DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/256043 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment dated 12/19/25
2. Claims 1-30 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 9, 15, and 24 have been amended.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/19/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Objection
4. Claims 1-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 9, 15 states…. for managing split transmission during the handover procedure ….. It is unclear what exactly managing of the split transmission means or consists of. Further it is unclear of where this limitation is located in the specification and thus where the support for this limitation is.
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 24 , it is unclear where the support for the remaining amended limitations are. It is suggested the remaining amended limitations are pointed out where they are supported in the specification. (i.e encoded packets that were received before the handover, decoding source packets after the handover) .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN111512579/Zhu (US 2020/0336258A1) in view of Candy (WO2018031139A1) in further view of Song(CN108351215B)
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a method of wireless communication at a base station, the method comprising: transmitting a first group of encoded packets to a first road side unit (RSU) over a first radio access network (RAN) interface; (see Zhu paragraph [0038]-[0042] [0054].. the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may send out a CMS message to support DL or UL packet loss recovery through network coding. Fig 2, 7, 9) initiating a handover procedure between the first RSU and a second RSU; (see Zhu paragraph [0042] explains… The NCM 236 is an element in the network that handles MAMS control messages from the client 201 and configures distribution of data packets over the multiple available access paths 221-1 to 221-n, delivery paths 222-1 to 222-n ….[0052]…. the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover….. ) associated with the first group of encoded packets;(see Zhu paragraph [0052][0054]) transmitting network coding level information to the second RSU over a second RAN interface based on the feedback, the network coding level information indicating a number of missing encoded packets within the first group of encoded packets for the second RSU to transmit to a user equipment (UE) for managing split transmissions during the handover procedure; (see paragraph [0051].[0052]….. In various embodiments, the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover. In response the N-MADP 237 may retransmit the lost MX SDU to the client 201 (C-MADP 207) if/when the lost packet is found, [0054]) and transmitting, to the UE, a second group of encoded packets associated with the number of missing encoded packets at the second RSU (see paragraph [0004] [0052] report lost MX SDU and retransmit lost MX SDU, [0054]) for deciding source packets after the handover procedure (see paragraph [0054], [0055]… In various embodiments, the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may send out a CMS message to support DL or UL packet loss recovery through network coding. In these embodiments, the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may use a network coding algorithm to decode lost packets using the information of non-lost packets. … The original (lost) packets can be recovered by performing, for example, Gaussian elimination on the matrix, wherein the decoded packets may correspond to the rows in reduced row echelon form.)
While it can be understood Zhu explains these limitations does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first RSU, a release acknowledgment associated with the handover procedure and feedback
However analogous art Candy is introduced and explains once the target eNB 506 determines mat the UE S02 is able to communicate, the target eNB 506 may transmit a message to the MME (not shown in FIG. 5) to indicate that the eNB serving the UE 502 has changed. The MME may in response send an update request to the serving gateway to update the user plane, which the serving gateway may use to switch the downlink path from the source eNB 504 to the target eNB 506. The MME may subsequently confirm the update to the target eNB 506 in a response to the switch message, which men may confirm this information with the source eNB 504 through a UE 502 context release message. The source eNB 504 may then release user and control plane related resources associated to the UE 502 context (see paragraph [0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Candy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve handover process (See paragraph [0004])
To further show a release acknowledgment associated with the handover procedure and feedback
Song page 10 paragraph [0007] explains… Specifically, after the OBU sends the switching report message to the CSU, it can actively send the cancellation message to the first RSU, the first RSU receives the cancellation message, releasing the related resource and the control of the OBU. or CSU receives the switching report message sent by the second RSU, CSU can send the cancellation message to the first RSU, notifying the first RSU release the resource and the control of the OBU. To this end, the whole switching process comprises the processing after switching is successfully completed.
