DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
With regards to the 112b for “Claim 16 recites “wherein, the primary module is externally connected to at least one said split detection module through the primary interface while integrated therein at least one detection unit”” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
With regards to the 112b for “Claim 16 recites “the detection unit of the primary block”” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
With regards to the 112b for “Claims 24 and 33 recite “a wireless communication module configured to transmit /receive data associated with the split detection module and/or the detection unit, and/or an external instruction to/from an external device” lacks clarity” the rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 13-16, 18-19 filed 4/2/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-18, 20, 22, 24-28, 30, 33-36 under 102 and claim(s) 19, 23, 29, 32 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ali in view of Goldman. The arguments for the 103 rejected claims 19, 23, 29, 32 relied on the same arguments as those presented for the claims rejected 102. For the discussion of the 103 rejection of claims 21 and 31 see below.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants first discuss the 112f, specifically arguing that the amendments removing the term block and replacing it with “module” renders the 112f moot because a module is sufficient structure. Examiner disagrees the term “module” is also a nonce term. Examiner notes that “module” is one of the possible nonce terms enumerated in MPEP 2181(I)(A). For example with "a primary module, being configured to output and/or store detection data associated with various detection tasks" - placeholder "Module", transitional phrase "being configured to", functional language "output and/or store detection data...". Thus it meets the 3-prong analysis. Contrary to Applicants argument “module” is does not provide structure by itself, for example software functions are often referred to as “modules”. Applicants further argue that the limitations recite specific hardware interactions, Examiner disagrees. For example, the discussion of “external connections” and the “primary module” - "the primary module is externally connected to at least one said split detection module", but this isn't sufficient structure of the primary module. "Externally connected to ... [something else]", while potentially imparting the idea that this is a concrete, real-world object in that it can be "externally connected", does not impart "sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function", where here the function is "output and/or store detection data". Similarly for the other elements. As such, the elements pointed to do not require “sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function” and are not persuasive. At the end of their discussion Applicants argue that the same applies for the additional modules and units, however this is also not persuasive. In arguendo, even if there were sufficient structure for the elements discussed more specifically, the additional list elements (“detection unit”, “operational analysis unit”, “ID module”, “wireless communication module”) do not have the same level of in the claims. For the above reasons Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
With regards to claims 21 and 31, and the Weber reference, Applicants argue that “Weber is only directed to configuring the operational parameters of a monitor in response to recognizing a particular application of an application identification sensor indicated on its packaging or label, which may expressly describe how operational parameters are to be adjusted. The Applicant was unable to locate any disclosure in Weber concerning identity authentications requests or providing corresponding power.” Examiner disagrees. The Weber reference discloses the separate sensor having an information element (230 fig. 1) which is read by the monitors reader (350 fig. 1) upon the sensor being connected to the monitor. Based on the information the monitor automatically applies corresponding operational parameters ([0009]). Examiner notes the “drivers” in fig. 1, when read in view of the “A pulse oximeter monitor is described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,699,194 entitled Signal Processing Apparatus and Method and U.S. Pat. No. 6,650,917 entitled Signal Processing Apparatus, which are assigned to Masimo Corporation, Irvine, Calif. and incorporated by reference herein.” the drivers are current drivers applying an electrical current powered by monitor to the sensor to gather a reading. Examiner notes that per Applicants specification “identity authentications requests” the identity authorization request is the sending of the identification information of the “split detection block”, more specifically [0043] recites “the identity authentication request is born by the module ID data (i.e., any data that is suitable for indicating the ID, such as a manufacturer code, a device model, hardware codes of its components, and a function serial number). Further, when the primary block 100 receives an identity authentication request from the split detection block 200, i.e., the module ID data,”. Thus in reading the claim in view of the specification the transmission of the “application information” in Weber, which is a form of identification, teaches the the authentication request. For the above reasons Applicants argument regarding Weber are not persuasive. However, to more explicitly show elements of the amendment the Goldman reference has been applied.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“primary module” in all claims see [0028]-[0029], [0032] (using PG Pub for paragraph numbers;
“a primary interface” in all claims see [0029]-[0030], [0042];
“split detection module” in all claims see [0027], [0029], [0031]-[0032];
“split interface” in all claims see [0029], [0042];
“detection unit” in all claims see [0030]-[0031], [0034];
“operational analysis unit” in claims 17-18, 27-28 see [0028], [0032];
“ID module” in claims 21, 31 see [0013], [0040]-[0041];
“wireless communication module” claims 24, 33 see [0046]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites “electrically connected to the outside of the primary module and driven the primary module is the split detection module configured to send an identity”, there is either a word missing? or a phrase missing? Something is missing connecting the elements. Examiner also notes that depending on what is claimed there may be a 112a issue with regards to the “driven” (its only recited in the specification see [0008] and original claim 26 using PG Pub for paragraph numbers, which may not provide sufficient written description), but as it is currently not clear Examiner is unsure if it is a 112a issue. For the above reason the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite. The claims depending from this claim share this issue and are likewise rejected.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “the working mode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what the “working mode” is as it lacks antecedent basis, the “working mode” is not recited earlier in claim 31 nor in claim 26 from which claim 31 depends. For the above reasons the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 20, 22, 24-28, 30, 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130253334 to Al-Ali et al. (hereinafter Ali) in view of US 20210298991 to Goldman et al. (hereinafter Goldman).
