DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendment
3. This is a Non-Final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 02/19/2026.
4. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1, 9, 14, 19, and 27 have been amended.
• Claims 1-34 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks/arguments
5. Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 03/09/2026 with respect to amended independent claims 1, 9, 14, 19, and 27 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of obviousness rejection is made in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0279367 A1).
6. In response to Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 03/09/2026 regarding amended independent claims 1, 9, 14, 19, and 27, the Examiner acknowledges that Akkarakaran does not explicitly teach the newly recited features as argued by Applicant. However, the system of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0279367 A1) cures this deficiency.
Please the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (US 2017/0374637 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0279367 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akkarakaran discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13: device 1305), comprising: a memory (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: memory 1325); at least one transceiver (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: transceiver 1335); and at least one processor (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: processor 1320) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: measure a first reference signal using a first beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0140]: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use a beam pair for the measurement of a first reference signal); measure a second reference signal using a second beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0140]: additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use another beam pair for the measurement of a second reference signal); and report, to a transmitting entity, beam timings for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109], [0137], [0140]: the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals are reported to the base station), wherein measuring the first reference signal and measuring the second reference signal, reporting the beam timings, or both, are performed according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109]: receiving the first measurement report further includes receiving, from the UE, a single first measurement report indicating measurement parameters associated with each of the multiple carriers. In some cases, the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof. In some cases, at least one of the additional beamformed reference signals is associated with a RAT that is different from a RAT associated with the first beamformed reference signal).
Akkarakaran does not appear to explicitly disclose maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: The PRS configuration information may be transmitted from an LMF device to the terminal through an OTDOA-AssistanceData IE of the ProvideAssistanceData message. Hwang also teaches measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (e.g., UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam). Additionally, para. [0208] teaches beams from a serving cell and beams from a neighbor cell, which make up a plurality of beam pairs), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, FIGS. 11, 12, para. [0049] [0190] [0240]: beam-based communication between nodes (e.g., UE and base station), where communication uses transmit beams at the gNB and receive beams at the UE)), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, however, Hwang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of: report, to the transmitting entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair; or indicate, to the transmitting entity, that the UE has a capability to maintain timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that reporting to the transmitting entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the first reference signal comprises a positioning reference signal (PRS) beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0116] [0080]: transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE) and the second reference signal comprises the same PRS beam or a different PRS beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0025]: transmitting the PRS for each of multiple carriers that share a same beam by sharing a same antenna panel and by being aligned in time).
Regarding claim 4, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, Hwang further teaches wherein the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs with the same transmit beam), and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs in which the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair and a different receive beam of the first beam pair and second beam pair).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 4, wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair and the receive beam of the second beam pair are in different receive timing error groups (Akkarakaran, Fig. 4, para. [0064] [0137]: coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include timing offsets that may be reported between the base stations for multiple beams. The beam-index (e.g., an indicator of the beam number and/or direction of the beam transmission) may be included with the timing offset report, or could be inferred from a pre-specified order of reporting beams. Another example of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include frequency offsets between the beams transmitted by different base stations, such as base stations 105-a, 105-b and/or 105-c. For example, base station 105-a may transmit using a first frequency where base stations 105-b and/or 105-c may transmit using a second frequency that is different from the first frequency. Some examples of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include a combination of timing offsets and frequency offsets).
Regarding claim 6, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein measuring the first reference signal and measuring the second reference signal according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal based on the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0079] [0108]: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310).
Regarding claim 7, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein reporting the beam timings according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first reference signal and the second reference signal based on a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal and the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0079] [0108]: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310. The measurement report may include an indication (e.g., a value, an index, a pointer to a look-up table, etc.) of the measurement parameter associated with the MRS (and optional PRS) transmitted at 320).