SONG page 9 paragraph [0002] further explains …CSU as the control centre of the road network, grasping the global information. the whole traffic map can be regarded as divided into a plurality of areas, each area is provided with a RSU management; the jurisdiction area of one RSU is connected with the other one or more RSU jurisdictions; but each RSU does not need to know the topological relation of the adjacent RSU as the centre and the boundary area (i.e., the overlapping area of the coverage area of the adjacent RSU), and the RSU does not need communication, only needs to switch according to the instruction of the CSU OBU. In the embodiment of the invention, the first RSU is adjacent to the second RSU, and the second RSU is the switching target of the home RSU of OBU to be switched.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Zhu with Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve on RSU navigation and communication (See background page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 2, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the feedback indicates a negative acknowledgment for one or more packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) packet data units (PDUs) associated with the first group of encoded packets, wherein the network coding level information indicates a sequence number of each negative acknowledgment in the feedback. (see Zhu paragraphs [0090],[0100][0096]…. the NACK report discussed above may be a PLR message, which is used to report lost MX SDUs/PDUs. )
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the feedback indicates one or more of a number of acknowledged encoded packets or a number of non-acknowledged encoded packets for each missing packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) packet data unit (PDU) associated with the first group of encoded packets, wherein the network coding level information indicates at least the number of non-acknowledged encoded packets for each missing PDCP PDU. (see paragraphs [0090],[0100][0096]…. the NACK report discussed above may be a PLR message, which is used to report lost MX SDUs/PDUs. )
Regarding claim 4, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a plurality of source packets from a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer; encoding the plurality of source packets into a plurality of encoded packets with a rateless network code at a first network coding layer of the base station; dividing the plurality of encoded packets into the first group of encoded packets and a second group of encoded packets; and sending the second group of encoded packets from the first network coding layer to a first radio link control (RLC) layer of the base station. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer))
Regarding claim 5, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 4, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the transmitting the first group of encoded packets comprises transmitting the first group of encoded packets to a second RLC layer at the first RSU over the first RAN interface. (see paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 5, wherein the first group of encoded packets is sent to a second network coding layer at the first RSU over the first RAN interface by the PDCP layer, wherein the first network coding layer is a sub-layer of the first RLC layer at the base station and the second network coding layer is a sub-layer of the second RLC layer at the first RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0027], [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 5, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the first group of encoded packets is sent to the second RLC layer via a second network coding layer over the first RAN interface by the PDCP layer, wherein the first network coding layer is separate from the first RLC layer and the PDCP layer at the base station and the second network coding layer is separate from the second RLC layer at the first RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 4, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the dividing comprises dividing the plurality of encoded packets into the first group of encoded packets and the second group of encoded packets based on a total size of encoded packets for each of the first group and the second group or a total number of encoded packets for each of the first group and the second group. (see Zhu paragraphs [0051], [0054], [0056], explains the use of sequence number)
Regarding claim 9. A method of wireless communication at a base station, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches the method comprising: transmitting a first group of source packets to a first road side unit (RSU) over a first radio access network (RAN) interface; (see Zhu paragraph [0038]-[0042] [0054].. the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may send out a CMS message to support DL or UL packet loss recovery through network coding. Fig 2, 7, 9) initiating a handover procedure between the first RSU and a second RSU; (see Zhu paragraph[0042] explains… The NCM 236 is an element in the network that handles MAMS control messages from the client 201 and configures distribution of data packets over the multiple available access paths 221-1 to 221-n, delivery paths 222-1 to 222-n ….[0052]…. the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover….. ) receiving, from the first RSU, a release acknowledgment associated with the handover procedure and feedback for a first group of encoded packets associated with the first group of source packets; (see Zhu paragraph [0052][0054]) transmitting network coding level information to the second RSU over a second RAN interface based on the feedback, the network coding level information indicating a number of missing encoded packets within the first group of encoded packets for the second RSU to transmit to a user equipment (UE) for managing split transmissions during the handover procedure; (see paragraph [0051].[0052]….. In various embodiments, the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover. In response the N-MADP 237 may retransmit the lost MX SDU to the client 201 (C-MADP 207) if/when the lost packet is found, [0054]) and transmitting, to the UE, a second group of encoded packets associated with the number of missing encoded packets at the second RSU. (see paragraphs [0004] [0052] report lost MX SDU and retransmit lost MX SDU [0054]) . for recovering a plurality of source packets from the first group of encoded packets and the second group of encoded packets after the handover procedure. (see paragraphs [0004] [0052] report lost MX SDU and retransmit lost MX SDU [0054])
While it can be understood Zhu explains these limitations does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first RSU, a release acknowledgment associated with the handover procedure and feedback
However analogous art Candy is introduced and explains once the target eNB 506 determines mat the UE S02 is able to communicate, the target eNB 506 may transmit a message to the MME (not shown in FIG. 5) to indicate that the eNB serving the UE 502 has changed. The MME may in response send an update request to the serving gateway to update the user plane, which the serving gateway may use to switch the downlink path from the source eNB 504 to the target eNB 506. The MME may subsequently confirm the update to the target eNB 506 in a response to the switch message, which men may confirm this information with the source eNB 504 through a UE 502 context release message. The source eNB 504 may then release user and control plane related resources associated to the UE 502 context (see paragraph [0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Candy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve handover process (See paragraph [0004])
To further show a release acknowledgment associated with the handover procedure and feedback
Song page 10 paragraph [0007] explains… Specifically, after the OBU sends the switching report message to the CSU, it can actively send the cancellation message to the first RSU, the first RSU receives the cancellation message, releasing the related resource and the control of the OBU. or CSU receives the switching report message sent by the second RSU, CSU can send the cancellation message to the first RSU, notifying the first RSU release the resource and the control of the OBU. To this end, the whole switching process comprises the processing after switching is successfully completed.
