DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
In response to the claims filed 06/02/2023, the Office issued a Restriction/Election Requirement on 09/23/2025. The Office required restriction between the invention of Group I (Claims 1-18) and the invention of Group II (Claims 19-27 and 31-38).
Applicant’s election of Group I in addition to Species I c, Species II b, and Species III a in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed. Applicant’s arguments that “examination of the claims would not be a serious burden, as is required in Section 803 of the MPEP, because the searches involved for the claims would be coextensive” (see pg. 8 of Remarks filed 11/24/2025) do not appear to address the Examiner’s clearly delineated reasons for establishing that a search burden is met, namely that (1) each invention requires a different field of search for the claims, and (2) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their separate classifications, as detailed in the Restriction requirement of 09/23/2025 (see pgs. 2 & 5). Thus, the Office has met the requirements of establishing burden as set forth in MPEP § 808.02.
Thus, Applicant has not persuasively rebutted the Office’s establishment of search burden along with particular reasons for distinctness between the groups and species of inventions, and consequently, the restriction requirement of 09/23/2025 is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Accordingly, Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 13-15 and 17-18 will be examined herein on the merits. Claims 2-3, 6-8, 12, 16, 19-27 and 31-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The four information disclosure statement(s) filed on various dates is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
2. The four information disclosure statements filed on 08/05/2025, 11/20/2024, 05/21/2024 and 12/18/2023 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Specifically, every reference listed under Non-Patent Literature Documents (within each of the information disclosure statements filed on said dates), titled “USPTO Office Action dated…” does not have a corresponding copy with contents filed for each reference. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
1. The enumeration a) through c) and i through iii therein separating the elements (and sub-elements) of claims 1 should be removed and replaced appropriately with a line indentation instead. See MPEP § 608.01 (m) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.75(i), stating “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation”.
2. A typo (dash within underlined phrase) in Claim 1: “…c. one or more narrow-band absorbers that selectively absorb light within the three discrete wavelength ranges, disposed between the holographic-optical elements and the outer surface of the glazing…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shikii et al. (US 20120099170 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shikii discloses: A display system for viewing information (¶0051, FIG. 1), comprising:
a. a glazing, comprising: i. a first transparent rigid substrate (¶0160: inner glass layer 215 defining an inner surface 211); ii. a second transparent rigid substrate (¶0160: outer glass layer 216 defining an outer surface 212); and iii. a polymer interlayer, positioned between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate, wherein one face of the first transparent rigid substrate defines an inner surface of the glazing and one face of the second transparent rigid substrate defines an outer surface of the glazing (¶0198: polycarbonate [polymer] may be used as the substrate 210B; ¶0160: an intermediate film 217 situated between the inner and outer glass layers 215, 216; see FIG. 12 showing glazing 210B comprising polymer interlayer 217 between the first [inner] transparent substrate 215 and the second [outer] transparent substrate 216);
b. one or more holographic optical elements which reflect light within three discrete wavelength ranges (FIGS. 11-12; ¶0138, 0147, 0151: A volume hologram 200 may be used as the reflection-type hologram 170; ¶0152: A reflection coat 174r which reflects the red laser beam LB(r) is provided on the outer surface of the resin material layer 171. A reflection coat 174g which allows the red laser beam LB(r) to pass through but reflects the green laser beam LB(g) is provided between the resin material layers 171, 172. A reflection coat 174b which allows the red and green laser beams LB(r), LB(g) to pass through but reflects the blue laser beam LB(b)); and
c. one or more narrow-band absorbers that selectively absorb light within the three discrete wavelength ranges, disposed between the holographic-optical elements and the outer surface of the glazing (¶0160-61, 0165: the intermediate film 217 has absorption characteristics to absorb infrared rays… intermediate film 217 has ultraviolet ray absorption characteristics; ¶0276: an intermediate film intervenes to selectively adjust a wavelength component of light entering; see FIG. 12 showing narrow-band absorbers in 217 disposed between the holographic-optical elements 200E and the outer surface of the glazing 216).
