DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/20/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 13 in the reply filed on 2/20/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups of invention are so linked as to be a single inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the Groups share a common technical feature but the shared feature does not make a contribution over the prior art, as elaborated on in the Requirement for Restriction of 1/13/26.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barancyk et al. (US 2007/0160851, “Barancyk”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Barancyk teaches a formulation (e.g., coating formulation, [0034]) comprising a polymer ([0022], polymerized from diamine, monoacrylate, and polyacrylate) comprising a diamine ([0018]), a, for example, trimethylpropane propoxylate tri(meth)acrylate (e.g., [0016]) and a monoacrylate ([0016]). These compounds may be included in amounts reading on the claimed ranges (i.e., a slight surplus of diamine to the combination of acrylates, e.g., 40% diamine, 30% polyacrylate, and 30% monoacrylate, by weight, e.g., [0022], [0024]). Barancyk teaches, for example, that the amine may be ethylene diamine ([0018], having a molecular weight of 60 g/mol), the multifunctional acrylate may be trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate ([0016], having a molecular weight of 296.3 g/mol), and the monofunctional acrylate may be ethylacrylate ([0016], having a molecular weight of 100 g/mol). Barancyk further teaches that the molar ratio of poly(meth)acrylate to amine to mono(meth)acrylate may be 1:3:2 ([0024]). This molar ratio would give weight percentages of the components of 44 wt% trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate, 27% ethylene diamine, and 30 wt% ethylacrylate, thus reading on the claimed weight percentages. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Barancyk additionally teaches the multifunctional acrylate may be polyethylene glycol diacrylate (e.g., [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Barancyk additionally teaches the amount of component a) may be on the range of from 10 to 35wt% of the total reactive composition (see [0022], [0024] and see wt% calculation in the rejection of claim 1, above, wherein the amine is in an amount of 27 wt%). Barancyk additionally teaches that modifying the amounts of each of the reactive components would have been within the skill of the ordinarily skilled artisan in order to provide a suitable ratio that gives the desired properties to the reaction product ([0024]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05. Furthermore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Barancyk additionally teaches the acrylate b) may comprise an acrylate having three C-C double bonds (e.g., trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate, [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Barancyk teaches that the multifunctional acrylate may include two or three C-C double bonds ([0016]) and may be used in combination and thus the ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have used the component having three C-C double bonds in equal amounts or less in order to ensure the consumption of the acrylate groups during reaction ([0022], [0024]). Additionally, modifying the amounts of each of the reactive components would have been within the skill of the ordinarily skilled artisan in order to provide a suitable ratio that gives the desired properties to the reaction product ([0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Barancyk teaches an embodiment, as described in the rejection of claim 1, above, reading on the claimed weight percentages for amine, multifunctional acrylate, and monofunctional acrylate. For example, that the amine may be ethylene diamine ([0018], having a molecular weight of 60 g/mol), the multifunctional acrylate may be trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate ([0016], having a molecular weight of 296.3 g/mol), and the monofunctional acrylate may be ethylacrylate ([0016], having a molecular weight of 100 g/mol). Barancyk further teaches that the molar ratio of poly(meth)acrylate to amine to mono(meth)acrylate may be 1:3:2 ([0024]). This molar ratio would give weight percentages of the components of 44 wt% trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate, 27% ethylene diamine, and 30 wt% ethylacrylate, thus reading on the claimed weight percentages. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782