DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 3/3/2026 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 19 in the filing on 3/3/2026 that:
“Neither Desmond nor Owens discloses or suggests intelligently identifying and capturing special "magic moment" photos during video recording that are stored separately and presented as a distinct type of media content.
Desmond and Owens also fail to suggest the specificity now required by claim 1, that the magic moment photo corresponds to a best moment of motion or exercise in the first video, a best moment of expression in the first video, or a best moment of a check-in action in the first video,” in amended claim 1.
Response to Argument 1: Regarding 1) Respectfully, amended claim 1 does not require intelligently identifying nor capturing photos. Claim 1 merely requires a play interface with a first region and a second region. While magic moment photos are cited as thumbnails, and the magic moments are not intelligently identified. There is no algorithm for intelligently identifying photos in claim 1. The claims merely require a “best” moment of a video, and “best” is a relative term (see section 112). Secondly, claim 1 describes the magic moment photos as a moment in a video. Claim 1 does not require capturing the photo or video, nor video recording, because pre-existing media reads on claim 1. To teach distinct types of media, the Donsbach reference is introduced to teach a mixed gallery of both video and photos [Donsbach 0336]. See rejection below for more details.
Regarding 2) Respectfully, amended claim 1 requires that a “magic moment photo corresponds to a best moment… in the first video.” The term “best” is a relative term (see section 112). The Examiner interprets this to be “any moment” (see section 112). Desmond’s preview frames are successive video frames, and videos show motion. So any frame from a video is a photo of a moment of motion [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B]. See rejection below for more details.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 19 that “Desmond and Owens fail to disclose or suggest displaying a first interface that includes a first thumbnail of a first video and a second thumbnail of a first photo that is not associated with the first video, as required by claim 1. A review of Desmond and Owens demonstrates that neither reference discloses a gallery with both video thumbnails and unassociated photo thumbnails.”
Response to Argument 2: Respectfully, Desmond 0074 and Fig. 2A teaches a gallery with at least two thumbnails of unassociated media items. Thumbnails of a video are a thumbnail of a single frame (photo) of the video. Donsbach also discloses the above. Donsbach 0335 and Fig. 27 discloses a gallery interface 2700 with thumbnails, and the gallery consists of both videos and photos. See rejection below for more details.
Argument 3: Applicant argues on page 19 that:
“claim 1 now requires that when the first video is displayed in the second region and a sliding operation is received in the second region, the first photo (which is not associated with the first video) is displayed in the second region, and the first region is no longer displayed.
Also, when the first video is displayed in the second region and a sliding operation is received in the first region, a second photo (corresponding to a thumbnail in the thumbnail list in the first region) is displayed in the second region without a play progress bar. A review of Desmond and Owens demonstrates that neither reference discloses such specific interface rules for photo and video selection.
Further, claim 1 recites a particular scenario in which a photo is displayed without a play progress bar, which further distinguishes claim 1 over Desmond and Owens because the photos referred to in the present claims are not merely individual frames from the video,” in amended claim 1.
Response to Argument 3: Argument 1) is moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The scope of the amendment has changed and new art has been applied.
Regarding 2) Respectfully, Desmond discloses the above. Desmond is able to navigate to a specific video frame (photo) using the playback slider 414, which is a first region containing thumbnails [0079, Fig. 2A-2C]. See rejection below for more details.
Regarding 3) The limitation “without a play progress bar” appears to describe the second region (the region where the photo is). Desmond Fig. 2A-2C shows that a play progress bar (timer element 404 or timeline/slider 414) is not in the second region where the photo is. Desmond’s play progress bar is below the second region, and the second region is displaying a photo/frame without a play progress bar (in the second region). See rejection below for more details.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and part (1) of Applicant's Argument 3 filed on 3/3/2026 are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendment; Applicant’s Arguments 1-2 and the rest of Argument 3 are not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 16, 19, 22, and 26-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a best moment of motion,” “a best moment of expression,” and “a best moment of a check-in action.” The term “best” is a relative term. What is “best” according to one person may not be the same as the “best” according to a second person. The term “best” is especially subjective when discussing art or photography (e.g. claim 1’s “magic moment photo corresponds to a best moment of motion…”). Furthermore, the instant specification does not define “best,” nor how “best” is determined. The Examiner interprets “best moment” to be “any moment.” Claims 26 and 36 recite similar issues.