Regarding Claim 4, Shikii discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shikii further discloses: wherein the holographic optical elements are provided in or on a film positioned between the first rigid substrate and the polymer interlayer (¶0161: volume hologram 200E shown in FIG. 12 is situated between the inner glass layer 215 and the intermediate film 217; see FIG. 12 showing holographic optical elements in 200E provided in or on a film positioned between the first rigid substrate 215 and the polymer interlayer 217).
Regarding Claim 5, Shikii discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shikii further discloses: further comprising a projector that emits light toward the first transparent rigid substrate of the glazing within the three discrete wavelength ranges (¶0167: HUD 300 according to the second embodiment has the projection optical system 120 and a light source 350 including a red wavelength conversion laser source 310R, a green wavelength conversion laser source 310G and a blue wavelength conversion laser source 310B).
Regarding Claim 9, Shikii discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shikii further discloses: wherein the one or more holographic optical elements are created dynamically (¶0060, 0147).
Regarding Claim 10, Shikii discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shikii further discloses: wherein the projector is selected from a laser diode-based projector; an LED projector; a DPSS laser-based projector, a hybrid laser-LED projector, a laser projector, a light source combined with a spatial light modulator, or a light source combined with a waveguide (¶0053: laser projector).
Regarding Claim 18, * discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. * further discloses: wherein the holographic optical elements comprise one or more diffraction gratings (¶0060, 0062, 0064: volume hologram diffraction grating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 13-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimatani et al. (US 2017/0052369 A1) in view of Gardiner (US 2022/0113602 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shimatani discloses: A display system for viewing information (FIG. 1; ¶0007), comprising:
a. a glazing, comprising: i. a first transparent rigid substrate (¶0050: transparent substrate 21); ii. a second transparent rigid substrate (¶0050: transparent substrate 20); and iii. an interlayer, positioned between the first transparent substrate and the second transparent substrate, wherein one face of the first transparent rigid substrate defines an inner surface of the glazing and one face of the second transparent rigid substrate defines an outer surface of the glazing (¶0050: The cholesteric liquid crystal layer 22 is sandwiched between the substrates 20 and 21…Each of the cholesteric liquid crystal layers 22 includes nematic liquid crystals with a chiral material added thereto to form the helical structure; see FIGS. 2 & 16 showing glazing 12 comprising polymer interlayer 22 between the first [inner] transparent substrate 21 and the second [outer] transparent substrate 20);
b. one or more holographic optical elements which reflect light within three discrete wavelength ranges (¶0049, 0101: light reflecting portions 216 to 218 that are holographic components laid in layers have wavelength selectivity to reflect a specific wavelength component with high reflectivity; see FIG. 5 disclosing three discrete wavelength ranges reflected by HOE); and
c. one or more narrow-band absorbers that selectively absorb light within the three discrete wavelength ranges, disposed between the holographic-optical elements and the outer surface of the glazing (¶0051-52, 0112: The absorption of light by the light reflecting portions 16 to 18 included in the combiner 12 has wavelength dependency; see FIG. 5 disclosing narrow-band absorbers that selectively absorb light within the three discrete wavelength ranges).
Shimatani does not appear to explicitly disclose: a polymer interlayer. However, it has been held that where the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.07, citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), wherein the court upheld that “selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious”. See also Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), as cited in MPEP § 2144.07. In the present case, Shimatani discloses an interlayer of a cholesteric liquid crystal layer which is commonly known in the art as a chiral nematic liquid crystals made of polymers (¶0050). Shimatani further teaches that such an interlayer is utilized for both wavelength selectivity and optimizing the full width half maximum of the reflectance of the holographic optical element (¶0050), thereby improving the overall brightness of the display (¶0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select Shimatani’s interlayer to satisfy the claimed polymeric condition, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice.
