DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 05/24/2024 and 06/05/2023 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites “the following steps”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. Therefore, claim 1 is rendered indefinite. Claims 2-16 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2, 4, 5, 18, and 19, the claims recite “the biometric”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. For the purposes of examination, “the biometric” is herein interpreted to be the biometric of “a biometric estimation” as recited in claims 1 and 17. Therefore, claims 2, 4, 5, 18, and 19 are rendered indefinite. Claims 3 and 11 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 1 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a series of steps or acts, including receiving real-time PPG data from a PPG sensor attached to the subject. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The step of generating a biometric estimation for the subject via an adaptive predictive model using the real time PPG data sets forth a judicial exception. This step describes a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) because the human mind adapts to new information and makes predictions off of those adaptations. Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. Claim 1 fails to recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The biometric estimation does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the method does not effect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the biometric estimation, nor does the method use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Besides the Abstract Idea, the claim recites additional steps receiving real-time PPG data from a PPG sensor attached to the subject. Receiving data (real-time PPG data) in order to generate a biometric estimation is well-understood, routine and conventional activity for those in the field of medical diagnostics. Further, the receiving step is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant presolution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering and comparing activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as the obtaining and comparing steps do not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)).
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 17, the device recited in the claim is a generic device comprising generic components configured to perform the abstract idea. The recited PPG sensor is a generic sensor configured to perform pre-solutional data gathering activity and the recited at least one processor is a generic computer element configured to perform the Abstract Idea. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they generally recite method steps pertaining to data gathering and post-solution activity. The receiving and generating steps recited in the independent claims maintain a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims. Dependent claims 2, 4, and 18 recite updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in response to receiving a measurement of the biometric. However, this does not effect a particular change based on the biometric estimation. Dependent claims 5 and 19 recite updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model. Once again, this does not effect a particular change based on the biometric estimation. Dependent claims 6 and 20 recite sending an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold. This is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The dependent claims also recite a biometric monitoring device, a PPG sensor, a motion sensor, at least one processor. These are all generic computer elements configured to perform data gathering and data processing activity. Dependent claims 9 and 22 recite the wearable device is configured as a patch. This is a generic recitation of the wearable device configuration as wearable patch devices that collect and process data are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimol et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20200054289 – cited by Applicant) hereinafter Shimol.
Regarding Claim 1, Shimol discloses a method of generating a biometric estimation for a subject (systems and methods for probabilistically estimating an individual's sleep stage (abstract)), the method comprising the following steps performed by at least one processor (The method may be implemented using one or more processors and may include receiving a set of signals from a set of sensors worn by the individual. [0005]):
receiving real-time PPG data from a PPG sensor attached to the subject (In some aspects, sleep stage device 110 uses signals received from sensors 114 to determine or derive information associated with user 116. For instance, sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]; fig 1; Examiner notes the PPG signal is real-time data because there is no delay in transmission);
and generating a biometric estimation for the subject via an adaptive predictive model using the real time PPG data (process 500 may include generating a sleep stage classifier based on the set of signals and/or signal features X (step 512). In some embodiments, generating a sleep stage classifier may include generating, at least in part, the classifier recursively, i.e., with reference to previous classifiers within the learning library. Thus, generating a sleep stage classifier may involve known processes for machine learning. [0073]; The set of signal features X may include features derived from signals other than a PPG signal. [0049]; fig 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses the method further comprising: receiving a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device (process 300 may determine some signal features based on signals from an accelerometer, gyroscope, or other such sensor 114 [0049]; user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) to perform one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments, such as that described with reference to FIGS. 1-9. [0026]; fig 1; Examiner notes any data received from a sensor is biometric data because it is associated with a user);
and in response to receiving the measurement of the biometric, updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model (updating the learning library may comprise adding to the learning library the set of signals, signal features, sleep stage(s), etc., [0097]; introducing new data points to the learning library (e.g., as a set of new signal features, known sleep stage, etc.) may alter the expressions for the functions comprising the sleep stage classifier and/or their component signal weights. Process 900 may recalculate all of the signal weights, functional expressions, or any other metric using the foregoing embodiments (e.g., using processes described in connection with the example embodiments herein, such as that of FIGS. 3-8). In this manner, process 900 may update the learning library to account for sets of signals, sets of signal features, and sleep stages specific to user 116 for use in subsequent calculations. Over time, the learning library (and thereby the sleep stage classifier) may thus reflect measurements and signal profiles unique to the user, improving the accuracy and validity of estimated sleep stages. [0098]; fig 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Shimol further discloses wherein the measurement of the biometric is a real-time measurement, and wherein the biometric monitoring device is attached to the subject (user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) [0026]; Examiner notes the biometric is real-time data because there is no delay in transmission).