Claim 1 recites “a check-in action.” It is unclear to the Examiner what a “check-in action” is. Neither does the specification define the term “check-in action.” The Examiner interprets “check-in action” to mean “an action.” Claims 26 and 36 recite similar issues.
Claims 2-3, 5, 6, 11, 16, 19, and 22 depend on independent claim 1, and inherit the indefinite/lack of clarity issues of independent claim 1.
Claims 27-35 depend on independent claim 26, and inherit the indefinite/lack of clarity issues of independent claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 22, 26-27, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmond et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20200218435 A1, (hereinafter “Desmond”), in view of Donsbach et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20180367752 A1 (hereinafter “Donsbach”), in view of Owens, Patent Number US 7840982 B1 (hereinafter “Owens”), in view of Zhou, Patent Application Publication number US 20230343056 A1 (hereinafter “Zhou”).
Claim 1: Desmond teaches “A method for browsing multimedia content, comprising:
displaying a first interface in response to a first operation by a user for opening a gallery application (i.e. user-selectable navigation element 400 can be selected by a user (e.g., by tapping or clicking) to navigate away from the thumbnail images 100, 200, and 300 displayed on the video display device 22 (e.g., to an album of photos and videos, a home page/screen or dashboard, etc.) [Desmond 0074, Fig. 2A] note: while navigation button 400 navigates “back” to a home page, that navigation button indicates that a user navigation action is required to navigate from the home page to open the gallery application of Fig. 2A), wherein the first interface comprises a first thumbnail of a first video (i.e. FIG. 2A, a first thumbnail image 100, a second thumbnail image 200, and a third thumbnail image 300 are displayed on the video display device 22. The first thumbnail image 100 is associated with a first digital video, the second thumbnail image 200 is associated with a second digital video, and the third thumbnail image 300 is associated with a third digital video [Desmond 0074, Fig. 2A]) and a second thumbnail of a first photo that is not associated with the first video (Desmond 0074 and Fig. 2A show at least a second thumbnail 200 of a still frame (photo) of a second video. Videos are made from a number of still frames);
displaying a play interface of the first video in response to a second operation by the user for the first thumbnail (i.e. FIG. 2B, responsive to a user selection of the first thumbnail image 100 (FIG. 2A), the initial video frame 110 of the first digital video is displayed on the video display device 22. In addition to the initial video frame 110, a user-selectable navigation element 402, a current time indicium 404, a video indicium 406, a playback control element 410, preview frames 412, a playback slider element 414… are displayed on the video display device 22 [Desmond 0078, Fig. 2A-2B]), wherein the play interface comprises a first region and a second region, wherein the second region displays the first video (i.e. the initial video frame 110 of the first digital video is displayed on the video display device 22 [Desmond 0078, Fig 2B] note: top portion of the screen), wherein the first region comprises a thumbnail list (i.e. preview frames 412 [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B] note: element 412 at the bottom 1/3 of the screen), and wherein the thumbnail list comprises a thumbnail of at least one magic moment photo associated with the first video (i.e. preview frames 412 include at least a portion of the next, successive video frames [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B] note: a photo as a frame from the video), wherein the at least one magic moment photo corresponds to a best moment of motion or exercise in the first video (i.e. preview frames 412 include at least a portion of the next, successive video frames [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B] note: from section 112, “a best moment” is interpreted as any moment of motion or exercise. Videos show motion, so a frame from a video is a photo of a moment of motion), a best moment of expression in the first video, or a best moment of a check-in action in the first video; and
automatically playing the first video in the second region in response to the second operation (i.e. in some implementations, the playback of the first digital video begins automatically responsive to a user selection of the first thumbnail image 100 (FIG. 2A) [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2A-2B]),…
wherein when the first video is displayed in the second region and a sliding operation is received in the first region (i.e. By sliding the playback slider 414 (e.g., by tapping or clicking and holding), a user can navigate through the various video frames of the first digital video to find a particular video frame or time within the first digital video [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2A-2C]), the method further comprises displaying a second photo in the second region (i.e. to find a particular video frame [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2A-2C] note: a video is made of a plurality of still frames, or photos) without a play progress bar (The limitation “without a play progress bar” appears to describe the second region. Desmond Fig. 2A-2C’s play progress bar (timer element 404 or timeline/slider 414) is not in the second region where the photo is. In other words, Desmond’s play progress bar is below the second region, and the second region is displaying a photo/frame without a play progress bar (in the second region)), wherein the second photo corresponds to a thumbnail in the thumbnail list in the first region (i.e. By sliding the playback slider 414 (e.g., by tapping or clicking and holding), a user can navigate through the various video frames of the first digital video to find a particular video frame or time within the first digital video [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2A-2C]), and