SONG page 9 paragraph [0002] further explains …CSU as the control centre of the road network, grasping the global information. the whole traffic map can be regarded as divided into a plurality of areas, each area is provided with a RSU management; the jurisdiction area of one RSU is connected with the other one or more RSU jurisdictions; but each RSU does not need to know the topological relation of the adjacent RSU as the centre and the boundary area (i.e., the overlapping area of the coverage area of the adjacent RSU), and the RSU does not need communication, only needs to switch according to the instruction of the CSU OBU. In the embodiment of the invention, the first RSU is adjacent to the second RSU, and the second RSU is the switching target of the home RSU of OBU to be switched.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Zhu with Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve on RSU navigation and communication (See background page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 10, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 9, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches further comprising: receiving a plurality of source packets at a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer; dividing the plurality of source packets into the first group of source packets and a second group of source packets; sending the second group of source packets from the PDCP layer to a first network coding layer at the base station; and encoding the second group of source packets into the second group of encoded packets with a rateless network code at the first network coding layer. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source)
Regarding claim 11, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the dividing is based on a total size of source packets for each of the first group and the second group or a total number of source packets for each of the first group and the second group. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source)
Regarding claim 12, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the first group of source packets is transmitted to a second network coding layer at the first RSU over the first RAN interface by the PDCP layer, wherein the first network coding layer is a sub-layer of a first radio link control (RLC) layer at the base station and the second network coding layer is a sub-layer of the second RLC layer at the first RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060],[0062]-[0064] Explains coding with source, and sublayer)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 10, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the first group of source packets is transmitted to a second radio link control (RLC) layer via a second network coding layer over the first RAN interface by the PDCP layer, wherein the first network coding layer is separate from the first RLC layer and the PDCP layer at the base station and the second network coding layer is separate from the second RLC layer at the first RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source and PDCP, RLC)
Regarding claim 14, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 13, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the second group of encoded packets at the base station is non-overlapping with the first group of encoded packets at the first RSU based on the first group of source packets having been sent to the first RSU with a duplicate number of source packets as the second group of source packets sent to the first network coding layer. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source)
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches a method of wireless communication at a target road side unit (RSU), the method comprising: facilitating a handover procedure between a source RSU and the target RSU; receiving, from a base station over a radio access network (RAN) interface, (see Zhu paragraph [0038]-[0042] [0054].. the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may send out a CMS message to support DL or UL packet loss recovery through network coding. Fig 2, 7, 9) network coding level information, the network coding level information indicating a number of missing encoded packets within a first group of encoded packets associated with the source RSU for managing split transmissions during the handover procedure; (see Zhu paragraph[0042] explains… The NCM 236 is an element in the network that handles MAMS control messages from the client 201 and configures distribution of data packets over the multiple available access paths 221-1 to 221-n, delivery paths 222-1 to 222-n ….[0052]…. the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover….. ) facilitating a random access procedure with a user equipment (UE) based on the handover procedure; (see Zhu paragraph[0042] explains… The NCM 236 is an element in the network that handles MAMS control messages from the client 201 and configures distribution of data packets over the multiple available access paths 221-1 to 221-n, delivery paths 222-1 to 222-n ….[0052]…. the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover….. ) and transmitting, to the UE, additional encoded packets that includes at least the number of missing encoded packets, the additional encoded packets being associated with a second group of encoded packets at the base station. (see paragraph [0004] [0052]report lost MX SDU and retransmit lost MX SDU [0054]) .