Regarding Claim 4, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses the method further comprising: receiving subject activity information from a motion sensor attached to the subject (Sensors 114 may measure characteristics… otherwise associated with user 116 (e.g., the user's motion, location, speed, direction of travel, altitude, lateral or longitudinal acceleration, etc.). [0028]);
receiving a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device in response to the subject activity information (process 300 may determine some signal features based on signals from an accelerometer, gyroscope, or other such sensor 114 [0049]; user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) to perform one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments, such as that described with reference to FIGS. 1-9. [0026]; fig 1);
and in response to receiving the measurement of the biometric, updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model (updating the learning library may comprise adding to the learning library the set of signals, signal features, sleep stage(s), etc., [0097]; introducing new data points to the learning library (e.g., as a set of new signal features, known sleep stage, etc.) may alter the expressions for the functions comprising the sleep stage classifier and/or their component signal weights. Process 900 may recalculate all of the signal weights, functional expressions, or any other metric using the foregoing embodiments (e.g., using processes described in connection with the example embodiments herein, such as that of FIGS. 3-8). In this manner, process 900 may update the learning library to account for sets of signals, sets of signal features, and sleep stages specific to user 116 for use in subsequent calculations. Over time, the learning library (and thereby the sleep stage classifier) may thus reflect measurements and signal profiles unique to the user, improving the accuracy and validity of estimated sleep stages. [0098]; fig 9).
Regarding Claim 5, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses the method further comprising: detecting whether the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold (process 900 may include comparing each sleep stage likelihood to a user classification threshold (step 904) [0095]);
in response to determining that the generated biometric estimation is above or below the threshold, receiving a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device (If none of the sleep stage likelihoods exceed the user classification threshold (step 906; no), process 900 may terminate to enable the disclosed embodiments to conduct further processing (e.g., such as the processes described in connection with FIGS. 3-8) (step 908). For example, process 900 may terminate and the disclosed embodiments, may initiate process 300 by measuring a set of signals from a set of sensors 114. [0096]);
and updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model (If one or more sleep stage likelihoods exceed the user classification threshold (step 906; yes), process 900 may update the learning library and/or a sleep stage classifier for use in further processing (step 910). In some aspects, updating the learning library may comprise adding to the learning library the set of signals, signal features, sleep stage(s), etc., having a sleep stage likelihood exceeding the user classification threshold. [0097]; In this manner, process 900 may update the learning library to account for sets of signals, sets of signal features, and sleep stages specific to user 116 for use in subsequent calculations. Over time, the learning library (and thereby the sleep stage classifier) may thus reflect measurements and signal profiles unique to the user, improving the accuracy and validity of estimated sleep stages. [0098]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses wherein the at least one processor is located within a wearable device worn by the subject (sleep stage device 110 may comprise a wearable device implemented with hardware components, sensors, and/or software applications running thereon for implementing the disclosed embodiments [0025]; fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Shimol also discloses wherein the wearable device is configured to be worn on a limb of the subject (user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) [0026]).
Regarding Claim 10, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Shimol also discloses wherein the wearable device includes the PPG sensor (sleep stage device 110 uses signals received from sensors 114 to determine or derive information associated with user 116. For instance, sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]).
Regarding Claim 11, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Shimol also discloses wherein the at least one processor is located within a wearable device worn by the subject (sleep stage device 110 may comprise a wearable device implemented with hardware components, sensors, and/or software applications running thereon for implementing the disclosed embodiments [0025]; fig 1), and wherein the wearable device includes the PPG sensor and the biometric monitoring device (sleep stage device 110 uses signals received from sensors 114 to determine or derive information associated with user 116. For instance, sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses wherein the PPG sensor comprises an imaging sensor (sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses wherein the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model (FIG. 8 depicts block diagram of an example neural network for determining signal weights consistent with the disclosed embodiments. The example diagram of FIG. 8 depicts one manner in which determining the signal weights may be conducted in the processes described in connection with FIG. 7 (e.g., assuming no dropout). In some aspects, for instance, the sleep stage classifier may receive a set of signal features 810 as inputs. [0093]).
Regarding Claim 14, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses wherein generating the biometric estimation comprises generating a current biometric estimation (For example, when no sleep stage likelihood exceeds a stage likelihood threshold, process 300 may assume the current sleep stage is the same as a previously determined sleep stage, weigh the current set of sleep stage likelihoods by those previously generated (e.g., by averaging them, computing a moving average of the last few such computations, etc.) [0053]).
