DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-21, is/are filed on 11/10/25 are currently pending. Claim(s) 15-21 is/are withdrawn, 1-14 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EATON (US 20100282682 A1) in view of UMEBAYASHI (JP 2019077962 A) and LONGO (US 20180178149 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, EATON discloses a laminated sheet used to perform water filtration (comprising multiple layers pressed and heat-bonded together; Paragraphs [0012], [0051]–[0052]). The laminated sheet includes a pre-filtration layer (a first layer; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012]) comprising a first fiber (microfibers with a diameter of 15 μm; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0197]; Table 1, Example 11) and a second fiber having a diameter within a range of 200–900 nm (microfibers commingled with an additional fiber having a diameter of 0.7 μm or 700 nm; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0097], [0197]; Table 1, Example 11). The pre-filtration layer has a pore diameter (Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0183]). The laminated sheet further comprises a fine filtration layer (a second layer comprising fine fibers; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0106]) having its own pore diameter (Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0183]). EATON discloses that the pore diameter of the pre-filtration layer is greater than that of the fine filtration layer, as the first layer is located on the outer side of the filter and has a larger pore size than the second layer (Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0183]).
EATON does not explicitly disclose the first fiber having a diameter within the range of 1–5 μm, the pre-filtration layer having a pore diameter within 0.2–1 μm, or the fine filtration layer having a pore diameter within 0.02–0.5 μm. However, UMEBAYASHI discloses a first fiber with a diameter within a range of 1–5 μm (a filter medium layer comprising a fiber with a diameter from 200 to 5000 nm, or 0.2 to 5 μm; Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify EATON’s composition to include a first fiber with a diameter of 1–5 μm, as taught by UMEBAYASHI. This modification provides structural strength when combined with smaller diameter fibers (EATON: Table 1; UMEBAYASHI: Abstract, Page 2).
Furthermore, LONGO discloses a pre-filtration layer with a pore diameter within the range of 0.2–1 μm (a first layer of coarse microfibers at the inlet side with pore sizes from 0.010 to 1.0 μm; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0017]) and a fine filtration layer with a pore diameter within the range of 0.02–0.5 μm (a second layer at the outlet side with pore sizes from 0.010 to 1.0 μm, where the second layer's pores are smaller than the first; Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify EATON’s composition to incorporate these pore diameter ranges, as taught by LONGO. Selecting pore sizes within the 0.010 to 1.0 μm range optimizes the filter by lowering pressure drops and back pressure (LONGO: Paragraphs [0003], [0018]), which reduces operating costs and improves service life and filtration efficiency (EATON: Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet of claim 1. However, EATON does not disclose a pre-filtration layer where the first fiber accounts for 50–99 wt% and the second fiber accounts for 1–50 wt% of the total 100 wt%.
UMEBAYASHI discloses a pre-filtration layer where a first fiber and a second fiber are present in a weight ratio of 80:20 to 98:2 (first fiber: 80–98 wt%; second fiber: 2–20 wt%; abstract; claims 1–2; page 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify EATON’s composition using UMEBAYASHI’s weight percentages to obtain a filter medium with a relatively low basis weight and reduced pressure loss, thereby extending service life (UMEBAYASHI; abstract, page 2).
Regarding claim 4, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet of claim 1. EATON does not disclose a pre-filtration layer with a thickness within a range of 100–5000 μm. However, LONGO discloses a pre-filtration layer (the first layer comprising coarse microfibers at the inlet side) where each individual layer in a multi-layer filter has a thickness of at least 0.002 inches, or 50 μm (abstract; paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0015], [0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify EATON’s thickness to fall within the 100–5000 μm range as suggested by LONGO's multi-layer teachings. This optimization provides sufficient mechanical strength while maintaining low pressure drops and back pressure (LONGO; paragraphs [0003], [0015], [0018]), which lowers operating costs and improves service life (EATON; paragraph [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO discloses the laminated sheet for water filtration as defined in Claim 1. EATON further discloses a prefiltration layer with a grammage within the range of 10–120 g/m² (specifically, a first layer with a basis weight from 1.0 to 500 gsm, such as 100 gsm; see Table 1, Example 11; paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0086]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO discloses the laminated sheet for water filtration as defined in Claim 1. EATON further discloses that the prefiltration layer is prepared via melt blowing, carding, air laying, wet laying, electrostatic spinning, or a combination thereof (specifically, the first layer is prepared using melt blowing; paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0196]–[0197]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO discloses the laminated sheet for water filtration as defined in Claim 1. EATON further discloses a fine filtration layer comprising a third fiber with a diameter within the range of 10–200 nm (specifically, a second layer comprising fine fibers with diameters from 0.2 to 0.9 micrometers, which equals 200 to 900 nm; see Abstract; paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0106]).
