DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/24/2026 has been entered. Amendments to claims 1, 6, and 7, and new claims 9-14 are acknowledged. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 05/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Lia (US 20120143079 A1) in view of Anders (SE 0900492 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Lia discloses a blood flow assessment device comprising (Fig 1 element 12, [0018]: “indicative of blood flow at the forehead skin”): a temperature sensor configured to measure skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user ([0020]: “The device further includes a first sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the first surface while the patch is attached to the forehead, and a second sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the second surface while the patch is attached to the forehead”); a memory storing a program ([0035]: “controller may also be configured to execute one or more commands and/or control programs.”); a hardware processor coupled to the memory ([0035]: “controllers (not shown)… and the controller may be configured to control the operation of each such component”) and configured to execute the program, ([0035]: “the controller may be configured to receive signals, information, measurements, and/or other data from one or more sensors of the patch 10, and to calculate a sub-skull temperature of the subject 14 based on the information received”) to calculate a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations ([0061]: “a temperature gradient may be observed, measured, and/or otherwise sensed at the skin 34 proximate the first surface 16 of the patch 10”, wherein a temperature gradient represent a variation of temperatures across the sensors) based on a difference between a first location among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0014]: “the method includes repositioning the patch to a second location on the forehead of the subject in response to the comparison”, [0017]: “and exposing a second surface of the patch opposite the first surface to ambient conditions, substantially simultaneously sensing a temperature of the first and second surfaces while the first surface is attached to the forehead,”); and the hardware processor further configured to assess a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0063]: " a temperature gradient and/or difference sensed between any two points along the first surface 16 may be indicative of the existence of blood flow and/or the amount or volume of blood flow proximate the first surface 16.").
Lia fails to disclose a thermography temperature sensor, a first/second location at which the skin temperature is measured by the thermography temperature sensor, and determining the difference between the first and second location based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of the face of the user.
Anders discloses a thermography temperature sensor configured to measure skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user ([0008]: “This device for examining the surface temperature of a body part comprises a thermographic camera”, [0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face”); a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the program ([0002]: “a computer program for carrying out the method according to claim 9 and a memory medium for the computer program according to claim 10”) configured to calculate a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations based on a difference between a first location at which the skin temperature is stable measured by the thermography temperature sensor among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face.. the left and right body parts … cheek, ear) can be tested,”, [0018]: “predefined hand/foot/face contours with 1,2..n measurement zones M (1-n) on the face”, wherein the left cheek differs from the right cheek, and wherein measurement zone constitute different locations on the face) and the hardware processor further configured to assess a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”), and to determine the difference between one location at which the skin temperature is stable and each of the plurality of locations at which the skin temperature is unstable based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of only the face of the user ([0012]: “The resulting image or film represents the temperature variations on the object's surface with different colors…is measured across the entire face…cheek, ear”, [0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known temperature sensor disclosed by Lia to the thermography camera disclosed by Anders for the predictable result of determining a temperature of the face.
Regarding claim 2, Lia as modified by Anders discloses the blood flow assessment device according to claim 1, wherein hardware processor is further configured to assess the blood flow of the user further based on a condition that is related to the user and that directly or indirectly influences the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations on the face of the user ([0040]: “also include a second surface 18 disposed opposite the first surface 16 and configured to be exposed to ambient conditions such as, for example, to ambient air or other like environments in a hospital and/or other healthcare facility”, [0042], wherein the ambient conditions are taken into account while determine the temperature).
Regarding claim 3, Lia further discloses wherein the hardware processor is further configured to correct the skin temperatures according to a condition that is related to the user and that directly or indirectly influences the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations on the face of the user, and wherein the hardware processor is further configured to calculate a variation of the corrected skin temperatures ([0015]: "using a correction factor corresponding to the metric, wherein the correction factor is indicative of heat flow through the forehead skin… the metric may also be a temperature difference sensed across the first surface of the patch and the correction factor is generated based on the metric.").
Regarding claim 4, Lia further discloses wherein thermography temperature sensor (as modified by Anders above) measures the skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on the face of the user after a period of time corresponding to a condition that is related to the user and that directly or indirectly influences the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations on the face of the user elapses ([0013]: “by repeating steps (b) through (d), at a desired interval, for a predetermined period of time.”).
