DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-18 are subject to examination. Group I which contains claims 1-4, 8-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are elected by the Applicant without traverse. Group II which contains 5-7, 13 and 16 were not elected by Applicant without traverse and thus are withdrawn.
This non-final action is in response to RCE filed on 12/11/2025. In this RCE, claim 1, 8, 12, 14 and 18 are amended. Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are pending, claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 18 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is filed under 35 U.S.C. § 371 as the U.S. National Phase of Application No. PCT/FR2021/052193 and filed December 2, 2021, and which claims priority to FR 2012733 filed December 4, 2020, each of which is incorporated by reference in its entirety.
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 14, 15, 17, and 18 drawn to managing remote access to a local communication network managed by a gateway to access a remote network.
Group II, claim(s) 5-7, 13 and 16, drawn to how a gateway can be woke-up.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of receiving a wake-up message from a management platform connected to the remote network, when the gateway is in a standby state, triggering a specific gateway wake-up operation using wake-up constraints, upon receipt of a user's access rights to the service from the management platform, validating the user's authorization to access the service and transmitting a validation response to the management platform; and upon receipt of a connection request from the user terminal comprising at least a gateway identifier, connecting the user terminal to the local network, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Fryking et al. (US 20210037461) and Chamberlin et al. (US 9860225). For instance, Fryking et al. discloses WUS sends a wake-up request to the gateway (paragraph 127) and Chamberlin et al. discloses validating the user's authorization to access the service and connecting the user terminal to the local network (fig. 4 and 5).
This restriction is being made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Objections are withdrawn in view of amended claims.
Rejection of Claims under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to limitation “receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway, following the reception” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the response filed on 117/2025, applicant argues in substance that:
Thus, Vaystikh does not deal with the general problem of accessing a local communication network, i.e., does not seek to manage or control access to a local communications network (such as a LAN, VPN, or other physical/logical network infrastructure). Therefore, as expected, Applicant respectfully submits that Vaystikh does not disclose at least the following feature of Applicant's Claim 1: receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway, following the reception (from remarks pg. 10-11).
In this new ground of rejection, Vaystikh-Oh (new reference) teaches this limitation. For instance, Fan-Vaystikh teaches receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 46-51). However, Fan-Vaystikh does not explicitly disclose the service is for accessing the local communication network (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network). Oh teaches a validation of an authorization accessing the local communication network (Oh fig. 2&5). Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan-Vaystikh in view of Oh for applying technique of Fan-Vaystikh (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway) to access the local communication network of Oh for teaching receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of determining whether the terminal is authorized to access to home network (see Oh para. [0072]).
Please see mapping below for more details.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 12, 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following:
The claims recite limitation “connection information to the local communication network”, which is not clear. Therefore, for the purpose of examining, Examiner interprets as “connection information to access the local communication network” (emphasis added) as indicated in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 2020/0113018, Pub. Date: Apr. 9, 2020), in view of Vaystikh et al. (US 10,592,978, Date of Patent: Mar.17, 2020), in view of Oh et al. (US 2013/0114616, Pub. Date: May 9, 2013).
As per claim 1, Fan discloses a method of managing a request to access a local communication network managed by a gateway to access a remote communication network (Fan fig. 1-2, Residential Gateway and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device), wherein the method, implemented by a management platform connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 2-3, a flowchart of the operation of the proposed method for the localization server [management platform]), comprises:
receiving the request to access the local communication network from a user terminal connected to the remote communication network (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0066], At 315 the localization server receives a request to remotely connect to the residential gateway from a client device), the request comprising at least one user identifier (Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI); Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password [user identifier]);
verifying that the user is authorized to access the local communication network using the user identifier and access rights stored in a memory (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI), e.g., app or web browser, through a query flow (2) on FIG. 1. With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway. [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]); and
if the user is authorized to access the requested local network (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]; Fan para. [0046], With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway),
transmitting a wake-up message to the gateway (Fan fig. 2, Localization Server transmits wake-up packet to Residential Gateway via Access Router at step 6-7);
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan para. [0066], at 335 the localization server transmits the current localization information to the client device; Fan para. [0021], the localization information includes gateway specific information including a media access control (MAC) address of a wide area network (WAN) interface, a serial number (SN) of the gateway, an internet protocol (IP) address of an access router in a service provider's network and an IP address of the gateway [identifier of the gateway]/WAN interface).
Fan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway, following the reception; and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information.