Regarding Claim 16, a portable, multi-function health ([0009], Figs. 1A, 2A-B, 8-9A, 10), at least comprising:
a primary module ([0055]-[0056], [0085], Figs. 1A-D, 2A-B, 8-9D see also [0063], [0067], [0128]; Primary module is the one on the arm band), being configured to output and/or store detection data associated with various detection tasks ([0055], [0063], [0085]-[0086]; patient monitor on the person can transmit or store data),
a primary interface ([0029]-[0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]; Interface/connector/port of primary module which connects the primary module to additional sensor(s)), being installed on the primary module and configured to establish adaptive connection with distinct, individual split detection modules ([0029]-[0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085]), and
at least one said split detection module ([0030], [0054] including “can also be coupled to additional sensors, such as optical sensors, acoustic sensors, and/or electrocardiograph sensors.”, [0057], [0075], [0087] including “the patient monitor 216 b is connected to three different types of sensors.”, [0106]-[0107] including “connectors . . . for sensor cables (e.g., for optical, acoustic, ECG, and/or other sensors)”, [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 8-10; see also [0128]), being connected to the primary module through a split interface that is adapted to the primary interface, so as to perform corresponding detection tasks ([0030], [0075], [0082], [0087], [0104] including “connectors”, [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0106]-[0107], [0128]; Interface/connector which connects the additional sensor(s) to the primary module connectors/interface. To the extent “so as to perform . . .” is an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use),
wherein, the primary module is externally connected to at least one said split detection module through the primary interface ([0029]-[0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0085]; Interface/connector/port of primary module which connects the primary module to additional sensors) while integrated therein at least one detection unit ([0055]-[0056], [0085], Figs. 1A-D, 2A-B, 8-9D see also [0063], [0071]; Primary module includes a “detection unit” or sensor),
in which,
only when connected to the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to perform the corresponding detection tasks ([0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors). To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use),
the detection tasks performed by the split detection module are different from the detection tasks of the at least one detection unit of the primary module ([0030], [0054] including “can also be coupled to additional sensors, such as optical sensors, acoustic sensors, and/or electrocardiograph sensors.”, [0057], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 8-10; see also [0128]; primary module has one type of sensor and is connected to different split module detection unit (i.e. the additional sensors)), the split detection module and the primary module working together to perform the detection tasks ([0059], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0120], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors) thus the primary module is “working together” with the split modules),
the primary module is provided with a power source ([0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0121], [0128]), such that when the uncharged split detection module is connected to the primary module through the split interface, the primary module is enabled to power the split detection module ([0069], [0083], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0128]; power is supplied by the primary module to the split detection modules (i.e. the additional sensors). To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use),
only when connected to the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to at least access and/or store data in the primary module ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0075]-[0076], [0131], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power through wired connection for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors). Wired connected additional sensors require the connection for power and data transfer capabilities. To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use), and/or display information associated with the detection tasks through a display portion of the primary module in response to an operation of the primary module instructing so ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “the wireless transceiver 116 might also include a display that outputs data reflecting any of the parameters described above”, [0076]-[0077], [0132], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10. To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use).
an interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose only when the split interface is connected to the primary module is the split detection module configured to send an identity authentication request to the primary module, the primary module in response to the identity authentication request determining its working mode and providing corresponding power to the split detection module, enabling the split detection module to perform the corresponding detection tasks, the split detection module only performing detection with confirmation from the primary module.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Goldman teaches only when the split interface is connected to the primary module is the split detection module configured to send an identity authentication request to the primary module ([0081], [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0065], [0083], [0180]; Since it’s a wired connection it must be connected before it can send the data. When connected the connection is noted and the authorization/identification occurs, wherein the “accessory” sensor sends in an authentication/ID. Examiner notes that reading the claim in view of the specification Applicants explain the “an identity authentication request” to be the split detection block transmitting “i.e., any data that is suitable for indicating the ID, such as a manufacturer code, a device model, hardware codes of its components, and a function serial number” see Applicants [0043] using the PG Pub for paragraph numbers which is the same as that occurring in Goldman), the primary module in response to the identity authentication request determining its working mode and providing corresponding power to the split detection module ([0066], [0081] including “verify 53 authentication”, [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0102]-[0103], [0180]), enabling the split detection module to perform the corresponding detection tasks ([0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]), the split detection module only performing detection with confirmation from the primary module ([0081]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitor with sensing connected additional sensors as recited by Ali to include authentication/ID steps for additional sensors attached before providing power and processing services because doing so ensures there is compatibility between the two devices ([0089]).
Regarding Claim 17, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module and/or the split detection module is provided with an operational analysis unit ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10) that is configured to process the detection data from the detection unit and/or detection data of at least one said split detection module that is in connection with the primary module ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10).
Regarding Claim 18, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the operational analysis unit is connected to and/or integrated with at least one analog-to-digital converter ([0067] including “can perform at least some front-end processing of the data, such as . . . analog-to-digital conversion”, [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0056], [0063]-[0064], [0090]; sensors additional and any on the primary module transfer the data to front end processing including the analog to digital converter (ADC) following which the digital signals then go through additional processing/analysis) that is configured to receive the detection task data from the primary module and/or from the split detection module by way of a sub-channel ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0083], [0090], [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10), and the analog-to-digital converter converts and transmits the detection task data to the operational analysis unit for analysis and processing ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10)
Regarding Claim 20, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the at least one kind of said split detection module contained in the health detector is configured to be connected to the primary module in a one-on-one manner according to detection need ([0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]; Interface/connector of split detection module (aka additional or external sensor) which connects the additional sensor to the primary module), in which, the split detection module at least comprises a module selected from the following: a blood oxygen detection module ([0030], [0075] including “The optical sensor 102 . . . These parameters can include various blood analytes such as oxygen”, [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]).
Regarding Claim 21, an interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose wherein the split detection module is provided with an ID module, such that the split detection module in connection with the primary module is enabled to send the identity authentication request providing module ID data associated with the ID module to the primary module in response to said connection, in which the module ID data enables identification of the split detection module, the a working mode determined by a judgment result of the primary module on the module ID data in response to the identity authentication request, working mode activated through manual selection and/or through automatic adaptation made by the primary module, the primary module is configured to determine a data processing mode for the operational analysis unit based on the working mode determined according to the module ID data, and particularly the data processing mode for data from the corresponding split detection module adapted to connect with the primary interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Goldman teaches wherein the split detection module is provided with an ID module ([0065], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0097] see also [0180]), such that the split detection module in connection with the primary module is enabled to send the identity authentication request providing module ID data associated with the ID module to the primary module in response to said connection ([0081], [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0083], [0180]; When connected the connection is noted and the authorization/identification occurs, wherein the “accessory” sensor sends in an authentication/ID. Examiner notes that reading the claim in view of the specification Applicants explain the “an identity authentication request” to be the split detection block transmitting “i.e., any data that is suitable for indicating the ID, such as a manufacturer code, a device model, hardware codes of its components, and a function serial number” see Applicants [0043] using the PG Pub for paragraph numbers which is the same as that occurring in Goldman), in which the module ID data enables identification of the split detection module ([0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0083], [0180]),
the a working mode determined by a judgment result of the primary module on the module ID data in response to the identity authentication request ([0063], [0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0044], [0102]-[0103], [0180]), working mode activated through manual selection and/or through automatic adaptation made by the primary module request ([0063], [0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093], [0096], Figs. 4-6 see also [0044], [0102]-[0103], [0180]),
the primary module is configured to determine a data processing mode for the operational analysis unit based on the working mode determined according to the module ID data request ([0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]), and particularly the data processing mode for data from the corresponding split detection module adapted to connect with the primary interface request ([0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitor with sensing connected additional sensors as recited by Ali to include authentication/ID steps for additional sensors attached before providing power and processing services because doing so ensures there is compatibility between the two devices ([0089]).