Regarding claim 5, Lia discloses wherein the variation is a magnitude of the variation ([0062]: "temperature gradient of minimal magnitude").
Regarding claim 6, Lia discloses a method comprising (abstract): measuring skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user; ([0020]: “The device further includes a first sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the first surface while the patch is attached to the forehead, and a second sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the second surface while the patch is attached to the forehead”); calculating a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations ([0061]: “a temperature gradient may be observed, measured, and/or otherwise sensed at the skin 34 proximate the first surface 16 of the patch 10”, wherein a temperature gradient represent a variation of temperatures across the sensors) based on a difference between a first location among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0014]: “the method includes repositioning the patch to a second location on the forehead of the subject in response to the comparison”, [0017]: “and exposing a second surface of the patch opposite the first surface to ambient conditions, substantially simultaneously sensing a temperature of the first and second surfaces while the first surface is attached to the forehead,”); and assessing a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0063]: " a temperature gradient and/or difference sensed between any two points along the first surface 16 may be indicative of the existence of blood flow and/or the amount or volume of blood flow proximate the first surface 16.").
Lia fails to disclose a thermography temperature sensor, a first/second location at which the skin temperature is measured by the thermography temperature sensor, and determining the difference between the first and second location based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of the face of the user.
Anders discloses a thermography temperature sensor configured to measure skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user ([0008]: “This device for examining the surface temperature of a body part comprises a thermographic camera”, [0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face”); a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the program ([0002]: “a computer program for carrying out the method according to claim 9 and a memory medium for the computer program according to claim 10”) configured to calculate a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations based on a difference between a first location at which the skin temperature is stable measured by the thermography temperature sensor among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face.. the left and right body parts … cheek, ear) can be tested,”, [0018]: “predefined hand/foot/face contours with 1,2..n measurement zones M (1-n) on the face”, wherein the left cheek differs from the right cheek, and wherein measurement zone constitute different locations on the face) and the hardware processor further configured to assess a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”), and to determine the difference between one location at which the skin temperature is stable and each of the plurality of locations at which the skin temperature is unstable based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of only the face of the user ([0012]: “The resulting image or film represents the temperature variations on the object's surface with different colors…is measured across the entire face…cheek, ear”, [0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known temperature sensor disclosed by Lia to the thermography camera disclosed by Anders for the predictable result of determining a temperature of the face.
Regarding claim 7, Lia discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a blood flow assessment device to function as ([0035]: “The controller may also be configured to execute one or more commands and/or control programs”): a temperature sensor configured to measure skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user ([0020]: “The device further includes a first sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the first surface while the patch is attached to the forehead, and a second sensor positioned to detect a temperature of the second surface while the patch is attached to the forehead”); a memory storing a program ([0035]: “controller may also be configured to execute one or more commands and/or control programs.”); a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the program ([0035]: “the controller may be configured to receive signals, information, measurements, and/or other data from one or more sensors of the patch 10, and to calculate a sub-skull temperature of the subject 14 based on the information received”) configured to calculate a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations ([0061]: “a temperature gradient may be observed, measured, and/or otherwise sensed at the skin 34 proximate the first surface 16 of the patch 10”, wherein a temperature gradient represent a variation of temperatures across the sensors) based on a difference between a first location among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0014]: “the method includes repositioning the patch to a second location on the forehead of the subject in response to the comparison”, [0017]: “and exposing a second surface of the patch opposite the first surface to ambient conditions, substantially simultaneously sensing a temperature of the first and second surfaces while the first surface is attached to the forehead,”); and the hardware processor further configured to assess a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0063]: " a temperature gradient and/or difference sensed between any two points along the first surface 16 may be indicative of the existence of blood flow and/or the amount or volume of blood flow proximate the first surface 16.").
Lia fails to disclose a thermography temperature sensor, a first/second location at which the skin temperature is measured by the thermography temperature sensor, and determining the difference between the first and second location based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of the face of the user.
