CTFR 18/256,034 CTFR 80521 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement IDS(es) submitted on 5/19/2026 has/have been considered. Objections 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 9, 19, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the references can disclose all the features and limitations of said claims. Response to Amendment The amendment made dated 3/12/2026 does not contain any new matter, and has been accepted. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the previously cited reference of Sen does not disclose the newly amended limitations wherein the acquisition data structure including a parameter previously decoded from a broadcast channel of a first cell o the first RPLMN during a previous PLMN selection; and the subsequent PLMN selection procedure suing the parameter included in the acquisition data structure without again decoding the broadcast channel of the first cell for the parameter. However, Examiner would like to introduce a newly cited reference of Niemi, which does disclose the limitation of the acquisition data structure including a parameter previously decoded from a broadcast channel of a first cell of the first RPLMN during a previous PLMN selection ([0063]: wherein the UE registers with the previous RPLMN cell from the old neighbor list within the UE instead of scanning all its supported RATs and frequency bands, which would save a lot of time and overhead) ; and the subsequent PLMN selection procedure suing the parameter included in the acquisition data structure without again decoding the broadcast channel of the first cell for the parameter ([0063]: wherein the UE registers with the previous RPLMN cell from the old neighbor list within the UE instead of scanning all its supported RATs and frequency bands, which would save a lot of time and overhead). It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Niemi’s disclosure to reduce time and overhead in acquiring communication with a cell. Therefore, the newly amended claims are newly rejected with the newly incorporated reference of Niemi, as explained above and shown below in the rejection. Furthermore, due to the broadness of the claim language, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected a shown below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 5, 12, 14, 16, 20, 22, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen et al. (US 2020/0367153; effective date: 5/7/2020) in view of Niemi et al. (US 2015/0094062; effective date 9/27/2013; hereinafter Niemi) . Regarding claims 1, 12, 20, 28 , Sen discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: determining to request for a first service associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) ([0026]: determining an active application requiring a service only offered by the first wireless RAT) ; determining whether an identifier of a first registered public land mobile network (RPLMN) associated with the first RAT is present in an acquisition data structure of the UE ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; and camping, following a subsequent PLMN selection procedure, on the first cell of the first RPLMN when the identifier of the first RPLMN is present in the UE ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) . Sen does not disclose the limitation of: the acquisition data structure including a parameter previously decoded from a broadcast channel of a first cell o the first RPLMN during a previous PLMN selection; and the subsequent PLMN selection procedure suing the parameter included in the acquisition data structure without again decoding the broadcast channel of the first cell for the parameter. However, Niemi does disclose the limitation of the acquisition data structure including a parameter previously decoded from a broadcast channel of a first cell of the first RPLMN during a previous PLMN selection ([0063]: wherein the UE registers with the previous RPLMN cell from the old neighbor list within the UE instead of scanning all its supported RATs and frequency bands, which would save a lot of time and overhead) ; and the subsequent PLMN selection procedure suing the parameter included in the acquisition data structure without again decoding the broadcast channel of the first cell for the parameter ([0063]: wherein the UE registers with the previous RPLMN cell from the old neighbor list within the UE instead of scanning all its supported RATs and frequency bands, which would save a lot of time and overhead). It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Niemi’s disclosure to reduce time and overhead in acquiring communication with a cell. Regarding claims 3, 14, and 22, Sen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining the identifier of the first RPLMN from an acquisition data structure in the UE ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; selecting the first cell of the first RPLMN in a first cell search ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; transmitting, to the first cell, a first request for registering the UE to the first RPLMN ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) ; and receiving, from the first cell, a response to the first request, the response indicating acceptance of the first request for registering the UE to the first RPLMN ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) . Regarding claims 5, 16, and 24, Sen discloses further comprising: detecting a transition into an out-of-service state of the UE ([0026]: determining an active application requiring a service only offered by the first wireless RAT while UE is camped on second RAT therefore will be out of service for active application) ; accessing an acquisition data structure that comprises one or more RPLMN identities associated with respective ones of a plurality of RATs ([0012]: performing search to determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; determining whether the acquisition data structure includes at least one RPLMN identity in the one or more RPLMN identities