Regarding Claim 15, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol also discloses wherein generating the biometric estimation comprises generating a future biometric estimation (process 900 may take place in the context of other processes (e.g., the probabilistic sleep stage estimation process 300 described in connection with FIG. 3) [0094]).
Regarding Claim 16, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Shimol also discloses the method further comprising processing the current biometric estimation and a past biometric estimation to predict a future biometric estimation (For example, when no sleep stage likelihood exceeds a stage likelihood threshold, process 300 may assume the current sleep stage is the same as a previously determined sleep stage, weigh the current set of sleep stage likelihoods by those previously generated (e.g., by averaging them, computing a moving average of the last few such computations, etc.) [0053]; Certain aspects of the disclosed embodiments may use a stored learning library to conduct some of its processes (e.g., the sleep stage determination process of FIG. 3). Referring back to FIG. 1, a learning library may be stored within computing system 112 of sleep stage device 110 and/or within external system 132. The library may also have at least a portion of its data stored within computing system 112 with the remaining portion stored within external system 132. In some embodiments, a learning library may comprise a set of stored training data wherein sets of signals (which may include, e.g., full sets of raw data, subsets of raw data, or other physical, temporal, or environmental characteristic(s) (e.g., speed, acceleration, user activity, etc.) derived from raw data), derived signal features, relevant classifiers, etc., are associated and correlated with known, accurate, previously-determined sleep stages (e.g., awake, N1-N4, REM, NREM, etc.) from polysomnography (PSG) measurements. These correlations may be used to generate a sleep stage classifier for use in other aspects (e.g., those described in connection with FIGS. 3, 7, 8, and other processes). [0066]).
Regarding Claim 17, Shimol discloses a wearable device (sleep stage device 110 may comprise a wearable device implemented with hardware components, sensors, and/or software applications running thereon for implementing the disclosed embodiments [0025]), comprising:
a PPG sensor (In some aspects, sleep stage device 110 uses signals received from sensors 114 to determine or derive information associated with user 116. For instance, sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]; fig 1);
and at least one processor configured to generate a biometric estimation for a subject wearing the wearable device via an adaptive predictive model using real-time PPG data from the PPG sensor (sleep stage device 110 may comprise a wearable device implemented with hardware components, sensors, and/or software applications running thereon for implementing the disclosed embodiments [0025]; process 500 may include generating a sleep stage classifier based on the set of signals and/or signal features X (step 512). In some embodiments, generating a sleep stage classifier may include generating, at least in part, the classifier recursively, i.e., with reference to previous classifiers within the learning library. Thus, generating a sleep stage classifier may involve known processes for machine learning. [0073]; The set of signal features X may include features derived from signals other than a PPG signal. [0049]; fig 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Shimol further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device (process 300 may determine some signal features based on signals from an accelerometer, gyroscope, or other such sensor 114 [0049]; user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) to perform one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments, such as that described with reference to FIGS. 1-9. [0026]; fig 1; Examiner notes any data received from a sensor is biometric data because it is associated with a user);
and in response to receiving the measurement of the biometric, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model (updating the learning library may comprise adding to the learning library the set of signals, signal features, sleep stage(s), etc., [0097]; introducing new data points to the learning library (e.g., as a set of new signal features, known sleep stage, etc.) may alter the expressions for the functions comprising the sleep stage classifier and/or their component signal weights. Process 900 may recalculate all of the signal weights, functional expressions, or any other metric using the foregoing embodiments (e.g., using processes described in connection with the example embodiments herein, such as that of FIGS. 3-8). In this manner, process 900 may update the learning library to account for sets of signals, sets of signal features, and sleep stages specific to user 116 for use in subsequent calculations. Over time, the learning library (and thereby the sleep stage classifier) may thus reflect measurements and signal profiles unique to the user, improving the accuracy and validity of estimated sleep stages. [0098]; fig 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Shimol further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device (process 300 may determine some signal features based on signals from an accelerometer, gyroscope, or other such sensor 114 [0049]; user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) to perform one or more processes consistent with the disclosed embodiments, such as that described with reference to FIGS. 1-9. [0026]; fig 1; Examiner notes any data received from a sensor is biometric data because it is associated with a user);
and in response to determining that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model (If none of the sleep stage likelihoods exceed the user classification threshold (step 906; no), process 900 may terminate to enable the disclosed embodiments to conduct further processing (e.g., such as the processes described in connection with FIGS. 3-8) (step 908). For example, process 900 may terminate and the disclosed embodiments, may initiate process 300 by measuring a set of signals from a set of sensors 114. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 22, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Shimol further discloses wherein the wearable device is configured to be worn on a limb of the subject (user 116 may wear sleep stage device 110 (e.g., around the user's wrist, leg, chest, etc.) [0026]).