Regarding claim 8, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 1, Hwang further teaches wherein maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis, or combinations thereof (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Akkarakaran discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13: device 1305), comprising:
a memory (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: memory 1325); at least one transceiver (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: transceiver 1335); and at least one processor (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13, para. [0143]: processor 1320) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Akkarakaran, Fig. 13), the at least one processor configured to:
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit, to a receiving entity, a first reference signal using a first beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, FIG. 5, para. [0049] [0094]: For uplink-based location determination, the base station may receive a beamformed SRS (BSRS) from the UE and determine a measurement parameter associated with the BSRS. See also para. [0094] - element 520 - transmitting BSRS. In some examples, the BSRS transmitted may include multiple BSRSs (first, second, etc…) from the UE 505 where each BSRS is associated with different carriers and are transmitted in the same TTI. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use a beam pair for the transmission of a first reference signal); and
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit, to the receiving entity, a second reference signal using a second beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, FIG. 5, para. [0049] [0094]: For uplink-based location determination, the base station may receive a beamformed SRS (BSRS) from the UE and determine a measurement parameter associated with the BSRS. See also para. [0094] - element 520 - transmitting BSRS. In some examples, the BSRS transmitted may include multiple BSRSs (first, second, etc…) from the UE 505 where each BSRS is associated with different carriers and are transmitted in the same TTI. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use another beam pair for the transmission of a second reference signal),
wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are transmitted to the receiving entity according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair, respectively, or wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the at least one transceiver to transmit, to the receiving entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109]: receiving the first measurement report further includes receiving, from the UE, a single first measurement report indicating measurement parameters associated with each of the multiple carriers. In some cases, the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof. In some cases, at least one of the additional beamformed reference signals is associated with a RAT that is different from a RAT associated with the first beamformed reference signal).
Akkarakaran does not appear to explicitly disclose maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a transmit beam of the UE and a receive beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, FIGs. 11, 12, para. [0049] [0190] [0240]: beam-based communication between nodes (e.g., UE and base station), where communication uses transmit beams at the gNB and receive beams at the UE)), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0190] [0192] [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of: report, to the receiving entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair; or indicate, to the receiving entity, that the UE has a capability to maintain timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0136]: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal, and transmit additional measurement reports by the UE for additional base stations, the additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals that are transmitted at different times in accordance to a time offset schedule by the additional base stations).
Regarding claim 11, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein the first reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) beam and the second reference signal comprises the same SRS beam or a different SRS beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0032] [0080] [0116]: receive a first beamformed SRS from a UE, determine a measurement parameter associated with the first beamformed SRS, receive measurement reports from additional base stations, the measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed SRSs beamformed and transmitted by the UE to the additional base stations).
Regarding claim 12, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 11, Hwang further teaches wherein the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs with the same transmit beam), and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs in which the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair and a different receive beam of the first beam pair and second beam pair).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the UE of claim 9, Hwang further teaches wherein maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis, or combinations thereof (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Akkarakaran discloses a base station (BS) (Fig. 9: base station 105), comprising:
a memory (Akkarakaran, Fig. 9, para. [0121]: memory 925); at least one transceiver (Akkarakaran, Fig. 9, para. [0121]: transceiver 935); and at least one processor (Akkarakaran, Fig. 9, para. [0121]: processor 920) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit a first reference signal using a first beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, FIG. 4, para. [0049] [0077]: a base station may transmit a measurement reference signal (MRS) to a UE and receive a measurement report from the UE. Signals used for measurement are referred to as MRS. Any one or combination of several physical reference signals may serve as the MRS (e.g., synchronization signals, beamforming reference signal (BRS), channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), etc…). Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use a beam pair for the measurement of a first reference signal);
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit a second reference signal using a second beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, FIG. 4, para. [0049] [0077]: a base station may transmit a measurement reference signal (MRS) to a UE and receive a measurement report from the UE. Signals used for measurement are referred to as MRS. Any one or combination of several physical reference signals may serve as the MRS (e.g., synchronization signals, beamforming reference signal (BRS), channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), etc…). The measurement report may indicate a measurement parameter for the MRS. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use another beam pair for the measurement of a second reference signal); and
wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are transmitted according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair, respectively (Akkarakaran, para. [0109]: receiving the first measurement report further includes receiving, from the UE, a single first measurement report indicating measurement parameters associated with each of the multiple carriers. In some cases, the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof. In some cases, at least one of the additional beamformed reference signals is associated with a RAT that is different from a RAT associated with the first beamformed reference signal); or wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair to the UE;
cause the at least one transceiver to transmit the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair to a positioning entity; or
use the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair to adjust a timing report received from the UE.
