient for proper positioning”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Wenderow to position the cassette in an orientation relative to gravity such that the retaining element of the cover that constrains the side port correspondingly orients the side port of the hemostasis valve in a substantially vertical direction. This would have been possible because Falb already teaches a lid that retains the hemostasis valve side port in a fixed orientation relative to the cassette and teaches an articulating arm for positioning the robotic mechanism, and Wenderow teaches the specific multi-axis pivoting and degrees of freedom that allow setting a desired cassette orientation relative to gravity. The benefit of the combination would have been improved procedural usability by allowing the clinician to orient the hemostasis valve side port as desired for access and line management, including gravity-referenced vertical positioning.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb, and further in view of Blacker (US 20140171863 A1), hereto referred as Blacker.
Falb teaches claim 10 as described above.
Regarding claim 11, Falb teaches the cassette according to claim 10, but does not expressly teach wherein the saddle includes a snap feature to hold the hemostasis valve when the hemostasis valve is positioned in the saddle wherein the saddle includes a snap feature to hold the hemostasis valve when the hemostasis valve is positioned in the saddle. Falb teaches a cassette in a robotic catheter system in which a hemostasis valve (Y-connector 233) is secured to the cassette by a Y-connector engagement mechanism including a base and an enclosure member, but Falb does not expressly teach that the saddle includes a snap feature to hold the hemostasis valve when the hemostasis valve is positioned in the saddle (Falb, FIG. 2, FIG. 4, ¶[0050], “In one embodiment Y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve that is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245”).
Blacker teaches that the base includes a quick release mechanism that releasably secures (i.e., captures/retains) the hemostasis valve to the base, and that the quick release is closed to releasably capture the hemostasis valve (Blacker, ¶[0034]: “Base 32 may include a quick release mechanism to releasably secure hemostasis valve 34 to base32.”; Blacker, ¶[0055]: “Hemostasis valve 34 is secured to base32 with a quick release mechanism 138… Quick release 138 is then closed to releasably capture hemostasis valve 34…”.; FIGS. 16–18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Falb in view of Blacker to provide the saddle with a snap feature to hold the hemostasis valve when the hemostasis valve is positioned in the saddle, because Blacker expressly teaches a quick release retention mechanism that releasably secures/captures a hemostasis valve on a base (i.e., a snap/clip-type retention feature). This would have been possible by incorporating a quick release style snap retention feature on Falb’s hemostasis valve receiving region to releasably retain the hemostasis valve while still permitting intentional removal as taught by Blacker. The benefit of the combination would have been improved retention and procedural usability by securely holding the hemostasis valve in place while allowing convenient removal and replacement when needed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US 20180193603 A1), hereto referred as Falb, and further in view of Jarnagin et al. (US 20110300010 A1), hereto referred as Jarnagin.
Falb teaches claim 10 as described above.
Regarding claim 15, Falb teaches a cassette having a cover that pivots between an open position and a closed position (as shown in claim 10 above), but does not expressly teach that the cassette further comprises a magnet configured to hold the cover in the closed position. Jarnagin teaches a medical enclosure comprising a housing, a cover pivotally coupled to the housing, and a magnetic latching mechanism configured to hold the cover in the closed position (Jarnagin, ¶[0043], “Pivoting door 140 is mounted to hinge brackets 144 for pivoting the door toward and away from rotor assembly 120”; ¶[0049], “Latching mechanism(s) may also be provided to provide positive positioning of the door when closed… Many different types of latching mechanisms may be used including, for example, magnetic latches… magnets may be mounted in posts 165… with additional magnets mounted in a door framework or posts 168… with the magnets serving a latching function to maintain the door in the closed position until sufficient force is exerted to break the magnetic attraction”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Falb in view of Jarnagin to further comprise a magnet configured to hold the cover in the closed position. Such a modification would have been possible by incorporating a magnetic latch on Falb’s pivoting cover and a corresponding magnetic element on the cassette housing, consistent with Jarnagin’s magnetic latching arrangement for retaining a pivoting door in a closed position. The benefit of the combination would have been improved reliability in maintaining the cover in the closed position during use, thereby reducing inadvertent opening of the cover during catheter-based procedures.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Drawings/Specification
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026, pages 7-8, regarding the previous Objections to the Drawings/Specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous Objections have been withdrawn.
Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026, page 8, regarding the previous Objections of claim 2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous Objections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026, page 8, regarding the previous 112(b) Rejections of claims 2-7 have been fully considered and are persuasive and/or moot due to claim amendments. The previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026, pages 9-12, regarding the previous 102 and 103 Rejections of claims 1-19 have been fully considered but are not persuasive as discussed below.
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that Falb does not disclose “a connection mechanism coupled to the housing at a position below the longitudinal cradle axis,” as recited in amended claim 1. Applicant contends that Falb’s Figures 2 and 3 merely disclose support member 245 and lid 243, and that Falb does not show the connection mechanism below the claimed longitudinal cradle axis. Applicant further argues that claim 10 recites similar features, and that the dependent claims are allowable for at least the same reasons.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Falb teaches that “an elongated medical device such as a guide catheter 228 is operatively secured to robotic mechanism 212 through cassette 222” (Falb, ¶[0050]), and that “Y-connector 233 is secured to cassette 222 by a Y-connector engagement mechanism 236 including a Y-connector base 238 that is part of cassette 222 and an enclosure member 244 including a lid 243 and a support member 245” (Falb, ¶[0050]). Falb further teaches that “Guide catheter 228 maintains a linear position along its longitudinal axis 248 within cassette 222” (Falb, ¶[0053]), and that “In one embodiment longitudinal axis 248 corresponds to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222” (Falb, ¶[0053]). Thus, Falb expressly ties the longitudinal axis of the received guide catheter to the longitudinal axis of cassette 222, which corresponds to the longitudinal axis of the catheter-receiving cradle/channel of the cassette.
Falb also teaches that enclosure member 244 includes lid 243 and support member 245 (Falb, ¶[0050]), and separately teaches that “Y connector holder 238 includes a cover 244 which pivots from an open position to a closed position” (Falb, ¶[0052]). The claimed connection mechanism is therefore mapped to the pivot connection between lid 243/cover 244 and the face of member 238 that support member 245 resides on/with.
Falb’s Figures 2-4 show the structural relationship between lid 243, support member 245, and the received guide catheter 228. In particular, these figures show guide catheter 228 received along longitudinal axis 248 above the lower support member/face of the catheter-receiving cradle structure. Figures 2 and 3 show the component relationship between lid 243 and support member 245, with the face of member 238 and support member 245 forming the lower stationary support portion of enclosure member 244. A pivot connection between a lid and its stationary support component necessarily exists at the interface of those components, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from Figures 2-4 that this interface is located at or adjacent to the lower support member/face. Because guide catheter 228 is received along longitudinal axis 248 above support member 245, the lid-to-support-member pivot connection is below longitudinal axis 248 and therefore below the longitudinal cradle axis (see also the annotated Falb figures 2 and 3 in the claim 1 rejection).
Therefore, Falb discloses “a connection mechanism coupled to the housing at a position below the longitudinal cradle axis,” as recited in claim 1. For the same reasons, Applicant’s corresponding argument regarding independent claim 10 is not persuasive.
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that claims 2-9 and 11-19 are allowable because independent claims 1 and 10 are allegedly allowable over Falb, and because the secondary references applied to the dependent claims do not remedy the alleged deficiency of Falb.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Applicant does not present separate substantive arguments directed to the additional limitations of the dependent claims, but instead relies on the same argument addressed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 10. As set forth above, Falb discloses the amended limitation “a connection mechanism coupled to the housing at a position below the longitudinal cradle axis,” as recited in claim 1, and the corresponding limitation recited in claim 10. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding the dependent claims are not persuasive for at least the same reasons.
For dependent claims rejected under §103, Applicant’s argument is also not persuasive because the applied secondary references are not relied upon to cure the alleged deficiency regarding the longitudinal cradle axis limitation. Rather, the secondary references are applied for the additional limitations recited in the dependent claims. Since Falb discloses the disputed limitation of independent claims 1 and 10, Applicant’s derivative arguments do not overcome the rejections of the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791