Vaystikh teaches:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway, following the reception (Vaystikh fig. 2, authentication manager and gateway 150 validates access token [connection information] and instruct service provider 120 to send the access token to consumer 140 at 235; Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140); and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information (Vaystikh col.4 lines 49-51, Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Vaystikh for receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway, following the reception; and transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of improving security by detecting an anomalous access request by said authorized consumer (Vaystikh col. 8 lines 26-28).
Fan-Vaystikh teaches receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 46-51). However, Fan-Vaystikh does not explicitly disclose the service is for accessing the local communication network (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network).
Oh teaches:
a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network (Oh fig. 2, authenticate user at 244; Oh fig. 5 at 503 and para. [0072], In step 503, the home GW server authenticates the terminal requesting the service … when the service requested by the terminal requests the access to the my home, the home GW server may request an authentication key of the my home to the terminal, receive the authentication key, and then determine whether the terminal is authorized to access to the my home).
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan-Vaystikh in view of Oh for applying technique of Fan-Vaystikh (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway) to access the local communication network of Oh for teaching receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information validated by the gateway.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of determining whether the terminal is authorized to access to home network (see Oh para. [0072]).
As per claim 4, Fan-Vaystikh-Oh discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Vaystikh also discloses wherein the validation of an access authorization received from the gateway comprises an access authorization token and in that the response transmitted to the user terminal comprises the token (Vaystikh fig. 2, authentication manager and gateway 150 validates access token and instruct service provider 120 to send the access token to consumer 140 at 235 and col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140).
Similar rationale in claim 1 is applied.
As per claim 8, Fan discloses a method of requesting remote access to a local communication network managed by a gateway to access a remote communication network by a user terminal connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 1-2, Residential Gateway and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device), wherein the method is implemented by the user terminal (Fan fig. 1, client device) and comprises:
transmitting a request to access a local communication network to a management platform connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0057], Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0066], At 315 the localization server [management platform] receives a request to remotely connect to the residential gateway from a client device), the request comprising at least one user identifier (Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI); Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password [user identifier]);
receiving a response from the platform comprising at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan para. [0066], at 335 the localization server transmits the current localization information to the client device; Fan para. [0021], the localization information includes gateway specific information including a media access control (MAC) address of a wide area network (WAN) interface, a serial number (SN) of the gateway, an internet protocol (IP) address of an access router in a service provider's network and an IP address of the gateway [identifier of the gateway]/WAN interface); and
transmitting a connection request to the at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0065], The end user client device can then successfully connect remotely to his/her residential gateway; Fan para. [0068], a connection is established between the residential gateway and the client device based on said localization information).
Fan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway; and
transmitting the connection request comprising the connection information to the local communication network.
Vaystikh teaches:
receiving a response comprising connection information to access a service validated by the gateway (Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140);
transmitting the connection request comprising the connection information to access the service (Vaystikh fig. 3B, Access Protected Resource With Access Token at 360).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Vaystikh for receiving a response comprising connection information to access a service validated by the gateway; and transmitting the connection request comprising the connection information to access the service.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of improving security by detecting an anomalous access request by said authorized consumer (Vaystikh col. 8 lines 26-28).
Fan-Vaystikh teaches receiving and transmitting a response comprising connection information to access a service validated by the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 46-51). However, Fan-Vaystikh does not explicitly disclose connection information is for accessing the local communication network (i.e., receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network). [The claim recites limitation “connection information to the local communication network”, which is not clear. Therefore, for the purpose of examining, Examiner interprets as “connection information to access the local communication network” (emphasis added) as indicated in claim 1].
Oh teaches:
connection information to the local communication network (Oh fig. 2, authenticate user at 244 and inform of service approval at 248; Oh fig. 5 at 503 and para. [0072], In step 503, the home GW server authenticates the terminal requesting the service … when the service requested by the terminal requests the access to the my home, the home GW server may request an authentication key of the my home to the terminal, receive the authentication key, and then determine whether the terminal is authorized to access to the my home; Oh fig 5 at 511 and para. [0075], In step 511, the home GW server transmits the signal indicating the service approval to the terminal).
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan-Vaystikh in view of Oh for applying technique of Fan-Vaystikh (i.e., receiving a response comprising connection information to access a service validated by the gateway and transmitting the connection request comprising the connection information to access the service) to access the local communication network of Oh for teaching receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway and transmitting the connection request comprising the connection information to the local communication network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of determining whether the terminal is authorized to access to home network (see Oh para. [0072]).
As per claim 9, Fan-Vaystikh-Oh discloses the method according to claim 8, as set forth above, Vaystikh also discloses wherein the response further comprises a connection authorization token to the network (Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140) and in that the connection request comprises the token (Vaystikh fig. 3B, Access Protected Resource With Access Token at 360).