Akkarakaran does not appear to explicitly disclose maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a transmit beam of the UE and a receive beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, FIGs. 11, 12, para. [0049] [0190] [0240]: beam-based communication between nodes (e.g., UE and base station), where communication uses transmit beams at the gNB and receive beams at the UE)), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0190] [0192] [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of: receive, from the UE, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair; or receive, from the UE, an indication that the UE has a capability to maintain timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0136]: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal, and transmit additional measurement reports by the UE for additional base stations, the additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals that are transmitted at different times in accordance to a time offset schedule by the additional base stations).
Regarding claim 16, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 14, wherein the first reference signal comprises a positioning reference signal (PRS) beam and the second reference signal comprises the same PRS beam or a different PRS beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0080] [0116]: transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE, and transmit the first beamformed reference signal according to a periodic schedule, an aperiodic schedule).
Regarding claim 17, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 16, Hwang further teaches wherein the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs with the same transmit beam), and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs in which the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair and a different receive beam of the first beam pair and second beam pair).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 18, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 14, Hwang further teaches wherein maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis, or combinations thereof (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Akkarakaran discloses a base station (BS) (Fig. 9: base station 105), comprising:
a memory (Akkarakaran, Fig. 9, para. [0121]: memory 925); at least one transceiver (Akkarakaran, Fig. 9, para. [0121]: transceiver 935); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
measure a first reference signal using a first beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs according to the timing information for the first beam pair (Akkarakaran, FIG. 5, para. [0094] [0096]: a base station determines a measurement parameters associated with the BSRS received, and that the measurement parameter includes a timing parameter and strength parameter. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use a beam pair for the measurement of a first reference signal); and
measure a second reference signal using a second beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs according to the timing information for the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, FIG. 5, para. [0094] [0096]: a base station determines a measurement parameter associated with BSRS received, and that the measurement parameter includes a timing parameter and a strength parameter. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use another beam pair for the measurement of a second reference signal); and
report, to a positioning entity, beam timings for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0099]: base station receives an additional measurement report from additional base station, where the additional measurement report includes an indication of the measurement parameters [0109], [0137], [0140]: the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals are reported to the base station),
wherein measuring the first reference signal and measuring the second reference signal, the reporting the beam timings, or both, are performed according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109]: receiving the first measurement report further includes receiving, from the UE, a single first measurement report indicating measurement parameters associated with each of the multiple carriers. In some cases, the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof. In some cases, at least one of the additional beamformed reference signals is associated with a RAT that is different from a RAT associated with the first beamformed reference signal).
Akkarakaran does not appear to explicitly disclose maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a transmit beam of the UE and a receive beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, FIGs. 11, 12, para. [0049] [0190] [0240]: beam-based communication between nodes (e.g., UE and base station), where communication uses transmit beams at the gNB and receive beams at the UE)), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0190] [0192] [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintain separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 20, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of: calculate a reference signal timing according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair; report, to the positioning entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair; or indicate, to the UE, that the base station has a capability to maintain timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0136]: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal, and transmit additional measurement reports by the UE for additional base stations, the additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals that are transmitted at different times in accordance to a time offset schedule by the additional base stations).
Regarding claim 21, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, wherein the first reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS) beam and the second reference signal comprises the same SRS beam or a different SRS beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0080] [0116]: transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE, and transmit the first beamformed reference signal according to a periodic schedule, an aperiodic schedule).