wherein in response to a third operation by the user selecting a third thumbnail of a first magic moment photo associated with the first video in the thumbnail list (i.e. Selecting the thumbnail image causes the digital video to be played starting at the desired time [Desmond 0062, Fig. 2A-2B] note: photo as a frame from the video), the method further comprises… displaying the first magic moment photo corresponding to the third thumbnail in the second region (i.e. Selecting the thumbnail image causes the digital video to be played starting at the desired time [Desmond 0062, Fig. 2A-2B] note: jumps to another portion of the video, and at least displays a frame of the video, which is a “magic moment photo”) as a still image (Desmond 0062, Fig. 2A-2B teaches selecting a thumbnail and playing the portion of the video starting at the thumbnail. Playing a video at least displays a frame, which is a still image, for a brief moment in time. In other words, videos are made from a number of still frames, which are displayed one after another. Desmond at least displays a still image corresponding to the selected thumbnail, however briefly).”
Desmond is silent regarding “wherein when the first video is displayed in the second region and a sliding operation is received in the second region, the method further comprises displaying the first photo in the second region and not displaying the first region.”
Donsbach teaches “displaying a first interface in response to a first operation by a user for opening a gallery application (i.e. Referring again to FIG. 22, if the user selects the gallery button, the application can transition to a gallery user interface 2700 as illustrated in FIG. 27 [Donsbach 0335, Fig. 22, 27]), wherein the first interface comprises a first thumbnail of a first video (i.e. gallery user interface 2700 [Donsbach 0335]… [gallery] user interface 2700 can enable the user to review the photos and/or videos… the user can access photos and videos, scroll through photos and videos, and select a particular photo or video [Donsbach 0336, Fig. 27]) and a second thumbnail of a first photo that is not associated with the first video (i.e. user interface 2700 can enable the user to review the photos and/or videos… the user can access photos and videos, scroll through photos and videos, and select a particular photo or video [Donsbach 0336, Fig. 27] note: note: both photos and videos in gallery 2700);
displaying a play interface of the first video in response to a second operation by the user for the first thumbnail (i.e. Selecting a particular photograph or video may bring up a full resolution version of the photo or video [Donsbach 0336, Fig. 27]), wherein the play interface comprises a first region and a second region, wherein the second region displays the first video (i.e. Selecting a particular photograph or video may bring up a full resolution version of the photo or video [Donsbach 0336, Fig. 27]),…
wherein when the first video is displayed in the second region and a sliding operation is received in the second region, the method further comprises displaying the first photo in the second region and not displaying the first region (i.e. a user can navigate between moments by performing a fast swipe or drag gesture [Donsbach 0293]… user interface 2200 will display at least a portion 2202 of a captured image to fill an available display space [Donsbach 0289, Fig. 22] note: video fills the screen. Swipe gesture on the screen is received on the video in the second region. Note2: from above, Donsbach 0336 discloses that the media gallery is comprised of both videos and photos. A swipe from a video can navigate to a photo. Note3: a photo does not have a plurality of frames, so it will not show a thumbnail list comprising photos of the first video (a first region). As demonstrated by reference Zhou Fig. 3, a picture is displayed, without a play progress bar, and without a thumbnail list anywhere on the screen. Combining Desmond and Donsbach and Zhou would yield the predictable result of displaying a photo in the second region without a play progress bar and without a thumbnail list. This would result in reducing distracting interface elements, which results in a less cluttered viewing interface),”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond to include the feature of having the ability to have one gallery browse different types of media (e.g. photos and videos), and navigate between the media types as disclosed by Donsbach.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit, to view different types of media all on one screen, which increases the number of types of media in one place, which increases user flexibility and saves the user from using another app to view different media types.