Similar rationale in claim 8 is applied.
Per claim 11, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As per claim 12, Fan discloses a device (Fan fig. 1-2 and para. [0040], a customer premises equipment (CPE) localization server in the service provider's (operator's) network) for managing a request to remotely access a local communication network managed by a gateway to access a remote communication network (Fan fig. 1-2 and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device), wherein the device is configured to implement at a management platform connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 1-2 and para. [0040], a customer premises equipment (CPE) localization server in the service provider's (operator's) network):
receiving the request to access a local communication network from a user terminal connected to the remote communication network (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0057], Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0066], At 315 the localization server receives a request to remotely connect to the residential gateway from a client device), the request comprising at least one user identifier (Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI); Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password [user identifier]);
verifying an authorization of a user to access the network using the user identifier and access rights stored in a memory (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan fig.6, memory 645 and para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI), e.g., app or web browser, through a query flow (2) on FIG. 1. With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway. [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]); and
if the user is authorized to access the requested network (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]; Fan para. [0046], With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway),
transmitting a wake-up message to the gateway (Fan fig. 2, Localization Server transmits wake-up packet to Residential Gateway via Access Router at step 6-7);
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan para. [0066], at 335 the localization server transmits the current localization information to the client device; Fan para. [0021], the localization information includes gateway specific information including a media access control (MAC) address of a wide area network (WAN) interface, a serial number (SN) of the gateway, an internet protocol (IP) address of an access router in a service provider's network and an IP address of the gateway [identifier of the gateway]/WAN interface).
Fan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway, following the reception; and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information.
Vaystikh teaches:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway, following the reception (Vaystikh fig. 2, authentication manager and gateway 150 validates access token [connection information] and instruct service provider 120 to send the access token to consumer 140 at 235; Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140); and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information (Vaystikh col.4 lines 49-51, Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Vaystikh for receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway, following the reception; and transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of improving security by detecting an anomalous access request by said authorized consumer (Vaystikh col. 8 lines 26-28).
Fan-Vaystikh teaches receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 46-51). However, Fan-Vaystikh does not explicitly disclose the service is for accessing the local communication network and connection information is for accessing the local communication network (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network). [The claim recites limitation “connection information to the local communication network”, which is not clear. Therefore, for the purpose of examining, Examiner interprets as “connection information to access the local communication network” (emphasis added) as indicated in claim 1].
Oh teaches:
a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network (Oh fig. 2, authenticate user at 244 and inform of service approval at 248; Oh fig. 5 at 503 and para. [0072], In step 503, the home GW server authenticates the terminal requesting the service … when the service requested by the terminal requests the access to the my home, the home GW server may request an authentication key of the my home to the terminal, receive the authentication key, and then determine whether the terminal is authorized to access to the my home; Oh fig 5 at 511 and para. [0075], In step 511, the home GW server transmits the signal indicating the service approval to the terminal).
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan-Vaystikh in view of Oh for applying technique of Fan-Vaystikh (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway, following the reception and transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information) to access the local communication network of Oh for teaching receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of determining whether the terminal is authorized to access to home network (see Oh para. [0072]).
