Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 09/30/2025. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al.
(Canceled).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al discloses (FIG.3 :UE) and a communication method executed by a terminal: comprising:
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from a base station (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement), and
a processor (fig. 9 : UE includes a measurement component 908) that determines, based on the configuration, a subcarrier spacing [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and a measurement time considering a beam [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the measurement time are to be applied to the RSSI measurement, wherein the processor performs the RSSI measurement by applying the subcarrier spacing and the TCI state [0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number of symbols indicating the measurement time [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, for example [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement may be selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration for example a measurement duration which is configured as (e.g., 84 symbols, 98 symbols, 114 symbols, or the like) and a reference subcarrier spacing which is configured to (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) , wherein [0169] An RSSI measurement symbol (also referred to as a measurement symbol) is a symbol in which an RSSI measurement is performed. Example, in a given measurement duration, RSSI measurements are performed for Beam 1, Beam 3, Beam 4, and Beam 6,
the TCI state and the measurement time to be applied to the RSSI measurement, are included in the configuration of the RSSI measurement [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, and
wherein the terminal further comprises transmitter (fig. 9 : UE includes transmission component 904) that transmits a result of the RSSI measurement to the base station. (FIG . 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730).
. Regarding claim 9, CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al discloses a communication system comprising:
a terminal (FIG.3: UE) and a base station (FIG.3: BS),
wherein the terminal includes:
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from a base station (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement)
a receiver (fig. 9 : UE includes a reception component 902) that receives a configuration for performing a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement from the base station(fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement); and
a processor (fig. 9 : UE includes a measurement component 908) that determines, based on the configuration, a subcarrier spacing[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement,, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state[0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and a measurement time considering a beam[0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the measurement time are to be applied to the RSSI measurement, wherein the processor performs the RSSI measurement by applying the subcarrier spacing and the TCI state [0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number of symbols indicating the measurement time[0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, for example [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement is selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration for example a measurement duration which is configured as (e.g., 84 symbols, 98 symbols, 114 symbols, or the like) and a reference subcarrier spacing which is configured to (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) , wherein [0169] An RSSI measurement symbol (also referred to as a measurement symbol) is a symbol in which an RSSI measurement is performed, for Example, in a given measurement duration, RSSI measurements are performed for Beam 1, Beam 3, Beam 4, and Beam 6,
the TCI state and the measurement time to be applied to the RSSI measurement, are included in the configuration of the RSSI measurement [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, and
wherein the terminal further includes a transmitter (fig. 9 : UE includes transmission component 904) that transmits a result of the RSSI measurement to the base station(FIG . 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730), and
wherein the base station (FIG.3: BS) includes:
a transmitter (fig. 10 the base station includes transmission component 1004) that transmits the configuration for performing the RSSI measurement to the terminal (fig. 3 step 310; [0153] the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement); and
a receiver (fig. 10: the base station includes reception component 1002) that receives the result of the RSSI measurement from the terminal (FIG. 3 step 340 and [0152]-[0162} the UE 120 transmit a measurement report on the RSSI measurement to the BS 110) )( see also fig 7:step 730).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument:
Applicant argued that the references cited do not disclose
(i) "a processor that determines, based on the configuration, a
subcarrier spacing, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state, and a measurement time considering a beam, wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the
measurement time are to be applied to the RSSI measurement”; and
(ii) "wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number
of symbols indicating the measurement time, the TCI state
and the measurement time to be applied to the RSSI
measurement, are included in the configuration of the RSSI measurement” , as cited in claim 7.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
-The reference CHEN et al.US 2023/0108805 Al discloses
i) “a processor (fig. 9: UE includes a measurement component 908) that determines, based on the configuration, a subcarrier spacing [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and a measurement time considering a beam [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
-“wherein the subcarrier spacing, the TCI state, and the measurement time are to be applied to the RSSI measurement, wherein the processor performs the RSSI measurement by applying the subcarrier spacing and the TCI state” [0160]the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein[0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam,
ii) “wherein information indicating the TCI state and a number of symbols indicating the measurement time [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0184] the configuration information indicates a reference subcarrier spacing of the RSSI measurement, [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam, for example [0157] a parameter associated with RSSI measurement may be selected from a set of values based at least in part on the RSSI measurement being configured with a TCI state configuration for example a measurement duration which is configured as (e.g., 84 symbols, 98 symbols, 114 symbols, or the like) and a reference subcarrier spacing which is configured to (e.g., 120 kHz, 240 kHz, or the like) , wherein [0169] An RSSI measurement symbol (also referred to as a measurement symbol) is a symbol in which an RSSI measurement is performed. Example, in a given measurement duration, RSSI measurements are performed for Beam 1, Beam 3, Beam 4, and Beam 6,
-“the TCI state and the measurement time to be applied to the RSSI measurement, are included in the configuration of the RSSI measurement” [0160] the UE 120 performs the RSSI measurement based at least in part on the configuration information, wherein [0153] discloses the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, configuration information for an RSSI measurement. the configuration information indicates a TCI state configuration (e.g., one or more TCI states for RSSI measurement to be performed by the UE 120), and [0153] the configuration information may directly or indirectly indicate one or more beams on which to perform an RSSI measurement, a time interval in which to perform an RSSI measurement using a given beam.
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the limitation of the independent claim 7, as argued by applicants. The other Independent Claims, recite features analogous to those of Claim 7, the cited passages teach the other independent claims, as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478