DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third conveyor line must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawings are also objected to because what is likely supposed to be “32” in Fig. 4 has been cropped in half. A replacement figure with a complete, clear number is requested. The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 102.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in [0128], the line should likely be amended to recite --[[15]]20: base--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, and 15 there are twenty recitations of “it.” It is requested all twenty instances are amended to remove the word “it” and replace it with what is specifically being referred to. In claim 1, line 5 should be amended to end with the word --and--. In claim 9, line 9 should likely be amended to recite --the[[se]] N--. In claim 10, the second to last paragraph is unclear and should possible be amended to recite --a number of eggs M, where M is less than N--; and that paragraph should also be amended to end with the word --and--. In claim 15, the fourth line on page 7 should be amended to end with the word --and--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the free end" in line 4. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the conveying flow" in line 3. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the empty individual devices" in the second to last line. Claim 15 recites the limitation "the third conveyor line" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Consequently, claims 7-10, 13 and 14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite since they require all the limitations of rejected claim 6.
Claims 8 and 9 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Both the bodies of claims 8 and 9 are identical to claim 1. The only differences appear in the preambles; however, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reading (US 3,060,660).
Referring to claim 1: Reading teaches an individual egg transport device, characterized in that it includes:
- an upper cup 83 provided to receive an egg 62,
- a base 84 provided to ensure a stable position of the upper cup on a conveying element 95, 96,
- a gripping element allowing a gripping member 90 to grasp the individual device in order to transport it from a first location to a second location (column 3, lines 50-73).
Referring to claim 3: Reading teaches a surface such as a bump capable of allowing the individual device to be gripped by a suction cup 61.
Referring to claim 4: Reading teaches a peripheral groove (between collars 86).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 8-10 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 7 and 11-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suh (CA 2937333 C), ADJANOHOUN (CN 116709912 A) and Bliss et al. (US 3,169,354) all teach an egg transport and/or handling device. IMHOF (US 2013/0302486 A1) teaches an olive device held together magnetically [0028], [0046], while noting a relation to egg devices [0007]. Similarly, Ramler et al. (US 5,344,202) teaches a system including a vacuum cup 158 to pick-up an individual article 9, while noting a relation to egg devices (column 1, lines 38-44).
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
09 June 2026