DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 4/23/2026.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15-18, 21, and 23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, 12-13, 15-18, 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das (“STR capability signalling”, July 22, 2020; IEEE 802.11-20/1085r5, 18 pages) (cited in Applicant’s IDS filed on 2/28/2024) in view of Hsu (USPAN 2021/0068171) and Chu (USPAN 2021/0068184).
Consider claims 1 and 21, Das discloses a method for communication on multiple links, applied to a multi-link device (see slides 3-4 and 7 (reproduced below for convenience), wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding multi-link device, comprising a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (see slide 5: a single non-AP radio STA inherently comprises said processor and memory storing computer program executable by the processor), wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises first information configured to identify that the multi-link device performs enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR) operation on ones of multiple links (see slide 11: “An MLD with dot11HETEMLSROptionImplemented equal to true shall set the EMLSR mode subfield of the TBD Capabilities element, which is an MLD level capabilities element, to 1”); and
send the first message frame (see Background and slides 3-4: ML capability signalling…MLD-level information sharing…new “ML element”: a new element will be defined as a container to advertise and exchange capability information for multi-link setup).
Although Das discloses performing the EMLSR operation (see above), Das does not specifically disclose the first information comprises link identifiers corresponding to the ones of the multiple links.
Hsu discloses that the first information comprises link identifiers corresponding to the ones of the multiple links (see paragraph 23: link channel ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Das does not specifically disclose that the first message frame further comprises an identification bit indicating that the multi-link device supports multi-link communication, wherein the identification bit is different from the first information.
Chu discloses that the first message frame further comprises an identification bit indicating that the multi-link device supports multi-link communication, wherein the identification bit is different from the first information (see paragraphs 7 and 15: a PPDU exchanged between multi-link devices may also have one or more fields to indicate a link use capability of a multi-link device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Chu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for communicating based on link use capabilities of multi-link devices (see paragraph 2 of Chu).
Consider claims 3 and 12, Das does not specifically disclose that the first information further comprises handover latency identification information indicating handover from one link to another link for data transmission.
Hsu discloses that the first information further comprises handover latency identification information indicating handover from one link to another link for data transmission (see paragraph 27: switch delay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Consider claims 4 and 13, Das discloses that the first information is carried in the first message frame in the form of a multi-link information element (see slides 7 and 8: the usage of ML IE (multi-link information element)).
Consider claims 6 and 15, Das discloses that the identification bit is comprised in an extremely high throughput (EHT) capabilities information element of the first message frame (see slide 11: an MLD with dot11EHTEMLSROptionImplemented equal to true shall set the EMLSR mode subfield of the TBD Capabilities element, which is an MLD level capabilities element, to 1).
Consider claims 7 and 16, although Das discloses performing the EMLSR operation (see above) Das does not specifically disclose receiving a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises parameter information.
Hsu discloses receiving a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises parameter information (see paragraph 23: receiving a message comprising parameter information, wherein the message in Hsu’s disclosure is a “second message” relative to Das’s disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Consider claims 8 and 17, Das does not disclose that the parameter information comprises at least one of: information on spatial streams; information on modulation and coding scheme; information on physical layer protocol data unit; or information on frame type.
Hsu discloses that the parameter information comprises at least one of: information on spatial streams; information on modulation and coding scheme; information on physical layer protocol data unit; or information on frame type (see paragraph 23: information on a frame type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Consider claims 9 and 18, Das does not disclose that the parameter information is set differently on the ones of the multiple links, and the second message frame further comprises link identifiers corresponding to the parameter information.
Hsu discloses that the parameter information is set differently on the ones of the multiple links, and the second message frame further comprises link identifiers corresponding to the parameter information (see paragraph 23: a control link switch process is initiated by a request frame sent from AP 102 to non-AP STA 104, where AP 102 and non-AP STA 104 are both WiFi MLDs. The request frame is used for requesting a switch process of switching a current control link to a new control link. The request frame may include information elements (or fields) that carry necessary information of the control link switch process. For example, the request frame may include information elements indicating a frame type “Request”, a request serial identifier (ID), a current control link channel ID, and/or parameters including a target control link channel ID, an optional required time to finish the switch process, a current control link role after switch, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Consider claim 10, Das discloses a method for communication on multiple links, applied to an access point (see slide 10: the other side to the “non-AP STA side” is the access point side; also, see slide 7 (reproduced below for convenience), wherein disclosed is said method), comprising:
receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises first information configured to identify that a multi-link device sending the first message frame performs enhanced multi-link single-radio (EMLSR) operation on ones of the multiple links (see slide 11: “An MLD with dot11HETEMLSROptionImplemented equal to true shall set the EMLSR mode subfield of the TBD Capabilities element, which is an MLD level capabilities element, to 1”); and
performing communication based on the first message frame (see Background and slides 3-4: ML capability signalling…MLD-level information sharing…new “ML element”: a new element will be defined as a container to advertise and exchange capability information for multi-link setup).
Although Das discloses performing the EMLSR operation (see above), Das does not specifically disclose the first information comprises link identifiers corresponding to the ones of the multiple links.
Hsu discloses that the first information comprises link identifiers corresponding to the ones of the multiple links (see paragraph 23: link channel ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Hsu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a control link switch method employed by a multi-link device and providing an innovative link switch mechanism (see paragraphs 2-3 of Hsu).
Das does not specifically disclose that the first message frame further comprises an identification bit indicating that the multi-link device supports multi-link communication, wherein the identification bit is different from the first information.
Chu discloses that the first message frame further comprises an identification bit indicating that the multi-link device supports multi-link communication, wherein the identification bit is different from the first information (see paragraphs 7 and 15: a PPDU exchanged between multi-link devices may also have one or more fields to indicate a link use capability of a multi-link device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Das and combine it with the noted teachings of Chu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for communicating based on link use capabilities of multi-link devices (see paragraph 2 of Chu).
Consider claim 23, Das discloses an access point, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 10 (see slide 10: the other side to the “non-AP STA side” is the access point side; Examiner notes that it is inherent that the AP comprises said processor and memory).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412