DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim s 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim s do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to an Abstract Idea without significantly more. Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception The claim recites : Sequencing the energy storage devices on the basis of their respective state of charge Determining a request to absorb or provide electrical power Calculating a number of energy storage devices to be activated Activating according to the sequencing ranking These limitations describe collecting information (state of charge, power request), analyzing the information (sequencing, threshold setting, calculating number of devices), and making a decision (which devices to activate) . Such operations constitute: M ental Processes (evaluation, ranking and decision making) Mathematical Concepts (calculations and thresholds) Certain methods of organizing human activity (managing resource allocation) Step 2A – Prong 2: Practical Application The claim s further recite an “energy storage system,” “energy storage devices,” and “power conversion system,” and include the step of “activating” selected devices. However, these additional elements Are recited at a high level of generality and Perform generic functions of energy storage and power conversion and Do not reflect any improvement in the functioning of the device themselves The “activating” step merely applies the result of the abstract idea ( ie the selection of devices to generic components, amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity). Additionally, the claims do nor recite any specific technical mechanism for how activation is performed, nor do they recite any particular improvement to power grid technology, battery structure, or conversion operation. Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Step 2B: The claims do not Recite Significantly More The additional elements, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the Abstract Idea. Individually: “energy storage devices” and “power conversion systems” are well-understood , routine and conventional components in the field of power systems. Their functions (storing energy, converting power, and being activated/deactivated) are generic and conventional. As an ordered combination , t he sequence of Receiving data (SOC, power request) Applying rules/thresholds, and Activating selected devices amounts to routing control logic that does not provide a technological improvement but rather implements the abstract idea on conventional hardware. There is: No specialized hardware No unconventional control technique, and No improvement to computer functionality or to the underlying electrical components. Thus, the claims merely apply the Abstract Idea using conventional components in their ordinary capacity. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites: “determining a request…” The term “request” is indefinite because the claim fails to specify the source of the request ( ie grid operator, automated controller, external signal). The claim does not claim does not clarify how the request is determined (measured demand, received signal, predicted load. It is unclear whether the “request” is internally generated, externally received or inferred from system conditions. Claim 1 recites: “setting at least one electrical power threshold to be absorbed or provided per energy storage device. The term “electrical power threshold” is indefinite because the claims fail to specify whether the threshold is, static or dynamic, or uniform across the system. Claim 1 recites: “sequencing the energy storage devices…” and “activating…according to the sequence ranking…” These limitations are indefinite because the term, “sequencing” does not specify whether the sequence is fixed or dynamically updated. Claim 4 recites: “setting a desired state of charge range with a lower limit ( SOCmean -x%) and an upper limit ( SOCmean + x%)” and “deactivating when its state of charge reaches one of the limits…” The limitations are indefinite because the variable, “x” is not defined in claim 4. The claim does not specify whether “x” is a constant, variable, or a user-defined value. The term “desired” is indefinite because it the limits are unclear. Claim 3 recites: “if all energy storage devices are activated…if the electrical power requested exceeds…threshold x total number then, increasing evenly…” The limitation is indefinite because the nested conditional structure lacks clarity as to whether both conditions must be satisfied simultaneously (connected with an ‘and’) or individually (connected with ‘or’). The phrase, “increasing evenly the electrical power” is unclear because it does not specify whether the increase applies to each device equally, total system power, or incremental distribution. Claim 14 recites: “the entire number greater than or equal to the electrical power requested divided by said electrical power threshold…” This limitation is indefinite because the phrase, “entire number greater or equal” is unclear and appears to intend a mathematical ceiling function but does not explicitly state so. It is unclear because it lacks definite boundaries. The term “ about ” in claim s 6 and 8 are relative term s which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ about ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 – 4, 9 – 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okui (US 20160226268 ) . Regarding claim 1, Okui teaches a p ower managing method of an energy storage system (1) coupled to a power grid (figure 1 item an energy storage system item 100 is connected to an electrical grid item 10) , the energy storage system (1) including a predetermined number of energy storage devices (A-K) and power conversion systems (PCS 1, PCSn ) (figure 1 shows power converters item 120) respectively coupled to at least one associated energy storage device (figure 1 shows a plurality energy storage devices shown as battery units 110) , the method comprising: - sequencing the energy storage devices (A-K) on the basis of their respective state of charge (defined in paragraph [0043] as wherein the controller sequences or determines a priority order between the plurality of storage device