While it can be understood Zhu explains these limitations does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a base station
However analogous art Candy is introduced and explains once the target eNB 506 determines mat the UE S02 is able to communicate, the target eNB 506 may transmit a message to the MME (not shown in FIG. 5) to indicate that the eNB serving the UE 502 has changed. The MME may in response send an update request to the serving gateway to update the user plane, which the serving gateway may use to switch the downlink path from the source eNB 504 to the target eNB 506. The MME may subsequently confirm the update to the target eNB 506 in a response to the switch message, which men may confirm this information with the source eNB 504 through a UE 502 context release message. The source eNB 504 may then release user and control plane related resources associated to the UE 502 context (see paragraph [0069])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Candy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve handover process (See paragraph [0004])
To further show RSU for managing split transmissions
SONG page 9 paragraph [0002] further explains …CSU as the control centre of the road network, grasping the global information. the whole traffic map can be regarded as divided into a plurality of areas, each area is provided with a RSU management; the jurisdiction area of one RSU is connected with the other one or more RSU jurisdictions; but each RSU does not need to know the topological relation of the adjacent RSU as the centre and the boundary area (i.e., the overlapping area of the coverage area of the adjacent RSU), and the RSU does not need communication, only needs to switch according to the instruction of the CSU OBU. In the embodiment of the invention, the first RSU is adjacent to the second RSU, and the second RSU is the switching target of the home RSU of OBU to be switched.
Song page 10 paragraph [0007] explains… Specifically, after the OBU sends the switching report message to the CSU, it can actively send the cancellation message to the first RSU, the first RSU receives the cancellation message, releasing the related resource and the control of the OBU. or CSU receives the switching report message sent by the second RSU, CSU can send the cancellation message to the first RSU, notifying the first RSU release the resource and the control of the OBU. To this end, the whole switching process comprises the processing after switching is successfully completed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified Zhu with Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve on RSU navigation and communication (See background page 2 paragraph [0002])
Regarding claim 16, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 15, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the receiving comprises receiving the network coding level information at a network coding layer of the target RSU, further comprising sending the network coding level information to a radio link control (RLC) layer of the target RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the network coding level information indicates one or more sequence numbers, wherein each of the one or more sequence numbers is associated with a negative acknowledgment in feedback associated with the source RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 17, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches further comprising generating the additional encoded packets based on the one or more sequence numbers, wherein each of the additional encoded packets corresponds to a different sequence number in the one or more sequence numbers. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 19, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the network coding level information indicates a number of non-acknowledged encoded packets for each missing packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) packet data unit (PDU) associated with the first group of encoded packets. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 19, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches further comprising generating the additional encoded packets based on the number of non-acknowledged encoded packets, wherein the additional encoded packets includes a number of encoded packets that is greater than the number of missing encoded packets. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding with source; paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 21, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the network coding layer is a sub-layer of the RLC layer. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060],[0062]-[0064] Explains coding with source, and sublayer)
Regarding claim 22, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the network coding layer is separate from the RLC layer. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
Regarding claim 23, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 15, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the receiving comprises receiving the network coding level information at a radio link control (RLC) layer of the target RSU. (see Zhu paragraphs [0056], [0060], Explains coding and RLC layer)
7. Claims 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN111512579/Zhu (US 2020/0336258A1) in view of Candy (WO2018031139A1)
Regarding claim 24, Zhu teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, at a network coding layer, a first group of encoded packets from a base station via a first radio link control (RLC) layer and a second group of encoded packets from a first road side unit (RSU) via a second RLC layer for recovering a plurality of source packets from the first group of encoded packets and the second group of encoded packets with a rateless network code; (see Zhu paragraph [0027],[0038]-[0042] [0054].. the N-MADP 237 and/or C-MADP 207 may send out a CMS message to support DL or UL packet loss recovery through network coding. Fig 2, 7, 9) facilitating a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration procedure with a base station based on a handover between the first RSU and a second RSU; (see paragraph[0027], [0051].[0052]….. In various embodiments, the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover. In response the N-MADP 237 may retransmit the lost MX SDU to the client 201 (C-MADP 207) if/when the lost packet is found, [0054]) initiating a random access procedure with the second RSU based on the RRC reconfiguration procedure; (see paragraph[0027], [0051].[0052] …In response the N-MADP 237 may retransmit the lost MX SDU to the client 201 (C-MADP 207) if/when the lost packet is found, [0054])receiving, at the network coding layer, a third group of encoded packets from the second RSU via a third RLC layer, the third group of encoded packets comprising a subset of the second group of encoded packets that corresponds to a number of missing encoded packets within the second group of encoded packets based on the handover; (see paragraph [0051].[0052]….. In various embodiments, the C-MADP 207 may send out PLR messages to report lost MX SDU, for example, during handover. In response the N-MADP 237 may retransmit the lost MX SDU to the client 201 (C-MADP 207) if/when the lost packet is found, [0054]) and recovering the plurality of source packets based on the first group of encoded packets, at least a portion of the second group of encoded packets that were received before the handover and the third group of encoded packets. (see paragraph [0004] [0052] report lost MX SDU and retransmit lost MX SDU [0054]) .
