DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Application
The claim set and remarks filed on 12/19/2023 are acknowledged.
Claims 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 16, 19, and 29-36 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 20-28 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102/103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tong (US 2015265570 A1).
Anticipation
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 20-28, Tong is drawn to pharmaceutical compositions formulated for transmucosal delivery, and in particular sublingual delivery, comprising at least one tocotrienol or derivative thereof together with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients. The use of said compositions for treating or preventing post exercise muscle soreness, delayed onset muscle soreness, cardiac fibrosis, hypertension, inflammation, stroke, cancer, elevated cholesterol and/or triglycerides, baldness, hypertrophy, conditions resulting from radiation exposure, stabilizing and/or controlling blood glucose levels, and improving exercise endurance and capacity (abstract).
Tong discloses an essential nutrient for the body, vitamin E is made up of four tocotrienols (alpha, beta, gamma, delta) [0002]. Tong discloses administration of tocotrienols by a transmucosal delivery route provides for enhanced bioavailability when compared with orally administered tocotrienols [0023]. Tong discloses a pharmaceutical composition formulated for transmucosal delivery including at least one tocotrienol or derivative thereof together with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients [0024].
Tong discloses method of treating or preventing a disease or condition amenable to treatment with a tocotrienol including transmucosal administration of at least one tocotrienol or derivative thereof [0029]. Tong discloses the disease or condition is selected from the group consisting of: post exercise muscle soreness, delayed onset muscle soreness, cardiac fibrosis, hypertension, inflammation, stroke, cancer, elevated cholesterol and/or triglycerides, baldness, and a condition resulting from radiation exposure [0032]. Tong discloses a method of stabilizing and/or controlling blood glucose levels in an animal including transmucosal administration of least one tocotrienol, or derivative thereof [0035].
Tong discloses the transmucosal pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a tablet, film, wafer, gum, powder, spray, solution or gel [0038].
Tong discloses use of at least one tocotrienol or derivative thereof in the preparation of a medicament for transmucosal administration [0045]. Tong discloses a tablet formulation was prepared containing a dose of 10 mg tocotrienol comprised of the actives: delta-tocotrienol 9 mg, gamma tocotrienol 1 mg; and the following excipients: dextrose, mannitol, marine gelatin, l-leucine, l-arginine, pre-gel starch, PEG-200, propylene glycol, talc, silica dioxide, magnesium stearate, carotenoids [0203].
Obviousness
Tong does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in one single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tong, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Tong discloses all the required components and Tong discloses pharmaceutical compositions formulated for transmucosal delivery, comprising at least one tocotrienol or derivative thereof together with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, and use of said compositions for treating or preventing post exercise muscle soreness, delayed onset muscle soreness, stabilizing and/or controlling blood glucose levels, and improving exercise endurance and capacity (abstract). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615