Regarding Claim 22, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein only when connected to the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to activate one said detection task of the split detection module in response to an operation of the primary module instructing so ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0075]-[0076], [0131], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power through wired connection for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors). Wired connected additional sensors require the connection for power and data transfer capabilities).
Regarding Claim 24, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module is provided with a wireless communication module ([0062], [0072], [0079], [0085], [0105], [0122], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10) that is configured to transmit /receive data associated with the split detection module and/or the detection unit to/from an external device ([0062], [0072], [0079], [0085], [0105], [0122], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0066]-[0067]; For one non limiting example, data is gathered by sensors transferred to the wireless transmitter of primary module which then wirelessly transmits data to external device).
Regarding Claim 25, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module and/or the split detection module is provided with at least one data collector that is configured to collect data and transmit the collected data in an unprocessed form to the analog-to-digital converter where the data is converted so that usable data is provided to the operational analysis unit ([0067] including “can perform at least some front-end processing of the data, such as . . . analog-to-digital conversion”, [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0056], [0063]-[0064], [0090]; The ADCs are used to convert signals to digital (i.e. usable data) for analysis on a processor).
Regarding Claim 26, an interpretation of Ali discloses a portable, multi-function health detector, ([0009], Figs. 1A, 2A-B, 8-9A, 10) at least comprising:
a primary module ([0055]-[0056], [0085], Figs. 1A-D, 2A-B, 8-9D see also [0063], [0067], [0128]; Primary module is the one on the arm band) having an electrochemical detection unit and/or an oscillometric detection unit, and being configured to output at least one kind of health data ([0055]-[0056] including “the blood pressure device 110 a includes an inflatable cuff 112, which can be an oscilometric cuff”, [0085], Figs. 1A-D, 1E, 2A-B, 8-9A, 10 see also [0063], [0071]),
at least one split detection module ([0030], [0054] including “can also be coupled to additional sensors, such as optical sensors, acoustic sensors, and/or electrocardiograph sensors.”, [0057], [0075], [0087] including “the patient monitor 216 b is connected to three different types of sensors.”, [0106]-[0107] including “connectors . . . for sensor cables (e.g., for optical, acoustic, ECG, and/or other sensors)”, [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 8-10; see also [0128]) that is different from the oscillometric detection unit , and is configured to output at least one further kind of health data ([0030], [0054] including “can also be coupled to additional sensors, such as optical sensors, acoustic sensors, and/or electrocardiograph sensors.”, [0057], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 8-10; see also [0128]),
wherein, only when electrically connected ([0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]; Interface/connector physically (and electrically) connects the additional sensor(s) to the primary module using physical wire(s). To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use) to the outside of the primary module and driven by the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to generate the at least one further kind of health data ([0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power for the split detection module sensor (i.e. the additional sensors)),
the split detection module and the primary module work together to perform the detection tasks ([0059], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0120], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors) thus the primary module is “working together” with the split modules), the split detection module which is the on-demand/plug-in activation will not perform any detection without the conformation from the primary module ([0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power for the split detection modules (i.e. the additional sensors)),
the primary module is provided with a power source ([0069], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0121], [0128]), such that when the uncharged split detection module is connected to the primary module through the split interface, the primary module is enabled to power the split detection module ([0069], [0083], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0128]; power is supplied by the primary module to the split detection modules (i.e. the additional sensors)),
only when connected to the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to at least access and/or store data in the primary module ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0075]-[0076], [0131], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power through wired connection for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors). Wired connected additional sensors require the connection for power and data transfer capabilities. To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use), and/or display information associated with the detection tasks through a display portion of the primary module in response to an operation of the primary module instructing so ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “the wireless transceiver 116 might also include a display that outputs data reflecting any of the parameters described above”, [0076]-[0077], [0132], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10. To the extent the element(s) is/are an intended use of the device the structure recites by the prior art is functionally capable of performing the intended use).
An interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose only when the split detection module is electrically connected to the outside of the primary module and driven the primary module is the split detection module configured to send an identity authentication request to the primary module, the primary module in response to the identity authentication request determining its workinq mode and providinq correspondinq power to the split detection module, enablinq the split detection module to generate the at least one further kind of health data, the split detection module only performinq detection with confirmation from the primary module,
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Goldman teaches only when the split detection module is electrically connected to the outside of the primary module and driven the primary module is the split detection module configured to send an identity authentication request to the primary module ([0081], [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0065], [0083], [0180]; Since it’s a wired connection it must be connected before it can send the data. When connected the connection is noted and the authorization/identification occurs, wherein the “accessory” sensor sends in an authentication/ID. Examiner notes that reading the claim in view of the specification Applicants explain the “an identity authentication request” to be the split detection block transmitting “i.e., any data that is suitable for indicating the ID, such as a manufacturer code, a device model, hardware codes of its components, and a function serial number” see Applicants [0043] using the PG Pub for paragraph numbers which is the same as that occurring in Goldman), the primary module in response to the identity authentication request determining its workinq mode and providinq correspondinq power to the split detection module([0066], [0081]-[0082] including “verify 53 authentication”, [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]), enabling the split detection module to generate the at least one further kind of health data ([0081]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]), the split detection module only performing detection with confirmation from the primary module ([0081]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitor with sensing connected additional sensors as recited by Ali to include authentication/ID steps for additional sensors attached before providing full power and processing services because doing so ensures there is compatibility between the two devices ([0089])
Regarding Claim 27, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module and/or the split detection module is provided with an operational analysis unit ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10) that is configured to process the detection data from the detection unit and/or detection data of at least one said split detection module that is in connection with the primary module ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10).
Regarding Claim 28, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the operational analysis unit is connected to and/or integrated with at least one analog-to-digital converter ([0067] including “can perform at least some front-end processing of the data, such as . . . analog-to-digital conversion”, [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0056], [0063]-[0064], [0090]; sensors additional and any on the primary module transfer the data to front end processing including the analog to digital converter (ADC) following which the digital signals then go through additional processing/analysis) that is configured to receive the detection task data from the primary module and/or from the split detection module by way of a sub-channel ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0083], [0090], [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10), and the analog-to-digital converter converts and transmits the detection task data to the operational analysis unit for analysis and processing ([0056], [0063]-[0064], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0090], [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10)
Regarding Claim 30, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the at least one kind of said split detection module contained in the health detector is configured to be connected to the primary module in a one-on-one manner according to detection need ([0030], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]; Interface/connector of split detection module (aka additional or external sensor) which connects the additional sensor to the primary module), in which, the split detection module at least comprises a module selected from the following: a blood oxygen detection module ([0030], [0075] including “The optical sensor 102 . . . These parameters can include various blood analytes such as oxygen”, [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]).
