DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0239273 to Berggren et al.
As concerns claim 13, a method for connection establishment, performed by a remote device, the method comprising:
communicating with a base station (Fig. 2, 110-Base Station) through a relay device (Fig. 2, 120-Relay), wherein the relay device is in a non-connected state (0031-second device in idle mode and not connected to the base station) with the base station, and the relay device communicates with the remote device via a sidelink (0065-remote terminal side-link message to relay device); and
sending connection-related information (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; 0029-0030-RRC connection request, resume request; 0065-relay request;) to the relay device,
wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicate a connection request (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; Fig. 3) from the remote device (Fig. 2, 130-Remote Terminal), and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request (0065-cause value, “relay”; 0016; Fig. 3, 306-resume).
As concerns claim 14, the method of claim 13, wherein sending the connection-related information to the relay device comprises:
sending the connection related information (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; Fig. 3) to the relay device through the sidelink (Fig. 2, 202; 0065-remote terminal side-link message to relay device).
As concerns claim 15, the method of claim 13, wherein the connection request comprises at least one of: a connection establishment request, a connection re-establishment request or a connection resumption request (Fig. 3, 306-resume).
As concerns claim 20, a remote device (Fig. 2, 130-Remote Terminal) comprising: a processor (0043; 0064-processing units); and a memory (0043-inherent for computing device to have memory) for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
As concerns claim 21, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a processor (0043; 0064-processing units) of a remote device (Fig. 2, 130-Remote Terminal), causes the remote device to perform the method of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, 18, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0239273 to Berggren et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0160951 to Lee et al.
Berggren et al. ‘273 disclose:
As concerns claim 1, a method for connection establishment, performed by a relay device, the method comprising:
receiving connection-related information (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; 0029-0030-RRC connection request, resume request; 0065-relay request) from a remote device (Fig. 2, 130-Remote Terminal), wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicate a connection request (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; Fig. 3) from the remote device and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request (0065-cause value, “relay”; 0016),
the relay device (Fig. 2, 120-Relay) is in a non-connected state (0031-second device in idle mode and not connected to the base station) with a base station (Fig. 2, 110-Base Station), and the relay device communicates with the remote device via a sidelink (0065-remote terminal side-link message to relay device); and
determining a second cause for performing a connection establishment or a connection resumption (Fig. 3, 306-setup or resume request) with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause.
As concerns claim 18, a relay device (Fig. 2, 120-Relay), comprising:
a processor (0043; 0064-processing units); and a memory (0043-inherent for computing device to have memory) for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:
receiving connection-related information (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; 0029-0030-RRC connection request, resume request; 0065-relay request) from a remote device (Fig. 2, 130-Remote Terminal), wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicate a connection request (0070-relay request received from remote terminal; Fig. 3) from the remote device and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request (0065-cause value, “relay”; 0016), the relay device is in a non-connected state (0031-second device in idle mode and not connected to the base station), with a base station (Fig. 2, 110-Base Station), and the relay device communicates with the remote device via a sidelink (0065-remote terminal side-link message to relay device) ; and
determining a second cause for performing a connection establishment or a connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause.
As concerns claim 19, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a processor (0043; 0064-processing units) of a relay device (Fig. 2, 120-Relay), caused the relay device to perform the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Berggren et al. ‘273 do not disclose:
determining a second cause.
Lee et al. ‘951 teach:
a second cause (0007-indicator indicating a purpose associated with the RRC connection request; 0100-purpose associated with RRC connection request; 0087-cause values; 0091-cause values, field value RRC, emergency, highpriorityaccess, mt-access, mo-signalling, mo-data; Additional causes: 0087-different cause values) for performing a connection establishment or connection resumption (0087-connection resumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Berggren et al. ‘273 with a cause value, as taught by Lee et al. ‘951, in order to distinguish between messages and limit number of messages (0087).
Lee et al. 951 further teach:
As concerns claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: in response to the connection establishment being triggered by the connection- related information from the remote device, the connection-related information indicating a connection resumption request of the remote device, and the first cause in the connection resumption request being a radio access network (RAN) area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure), determining that the second cause for performing the connection establishment with the base station by the relay device is a third cause (second cause being a “third” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the third cause is related to the RAN area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure).
As concerns claim 3, the method of claim 2, wherein the third cause is a user-initiated signaling (0006-0007-UE intends to connect, thus “user-initiated”).
As concerns claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: in response to the connection-related information indicating a connection re-establishment request of the remote device, determining that the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device is a fourth cause (second cause being a “fourth” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the fourth cause is related to a connection re-establishment (0087-RRC connection reestablishment request message).
As concerns claim 5, the method of claim 4, wherein the fourth cause is a user-initiated signaling (0006-0007-UE intends to connect, thus “user-initiated”).
As concerns claim 6, the method of claim 4, wherein the fourth cause is re-establishment (0087-RRC connection reestablishment request message).
As concerns claim 8, the method of claim 1, determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: determining the first cause as the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption (first cause being a “second” cause, is merely relabeling; 0087-connection resumption).
As concerns claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is relay (Fig. 5, “via relay”).
As concerns claim 11, the method of claim 10, wherein determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is the relay comprises: determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is relay (Fig. 5, “via relay”) for the remote device.
As concerns claim 12, the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending the second cause to the base station while sending a connection establishment request or a connection resumption request (0087-RRC connection resumption request) to the base station.
As concerns claim 22, the relay device of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to the connection establishment being triggered by the connection- related information from the remote device, the connection-related information indicating a connection resumption request of the remote device, and the first cause in the connection resumption request being a radio access network (RAN) area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure), determine that the reason second cause for performing the connection establishment with the base station by the relay device is a third cause (second cause being a “third” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the third cause is related to the RAN area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0239273 to Berggren et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0160951 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0100123 to Liang.
Berggren et al. ‘273 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises:
determining a service type corresponding to the connection request of the remote device indicated by the connection-related information; and
determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption according to the service type.
Liang ‘123 teach:
As concerns claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises:
determining a service type (0011-access category) corresponding to the connection request of the remote device indicated by the connection-related information; and
determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption according to the service type (0011-mapping between access category and connection establishment reason).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Berggren et al. ‘273 with a service type, as taught by Liang ‘123, in order to provide service specific control (0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the newly amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451