Regarding Claim 8, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 1. While EATON does not disclose a fine filtration layer with a thickness within the range of 5–50 μm, LONGO discloses a fine filtration layer within this specific range. Specifically, LONGO describes a second layer comprising fine fibers located nearest the outlet side of the filter, wherein each individual layer in a multi-layer filter has a thickness of at least 0.002 inches (approximately 50 μm) (Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0015], [0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify EATON’s composition to include a fine filtration layer with a thickness of 5–50 μm, as taught by LONGO. This modification benefits the filter by providing a second layer facing the outlet side (EATON: Abstract, Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0183]; LONGO: Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0017]–[0018]) with a thickness of at least 50 μm (LONGO: Abstract). Such a thickness optimizes the filter to achieve lower pressure drops and reduced back pressure, allowing operation at lower pressures while maintaining sufficient mechanical strength (LONGO: Paragraphs [0003], [0015], [0018]). Consequently, this reduces operating costs and further improves service life and filtration efficiency (EATON: Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding Claim 9, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 1. EATON further discloses a fine filtration layer having a grammage within the range of 0.5–5 g/m² (disclosing a second layer comprising fine fibers with a basis weight from 0.5 to 100 gsm) (Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0106]).
Regarding Claim 10, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 1. EATON further discloses that the prefiltration layer and the fine filtration layer are joined by means of hot calendaring (specifically, multiple layers pressed and heat-bonded together using heated rolls), ultrasonic welding, bonding, or a combination thereof (Abstract; Paragraphs [0012], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 11, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 7. EATON further discloses that the laminated sheet comprises a support layer (specifically, multiple layers pressed and heat-bonded together to form the laminated sheet, which includes a porous support layer; Abstract; Paragraphs [0012], [0051], [0126]–[0127], [0130], [0135]). This support layer is positioned on the side of the fine filtration layer opposite the pre-filtration layer. EATON illustrates this arrangement where the first layer forms an outer radial layer and other layers, including the second layer, are overlaid on the porous support layer. Thus, the sequence from the inside is the support layer, followed by the second layer, and then the first layer; consequently, the support layer is on the side of the fine filtration layer disposed away from the pre-filtration layer (Abstract; Figures 4–5; Paragraphs [0075]–[0076], [0078], [0082]).
Regarding Claim 12, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 11. EATON further discloses that the support layer comprises a fourth fiber having a diameter within a range of 2–50 μm. Specifically, EATON describes the porous support layer as comprising a fiber—specifically a microfiber—having the same composition as the microfiber of the first layer, with a diameter of 25 micrometers (Paragraphs [0126]–[0127], [0130], [0135], [0152]; Table 1, Example 11).
Regarding Claim 14, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 12. EATON further discloses that the first, second, third, and fourth fibers are prepared from materials respectively and independently selected from polyolefin, polyether, polyamide, polysulfone, polyester, fluoropolymer, polyacrylonitrile, polyurethane, polyvinyl alcohol, cellulose acetate, or a mixture or copolymer thereof. Specifically, in Example 11 of Table 1, EATON describes a first layer comprising commingled first and second fibers (TOTAL 3860 and TOTAL 3960), both of which are polypropylene (PP), thereby meeting the selection of a polyolefin. The second layer comprises fine fibers made of PP (PP3546G), satisfying the selection of the third fiber as a polyolefin. Additionally, the porous support layer utilizes microfibers with the same composition as those in the first layer (TOTAL 3860), satisfying the selection of the fourth fiber as a polyolefin (Abstract; Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0106], [0126]–[0127], [0130], [0135], [0152], [0196]–[0197], [0199]; Table 1, Example 11).