Desmond and Donsbach are silent regarding “stopping playing the first video, and instead” displaying the first magic moment photo.
Owens teaches “wherein in response to a third operation by the user (i.e. the user presses the video all call (VAC) actuator button 216 [Owens Col 7 lines 57-58])…, the method further comprises stopping playing the first video (i.e. in step 310 it commands media controller 222 to enter video-all-call state on all of its ports. This will cause, in step 312, the media controller 222 to pause all [Owens Col 8 lines 27-29]), and instead displaying the first magic moment photo… as a still image (i.e. Next, in step 314, controller 222 switches video routing from whatever prior media was being played on any of the devices in the system 206 to accept the live-video feed [Owens Col 8 lines 38-40] note: a video at least displays a frame, which is a still image, for a brief moment in time. In other words, videos are made from a number of still frames, which are displayed one after another. Owens at least displays a still image corresponding to a video, however briefly).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond and Donsbach to include the feature of having the ability to stop a video and display something else, and then return to the video at the position it was interrupted, as disclosed by Owens.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to seamlessly switch videos, which reduces interruptions, and increases user engagement.
Claim 2: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Desmond teaches “wherein either a) the magic moment photo is automatically shot during recording of the first video (i.e. videos recorded using a smartphone camera [Desmond 0060] note: all frames are shot during video recording), or b) the magic moment photo is shot during recording of the first video and in response to a touch operation by the user on a photo key.”
Claim 22: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Desmond teaches “wherein the thumbnail of the first video comprises a first identifier that indicates that the first video is associated with at least one magic moment photo (Desmond Fig. 2C’s thumbnail of the building identifies that the building video is associated with a magic moment photo, an image from a frame of the video)”
Claim 26: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors (i.e. processor 12 of the user device 10 is communicatively coupled to the memory device 14 [Desmond 0063]); a touchscreen (i.e. a touchscreen [Desmond 0069]) coupled to the one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (i.e. processor 12 of the user device 10 is communicatively coupled to the memory device 14 [Desmond 0063]), cause the electronic device to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 27: Claim 27 is similar in content and in scope to claim 2, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 34: Claim 34 is similar in content and in scope to claim 22, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 35: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 26, above. Desmond teaches “wherein the first region is located below the second region (Desmond Fig. 2C shows that the thumbnail list is located below main image region), and an area of the second region is larger than an area of the first region (Desmond Fig. 2C shows that the main image region is larger than the thumbnail list).”
Claim 36: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device (i.e. processor 12 of the user device 10 is communicatively coupled to the memory device 14 [Desmond 0063]), cause the electronic device to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmond, in view of Donsbach, in view of Owens, in view of Zhou, in view of Hunt et al., Patent number US 8365235 B1 (hereinafter “Hunt”).