Regarding Claim 23, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Shimol further discloses wherein the PPG sensor comprises an imaging sensor (sleep stage device 110 may receive, measure, or detect a PPG signal associated with user 116 (e.g., via an optical pulse rate sensor). [0029]).
Regarding Claim 24, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Shimol further discloses wherein the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model (FIG. 8 depicts block diagram of an example neural network for determining signal weights consistent with the disclosed embodiments. The example diagram of FIG. 8 depicts one manner in which determining the signal weights may be conducted in the processes described in connection with FIG. 7 (e.g., assuming no dropout). In some aspects, for instance, the sleep stage classifier may receive a set of signal features 810 as inputs. [0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimol (US Patent Pub. No. 20200054289 – cited by Applicant) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 20150025394 – cited by Applicant) hereinafter Hong.
Regarding Claim 6, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol fails to disclose the method further comprising sending an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold.
However, Hong teaches a sending an alert to a remote device that a generated biometric is above or below a threshold (a biometric monitoring device may leverage other devices external to the biometric monitoring device [0103]; The biometric monitoring device itself may determine whether the criteria or conditions for an alert have been met. Alternatively, a computing device in communication with the biometric monitoring device (e.g., a server and/or a mobile phone) may determine when the alert should occur. In view of this disclosure, other information that the biometric monitoring device may communicate to the user may be envisioned by one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, the biometric monitoring device may communicate with the user when a goal has been met. The criteria for meeting this goal may be based on physiological, contextual, and environmental sensors on a first device, and/or other sensor data from one or more secondary devices. [0270]).
Shimol and Hong are considered analogous art to the present invention because both are directed towards the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the method of Shimol such that the method further comprises sending an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold, as taught by Hong, because it would notify the subject about his/her health.
Regarding Claim 7, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol fails to disclose wherein the biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation.
However, Hong teaches wherein a biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation (Indeed, the biometric monitoring device may measure or calculate a plurality of other physiological metrics… These include, but are not limited to… skin and/or body temperature, … brain activity as measured by electroencephalography, … respiration rate, and other physiological metrics. [0109]; Examiner notes a calculation is an estimation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the method of Shimol such that the biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation, as taught by Hong, because it would provide a more comprehensive view of the subject’s health in addition to the sleep stage.
Regarding Claim 20, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol fails to disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to send an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold.
However, Hong teaches a sending an alert to a remote device that a generated biometric is above or below a threshold (a biometric monitoring device may leverage other devices external to the biometric monitoring device [0103]; The biometric monitoring device itself may determine whether the criteria or conditions for an alert have been met. Alternatively, a computing device in communication with the biometric monitoring device (e.g., a server and/or a mobile phone) may determine when the alert should occur. In view of this disclosure, other information that the biometric monitoring device may communicate to the user may be envisioned by one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, the biometric monitoring device may communicate with the user when a goal has been met. The criteria for meeting this goal may be based on physiological, contextual, and environmental sensors on a first device, and/or other sensor data from one or more secondary devices. [0270]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the wearable device of Shimol such that the at least one processor is further configured to send an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold, as taught by Hong, because it would notify the subject about his/her health.
Regarding Claim 21, Shimol discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Shimol fails to disclose wherein the biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation.
However, Hong teaches wherein a biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation (Indeed, the biometric monitoring device may measure or calculate a plurality of other physiological metrics… These include, but are not limited to… skin and/or body temperature, … brain activity as measured by electroencephalography, … respiration rate, and other physiological metrics. [0109]; Examiner notes a calculation is an estimation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the wearable device of Shimol such that the biometric estimation for the subject comprises one or more of the following: an EEG (electroencephalogram) estimation, a respiratory metric estimation, a core body temperature estimation, as taught by Hong, because it would provide a more comprehensive view of the subject’s health in addition to the sleep stage.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13, 17-20, 22, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-10, 12, and 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/256,013 (US Patent Pub. No. 20240049970). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending US Application encompass the subject matter of the claims in the instant Application. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13, 17-20, 22, and 24 of the instant Application have been provided in a table below to demonstrate the similarity between the claims of the instant Application and the claims in copending US Application 18/256,013. An explanation of how the examined independent claims 1 and 17 are anticipated by copending US Application 18/256,013 is provided below the table.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims
Instant Application 18/256,027
US Application 18/256,013
Claims
1
A method of generating a biometric estimation for a subject, the method comprising the following steps
generate a blood pressure estimation for the subject
9
1
performed by at least one processor:
at least one processor configured to:
9
1
receiving real-time PPG data from a PPG sensor attached to the subject;
an automated inflatable cuff configured to be attached to a limb or digit of a subject… an arterial pulse wave sensor configured to obtain arterial pulse wave data from the subject…receive a real-time blood pressure measurement from the cuff; the arterial pulse wave sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor
9; 15
1
and generating a biometric estimation for the subject via an adaptive predictive model using the real time PPG data.