based on the state of charge) , - determining a request to absorb or to provide electrical power, setting at least one electrical power threshold to be absorbed or provided per energy storage device (paragraph [0046] teaches wherein a request or a command is received to absorb or provide, charge or discharge a battery bank) - depending on the electrical power requested and said electrical power threshold set, calculating a number of energy storage devices to be activated (paragraph [0043] discloses wherein the distribution controller determines or selects battery banks to absorb or provide electrical power, charging or discharging specific battery banks), , - activating the calculated number of energy storage devices and their associated power conversion systems (PCS 1, PCSn ), according to the sequence ranking (paragraph [0043] teaches wherein the batteries are active or wherein the discharging or charging operation is performed according to the sequence or priority ranking. Figure 2 items 220 and paragraph[0050] wherein the battery is activated, charged or discharged through their associated power converters item 220) . Okui Figure 1 shows a plurality of battery units 100 connected to a plurality of power converters 120 and a grid Regarding claim 2, Okui teaches a m ethod according to claim 1, comprising: - activating the calculated number of energy storage devices with the lowest states of charge (A) to be charged, if the request is to absorb electrical power ([0059] teaches wherein the battery bank having a lower SOC is activated to be charged) , - activating the calculated number of energy storage devices with the highest states of charge (E, D) to be discharged, if the request is to provide electrical power ([0059] teaches wherein the battery bank having a higher SOC is activated to be discharged ) . Regarding claim 3, Okui teaches the m ethod according to claim 1, wherein: - if all energy storage devices and their associated power conversion systems are activated, - if the electrical power requested exceeds said electrical power threshold multiplied by the total number of energy storage devices, - then, increasing evenly the electrical power to absorb or to provide for each energy storage device (paragraph [0047] teaches wherein battery management may increase power evenly to absorb or provide for each energy storage interpreted as cell balancing. Paragraphs [0111]-[0112] discloses wherein it is determined if the power requested exceed the power multiplied by the total number of storage devices, interpreted as a total remaining capacity of the battery banks determined during the operation. [0112] discloses wherein the charge value is generated and provided to the batteries). Regarding claim 4, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 1, comprising:- setting a desired state of charge range with a lower limit ( SOCmean - x%) and an upper limit ( SOCmean +x%),- deactivating an energy storage device (A; E) previously activated, when its state of charge reaches one of the limits ( SOCmean + x%, SOCmean - x%) then activating the next energy storage device (B; D) according to the sequence ranking ( [0053] teaches wherein the order is updated as charged and discharged . Paragraphs [0057]- [0058] discloses wherein the controller sets charging and discharging limits. The batteries are deactivated, or charging is not performed once the state of charge reaches the limits. [0063] teaches wherein the next battery is charged according to the order). Regarding claim 9, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 4, wherein if the electrical power requested decreases, at least one of the energy storage devices currently activated is deactivated before reaching one of the limits ( SOCm e an + x% , SOCmean - x% ) of the desired state of charge range ( Okui teaches deactivating or stopping the charging or discharging of the battery when the battery reaches an SOC threshold . ([0053] teaches wherein the order is updated as charged and discharged. Paragraphs [0057]- [0058] discloses wherein the controller sets charging and discharging limits. The batteries are deactivated, or charging is not performed once the state of charge reaches the limits. [0063] teaches wherein the next battery is charged according to the order ). Regarding claim 10, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 9, wherein the first energy storage device to be activated (A; E) according to the sequence ranking is the first to be deactivated ([0053] teaches wherein the order is updated as charged and discharged. Paragraphs [0057]- [0058] discloses wherein the controller sets charging and discharging limits. The batteries are deactivated, or charging is not performed once the state of charge reaches the limits. [0063] teaches wherein the next battery is charged according to the order). Regarding claim 11, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage devices are sequenced by increasing state of charge (A-K) (paragraph [0046] teaches determining priority order based on the SOC. [0059] teaches wherein the order is determined by a increasing or higher SOC). Regarding claim 14, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 1, wherein the calculated number of energy storage devices to be activated is the entire number greater or equal to the electrical power requested divided by said electrical power threshold (figure 7 shows wherein the number of battery banks to be activated is determined by dividing the charging maximum level by the number of battery banks). Regarding claim 15, Okui teaches the Power managing system comprising at least one energy storage system coupled to a power grid (figure 1 grid item 10) , the energy storage system including a predetermined number of energy storage devices (A-K) (figure 1 battery energy storage system item 100 with a plurality of battery units 110) and power conversion systems (PCS 1, PCSn ) respectively coupled to at least one associated energy storage device (A-K) (figure 1 power converters items 120) , said power managing system being configured for implementing a power managing method according to claim 1 (figure 5 shows an implementation of a charging by State of Charge (SOC) priority) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 