Claim 3: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Desmond teaches “wherein in response to a fourth operation by the user selecting a fourth thumbnail of the first video, the method further comprises again displaying the first video in the second region (i.e. Selecting the thumbnail image causes the digital video to be played starting at the desired time [Desmond 0062, Fig. 2A-2C] note: Desmond is capable of performing the function of returning to the point it left off in the first video. For example, a user plays a video with thumbnail images at 10 seconds and at 20 seconds of the timeline bar of Fig. 2B-2C (see elements 404, 412, and 414); the user watches the video until 10 seconds, then clicks on the thumbnail for 20 seconds to jump ahead. Then the user returns to the point it left off by clicking on the 10 sec thumbnail),
wherein the thumbnail list further comprises the fourth thumbnail of the first video (Desmond Fig. 2B shows at least 3 thumbnails in element 412. It is noted that the first and second thumbnails of claim 1 are in response to an input on a gallery, e.g. on Desmond Fig. 2A. And that the third and fourth thumbnails of claim 1 are on the thumbnail list)…”
Owens teaches “wherein in response to a fourth operation by the user selecting a fourth thumbnail of the first video, the method further comprises again displaying the first video in the second region (i.e. Once the video presentation is complete, in step 320, the user presses the video-all-call button 216 again to end the presentation. Upon this second activation of the button switch 216, the encoder, in step 322, commands media controller 222 to return to its previous state using the information which was previously saved in the memory on MPEG encoder 214 regarding the state of all of the particular devices on the network, e.g., DVD 224, VCR 226, network DVD 228 [Owens Col 8 lines 63-65]),…
wherein a play progress of the first video when again displayed is the same as when the first video was last stopped from playing (i.e. the media controller 222 resumes play on all of the devices (e.g., DVD 224, VCR 226, network DVD 228) to the same state, and the same position in any playing media, that it was in before the video-all-call activation [Owens Col 8 lines 60-63]),
wherein a display status of the first video comprises one of a playing state and a playing pause state (i.e. Encoder 214 asks controller 222, which includes processing capabilities, the status of each of its ports. The status (e.g., paused, playing…) [Owens Col 7 lines 63-65]),
wherein when the display status of the first video is the playing state when the first video was last stopped from playing, the display of status of the first video when again displayed is the playing state (i.e. status (e.g., paused, playing…) [Owens Col 7 lines 63-65]… the media controller 222 resumes play on all of the devices (e.g., DVD 224, VCR 226, network DVD 228) to the same state… that it was in before the video-all-call activation [Owens Col 8 lines 60-63]), and
wherein when the display status of the first video is the playing pause state when the first video was last stopped from playing, the display of status of the first video when again displayed is the playing pause state (i.e. status (e.g., paused, playing…) [Owens Col 7 lines 63-65]… the media controller 222 resumes play on all of the devices (e.g., DVD 224, VCR 226, network DVD 228) to the same state… that it was in before the video-all-call activation [Owens Col 8 lines 60-63]).”
Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou are silent regarding “that comprises a play control when the second region displays the first magic moment photo corresponding to the third thumbnail.”
Hunt teaches “wherein the thumbnail list further comprises the fourth thumbnail of the first video that comprises a play control when the second region displays the first magic moment photo corresponding to the third thumbnail (i.e. icon 1208 comprises a play selection icon 1216 which, when selected, causes the streaming media processor 140 to begin playing the selected episode shown by icon 1208 [Hunt Col 19 lines 29-31] note: Hunt teaches multiple thumbnails. Hunt teaches a play control on a thumbnail. Using the known technique of a play control on a thumbnail, a POSITA could include a play control on all thumbnails. One would be motivated to perform this known technique to inform the user that all thumbnails are playable videos).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou to include the feature of having the ability to include a control in a thumbnail as disclosed by Hunt.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to be able to choose to play a video from a thumbnail, which reduces the number of inputs the user needs to take, which saves the user time.
Claim 28: Claim 28 is similar in content and in scope to claim 3, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5-6 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmond, in view of Donsbach, in view of Owens, in view of Zhou, in view of Williams et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20190146651 A1 (hereinafter “Williams”).