Regarding Claim 13, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to Claim 11. EATON further discloses that the support layer has a pore diameter (Paragraph [0126]). While EATON does not explicitly state that the pore diameter of the support layer is greater than that of the pre-filtration layer, it is expected that the support layer has a larger pore diameter because it shares the same microfiber composition as the first layer but lacks the second fiber (Paragraphs [0008], [0012], [0126], [0152], [0197]; Table 1, Example 11).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EATON (US 20100282682 A1) in view of UMEBAYASHI (JP 2019077962 A), LONGO (US 20180178149 A1) further in view of HABERKAMP (US 20140110354 A1).
Regarding claim 13, EATON, JNC, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to claim 11, and Eaton further discloses wherein the support layer has a pore diameter (the porous support layer has pores; paragraph [0126]) and the pore diameter of the support layer is greater than the pore diameter of the pre-filtration layer (since the porous support layer has the same microfiber composition as the first fiber of the first layer but does not have the second fiber, it would be expected that the support layer has greater pore diameter; paragraphs [0008], (0012], [0126J, (0152], [0197]; table 1, example 11). Eaton does not disclose wherein the support layer has a pore diameter within a range of 1-80 m, and does not explicitly disclose wherein the pore diameter of the support layer is greater than the pore diameter of the pre-filtration layer. However, HABERKAMP discloses wherein a support layer has a pore diameter within a range of 1-80 m (a layer D providing support (a support layer) having a maximum pore size greater than 40 micrometers; figure 1; paragraphs [0032]; table 1 ), and the pore diameter of the support layer is greater than a pore diameter of a pre-filtration layer (a first layer = a layer A on an inlet side of a flow (a prefiltration layer) having a maximum pore size greater than 30 micrometers and the layer D having a maximum pore size greater than 40 micrometers; figure 1; table 1 ). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have modified the composition, as previously disclosed by Eaton, in order to have provided discloses wherein a support layer has a pore diameter within a range of 1-80 m, and the pore diameter of the support layer is greater than a pore diameter of a pre-filtration layer, as previously disclosed by HABERKAMP, for the benefit of providing a filter comprising a filter having multiple porous layers (Eaton; abstract; paragraphs (0008], (0012J, [0183]: HABERKAMP; abstract; figure 1) designed to have a supporting layer having greater pore size than a filtering layer on an inlet side of a filter (HABERKAMP; abstract; figure 1; paragraphs [0032J; table 1) to establish high performance and long service life (HABERKAMP; paragraphs [0002]-(0003]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EATON (US 20100282682 A1) in view of UMEBAYASHI (JP 2019077962 A), LONGO (US 20180178149 A1) and further in view of WU (CN 109012204 A).
Regarding claim 2, EATON, UMEBAYASHI, and LONGO, in combination, disclose the laminated sheet used to perform water filtration according to claim 1, and EATON further discloses wherein the prefiltration layer has a porosity and the fine filtration layer has a porosity (the first layer and the second layer each have pores and porosity different from each other; abstract; paragraphs (0008), [0012), (0183)). EATON does not disclose wherein the prefiltration layer has a porosity within a range of 30-90%, and the fine filtration layer has a porosity within a range of 50-95%. However, WU discloses wherein a prefiltration layer has a porosity within a range of 30-90% (a fluffy transitioning filtering layer on an outer side of a filter has a porosity from 30 to 40%; abstract; claim 10; paragraph (0010), and a fine filtration layer has a porosity within a range of 50-95% (a fine layer porosity is from 40 to 50 %; abstract; claim 8; paragraph [0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have modified the composition, as previously disclosed by EATON, in order to have provided wherein a prefiltration layer has a porosity within a range of 30-90%, and a fine filtration layer has a porosity within a range of 50-95%, as previously disclosed by WU, for the benefit of providing a filter comprising a first and a second filtration layers with porosity (EATON; abstract; paragraphs [0008J, [0012J, [0183J: WU; abstract) the porosity of layers adjusted in a desired range (WU; abstract; claims 8, 10; paragraphs [0010), (0017]) to optimize filter to achieve improved water filtration at reduced cost (WU; paragraph [0004]).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777