Per claims 14 and 17, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 8. As such, claims 14 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Per claim 15, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 12. As such, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
As per claim 18, Fan discloses a system (Fan fig. 1-2) for managing remote access to a local communication network managed by a gateway to access a remote network, wherein the system comprises, connected to the remote network, a gateway to access a remote network, configured to manage a local communication network (Fan fig. 1-2, Residential Gateway and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device),
a management platform for managing a request to remotely access the local communication network managed by the gateway to access a remote network, the platform being connected to the remote communication network, wherein the platform comprises a first device (Fan fig. 1-2 and para. [0040], a customer premises equipment (CPE) localization server in the service provider's (operator's) network) for managing a request to remotely access the local communication network from a user terminal (Fan fig. 1-2 and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device), wherein the first device is configured to implement at the management platform:
receiving the request to access the local communication network from the user terminal connected to the remote communication network (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0057], Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0066], At 315 the localization server receives a request to remotely connect to the residential gateway from a client device), the request comprising at least one user identifier (Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI); Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password [user identifier]);
verifying an authorization of a user to access the network using the user identifier and access rights stored in a memory (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan fig.6, memory 645 and para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI), e.g., app or web browser, through a query flow (2) on FIG. 1. With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway. [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]);
if the user is authorized to access the requested network (Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; [Implicitly, account/password is used for verifying the user to access the local network]; Fan para. [0046], With this account information or SN, by searching in the localization server, service provider (operator) server can then locate (find) the residential gateway's relevant information, e.g., MAC, IP and access router IP, which connects the end user (through his/her client device) to the end user's residential gateway),
transmitting a wake-up message to the gateway (Fan fig. 2, Localization Server transmits wake-up packet to Residential Gateway via Access Router at step 6-7);
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan para. [0066], at 335 the localization server transmits the current localization information to the client device; Fan para. [0021], the localization information includes gateway specific information including a media access control (MAC) address of a wide area network (WAN) interface, a serial number (SN) of the gateway, an internet protocol (IP) address of an access router in a service provider's network and an IP address of the gateway [identifier of the gateway]/WAN interface);
and
the user terminal, wherein the user terminal comprises a second device for requesting remote access to the local communication network managed by the gateway to access the remote network by the user terminal connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 1-2, Residential Gateway and para. [0020], receiving a request to connect remotely to the residential gateway from a client device), wherein the second device is configured to implement at the user terminal (Fan fig. 1, client device):
transmitting a request to access the local communication network to the management platform connected to the remote network (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0057], Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password; Fan para. [0066], At 315 the localization server [management platform] receives a request to remotely connect to the residential gateway from a client device), the request comprising at least one user identifier (Fan para. [0046], the user (through his/her client device) transmits (send) his/her account information or SN information via the service provider's (operator's) user interface (UI); Fan para. [0057], The end user triggers access to his/her residential gateway via the operator's UI, with e.g. SN or account/password [user identifier]);
receiving a response from the platform comprising at least one identifier of the gateway (Fan para. [0066], at 335 the localization server transmits the current localization information to the client device; Fan para. [0021], the localization information includes gateway specific information including a media access control (MAC) address of a wide area network (WAN) interface, a serial number (SN) of the gateway, an internet protocol (IP) address of an access router in a service provider's network and an IP address of the gateway [identifier of the gateway]/WAN interface); and
transmitting a connection request to the gateway using the identifier (Fan fig. 2 and para. [0065], The end user client device can then successfully connect remotely to his/her residential gateway; Fan para. [0068], a connection is established between the residential gateway and the client device based on said localization information).
Fan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway, following the reception; and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information;
receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway; and
transmitting a connection request using the connection information.
Vaystikh teaches:
receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway, following the reception (Vaystikh fig. 2, authentication manager and gateway 150 validates access token [connection information] and instruct service provider 120 to send the access token to consumer 140 at 235; Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140); and
transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information (Vaystikh col.4 lines 49-51, Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140);
receiving a response comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2, authentication manager and gateway 150 validates access token [connection information] and instruct service provider 120 to send the access token to consumer 140 at 235; Vaystikh col. 4 lines 46-51, At time 235, the consumer 140 requests an access token from the service provider 120 which is validated by the authentication manager and gateway 150. Once validated, the authentication manager and gateway 150 instructs the service provider 120 to issue the access token, which is then sent to the consumer 140); and
transmitting a connection request using the connection information (Vaystikh fig. 3B, Access Protected Resource With Access Token at 360).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Vaystikh for receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway, following the reception, transmitting to the user terminal a response comprising the connection information, receiving a response comprising connection information to access the service validated by the gateway and transmitting a connection request using the connection information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of improving security by detecting an anomalous access request by said authorized consumer (Vaystikh col. 8 lines 26-28).
Fan-Vaystikh teaches receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to the service validated by the gateway and receiving a response comprising connection information to the service validated by the gateway (Vaystikh fig. 2 and col. 4 lines 46-51). However, Fan-Vaystikh does not explicitly disclose the service is for accessing the local communication network and connection information is for accessing the local communication network (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network and receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network). [The claim recites limitation “connection information to the local communication network”, which is not clear. Therefore, for the purpose of examining, Examiner interprets as “connection information to access the local communication network” (emphasis added) as indicated in claim 1].
Oh teaches:
a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network (Oh fig. 2, authenticate user at 244 and inform of service approval at 248; Oh fig. 5 at 503 and para. [0072], In step 503, the home GW server authenticates the terminal requesting the service … when the service requested by the terminal requests the access to the my home, the home GW server may request an authentication key of the my home to the terminal, receive the authentication key, and then determine whether the terminal is authorized to access to the my home; Oh fig 5 at 511 and para. [0075], In step 511, the home GW server transmits the signal indicating the service approval to the terminal).