Claim 5: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Desmond teaches “wherein the first region further comprises a selector, wherein the method further comprises moving the thumbnail list in the first region in response to a sliding operation by the user on the thumbnail list (Desmond playback slider element 414 of Fig. 2B is an interface object capable of a sliding operation by the user on the thumbnail list).”
Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou are silent regarding “wherein the first thumbnail selected by the user remains in an area in which the selector is located.”
Williams teaches “wherein the first region further comprises a selector (i.e. first rectangular area 110 is used for displaying a currently selected thumbnail [Williams 0033, Fig. 1-4]), wherein the method further comprises moving the thumbnail list in the first region in response to a sliding operation by the user (i.e. the strip of thumbnails is bidirectionally scrollable (e.g., to the left and to the right) [Williams 0035])…, and wherein the first thumbnail selected by the user remains in an area in which the selector is located (Williams 0033 and Fig. 1-4 teaches that whichever thumbnail is selected remains in the first rectangular area 110 used for displaying the currently selected thumbnail).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou to include the feature of having the ability to use a selector as disclosed by Williams.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of being able to scroll the list, which increase the number of thumbnails the user can view, which increases user’s choices and increases the user’s variety.
Claim 6: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Williams teach all the limitations of claim 5, above. Williams teaches “wherein moving the thumbnail list in the first region in response to the sliding operation by the user on the thumbnail list comprises:
triggering the thumbnail list to move in a direction and to move at a moving speed responsive to a sliding speed and a sliding direction of the sliding operation (i.e. the user may perform a swipe gesture on the display from right to left to inertially scroll the strip of thumbnails towards the left. Inertial scrolling refers to a type of scrolling where the scrolling motion of an object (e.g., the strip of thumbnails) continues in a decaying fashion after release of the touch, which simulates the appearance of an object with inertia [Williams 0035, Fig. 1]);
detecting a sliding off-hand operation having an associated sliding off-hand speed (i.e. the user may perform a swipe gesture on the display from right to left to inertially scroll the strip of thumbnails towards the left. Inertial scrolling refers to a type of scrolling where the scrolling motion of an object (e.g., the strip of thumbnails) continues in a decaying fashion after release of the touch, which simulates the appearance of an object with inertia [Williams 0035, Fig. 1]);
triggering the thumbnail list to stop moving if the sliding off-hand speed is 0 (i.e. the user may perform a swipe gesture on the display from right to left to inertially scroll the strip of thumbnails towards the left. Inertial scrolling refers to a type of scrolling where the scrolling motion of an object (e.g., the strip of thumbnails) continues in a decaying fashion after release of the touch, which simulates the appearance of an object with inertia [Williams 0035, Fig. 1] note: upon release of a stopped scroll, the inertia is 0); and
triggering the thumbnail list to continue moving at the sliding off-hand speed until the moving speed drops to 0 if the sliding off-hand speed is greater than 0 (i.e. the user may perform a swipe gesture on the display from right to left to inertially scroll the strip of thumbnails towards the left. Inertial scrolling refers to a type of scrolling where the scrolling motion of an object (e.g., the strip of thumbnails) continues in a decaying fashion after release of the touch, which simulates the appearance of an object with inertia [Williams 0035, Fig. 1]).”
One would have been motivated to combine Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Williams, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of being able to scroll the list, which increase the number of thumbnails the user can view, which increases user’s choices and increases the user’s variety.
Claim 29: Claim 29 is similar in content and in scope to claim 5, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 30: Claim 30 is similar in content and in scope to claim 6, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 11, 16, 19, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmond, in view of Donsbach, in view of Owens, in view of Zhou, in view of Hunt, in view of Manzari et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20220326819 A1 (hereinafter “Manzari”).