Anders discloses a thermography temperature sensor configured to measure skin temperatures at a plurality of locations on a face of a user ([0008]: “This device for examining the surface temperature of a body part comprises a thermographic camera”, [0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face”); a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the program ([0002]: “a computer program for carrying out the method according to claim 9 and a memory medium for the computer program according to claim 10”) configured to calculate a variation of the skin temperatures at the plurality of locations based on a difference between a first location at which the skin temperature is stable measured by the thermography temperature sensor among the plurality of locations on the face of the user and a second location different from the first location ([0012]: “the surface temperature is measured across the entire face.. the left and right body parts … cheek, ear) can be tested,”, [0018]: “predefined hand/foot/face contours with 1,2..n measurement zones M (1-n) on the face”, wherein the left cheek differs from the right cheek, and wherein measurement zone constitute different locations on the face) and the hardware processor further configured to assess a blood flow of the user based on the variation ([0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”), and to determine the difference between one location at which the skin temperature is stable and each of the plurality of locations at which the skin temperature is unstable based on an image generated by the thermography temperature sensor that graphically represents a thermal distribution of only the face of the user ([0012]: “The resulting image or film represents the temperature variations on the object's surface with different colors…is measured across the entire face…cheek, ear”, [0046]: “The temperature difference between the corresponding measurement zones of the left and right body parts is calculated, registered, compared and saved in the memory unit. This comparison indicates measurement zones with impaired blood circulation”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known temperature sensor disclosed by Lia to the thermography camera disclosed by Anders for the predictable result of determining a temperature of the face.
Regarding claim 9, Anders discloses wherein the hardware processor is further configured to calculate the variation based on the difference between the first location and the second location including the skin temperature of a forehead of the user and the skin temperature of at least one of a right cheek, a left cheek, a nose, or a chin of the user ([0012]: “Since both the left and right body parts (hand, foot, cheek, ear) can be tested, it is possible to automatically reference between the right and left body parts and thus identify deviations.”).
Regarding claim 11, Anders discloses wherein the hardware processor is further configured to calculate the variation based on the difference between the first location and the second location including the skin temperature of a forehead of the user and the skin temperature of at least one of a right cheek, a left cheek, a nose, or a chin of the user ([0012]: “Since both the left and right body parts (hand, foot, cheek, ear) can be tested, it is possible to automatically reference between the right and left body parts and thus identify deviations.”).
Regarding claim 13, Anders discloses wherein the hardware processor is further configured to calculate the variation based on the difference between the first location and the second location including the skin temperature of a forehead of the user and the skin temperature of at least one of a right cheek, a left cheek, a nose, or a chin of the user ([0012]: “Since both the left and right body parts (hand, foot, cheek, ear) can be tested, it is possible to automatically reference between the right and left body parts and thus identify deviations.”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lia in view of Anders in view of Ellis et al. (US 20180242850 A1), hereinafter Ellis.
Regarding claim 8, Lia as modified by Anders discloses the blood flow assessment device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the hardware processor is further configured to correct the skin temperatures of the face of the user based on at least one of: an inquiry result regarding a state of the user, a time during which the user has worn a mask, or a heart rate of the user, wherein hardware processor is further configured to calculate a variation of the corrected skin temperatures.
Ellis discloses a blood flow assessment device ([0021]: “arterial blood flow” ) further comprising a corrector configured to correct the skin temperatures ([0064]: “core body temperature measurements can include performing a time-weighted temperature correction”) based on at least one of: an inquiry result regarding a state of the user ([0064]: “temperature correction based on reference profiles (e.g., a reference template) indicative of circadian affect on core body temperature (e.g., patterns, trends, variations, and/or other insights that can be accounted for, etc.). Reference profiles can be generated on an individual user basis (e.g., using historic data for the user as a personalized reference template for modifying future physiological metrics determined for the user, etc.), multiple user basis (e.g., using data from other users to generate a reference profile, which can be applied to specific user subgroups, etc.), predetermined profile basis (e.g., generating composite reference profiles suited for different varying conditions, etc.), and/or any other suitable basis”), a time during which the user has worn a mask, or a heart rate of the user, wherein the calculator calculates a variation of the corrected skin temperatures ([0064]: “a time-weighted temperature correction”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to apply the temperature correction disclosed by Ellis to the skin temperatures of the face of the user measured by Lia as modified by Anders in order to improve the calculated temperature (Ellis [0064]).
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lia in view of Anders in further view of Bandic et al. (US 20100185064)
Regarding claim 10, Lia as modified by Anders discloses blood flow assessment device according to claim 1, and Anders further discloses determining the blood flow of the user based on a questionnaire regarding a condition of the user ([0012]: “background information is collected using a questionnaire. Using the questionnaire, measurement results from a measurement zone M can be directly related back to the information in the questionnaire, thereby identifying underlying causes of deviations.”). However, they fail to disclose sequentially displaying: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user; a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user; a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen; and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user.