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan-Vaystikh in view of Oh for applying technique of Fan-Vaystikh (i.e., receiving a validation of an authorization to access a service from the gateway comprising connection information to the service validated by the gateway and receiving a response comprising connection information to the service validated by the gateway) to access the local communication network of Oh for teaching receiving a validation of an authorization to access the local communication network from the gateway comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway and receiving a response comprising connection information to the local communication network validated by the gateway.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of determining whether the terminal is authorized to access to home network (see Oh para. [0072]).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 2020/0113018, Pub. Date: Apr. 9, 2020), in view of Vaystikh et al. (US 10,592,978, Date of Patent: Mar.17, 2020), in view of Oh et al. (US 2013/0114616, Pub. Date: May 9, 2013), in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0333965, Pub. Date Nov. 19, 2015).
As per claim 2, Fan-Vaystikh-Oh discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Fan also discloses the transmission of the wake-up message to the gateway that manages local communication network (Fan fig. 2, Localization Server transmits wake-up packet to Residential Gateway via Access Router at step 6-7; Fan para. [0004], Client devices typically access the Internet through a residential gateway … the term residence is used interchangeable with home and environment, where an environment may include, but is not limited to, a home, a small business or any equivalent environment).
Fan does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting to the user terminal a request to select a local network and in that the transmission of the wake-up message is triggered upon receipt of a response comprising an identifier of the selected local network to the gateway that manages the selected local communication network.
Lee teaches:
transmitting to the user terminal a request to select a local network (Lee fig. 5A, selecting Your Premises: Home#1 and para. [0047], If more than one premises is associated with the user account, the user may select which premises the wireless end device 310 is to be affiliated with. For example, if a person owns two homes, that person may choose which home the wireless end device 310 is to be used at; Lee fig. 4 and para. [0053], the backend system may identify the premises at which the user intends to activate a wireless device at step 410) and in that the transmission of message is triggered (Lee fig. 4, Direct user to turn on end device at 425 and para. [0061], Step 425 may be performed in response to receiving a signal from the backend system (or local office 303) at the gateway 304 where the user is attempting to connect the wireless end device 310) upon receipt of a response comprising an identifier of the selected local network (Lee para. [0047], With the target premises selected, the user may select an activate device option 501 (e.g., a virtual button on a touchscreen or similar link). In response to selecting the activate device option 501, the device executing the web browser (e.g., a user's smartphone, tablet, PC, etc.), or the device hosting the web page (or any other device), may send a signal to the backend system. This signal may include information indicating that a device is to be activated at a premises, as well as information identifying the premises (or geographic location of a premises, e.g., a physical address, geographical coordinates, IP address, etc.)) to the gateway that manages the selected local communication network (Lee fig. 4, Direct user to turn on end device at 425 and para. [0061], Step 425 may be performed in response to receiving a signal from the backend system (or local office 303) at the gateway 304 where the user is attempting to connect the wireless end device 310).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fan in view of Lee for transmitting to the user terminal a request to select a local network and in that the transmission of the wakeup message is triggered upon receipt of a response comprising an identifier of the selected local network to the gateway that manages the selected local communication network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of providing service at selected location (see Lee para. [0047]).
As per claim 10, Fan-Vaystikh-Oh discloses the method according to claim 8, as set forth above, Fan does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises a selection of a local network from a plurality of authorized local networks, upon receipt of a selection request received from the management platform or the user terminal.
Lee teaches:
a selection of a local network from a plurality of authorized local networks (Lee para. [0047], If more than one premises is associated with the user account, the user may select which premises the wireless end device 310 is to be affiliated with. For example, if a person owns two homes, that person may choose which home the wireless end device 310 is to be used at; Lee fig. 4 and para. [0053], the backend system may identify the premises at which the user intends to activate a wireless device at step 410), upon receipt of a selection request received from the management platform or the user terminal (Lee fig. 5A, user select Your Premises: Home#1 and para. [0047], If more than one premises is associated with the user account, the user may select which premises the wireless end device 310 is to be affiliated with. For example, if a person owns two homes, that person may choose which home the wireless end device 310 is to be used at).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Fan in view of Lee for wherein the method further comprises a selection of a local network from a plurality of authorized local networks, upon receipt of a selection request received from the management platform or the user terminal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of providing service at selected location (see Lee para. [0047]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nair et al. (US 2021/0234706) Network Function Authentication Based On Public Key Binding In Access Token In A Communication System;
Dimitrovski et al. (US 2022/0060350) Connecting To A Home Area Network Via A Mobile Communication Network;
Albanese et al. (US 7895445) Token-based Remote Data Access.
/VINH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453