Claim 11: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt are silent regarding “wherein the thumbnail list further comprises a thumbnail of another photo or video other than the first video in the gallery application, wherein the method further comprises displaying, in the second region and in response to a sliding operation by the user on the second region, content corresponding to a fifth thumbnail adjacent to the first thumbnail of the first video in the gallery application,
wherein when the first video or a magic moment photo associated with the first video is displayed in the second region, the thumbnail of the first video and a thumbnail of the magic moment photo are displayed in an expanded manner in the thumbnail list, and
wherein when content of the another photo or video is displayed in the second region, the thumbnail list displays the fourth thumbnail of the first video and hides the thumbnail of the magic moment photo associated with the first video.”
Manzari teaches “wherein the thumbnail list further comprises a thumbnail of another photo or video other than the first video in the gallery application (i.e. Media item collection area 510 displays a representation (e.g., a thumbnail) of a representative image 514 of the media item 550, in addition to displaying other thumbnail representation of media items stored on the device 100 [Manzari 0192, Fig. 5C]), wherein the method further comprises displaying, in the second region and in response to a sliding operation by the user on the second region, content corresponding to a fifth thumbnail adjacent to the first thumbnail of the first video in the gallery application (i.e. In FIG. 5CO, the device 100 detects a swipe gesture by contact 580-2. In response, the device 100 slides the original media item 550 off the screen and slides new media item 584, which sequentially follows original media item 550 in the collection of media items, onto the screen, as shown in FIG. 5CP [Manzari 0210, Fig. 5CO-5CR]),
wherein when the first video or a magic moment photo associated with the first video is displayed in the second region, the thumbnail of the first video and a thumbnail of the magic moment photo are displayed in an expanded manner in the thumbnail list (Manzari Fig. 5DB shows an expanded thumbnail with at least 2 photos/frames of the video are displayed), and
wherein when content of the another photo or video is displayed in the second region, the thumbnail list displays the fourth thumbnail of the first video and hides the thumbnail of the magic moment photo associated with the first video (i.e. the device 100 detects a swipe by contact 580-24 in the display area 508. In response, the device 100 displays a new media item 584 that sequentially follows original media item 550 in the collection of media items in area 508 and shrinks the expanded representation 551 of media item 550 back down to a single image (e.g., a thumbnail image of the representative image of media item 550), as shown in FIG. 5DG [Manzari 0219, Fig. 5DF-5DG] note: in Fig. 5DG, one thumbnail of the basketball video is displayed, and the rest are hidden).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt to include the feature of having the ability to expand a thumbnail list as disclosed by Manzari.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of being able to expand the list, which increase the number of thumbnails the user can view, which increases user’s choices and increases the user’s variety.
Claim 16: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Desmond teaches “wherein when content of the first video is displayed in the second region, the first region further comprises a play progress bar (i.e. the playback slider element 414 [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B-2C]) that comprises a playing pause control (i.e. playback control element 410 [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B-2C] note: Fig. 2B shows element 410 as a play button, and Fig. 2C shows element 410 as a pause button)… and a play progress control (i.e. the playback slider element 414 [Desmond 0079, Fig. 2B-2C])”
Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt are silent regarding “a mute control,” and “wherein the playing pause control is located at a first boundary of the first region, and the mute control is located at a second boundary of the first region,
wherein the play progress control is located on the fourth thumbnail of the first video, and a width of the fourth thumbnail is larger than a width of another thumbnail in the thumbnail list, and wherein the method further comprises:
displaying an image frame sequence of the first video in an expanded manner in the thumbnail list in response to an operation by the user for the fourth thumbnail;
displaying an image frame located by the play progress control in the second region in response to an operation by the user for the play progress control; and
displaying the fourth thumbnail of the first video in the thumbnail list and hiding the image frame sequence of the first video when the second region displays a magic moment photo associated with the first video.”