Bandic discloses sequentially displaying: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user (Fig 11, “begin”, [0217]: “a skin redness assessment, a skin inflammation assessment,”); a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user ([0342]: “user input in the form of audio, video, or text anecdotes describing the issue, such as a level of pain, a sensation of heat, an itchiness,”, Fig 3 element 108); a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen ([0385]: “The user interface 102 may guide the user in capturing images”, Fig 3); and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user ([0421]: “Reports may be on-screen,”, Fig 3 ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Lia as modified by Anders to include the screens disclosed by Bandic in order to expand the information provided to guide an untrained user to operate the method (Bandic [0012]).
Regarding claim 12, Lia as modified by Anders discloses the method of claim 6, and Anders further discloses determining the blood flow of the user based on a questionnaire regarding a condition of the user ([0012]: “background information is collected using a questionnaire. Using the questionnaire, measurement results from a measurement zone M can be directly related back to the information in the questionnaire, thereby identifying underlying causes of deviations.”). However, they fail to disclose sequentially displaying: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user; a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user; a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen; and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user.
Bandic discloses displaying: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user (Fig 11, “begin”, [0217]: “a skin redness assessment, a skin inflammation assessment,”); a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user ([0342]: “user input in the form of audio, video, or text anecdotes describing the issue, such as a level of pain, a sensation of heat, an itchiness,”, Fig 3 element 108); a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen ([0385]: “The user interface 102 may guide the user in capturing images”, Fig 3); and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user ([0421]: “Reports may be on-screen,”, Fig 3 ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Lia as modified by Anders to include the screens disclosed by Bandic in order to expand the information provided to guide an untrained user to operate the method (Bandic [0012]).
Regarding claim 14, Lia as modified by Anders discloses the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 7, and Anders further discloses wherein the hardware processor is further configured to determine the blood flow of the user based on a questionnaire regarding a condition of the user ([0012]: “background information is collected using a questionnaire. Using the questionnaire, measurement results from a measurement zone M can be directly related back to the information in the questionnaire, thereby identifying underlying causes of deviations.”). However, they fail to the blood flow assessment device sequentially displays: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user; a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user; a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen; and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user.
Bandic discloses displaying: a first screen for initiating the determination of the blood flow of the user (Fig 11, “begin”, [0217]: “a skin redness assessment, a skin inflammation assessment,”); a second screen for inputting the condition of the user that directly or indirectly affects the skin temperature at the plurality of locations on the face of the user ([0342]: “user input in the form of audio, video, or text anecdotes describing the issue, such as a level of pain, a sensation of heat, an itchiness,”, Fig 3 element 108); a third screen for guiding the user so that the face of the user is positioned within a frame of the third screen ([0385]: “The user interface 102 may guide the user in capturing images”, Fig 3); and a fourth screen showing a result of the determination of the blood flow of the user ([0421]: “Reports may be on-screen,”, Fig 3 ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Lia as modified by Anders to include the screens disclosed by Bandic in order to expand the information provided to guide an untrained user to operate the device (Bandic [0012]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 2, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Anders discloses measurement of the entire face and thus does not disclose measurement of two distinct areas of the face. However, while Anders discloses obtaining measurements of the entire face, they also disclose separating the face into left and right measurements ([0012]: “Since both the left and right body parts (hand, foot, cheek, ear) can be tested, it is possible to automatically reference between the right and left body parts and thus identify deviations.”). The claim limitation specifies a measurement of a first location and a second location that is different from the first. It does not require an individual measurement of an isolated first location at a first time followed by an individual measurement of an isolated measurement of a second location measured at a second time. Nor does applicant’s disclosure specify an individual isolation of parts of the face via a thermography camera (see specification para [0054] which references only photographing a user and further Fig 5 wherein the entirety of a user’s face is measured). Furthermore, Anders discloses measurement of temperature “across” the face ([0012]), which is in essence a gradient of temperatures. A gradient of temperatures across the face is by definition measurement of different temperatures in a plurality of locations on the face that differ from one another. As such, it is unclear in which way the measurement of temperature disclosed by Anders differs from claims 1, 6, and 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791