Regarding Claim 31, an interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose wherein the split detection module is provided with an ID module, such that the split detection module in connection with the primary module is enabled to send the identity authentication request providing module ID data associated with the ID module to the primary module in response to said connection, in which the module ID data enables identification of the split detection module, the a working mode determined by a judgment result of the primary module on the module ID data in response to the identity authentication request, working mode activated through manual selection and/or through automatic adaptation made by the primary module, the primary module is configured to determine a data processing mode for the operational analysis unit based on the working mode determined according to the module ID data, and particularly the data processing mode for data from the corresponding split detection module adapted to connect with the primary interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical devices), Goldman teaches wherein the split detection module is provided with an ID module ([0065], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0097] see also [0180]), such that the split detection module in connection with the primary module is enabled to send the identity authentication request providing module ID data associated with the ID module to the primary module in response to said connection ([0081], [0087]-[0089] including “The AU/ID information may include, for example but not limited to, a model number, a serial number, a hardware revision number, and/or power requirements for the sensor 220.”, [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0083], [0180]; When connected the connection is noted and the authorization/identification occurs, wherein the “accessory” sensor sends in an authentication/ID. Examiner notes that reading the claim in view of the specification Applicants explain the “an identity authentication request” to be the split detection block transmitting “i.e., any data that is suitable for indicating the ID, such as a manufacturer code, a device model, hardware codes of its components, and a function serial number” see Applicants [0043] using the PG Pub for paragraph numbers which is the same as that occurring in Goldman), in which the module ID data enables identification of the split detection module ([0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093], Figs. 4-6 see also [0083], [0180]),
the a working mode determined by a judgment result of the primary module on the module ID data in response to the identity authentication request ([0063], [0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0044], [0102]-[0103], [0180]), working mode activated through manual selection and/or through automatic adaptation made by the primary module request ([0063], [0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093], [0096], Figs. 4-6 see also [0044], [0102]-[0103], [0180]),
the primary module is configured to determine a data processing mode for the operational analysis unit based on the working mode determined according to the module ID data request ([0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]), and particularly the data processing mode for data from the corresponding split detection module adapted to connect with the primary interface request ([0066], [0081], [0087]-[0089], [0091], [0093] including “Upon completion of the AU/ID state 45 and in response to a successful authentication, the host 58 may apply power to the SA-DI port 298 and apply sensor power 51 to the SA-DI port 298 to enable power transmission to the sensor 220.”, [0096] including “identify data processing services necessary to handle the sensor data prior to receiving the sensor data streams.”, Figs. 4-6 see also [0180]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitor with sensing connected additional sensors as recited by Ali to include authentication/ID steps for additional sensors attached before providing power and processing services because doing so ensures there is compatibility between the two devices ([0089]).
Regarding Claim 33, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module is provided with a wireless communication module ([0062], [0072], [0079], [0085], [0105], [0122], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10) that is configured to transmit/receive data associated with the split detection module and/or the detection unit to/from an external device ([0062], [0072], [0079], [0085], [0105], [0122], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0066]-[0067]; For one non limiting example, data is gathered by sensors transferred to the wireless transmitter of primary module which then wirelessly transmits data to external device).
Regarding Claim 34, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the primary module and/or the split detection module is provided with at least one data collector that is configured to collect data and transmit the collected data in an unprocessed form to the analog-to-digital converter where the data is converted so that usable data is provided to the operational analysis unit ([0067] including “can perform at least some front-end processing of the data, such as . . . analog-to-digital conversion”, [0126], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0056], [0063]-[0064], [0090]; The ADCs are used to convert signals to digital (i.e. usable data) for analysis on a processor).
Regarding Claim 35, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the health detector is configured to at least be used for at least one or more kinds of blood oxygen detection ([0030], [0075] including “The optical sensor 102 . . . These parameters can include various blood analytes such as oxygen”, [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]).
Regarding Claim 36, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein the health detector is configured to at least be used for at least one or more kinds of blood oxygen detection ([0030], [0075] including “The optical sensor 102 . . . These parameters can include various blood analytes such as oxygen”, [0087], [0106]-[0107], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali in view of Goldman in further view of US 20200229765 to Peabody (hereinafter Peabody).
