Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 1-24 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams (US 20200391625).
As concerns claim 1, Williams teaches a child safety seat comprising: a base (Williams, fig. 7: 11’) including a top rod (Williams, fig. 7: 131’), a first end of the top rod protruding upwardly from a rear portion of the base (Williams, fig. 7: 11’): a seat (Williams, fig. 7: 12’) connected to the base: and a tether (Williams, fig. 1: 13’) telescopically connected to the base and configured to connect to an anchor device (Williams, seen in fig. 7, but also indicated in fig. 1: 118) within a vehicle wherein a first end of the tether is affixed at an interior of the base (note tether routes around handle and into base as shown in Fig. 7) proximate the first end of the top rod, wherein one end of the tether is provided in the base and the tether (13’) can be automatically retracted when it is extended relative to the base.
As concerns claim 6, Williams teaches wherein the top rod (Williams, fig. 7: 1311’) is formed in a U shape (Williams, paragraph 0045, lines 16-17), a through hole (Williams, the tether loops over the handle part and then feeds into an opening in the base as shown in fig. 7) is centrally formed in a top portion of the top rod, and the tether (Williams, fig. 7: 13’) passes through the through hole (Williams, the tether loops over the handle part and then feeds into an opening in the base as shown in fig. 7).
As concerns claim 9, Williams teaches wherein the base (Williams, fig. 7: 11’) has an anchoring portion extending backward, the anchoring portion is an ISOFIX connector, and the tether is a TOP TETHER connector.
As concerns claim 11, Williams teaches a child safety seat, comprising: a base (Williams, fig. 7: 11’); a seat (Williams, fig. 7: 12’) connected to the base; a top rod (1311’) connected to the base (11’) at a first end, the top rod protruding upward from a rear portion of the base and a tether (Williams, fig. 7: 13’) being adjustable in length, and configured to connect to an anchor device within a vehicle, wherein a first end of the tether (Williams, fig. 7: 13’) is affixed at an interior of the base proximate the first end of the top rod (1311’).
As concerns claim 18, Williams teaches wherein a through hole (Williams, the tether loops over the handle part and then feeds into an opening in the base as shown in fig. 7) is formed at a center of a top portion of the top rod (1311’), and the tether is slidably fixed in the through hole (Williams, the tether loops over the handle part and then feeds into an opening in the base as shown in fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 12-15, 17, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20200391625) in view of Woellert (US 7837275).
Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly.
As concerns claim 2, Woellert teaches a retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10), and the retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10) comprises: a retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40), both ends of which are pivotally fixed to the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); and an elastic member connected to the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20) and the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40), and applying a torsion force to the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention to modify Williams et al. with the teachings of Woellert with the retractor assembly as taught by Woellert in order to be able to provide increased control and retraction to the tether.
As concerns claim 3, Williams teaches the child safety seat base (Williams, fig. 1: 11).
Williams does not teach the components of a retractor assembly such as a driving member, a retractor bracket, a restore member, and a switch.
Woellert teaches a driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) movably provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a restore member (Woellert, fig. 1:56) and applying a pressure to the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54); and a switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330) provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20), wherein the tether (Williams, fig. 1: 13) bypasses and contacts the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54), and the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) can actuate the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the teachings of Williams to include a retractor assembly and components as taught by Woellert in order to provide increased control and retraction of the tether.
As concerns claim 5, Woellert teaches wherein an engaging member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460) is formed on the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40), an engaged member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460) is provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20), and the engaged member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460) can be operated to engage and disengage with the engaging member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460).
As concerns claim 12, Williams teaches a base of the child safety seat and the tether.
Howerever, Williams does not teach the retractor assembly.
Woellert teaches a retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat.
As concerns claim 13, Williams teaches the base (11’); the tether being unlocked from the anchor device within the vehicle; wherein an end of the tether is fixed and wound on; and the other end of the tether (13’) is configured to connect to the anchor device in the vehicle.
Williams does not teach the retractor assembly and its components such as a retractor, retractor bracket and an electric motor.
Woellert teaches a retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40), both ends of which are pivotally fixed to the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); and an electric motor (Woellert, fig. 10: 515) connected to the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40); wherein the retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10) comprises: a retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat of Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
As concerns claim 14, Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly and components.
Woellert teaches the retractor assembly further comprising: a driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) movably provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330) provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); and a restore member (Woellert, fig. 1:56) and applying a restoring force to the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) in a direction away from the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330): and the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) is able to actuate the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
As concerns claim 15, Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly and components.
Woellert teaches the retractor assembly further comprising: a driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) movably provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330) provided on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20): and a restore member (Woellert, fig. 1:56) and applying a restoring force to the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) in a direction away from the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330); and the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) is able to actuate the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
As concerns claim 17, Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly and components.
Woellert teaches wherein the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40) is formed with an engaging member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460), the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20) is also provided with an engaged member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460), and the engaged member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460) is able to be operated to engage and disengage from the engaging member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
As concerns claim 21, Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly and components.
Woellert teaches the engaging member (Woellert, fig. 9: 460) is a ratchet and the engaged part is a pawl; the restore member (Woellert, fig. 1:56) is a torsion spring, an end of the torsion spring abuts against the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20), and the other end of the torsion spring abuts against the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
As concerns claim 23, Williams et al. is discussed above but does not show a retractor assembly and components.
Woellert teaches a retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10), wherein the retractor assembly (Woellert, fig. 1: 10) comprises: a retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40), both ends of which are pivotally fixed to the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); and an elastic member or an electric motor (Woellert, fig. 10: 515) connecting the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20) to the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40) and applying a torsional force to the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40); a driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) movably arranged on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20); a restore member (Woellert, fig. 1:56) exerting pressure on the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54); and a switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330) arranged on the retractor bracket (Woellert, fig. 1: 20): the driving member (Woellert, fig. 1: 54) is able to actuate the switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330); wherein the retractor (Woellert, fig. 1: 40) is rotatable about its axis.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams to include the retractor assembly and its components as taught by Woellert in order to better secure the child safety seat
Claim(s) 8, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 20200391625) in view of Woellert (US 7837275), and further in view of Gou (US 12179645) .
As concerns claim 8, 20 and 24, Williams and Woellert are discussed above. As noted, combined they teach a tether (Williams, fig. 1: 13) on a child safety seat and a switch (Woellert, fig. 6: 330) on a retractor assembly. Williams teaches Williams and Woellert combined fail to teach an alarm to inform that the tether is tightened.
However, Gou teaches wherein the child safety seat issues an alarm (Guo, fig. 3: 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify the child safety seat as taught by Williams and the retractor assembly as taught by Woellert to include an alarm as taught by Gou in order to confirm the tether is tightened properly for safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 7, 10, 16, 19, and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636