Manzari teaches “wherein when content of the first video is displayed in the second region, the first region further comprises a play progress bar that comprises a playing pause control (i.e. a scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item in the collection-navigation control (e.g. … scrubber 544 in FIG. 5DB) [Manzari 0337, Fig. 5DB]… moving the playback-scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item… the scrubbing indicator changes, the image of the sequence of images changes to correspond to the position of the scrubbing indicator [Manzari 0037, Fig. 5DB-5DE] note: as the scrubber is moved, the image changes, or is played. When the scrubber is not moved, the image does not change, or is paused), a mute control (i.e. a mute control 505-f [Manzari 0193, Fig. 5BU]),…
wherein the playing pause control is located at a first boundary of the first region (i.e. a scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item in the collection-navigation control (e.g. … scrubber 544 in FIG. 5DB) [Manzari 0337, Fig. 5DB] note: vertical scrubber of Fig. 5DB touches the top and/or the bottom boundary), and the mute control is located at a second boundary of the first region (i.e. a mute control 505-f [Manzari 0193, Fig. 5BU] note: located at the top left boundary),
wherein the play progress control is located on the fourth thumbnail of the first video (i.e. the playback-scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item [Manzari 0037, Fig. 5DB-5DE]), and a width of the fourth thumbnail is larger than a width of another thumbnail in the thumbnail list (Manzari Fig. 5DE shows expanded/wider thumbnail, Fig. 5C, 5DA shows wider thumbnail 514, Fig. 5AA shows expanded/wider thumbnail), and wherein the method further comprises:
displaying an image frame sequence of the first video in an expanded manner in the thumbnail list in response to an operation by the user for the fourth thumbnail (Manzari Fig. 5DA teaches an expanded thumbnail list in response to an operation for the third thumbnail. From claim 3, the third thumbnail is of the first video. Also Manzari Fig. 5DF-5DJ teaches an operation by the user for expansion of a next thumbnail);
displaying an image frame located by the play progress control in the second region in response to an operation by the user for the play progress control (i.e. a scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item in the collection-navigation control (e.g. … scrubber 544 in FIG. 5DB) [Manzari 0337, Fig. 5DB]… moving the playback-scrubbing indicator in the expanded representation of the first media item… the scrubbing indicator changes, the image of the sequence of images changes to correspond to the position of the scrubbing indicator [Manzari 0037, Fig. 5DB-5DE]); and
displaying the fourth thumbnail of the first video in the thumbnail list and hiding the image frame sequence of the first video when the second region displays a magic moment photo associated with the first video (Manzari Fig. 5AJ-5AK teaches hiding the image frame sequence of the first video, and leaving the third thumbnail of the first video displayed, when the main image displays a frame/photo from the first video).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt to include the feature of having the ability to expand a thumbnail list as disclosed by Manzari.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of being able to expand the list, which increase the number of thumbnails the user can view, which increases user’s choices and increases the user’s variety.
Claim 19: Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt teach all the limitations of claim 11, above. Donsbach teaches “further comprising displaying a second interface in response to a sliding operation by the user on the second region, wherein the second interface displays the content of the fifth thumbnail adjacent to the first thumbnail of the first video in the gallery application, and does not display the thumbnail list (i.e. a user can navigate between moments by performing a fast swipe or drag gesture. For example, in response to a user swipe, the user interface can transition to display of an image from the previous or next moment (depending on the direction of the swipe) [Donsbach 0293]… user interface 2200 will display at least a portion 2202 of a captured image to fill an available display space [Donsbach 0289, Fig. 22] note: video takes up most of the screen. Swipe gesture on the screen is received on the video in the second region. Note2: from claim 1 above, Donsbach 0336 discloses that the media gallery is comprised of both videos and photos. A swipe from a video can navigate to a photo. Note3: a photo does not have a plurality of frames, so it will not show a thumbnail list comprising photos of the first video).”
One would have been motivated to combine Desmond and Donsbach and Owens and Zhou and Hunt, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to reduce visual clutter, which improves user experience.
Claim 31: Claim 31 is similar in content and in scope to claim 11, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 32: Claim 32 is similar in content and in scope to claim 16, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 33: Claim 33 is similar in content and in scope to claim 19, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Clarke (US 20220382443 A1) listed on 892 is related to a gallery application, specifically navigating between photo and videos.
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179