Nonetheless, the Examiner further submits Gardiner. Gardiner is related to Shimatani with respect to a display system for viewing information comprising a plurality of substrates, polymer interlayer, and narrow band absorbers (¶0047, 0065, 0094, 0102, 0112; FIGS. 4, 11a-b) and Gardiner teaches the claimed condition: a polymer interlayer (¶0031: polymer layers, may be inserted in between the substrates; ¶0037: multi-layered structure comprising left and right chiral handed polymerized liquid crystals).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimatani’s display system in view of Gardiner to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a polymer interlayer is utilized as a spacer in a display system with optical filtering properties that can be processed at a large scale, as taught in paragraphs ¶0006, 0018, 0031 of Gardiner.
Regarding Claim 11, Shimatani discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shimatani further discloses: wherein the three discrete wavelength ranges include light of 445nm, 515nm, and 642nm (¶0046: The red laser diode component emits red light having a wavelength in a red wavelength range (about 600 nm to about 780 nm). The green laser diode component emits green light having a wavelength in a green wavelength range (about 500 nm to about 570 nm). The blue laser diode component emits blue light having a wavelength in a blue wavelength range (about 420 nm to about 500 nm)).
Regarding Claim 13, Shimatani discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shimatani further discloses: wherein the one or more narrow-band absorbers exhibit a FWHM from about 0.5nm to 50nm (¶0051-52, 0112; ¶0071: The full width at half maximum in the combiner 12 are in the range from 6 nm to 11 nm; ¶0094: full width at half maximum in the combiner 112 is in the range from 14 nm to 40 nm; FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Shimatani discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shimatani further discloses: wherein the projector emits at least one wavelength range of light that exhibits a FWHM from about 0.5nm to 100nm (¶0046: a full width at half maximum in the light emission spectrum of each color of emitting light is equal to or less than 1 nm).
Regarding Claim 15, Shimatani discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shimatani further discloses: wherein the one or more holographic optical elements reflect light at a wavelength range that exhibits a FWHM from about 0.5nm to 50nm (¶0071: The full width at half maximum in the reflectance spectrum of the red light reflecting portion 16, the full width at half maximum in the reflectance spectrum of the green light reflecting portion 17, and the full width at half maximum in the reflectance spectrum of the blue light reflecting portion 18 in the combiner 12 are in the range from 6 nm to 11 nm; ¶0094: full width at half maximum in the reflectance spectrum of each of the red light reflecting portion 116, the green light reflecting portion 117, and the blue light reflecting portion 118 of the combiner 112 is in the range from 14 nm to 40 nm).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikii et al. (US 20120099170 A1) in view of Nakahata et al. (US 20200272043 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Shikii discloses the display system according to Claim 1, as above. Shikii does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein at least one of the narrow-band absorbers is a polymethine dye.
Nakahata is related to Shikii with respect to a display system for viewing information comprising holographic optical elements, substrates and narrow band absorbers (¶0032, 0041-42, 0063, 0098; FIGS. 1-4, 9) and Nakahata teaches the claimed condition: a polymer interlayer (¶0041, 0075: cyanine leuco pigment [dye] as absorbing agent in protective layer; the Examiner notes that it is commonly known in the art that cyanines are a class of dyes belonging to the polymethine group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shikii’s display system in view of Nakahata to satisfy the claimed condition, because such a polymethine dye is utilized for selective absorption characteristics to prevent deterioration of the display while reducing influence of stray light, as taught in paragraphs ¶0034, 0041, 0062, 0075 of Nakahata.
Other Relevant Documents Considered
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Nikkhoo (US 2016/0252724 A1) and Park et al. (US 2020/0201039 A1) both disclose a display system for viewing information comprising holographic optical elements, two substrates, a polymer interlayer, narrow band absorbers, and further satisfying some of the additional conditions as claimed.
Conclusion
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872