DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaspar (Silicon oxycarbide/nano-silicon composite anodes for Li-ion batteries, as cited within the IDS 6/17/2024).
As to claim 1, Kaspar discloses a negative electrode active material (Introduction, discussed throughout) comprising composite particles in which silicon nanoparticles are dispersed inside a matrix containing silicon oxycarbide and a carbonaceous phase (Abstract and Introduction, Table 1, discussed throughout), the negative electrode active material having a crystalline particle size of 40nm or less determined by the Scherrer method from a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of a diffraction line attributed to Si(111) around 2θ=28.4° in analysis of an X-ray diffraction pattern (Experimental 30-50 nm, figure 1, discussed throughout also MPEP 2112). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 2, Kaspar discloses wherein, the matrix in the composite particles has a carbonaceous phase content in a range of 30% by weight to 85% by weight of a matrix total weight (Introduction and Table 1).
As to claim 3, Kaspar discloses wherein, the matrix in the composite particles has a carbonaceous phase content in a range of 40% by weight to 70% by weight of a matrix total weight (Introduction and Table 1). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 5, Kaspar discloses wherein, the composite particles have a true density higher than 1.60 g/cm3 and less than 2.40 g/cm3 (introduction and experimental, the particles are silicon and silicon has a true density of 2.33 g/cm3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaspar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshikawa (US 2016/0087270).
As to claim 4, Kaspar is silent to wherein, the composite particles have a specific surface area (BET) in a range of 1 m2/g to 20 m2/g. Yoshikawa discloses a negative electrode material for lithium ion batteries ([0012]) wherein silicon has microcrystals ([0021]) with a surface area of 0.1 to 30 m2/g ([0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the surface areas of the silicon from Yoshikawa within Kaspar because if surface area is less than 0.1 m2/g, the surface activity may become lower, the binding force of a binder during electrode preparation may become lower, resulting in a degradation of cycle performance after repeated charge/discharge cycles and if the BET specific surface area exceeds 30 m2/g, a more amount of solvent may be absorbed during electrode preparation, which requires to add a larger amount of binder to maintain the binding force, resulting in a drop of conductivity as well as a degradation of cycle performance ([0036], Yoshikawa). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaspar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP (JP 6547309B2).
As to claim 6, Kaspar is silent to wherein, the composite particles each have a surface with a coating layer mainly containing low crystalline carbon with an average thickness of 10 nm or more and 300 nm or less. JP discloses a negative electrode for lithium ion batteries (page 2, discussed throughout) wherein silicon particles are coated with carbon (page 2, discussed throughout) with a coating thickness of 2 nm to 20 nm (page 3, discussed throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the coating from JP within Kaspar because carbon coating can prevent the loss of the reversible capacity due to the natural oxidation of the silicon particle surface (page 3, discussed throughout).
Modified Kaspar is silent to the type of carbon that is used as the coating however, JP discloses using soft carbon within the electrode (page 4). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use soft carbon as the coating carbon as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143).
As to claim 7, Kaspar discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising the negative electrode active material according to claim 1 (Introduction shows that the battery is a lithium ion battery, Experimental shows the electrolyte is nonaqueous electrolyte).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724