While it can be understood Zhu explains receiving, at the network coding layer, However analogous art Candy is introduced to further explains once the target eNB 506 determines mat the UE S02 is able to communicate, the target eNB 506 may transmit a message to the MME (not shown in FIG. 5) to indicate that the eNB serving the UE 502 has changed. The MME may in response send an update request to the serving gateway to update the user plane, which the serving gateway may use to switch the downlink path from the source eNB 504 to the target eNB 506. The MME may subsequently confirm the update to the target eNB 506 in a response to the switch message, which men may confirm this information with the source eNB 504 through a UE 502 context release message. The source eNB 504 may then release user and control plane related resources associated to the UE 502 context (see paragraph [0069],[0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Candy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve signal strength to further improve handover process (See paragraph [0004])
Regarding claim 25, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 24, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches further comprising: sequencing the plurality of source packets into an ordered set of source packets at the network coding layer; and sending the ordered set of source packets from the network coding layer to a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. (see paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
Regarding claim 26, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 24, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the recovering comprises: decoding the first group of encoded packets, the at least a portion of the second group of encoded packets and the third group of encoded packets into a set of decoded packets; determining whether a first number of packets in the set of decoded packets exceeds a second number of packets in the plurality of source packets; generating feedback at the network coding layer based on the determining of whether the first number of packets exceeds the second number of packets, the feedback indicating whether additional encoded packets are needed to recover at least a portion of the plurality of source packets; and transmitting, to a base station, the feedback. (see Zhu paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
Regarding claim 27, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 26, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches further comprising: determining that the plurality of source packets is not recoverable when the first number of packets does not exceed the second number of packets, wherein the generating the feedback comprises generating a negative acknowledgment indicating that a group of missing encoded packets are needed for recovering the at least a portion of the plurality of source packets when the plurality of source packets is not recoverable; and receiving an additional group of encoded packets associated with one or more PDCP packet data units (PDUs) that corresponds to the group of missing encoded packets based on a negative acknowledgment message. (see Zhu paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
Regarding claim 28, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 25, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the recovering and the sequencing are performed at each of the first RLC layer, the second RLC layer and the third RLC layer via the network coding layer, wherein the network coding layer is a sublayer in each of the first RLC layer, the second RLC layer and the third RLC layer. (see paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
Regarding claim 29, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 25, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the recovering and the sequencing are performed at the PDCP layer via the network coding layer, wherein the network coding layer is a sublayer of the PDCP layer. (see paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
Regarding claim 30, the modified Zhu taught the method of claim 25, as described above. The modified Zhu further teaches wherein the network coding layer is separate from the PDCP layer and each of the first RLC layer, the second RLC layer and the third RLC layer. (see Zhu paragraph [0027] explains in these embodiments, the CRAN or vBBUP may implement a RAN function split, such as a PDCP split wherein RRC and PDCP layers are operated by the CRAN/vBBUP and other L2 protocol entities are operated by individual RAN nodes 131/132; )
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478