generate a blood pressure estimation for the subject via an adaptive predictive model using real-time arterial pulse wave data from the arterial pulse wave sensor
9
2
receiving a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device;
receive a real-time blood pressure measurement from the cuff
9
2
and in response to receiving the measurement of the biometric, updating one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model.
and in response to receiving the real-time blood pressure measurement, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve blood pressure estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model
9
3
wherein the measurement of the biometric is a real-time measurement, and wherein the biometric monitoring device is attached to the subject.
an automated inflatable cuff configured to be attached to a limb or digit of a subject, wherein the cuff is configured to generate a blood pressure measurement for the subject… receive a real-time blood pressure measurement from the cuff
9
6
further comprising sending an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold.
the at least one processor is further configured to send an alert to a remote device in response to determining that the generated blood pressure estimation is above or below a threshold.
12
8
wherein the at least one processor is located within a wearable device worn by the subject.
A wearable device, comprising:… at least one processor
9
9
wherein the wearable device is configured to be worn at an ear of the subject, on a limb of the subject, as a patch attached to the subject, or on a digit of the subject.
A wearable device, comprising: an automated inflatable cuff configured to be attached to a limb or digit of a subject
9
10
wherein the wearable device includes the PPG sensor.
A wearable device, comprising:…an arterial pulse wave sensor; the arterial pulse wave sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor.
9; 15
11
wherein the at least one processor is located within a wearable device worn by the subject,
A wearable device, comprising:… at least one processor
9
11
and wherein the wearable device includes the PPG sensor and the biometric monitoring device.
A wearable device, comprising: an automated inflatable cuff…an arterial pulse wave sensor; the arterial pulse wave sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor.
9; 15
13
wherein the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model.
the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model.
14
17
A wearable device, comprising:
A wearable device, comprising:
9
17
a PPG sensor;
an arterial pulse wave sensor; the arterial pulse wave sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor.
9; 15
17
and at least one processor configured to generate a biometric estimation for a subject wearing the wearable device via an adaptive predictive model using real-time PPG data from the PPG sensor.
at least one processor configured to: generate a blood pressure estimation for the subject via an adaptive predictive model using real-time arterial pulse wave data from the arterial pulse wave sensor;
9
18
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device;
at least one processor configured to:… receive a real-time blood pressure measurement from the cuff
9
18
and in response to receiving the measurement of the biometric, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model.
at least one processor configured to:…and in response to receiving the real-time blood pressure measurement, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve blood pressure estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model.
9
19
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device;
at least one processor configured to:… receive a real-time blood pressure measurement from the cuff
9
19
and in response to determining that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold, update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve biometric estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model.
and in response to determining that the generated blood pressure estimation is above or below the one or more thresholds, update the one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time; update one or more parameters of the adaptive predictive model in real-time to improve blood pressure estimation accuracy of the adaptive predictive model
10; 9
20
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to send an alert to a remote device that the generated biometric estimation is above or below a threshold.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to send an alert to a remote device in response to determining that the generated blood pressure estimation is above or below a threshold.
12
22
wherein the wearable device is configured to be worn at an ear of the subject, on a limb of the subject, as a patch attached to the subject, or on a digit of the subject.
an automated inflatable cuff configured to be attached to a limb or digit of a subject
9
24
wherein the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model.
wherein the adaptive predictive model comprises one of a regression model, a machine learning model, or a classifier model.
14
Regarding Claims 1 and 17, the claims are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over 9 and 15 of copending US Application 18/256,013. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and 15 of the copending US Application encompasses the subject matter of the claim in the instant Application. With regards to Claim 1, the device claim 9 of the copending US Application, and its dependent claims, recite the capabilities or intended functions corresponding to each of the method steps of claim 1 of the instant application. The claims of copending US Application 18/256,013 are considered species to the broader genus claims of the instant application. For example, “a blood pressure estimation” recited in claim 9 of copending US Application is a species of “a biometric estimation” recited in claims 1 and 17 of the instant application. Additionally, “real-time arterial pulse wave data” recited in claim 9 of copending US Application is a species of “real-time PPG data” recited in claims 1 and 17 of the instant application; “real-time blood pressure measurement from a blood pressure monitoring device” recited in claim 9 of copending US Application is a species of “a measurement of the biometric from a biometric monitoring device” recited in claims 1 and 17 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/JANKI M BAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791