Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 07/17/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al in view of Zhou et al US20240080151A1 in view of DEENOO et al US20200052803A1
(Canceled).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al discloses (FIG.3 :UE) and a communication method executed by a terminal: comprising:
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a first received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from a base station (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement), and
a processor (fig. 9 : UE includes a measurement component 908) that determines, based on the configuration, a subcarrier spacing [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and a measurement time considering a beam [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the measurement time are to be applied to the first RSSI measurement, wherein the processor performs the first RSSI measurement by applying the subcarrier spacing and the TCI state [0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement,the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number of symbols indicating the measurement time [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, for example [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement may be selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration for example a measurement duration which is configured as (e.g., 84 symbols, 98 symbols, 114 symbols, or the like) and a reference subcarrier spacing which is configured to (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) , wherein [0169] An RSSI measurement symbol (also referred to as a measurement symbol) is a symbol in which an RSSI measurement is performed. Example, in a given measurement duration, RSSI measurements are performed for Beam 1, Beam 3, Beam 4, and Beam 6,
the TCI state and the measurement time to be applied to the first RSSI measurement, are included in the configuration of the first RSSI measurement [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, and
wherein the terminal further comprises transmitter (fig. 9 : UE includes transmission component 904) that transmits a result of the first RSSI measurement to the base station(FIG . 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730).
While CHEN discloses in [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement may be selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration.. As example, a reference subcarrier spacing may have a larger range of possible values that can be configured (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) than an omni-directional RSSI measurement, where “larger range” refers to reference subcarrier spacings that are wider than subcarrier spacings for the omni-directional RSSI measurement (i.e. the invention can be done on a larger range of possible values of a reference subcarrier spacing (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like)
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz.
Zhou et al US20240080151A1 discloses the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz. [0070] The SSB with the subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz or 960 kHz is used for measurement of narrow beams to improve throughput.
(See also [0038] discloses the SSB with the subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz or 960 kHz is configured. Such SSBs are mainly used for measurement (including CGI reporting)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by including the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz, as taught by Zhou, in order to improve throughput (see Zhou [0070]).
The combination of CHEN and Zhou does not explicitly discloses wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal(SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block.
DEENOO et al US20200052803A1 discloses wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block.[0217] The WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform a RSSI measurement(s) (e.g., for per-beam RSSI measurement(s)). For example, the WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform per-beam RSSI measurement(s) based on an association to a beam that may be determined from the RS configuration that the RSSI may be associated with. For example, the WTRU may determine which symbols to perform (e.g., per beam) RSSI measurement based on the SS/PBCH block measurement time configuration (SMTC) configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHEN and Zhou, by including wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), as taught by DEENOO, in order to perform a RSSI measurement(s) (e.g., for per-beam RSSI measurement(s)) (see DEENOO [0217]).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al discloses a communication system comprising:
a terminal (FIG.3: UE) and a base station (FIG.3: BS),
wherein the terminal includes:
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a first received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from a base station (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement)
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a first received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from the base station(fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement); and
a processor (fig. 9 : UE includes a measurement component 908) that determines, based on the configuration, a subcarrier spacing[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement,, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state[0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and a measurement time considering a beam[0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the measurement time are to be applied to the RSSI measurement, wherein the processor performs the first RSSI measurement by applying the subcarrier spacing and the TCI state [0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number of symbols indicating the measurement time[0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, for example [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement is selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration for example a measurement duration which is configured as (e.g., 84 symbols, 98 symbols, 114 symbols, or the like) and a reference subcarrier spacing which is configured to (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) , wherein [0169] An RSSI measurement symbol (also referred to as a measurement symbol) is a symbol in which an RSSI measurement is performed, for Example, in a given measurement duration, RSSI measurements are performed for Beam 1, Beam 3, Beam 4, and Beam 6,
the TCI state and the measurement time to be applied to the first RSSI measurement, are included in the configuration of the first RSSI measurement [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement, the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, and
wherein the terminal further includes a transmitter (fig. 9 : UE includes transmission component 904) that transmits a result of the first RSSI measurement to the base station(FIG . 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730), and
wherein the base station (FIG.3: BS) includes:
a transmitter (fig. 10 the base station includes transmission component 1004) that transmits the configuration for performing the RSSI measurement to the terminal (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement); and
a receiver (fig. 10: the base station includes reception component 1002) that receives the result of the first RSSI measurement from the terminal (FIG. 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730).
While CHEN discloses in [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement may be selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration. As example, a reference subcarrier spacing may have a larger range of possible values that can be configured (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) than an omni-directional RSSI measurement, where “larger range” refers to reference subcarrier spacings that are wider than subcarrier spacings for the omni-directional RSSI measurement (i.e. the invention can be done on a larger range of possible values of a reference subcarrier spacing (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like)
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz.
Zhou et al US20240080151A1 discloses the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz. [0070] The SSB with the subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz or 960 kHz is used for measurement of narrow beams to improve throughput
[0038] discloses the SSB with the subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz or 960 kHz is configured. Such SSBs are mainly used for measurement (including CGI reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by including the subcarrier spacing being 480 kHz or 960 kHz, as taught by Zhou, in order to improve throughput (see Zhou [0070]).
The combination of CHEN and Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block.
wherein the transmitter further transmits the information corresponding to the configuration for setting the target to be measured in the second RSSI measurement as the SS/PBCH block.
DEENOO et al US20200052803A1 discloses wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block.[0217] The WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform a RSSI measurement(s) (e.g., for per-beam RSSI measurement(s)). For example, the WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform per-beam RSSI measurement(s) based on an association to a beam that may be determined from the RS configuration that the RSSI may be associated with. For example, the WTRU may determine which symbols to perform (e.g., per beam) RSSI measurement based on the SS/PBCH block measurement time configuration (SMTC) configuration.
wherein the transmitter further transmits the information corresponding to the configuration for setting the target to be measured in the second RSSI measurement as the SS/PBCH block [0217] The WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform a RSSI measurement(s) (e.g., for per-beam RSSI measurement(s)). For example, the WTRU may determine a set of symbols on which to perform per-beam RSSI measurement(s) based on an association to a beam that may be determined from the RS configuration that the RSSI may be associated with. For example, the WTRU may determine which symbols to perform (e.g., per beam) RSSI measurement based on the SS/PBCH block measurement time configuration (SMTC) configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of CHEN and Zhou, by including wherein the receiver further receives information corresponding to a configuration for setting a target to be measured in a second RSSI measurement as a Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH), wherein the transmitter further transmits the information corresponding to the configuration for setting the target to be measured in the second RSSI measurement as the SS/PBCH block, as taught by DEENOO, in order to perform a RSSI measurement(s) (e.g., for per-beam RSSI measurement(s)) (see DEENOO [0217]).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478