5 – 8,12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui (US 20160226268 ) in view of Okuda (US 20120176095 ) Regarding claim 5, Okui teaches the Method according to Method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach - comprising calculating a mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) of all energy storage devices, and - wherein the lower limit ( SOCmean - x%) of the desired state of charge range is set by subtracting a predefined percentage (x) to the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) and the upper limit ( SOCmean + x%) is set by adding the predefined percentage (x) to the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ). Okuda teaches calculating a mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) of all energy storage devices, and - wherein the lower limit ( SOCmean - x%) of the desired state of charge range is set by subtracting a predefined percentage (x) to the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) and the upper limit ( SOCmean + x%) is set by adding the predefined percentage (x) to the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) (figures 4a-4b and paragraphs [0041]-[0042] wherein a mean state or an average state of charge is calculated. Paragraphs [0041] – [0042] teaches wherein the upper limit (a first threshold) is a value higher than the calculated average state of charge. Paragraph [0047] teaches wherein the lower limit (a second threshold) is a value lower than the calculated average state of charge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Okui reference with the charging system of the Okuda reference so that the state of charge of batteries can be accurately detected to properly control the charging and discharging. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Okuda reference in paragraph [0010] wherein accurate detection of the state of charge is taught. Figure 4A shows a calculating a mean or an average state of charge S105 Regarding claim 6, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the predefined percentage is about 5% of the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ). Okuda teaches wherein the predefined percentage is about 5% of the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) (shown in figures 5 and 6 wherein the value higher than or lower than the mean state of charge is about 5 %). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Okui reference with the charging system of the Okuda reference so that the state of charge of batteries can be accurately detected to properly control the charging and discharging. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Okuda reference in paragraph [0010] wherein accurate detection of the state of charge is taught. Regarding claim 7, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) is calculated at a predefined time interval. Okuda teaches wherein the mean state of charge ( SOCmean ) is calculated at a predefined time interval (figure 8 shows wherein the mean or average state of charge is calculated during predefined or predetermined time period). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Okui reference with the charging system of the Okuda reference so that the state of charge of batteries can be accurately detected to properly control the charging and discharging. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Okuda reference in paragraph [0010] wherein accurate detection of the state of charge is taught. Regarding claim 8, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the predefined time interval is about 10s. Okuda teaches wherein the predefined time interval is about 10s (defined in paragraph [0034] wherein the charging and discharging process and SOC calculation takes seconds to perform). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Okui reference with the charging system of the Okuda reference so that the state of charge of batteries can be accurately detected to properly control the charging and discharging. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Okuda reference in paragraph [0010] wherein accurate detection of the state of charge is taught. Regarding claim 12, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein said at least one electrical power threshold is set between 40% and 80% of the maximal electrical power of the energy storage devices. Okuda teaches wherein at least one electrical power threshold is set between 40% and 80% of the maximal electrical power of the energy storage devices (defined in paragraph [0046] wherein the threshold range is set between 30%-70% of the maximum power). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Okui reference with the charging system of the Okuda reference so that the state of charge of batteries can be accurately detected to properly control the charging and discharging. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Okuda reference in paragraph [0010] wherein accurate detection of the state of charge is taught. Regarding claim 13, Okui teaches the Method according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein said at least one electrical power threshold is below 2MW for a maximal electrical power of 2.5MW (paragraph [0055] teaches wherein the power threshold may be determined MegaWatt (MW). [0058] teaches wherein the power threshold value may be 0, thus less than 2MW). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Us 20260045806 A1 Balancing Control Method For Battery Cluster Chen; Lei Et Al. Us 20230208177 A1 Method For Driving The Charging And Discharging Of A Plurality Of Electrical Energy Storage Device Freytes ; Julian Et Al. Us 20230010424 A1 Electric Power Device, Display Device, Charging Rate Calculation Method, And Memory Medium Hasebe ; Manabu Us 20220003822 A1 Battery Control Device Naito; Shunya Et Al. Us 20140111163 A1 Battery Energy Storage System Yamauchi; Shin Et Al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXIS B PACHECO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5979 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9:00 - 5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-2147 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859 /ALEXIS B PACHECO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859