Regarding Claim 19, an interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose wherein the primary module is provided with a port for detection and/or calibration, such that upon insertion of a test paper and/or a standard test paper into the port, the corresponding detection data and/or standard data is recorded by the health detector, so as to at least obtain a relevant physiological index value measured according to an electrochemical detection principle.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Peabody teaches wherein the primary module is provided with a port for detection and/or calibration ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H), such that upon insertion of a test paper and/or a standard test paper into the port ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H), the corresponding detection data and/or standard data is recorded by the health detector, so as to at least obtain a relevant physiological index value measured according to an electrochemical detection principle ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified primary monitoring/sensing device with additional connected sensors as recited by Ali to include a test paper based electrochemical sensor into a multparameter physiological monitoring device as recited by Peabody because it provides in home ambulatory care effective and efficiently ([0004]-[0005]). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the primary monitoring/sensing device as recited by Ali to include a test paper based electrochemical sensor as recited by Peabody because it is merely Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 29, an interpretation of Ali may not explicitly disclose wherein the primary module is provided with a port for detection and/or calibration, such that upon insertion of a test paper and/or a standard test paper into the port, the corresponding detection data and/or standard data is recorded by the health detector, so as to at least obtain a relevant physiological index value measured according to an electrochemical detection principle.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Peabody teaches wherein the primary module is provided with a port for detection and/or calibration ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H), such that upon insertion of a test paper and/or a standard test paper into the port ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H), the corresponding detection data and/or standard data is recorded by the health detector, so as to at least obtain a relevant physiological index value measured according to an electrochemical detection principle ([0010], [0077], Fig. 1H).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified primary monitoring/sensing device with additional connected sensors as recited by Ali to include a test paper based electrochemical sensor into a multparameter physiological monitoring device as recited by Peabody because it provides in home ambulatory care effective and efficiently ([0004]-[0005]). Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the primary monitoring/sensing device as recited by Ali to include a test paper based electrochemical sensor as recited by Peabody because it is merely Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali in view of Goldman in further view of US 20200321793 to Al-Ali et al. (hereinafter DeJong).
Regarding Claim 23, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein each split detection module comprises a split interface, split interfaces installed on the split detection modules that are used for adaptively connecting to the primary module to perform different kinds of said detection tasks ([0030], [0068], [0075], [0087], [0106]-[0107], [0130], Figs. 1A-B, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-10 see also [0085], [0128]).
An interpretation of Ali may not explicitly recite the split interfaces are identical to each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Dejong teaches split interfaces are identical to each other ([0199], [0214]; the interfaces for the external sensors/additional sensors connecting to the primary module are identical to each other).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified primary monitoring/sensing device with additional connected sensors as recited by Ali to include the interfaces from different additional sensors to be identical as recited by Dejong because it advantageously provides flexibility in the configuration of the system ([0199]).
Regarding Claim 32, an interpretation of Ali further discloses wherein only when connected to the primary module, is the split detection module enabled to activate one said detection task of the split detection module in response to an operation of the primary module instructing so ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0075]-[0076], [0131], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; primary module “controls” devices and also provides power through wired connection for the split detection module (i.e. the additional sensors). Wired connected additional sensors require the connection for power and data transfer capabilities), each split detection module comprising a split interface, split interfaces installed on the split detection modules that are used for adaptively connecting to the primary module to perform different kinds of said detection tasks ([0063], [0066]-[0067] including “control any other sensors that can be attached to the transceiver 116 or the cuff 112”, [0075]-[0076], [0131], [0133], Figs. 1A, 1E, 2A-B, 5, 8-9A, 10 see also [0083], [0128]; Alie discloses connectors on “primary module” and corresponding connector associated with “split detection module”) .
An interpretation of Ali may not explicitly recite the split interfaces are identical to each other.
However, in the same field of endeavor (medical diagnostic systems), Dejong teaches split interfaces are identical to each other ([0199], [0214]; the interfaces for the external sensors/additional sensors connecting to the primary module are identical to each other).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified primary monitoring/sensing device with additional connected sensors as recited by Ali to include the interfaces from different additional sensors to be identical as recited by Dejong because it advantageously provides flexibility in the configuration of the system ([0199]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100022882 see [0046], [0049], Figs. 10A-B – discloses attaching various sensor modalities to main wearable system using USB
US 5758644 see Col 18:16-29
US 6770028 see 612 fig. 6
US 20050283052 see NF action for relevant citations
US 20220287574 see for example [0184], Figs. 1A-C. Examiner could not find an English of the publications of CN 202011416632.8 and CN 202011425601.9 and depending on whether they provide support for the claims of the current App this reference may or may not be prior art.
US 10194862 to Chakravarthi et al. see Figs. 1A-F, 3A-B
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792