DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the application filed 2 June 2023.
Claims 1-18 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following reference characters:
"146" and "148" have both been used to designate a distance (para. 0049).
“150” has been used to designate both a hemostasis valve and a cassette (para. 0052).
“151” has been used to designate both a hemostasis valve and a cassette housing (para. 0054).
“162” has been used to designate both a first tubing and a first port (para. 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20160271368 A1), hereinafter Falb in view of Casey et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20200345904 A1), hereinafter Casey.
Regarding claim 1, Falb discloses a cassette (Falb: Fig. 1 and 19, cassette 222) for use in a robotic drive of a catheter-based procedure system (Fig. 1, system 210), the cassette (222) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1 and 4, comprising external chassis of cassette 222 and enclosure 244) configured to support a hemostasis valve (Fig. 2, y-connector 233 is a hemostasis valve; para. 0054) having a base (Fig. 30 shown above, base A) and a side port (Fig. 30 shown above, side port B), the housing (222 and 224) having a longitudinal device axis (Fig. 30 shown above, axis C) associated with an elongated medical device (Fig. 2, guide catheter 228).
Falb does not expressly disclose a first tube connection point positioned on the housing and above the longitudinal device axis, the first tube connection point configured to receive a first tube; and a second tube connection point positioned proximate to a top edge of the housing and above the first tube connection point and the longitudinal device axis, the second tube connection point configured to receive a second tube.
Casey teaches a first tube connection point (Casey: Fig. 1, side port 166) positioned on a housing (side port 166 is shown positioned on a housing of device 120) and above the longitudinal device axis (Fig. 1, port 166 is above the longitudinal axis of valve 160), the first tube connection point (166) configured to receive a first tube (Fig. 1 above, first tube A); and a second tube connection point (Fig. 1, second tube connection point B) positioned proximate to a top edge of the housing (Fig. 1 above, connection point B is shown proximate to a top edge of the housing of device 120) and above the first tube connection point (Fig. 1 shown above, point B is shown above port 166) and the longitudinal device axis (Fig. 1 shown above, point B is shown above the longitudinal axis of the valve 160), the second tube connection point (B) configured to receive a second tube (Fig. 1, tubing 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Falb such that a first tube connection point positioned on the housing and above the longitudinal device axis, the first tube connection point configured to receive a first tube; and a second tube connection point positioned proximate to a top edge of the housing and above the first tube connection point and the longitudinal device axis, the second tube connection point configured to receive a second tube as taught by Casey in order to provide an aspiration control device that is connectable to the valve while stabilizing the catheter (Casey: para. 0045).
Regarding claim 6, Blacker discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1, robotic mechanism 212) for providing a fluid connection to a cassette (222) for use in a robotic drive of a catheter-based procedure system (210), the apparatus (212) comprising: a cassette housing (222 external chassis and 244) having a longitudinal device axis (C) associated with an elongated medical device (228); a hemostasis valve (233) positioned in the cassette housing (Fig. 2, valve 233 is within enclosure 244), the hemostasis valve (233) having a base (A) and a side port (B);
Falb does not expressly disclose a first tube connection point positioned on the cassette housing and above the longitudinal device axis; a first tube coupled to the side port of the hemostasis valve and positioned in the first connection point; a valve having a plurality of ports wherein one of the plurality of ports is coupled to the first tube; a second tube connection point positioned proximate to a top edge of the cassette housing and above the first tube connection point and the longitudinal device axis; and a second tube coupled to one of the plurality of ports of the valve and positioned in the second tube connection point.
Casey teaches a first tube connection point (Casey: 166) positioned on a housing (side port 166 is shown positioned on a housing of device 120) and above the longitudinal device axis (166 is above the longitudinal axis of 160); a first tube (A) coupled to a side port (Fig. 1 shown above, side port C) of a hemostasis valve (Fig. 1, hemostasis valve 160) and positioned in the first connection point (166); a valve (Fig. 1, device 120) having a plurality of ports (Fig. 1 above, comprising port D and E) wherein one of the plurality of ports (Fig. 1 above, port D) is coupled to the first tube (Fig. 1 above, port D is coupled to tube A); a second tube connection point (B) positioned proximate to a top edge of the housing (Fig. 1 above, connection point B is shown proximate to a top edge of the housing of device 120) and above the first tube connection point (Fig. 1 shown above, point B is shown above port 166) and the longitudinal device axis (Fig. 1 shown above, point B is shown above the longitudinal axis of the valve 160); and a second tube (112) coupled to one of the plurality of ports (Fig. 1 above, tube 112 is shown connected to port E) of the valve (120) and positioned in the second tube connection point (B).
Regarding claim 17, Falb in view of Casey disclose the apparatus above, wherein the hemostasis valve (Falb: 233) is a rotating hemostasis valve (Fig. 29, connector 233 comprises multiple rotational components 241 and 404 that allow for rotational control of guide catheter 228; para (0055).