that is associated with the first RAT ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; and selecting the first cell of the first RPLMN when the acquisition data structure includes the at least one RPLMN identity that is associated with the first RAT ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 17, 18, 21, 25, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Niemi in further view of Surisetty et al. (US 2020/0137710) . Regarding claims 2, 13, 21, and 29 Sen discloses all the particulars of the claim including the limitation of a request to access the first RAT for the first service, wherein the determining whether the identifier of the first RPLMN associated with the first RAT is present comprises selecting the first RPLMN from a plurality of RPLMNs stored in an acquisition data structure in the UE when the identifier of first RPLMN is present in the UE, the first RPLMN being a last registered public land mobile network (PLMN) for the first RAT ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) , but is unclear about further comprising transitioning into a switch-on state of the UE, and wherein the determining to request for the first service comprises receiving, from a non-stratum access (NAS) layer of the UE. However, Surisetty does disclose the limitation of further comprising transitioning into a switch-on state of the UE, and wherein the determining to request for the first service comprises receiving, from a non-stratum access (NAS) layer of the UE ([0050]: use of NAS mode for registration; [0067]: the UE powers off then powers on then start registration process). It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Surisetty’s disclosure to provide on/off capability for dual registration mode in Sen. Regarding claims 6, 10 and 11, Sen in view of Surisetty discloses the wherein the first RAT corresponds to a standalone Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) access technology ([0002], [0004], [0006], [0007]: 5G RAT, NR-LTE ), wherein the second RAT corresponds to a standalone Long-Term Evolution (LTE) access technology ([0002], [0004], [0006], [0007]: 5G RAT, NR-LTE ), and wherein the second RAT corresponds to a non-standalone Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) access technology ([0002], [0004], [0006], [0007]: 5G RAT, NR-LTE ). Regarding claims 7, 17, and 25 Surisetty discloses further comprising: detecting an inter-radio access technology (IRAT) transition from the first RAT to a second RAT different than the first RAT ([0007]-[0009]: dual registration between RAT 1 and RAT 2) ; determining whether an identifier of a second RPLMN associated with the second RAT is present in the UE ([0007]-[0009]: determine available RPLMN with RAT 2 for registering) ; and storing a second PLMN as the second RPLMN for the second RAT when the identifier of the second RPLMN is not present in the UE ([0007]-[0009]: registering to RAT 2). Regarding claims 8, 18, and 26, Surisetty discloses further comprising: obtaining the identifier of the second RPLMN associated with the second RAT from an acquisition data structure in the UE ([0007]-[0009]: determine available RPLMN with RAT 2 for registering) ; selecting a second cell of the second RPLMN in a second cell search ([0007]-[0009]: registering to RAT 2) ; and communicating, with the second cell, tracking area update (TAU) information ([0053]: communicating the TAU information for dual registration with RAT 2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 15, 23, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Niemi in further view of Hedman et al. (US US 10,009,837; hereinafter Hedman) . Regarding claims 4, 15, 23, 30, Sen discloses all the particulars of the claims including further comprising: performing a cell search in a first public land mobile network (PLMN) when the last registered RPLMN identity associated with the first RAT is not present in the UE ([0012]: performing search to determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) . selecting the first cell of the first PLMN for camping based on the cell search ([0012]: determine a list of available PLMNs for the UE to be able to register) ; transmitting, to the first cell, a first request for registering the UE to the first PLMN ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) ; receiving, from the first cell, a first response based on the first request, the first response indicating a registration acceptance to register the UE to the first PLMN ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service) ; and storing the first PLMN as the first RPLMN for the first RAT based on the registration acceptance ([0028]: UE selecting a PLMN from the list to register for service), but is unclear about the limitations of detecting a transition into a switch-on state of the UE, wherein the determining whether an identifier of a first RPLMN associated with the first RAT is present in the UE comprises determining whether a last registered RPLMN identity associated with the first RAT is present in the UE; performing a cell search in a first public land mobile network (PLMN) when the last registered RPLMN identity associated with the first RAT is not present in the UE. However, Hedman does disclose the limitation of detecting a transition into a switch-on state of the UE, wherein the determining whether an identifier of a first RPLMN associated with the first RAT is present in the UE comprises determining whether a last registered RPLMN identity associated with the first RAT is present in the UE (Abstract; Col 2, lines 41-62: providing last used PLMN ID for communication registration) It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Hedman’s disclosure to provide communication to previously registered networks. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHUCK HUYNH whose telephone number is (571)272-7866. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10am - 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/256,034 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644