Regarding claim 22, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, Hwang further teaches wherein the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs in which the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair and a different receive beam of the first beam pair and second beam pair).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 23, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 22, wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair and the receive beam of the second beam pair are in different receive timing error groups (Akkarakaran, Fig. 4, para. [0064] [0137]: coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include timing offsets that may be reported between the base stations for multiple beams. The beam-index (e.g., an indicator of the beam number and/or direction of the beam transmission) may be included with the timing offset report, or could be inferred from a pre-specified order of reporting beams. Another example of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include frequency offsets between the beams transmitted by different base stations, such as base stations 105-a, 105-b and/or 105-c. For example, base station 105-a may transmit using a first frequency where base stations 105-b and/or 105-c may transmit using a second frequency that is different from the first frequency. Some examples of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include a combination of timing offsets and frequency offsets).
Regarding claim 24, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, wherein measuring the first reference signal and measuring the second reference signal according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal based on the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. 79, 108: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310).
Regarding claim 25, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, wherein reporting the beam timings according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first reference signal and the second reference signal based on a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal and the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. 79, 108: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310. The measurement report may include an indication (e.g., a value, an index, a pointer to a look-up table, etc.) of the measurement parameter associated with the MRS (and optional PRS) transmitted at 320).
Regarding claim 26, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the BS of claim 19, wherein maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis, or combinations thereof (Akkarakaran, para. 70: A separate PRS may allow for more repetition of the PRS signal in each PRS transmission to improve the positioning accuracy. While this motivation also applies in mmW systems as well, such mmW systems may have much larger bandwidth (which may additionally or alternatively be increased by carrier-aggregation), and thus at least a portion of the repetition gains may be captured by repetition in the frequency domain rather than in the time domain).
Regarding claim 27, Akkarakaran discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 7, para. [0105]: FIG. 7 shows a block diagram 700 of a Wireless device 705 that supports positioning in beamformed communications), the method comprising: measuring a first reference signal using a first beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0140]: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use a beam pair for the measurement of a first reference signal); measuring a second reference signal using a second beam pair from the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. [0140]: additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals. Moreover, Fig. 4 describes a plurality of beam pairs in which the UE may use another beam pair for the measurement of a second reference signal); and reporting, to a transmitting entity, beam timings for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109], [0137]: the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof), wherein the measuring the first reference signal and the measuring the second reference signal, the reporting the beam timings, or both, are performed according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. [0109]: receiving the first measurement report further includes receiving, from the UE, a single first measurement report indicating measurement parameters associated with each of the multiple carriers. In some cases, the measurement parameters are associated with timing measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, strength measurements of the first beamformed reference signal and the additional reference signals, or combinations thereof. In some cases, at least one of the additional beamformed reference signals is associated with a RAT that is different from a RAT associated with the first beamformed reference signal).
Akkarakaran does not appear to explicitly disclose maintaining timing information for each of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE; maintaining separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the base station and a transmit beam of a user equipment (UE), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches maintaining timing information for each of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)); maintaining separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, Figs 11, 12, para. [0010] [0190] [0192] [0240]: measuring reference signal timing difference (RSTD) per beam and per cell requires maintaining timing values separately for each beam pair. Moreover, Fig. 1 describes a plurality of beam pairs (UE Rx beam and BS Tx beam)), each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE (Hwang, FIGs. 11, 12, para. [0049] [0190] [0240]: beam-based communication between nodes (e.g., UE and base station), where communication uses transmit beams at the gNB and receive beams at the UE)), wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs (Hwang, para. [0190] [0192] [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintaining timing information for each of a plurality of beam pairs; and maintaining separate subframe timing and/or slot timing information for each beam pair of a plurality of beam pairs, each beam pair comprising a receive beam of the UE and a transmit beam of a base station or another UE, wherein each beam pair of the plurality of beam pairs has a different combination of transmit beam and receive beam than the other beam pairs of the plurality of beam pairs as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 28, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, further comprising at least one of: reporting, to the transmitting entity, the timing information for the first beam pair and the timing information for the second beam pair; or indicating, to the transmitting entity, that the UE has a capability to maintain timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs (Akkarakaran, para. 136: the first measurement report indicating a measurement parameter associated with a first beamformed reference signal, and transmit additional measurement reports by the UE for additional base stations, the additional measurement reports each indicating measurement parameters associated with additional beamformed reference signals that are transmitted at different times in accordance to a time offset schedule by the additional base stations).