Claims 2-5, 7, 8, 11-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb in view of Casey, in further view of Brown et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20170354941 A1), hereinafter Brown. Regarding claim 2, Falb in view of Casey discloses the cassette above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the first tube connection point is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33) is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube (Fig. 2B, strain relief clip 33 provides strain relief to lines 2011 and 2021; para. 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the first tube connection point is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube as taught by Brown in order to secure the fluid line in place (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 3, Falb in view of Casey discloses the cassette above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the first tube connection point is a clip.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (33) that is a clip (Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33 is a clip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the first tube connection point is a clip as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 4, Falb in view of Casey discloses the cassette above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube connection point is a clip.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33) is a clip (Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33 is a clip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the second tube connection point is a clip as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 5, Falb in view of Casey discloses the cassette above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube connection point is a loop.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (33) is a loop (Fig. 2A, clip 33 is shown to be a loop around the fluid line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the second tube connection point is a loop as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 7, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the first tube connection point is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33) is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube (Fig. 2B, strain relief clip 33 provides strain relief to lines 2011 and 2021; para. 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the first tube connection point is configured to provide strain relief for the first tube as taught by Brown in order to secure the fluid line in place (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 8, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the first tube connection point is a clip.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: 33) that is a clip (Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33 is a clip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the first tube connection point is a clip as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 11, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube connection point is a clip.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33) is a clip (Fig. 2A, strain relief clip 33 is a clip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the second tube connection point is a clip as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 12, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube connection point is a loop.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: 33) is a loop (Fig. 2A, clip 33 is shown to be a loop around the fluid line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube connection point of Falb in view of Casey such that the second tube connection point is a loop as taught by Brown in order to provide strain relief to the fluid line (Brown: para. 0057).
Regarding claim 13, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second connection point is configured to allow the second tube to move axially.
Brown teaches a tube connection point (Brown: 33) is configured to allow a tube (Fig. 5, line 2011) to move axially (Fig. 5, line 2011 can pass through throughways 33c axially (para. 0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube connection point such that it is configured to allow the second tube to move axially as taught by Brown in order to allow the fluid line to be locked by the clip (Brown: para. 0073).
Regarding claim 14, Falb in view of Casey and Brown discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube includes a shoulder at a distal end of the second tube.
Brown teaches a tube (Brown: Fig. 5, line 2011) that includes a shoulder (Fig. 5, shunt 33g) at a distal end of the tube (2011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube of Falb in view of Casey such that the second tube includes a shoulder at a distal end of the second tube as taught by Brown in order to provide rigidity for secure connection to the clip (Brown: para. 0072).
Regarding claim 18, Falb in view of Casey discloses the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the first tube includes a collar that is configured to engage the first tube connection point.
Brown teaches a tube (Brown: Fig. 5, line 2011) includes a collar (Fig. 4B, collar 33d) that is configured to engage a tube connection point (Fig. 4B, collar 33d allows for clip 33 to lock onto line 2011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first tube of Falb in view of Casey such that the first tube includes a collar that is configured to engage the first tube connection point as taught by Brown in order to prevent movement along the axis of the line when secured by the clip (Brown: para. 0072).
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falb in view of Casey, in further view of Lampropoulos et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20060155247 A1), hereinafter Lampropoulos.
Regarding claim 9, Falb in view of Casey disclose the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose that the valve is a stopcock valve.
Lampropoulos teaches a valve (Lampropoulos: Fig. 2A, stopcock 230) that is a stopcock valve (230 is a stopcock valve; para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve of Falb in view of Casey such that it is a stopcock valve as taught by Lampropoulos in order to control the flow of fluids and materials introduced into the side port (Lampropoulos: para. 0007 and 0035).
Regarding claim 10, Falb in view of Casey disclose the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the plurality of ports includes three ports.
Lampropoulos teaches a plurality of ports (Fig. 2A, comprising port 232, 234 and 237) that includes three ports (232, 234, and 237).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plurality of ports of Falb in view of Casey such that it included three ports as taught by Lampropoulos in order to control the flow of fluid and allow for venting to the external environment (para. 0035).
Regarding claim 15, Falb in view of Casey disclose the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the second tube is coupled to a fluid source.
Lampropoulos teaches a second tube (Fig. 2A, entry line 125) is coupled to a fluid source (infusate bag containing saline solution; para. 0032-0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second tube such that it is coupled to a fluid source as taught by Lampropoulos in order to allow for the introduction of medicinal fluid to a patient (para. 0033).
Regarding claim 16, Falb in view of Casey disclose the apparatus above.
Falb in view of Casey does not expressly disclose the fluid source includes saline.
Lampropoulos teaches a fluid source (para. 0032-0033) includes saline (para. 0032-0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Falb in view of Casey such that the fluid source includes saline as taught by Lampropoulos in order to allow for the introduction of medicinal fluid to a patient (para. 0033).
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783