DETAILED ACTION
The applicant’s amendment/remarks dated 05/08/2026 has been received and fully considered. Claims 1-15 remain cancelled. Claim 24 is amended. Claims 16-30 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-25 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 10,473,770).
Regarding Claim 16, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system (col. 7, lines 13-39)) comprising:
a detector (260, Fig.2) configured to provide a received light signal; and
processing circuit configured to:
identify a number of peaks in the received light signal (Fig. 2, 220; col. 12, lines 1-16), and
estimate a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the received light signal based on the number of identified peaks (claim 1, broadly interpreted, the number of peaks used to calculate the ranges in 806, Fig. 8 affects the calculated SNR in 810, Fig. 8 since SNR is calculated for each peak; then. Therefore, broadly interpreted, calculating a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the received light signal are based on the number of/multiple/plurality of identified peaks).
Regarding Claim 17, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate the signal-to-noise ratio associated with the received light signal by using a preset difference between respective signal levels associated with different peaks in the received light signal (Fig. 7, col. 10, lines 51-57) .
Regarding Claim 18, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the received light signal comprises at least a first peak having a first peak power and a second peak having a second peak power different from the first peak power, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate the signal-to-noise ratio associated with the received light signal by using a preset difference between the first peak power and the second peak power (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 19, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the processing circuit is configured to identify the number of peaks in the received light signal by comparing the received light signal with a threshold value (Fig. 2, 270, 280, col. 7, lines 13-23, lines 40-42).
Regarding Claim 20, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate an average signal level of noise associated with the received light signal, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to determine a threshold value for the received light signal by using the estimated average signal level of the noise (col. 3, lines 65-col. 4, lines 2).
Regarding Claim 21, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the processing circuit is further configured to estimate a signal level of at least one peak of the identified peaks in the received light signal (col. 3, lines 65-67, ‘amplitude’).
Regarding Claim 22, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate the signal level of the peak having a greatest signal level by using an estimated signal-to-noise ratio and an estimated average signal level of noise associated with the received light signal (col. 3, lines 61-col. 4, line 9).
Regarding Claim 23, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a light detection system wherein the detector comprises a photo diode configured to provide an analog signal in response to the received light signal impinging onto the photo diode (col. 7, lines 24-39).
Regarding Claim 24, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a system comprising: the light detection system according to claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above); and a light signal received at the light detection system (col. 7, lines 24-, “incoming return signal”).
Regarding Claim 25, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a system wherein the light signal comprises a plurality of light pulses, and wherein each light pulse of the plurality of light pulses is associated with a respective peak (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 29, broadly and reasonably interpreted, Zhu disclose a LIDAR system (col. 11, lines 4-6) comprising:
a light emission system configured to emit a light signal comprising a plurality of peaks (Fig. 2, 230, 232); and a light detection system comprising: a detector (col. 7, lines 13-39) configured to receive the light signal, and a processing circuit configured to identify a number of peaks in the received light signal( Fig. 2. 220; col. 12, lines 1-16), and to determine a signal-to-noise ratio associated with the received light signal based on the number of identified peaks (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 30, the method claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as the rejection of the apparatus claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 10,473,770).
Regarding Claim 26, as best understood and broadly interpreted, Zhu disclose a system wherein the light signal comprises at least a first light pulse having a first amplitude and a first peak power, and a second light pulse having a second amplitude and a second peak power (Fig. 6).
As best understood and broadly interpreted, Zhu disclose a system discloses the claimed invention except that the first amplitude is greater than the second amplitude and/or that the first peak power is greater than the second peak power. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the first amplitude is greater than the second amplitude and/or that the first peak power is greater than the second peak power, since applicant has not disclosed that making that the first amplitude greater than the second amplitude and/or that the first peak power greater than the second peak power solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the amplitudes disclosed in Zhu.
Regarding Claim 27, as best understood and broadly interpreted, Zhu disclose a system wherein the light signal comprises a third peak having a third amplitude and a third peak power (col. 10, lines 36-38, ‘two or more pulses’).
As best understood and broadly interpreted, Zhu disclose a system discloses the claimed invention except that the second amplitude is greater than the third amplitude and/or that the second peak power is greater than the third peak power. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the second amplitude is greater than the third amplitude and/or that the second peak power is greater than the third peak power, since applicant has not disclosed that making the second amplitude greater than the third amplitude and/or that the second peak power greater than the third peak power solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the amplitudes disclosed in Zhu.
Regarding Claim 28, As best understood and broadly interpreted, Zhu disclose a system discloses the claimed invention except that the difference between the first amplitude and the second amplitude is equal to the difference between the second amplitude and the third amplitude, and/or that a difference between the first peak power and the second peak power is equal to a difference between the second peak power and the third peak power It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the difference between the first amplitude and the second amplitude is equal to the difference between the second amplitude and the third amplitude, and/or that a difference between the first peak power and the second peak power is equal to a difference between the second peak power and the third peak power, since applicant has not disclosed that making a difference between the first amplitude and the second amplitude equal to the difference between the second amplitude and the third amplitude, and/or that a difference between the first peak power and the second peak power equal to a difference between the second peak power and the third peak power solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the proportions of amplitudes disclosed in Zhu.
Response to Arguments
In light of the applicant’s arguments and remarks, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 regards to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the applicant’s arguments on page 4 of the remarks that Zhu does not teach or suggest using the count of peaks as the primary input for an SNR estimation formula, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The limitation “…based the number of identified peaks”, in the claim is not interpreted to be a parameter/quantity of a mathematical equation, rather the examiner interpreted the limitation just to mean the plurality of identified peaks. The Zhu reference clearly show identifying a number of/plurality of received light signals (col. 12, lines 1-16) and the signal to noise ratio associated to the received signal based on the number/plurality of identified peaks (abstract, claim).
[Emphasis Added] If the applicant is referring the limitation as a parameter/quantity of measurement as a part of a mathematical relationship/equations, the claim has to be amended to clarify the argued limitation. It’s the examiner’s position that broadly interpreted, the claim limitation reads on the Zhu reference. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642