Regarding claim 29, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, wherein the first reference signal comprises a positioning reference signal (PRS) beam and the second reference signal comprises the same PRS beam or a different PRS beam (Akkarakaran, para. [0080] [0116]: transmit the first beamformed reference signal as a PRS piggybacked to an MRS, broadcast the PRS via beam sweeping, transmit the PRS over a subset of beams directed towards the UE, and transmit the first beamformed reference signal according to a periodic schedule, an aperiodic schedule).
Regarding claim 30, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, Hwang further teaches wherein the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair (Hwang, Fig. 1: Figure 1 depicts a plurality of beam pairs in which the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair and a different receive beam of the first beam pair and second beam pair).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that the transmit beam of the first beam pair is the same as the transmit beam of the second beam pair, and wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair is different from the receive beam of the second beam pair as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 31, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 30, wherein the receive beam of the first beam pair and the receive beam of the second beam pair are in different receive timing error groups (Akkarakaran, Fig. 4, para. [0064] [0137]: coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include timing offsets that may be reported between the base stations for multiple beams. The beam-index (e.g., an indicator of the beam number and/or direction of the beam transmission) may be included with the timing offset report, or could be inferred from a pre-specified order of reporting beams. Another example of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include frequency offsets between the beams transmitted by different base stations, such as base stations 105-a, 105-b and/or 105-c. For example, base station 105-a may transmit using a first frequency where base stations 105-b and/or 105-c may transmit using a second frequency that is different from the first frequency. Some examples of coordinating the beam sweep cycle may include a combination of timing offsets and frequency offsets).
Regarding claim 32, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, wherein the measuring the first reference signal and the measuring the second reference signal according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal based on the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. 79, 108: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310.).
Regarding claim 33, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, wherein reporting the beam timings according to the timing information for the first beam pair and the second beam pair comprises calculating a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first reference signal and the second reference signal based on a time of arrival (ToA) of the respective reference signal and the timing information of the respective beam pair (Akkarakaran, para. 79, 108: The measurement parameter may include or be based on a timing parameter or measurement (e.g., OTDOA, time of arrival, angle of arrival, angle of departure at the UE 305, etc.). The measurement parameter may include or be based on a signal strength parameter, e.g., received power level, received power level relative to a reference power level, etc. At 330, the UE 305 may transmit a measurement report to base station 310. The measurement report may include an indication (e.g., a value, an index, a pointer to a look-up table, etc.) of the measurement parameter associated with the MRS (and optional PRS) transmitted at 320.).
Regarding claim 34, Akkarakaran and Hwang disclose the method of claim 27, Hwang further teaches wherein maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis, or combinations thereof (Hwang, para. [0240]: the terminal determines, based on PRS configuration information, an RSTD between transmission time of a PRS received through a first beam of a reference cell, and transmission time of a PRS received through a second beam of each of one or more neighboring cells. The terminal may determine an RSTD for each pair of beams of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, based on the PRS. That is, since the first beam pair and the other beam pair may have different timing parameters, then they have different combinations).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Akkarakaran with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such that maintaining timing information for each of the plurality of beam pairs comprises maintaining separate timing per beam pair on a per band basis, on a per band combination basis, on a per carrier basis as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for localization of a terminal, based on a timing difference between signals transmitted through a beam in a wireless communication system (para. [0008]).
Conclusion
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417