DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0394807 to Xu et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0160951 to Lee et al.
Xu et al. ‘807 disclose:
As concerns claim 1, a method for connection establishment, performed by a relay device (Fig. 5, 106), the method comprising:
receiving connection-related information (Fig. 5, 502) from a remote device (Fig. 5, 107), wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicate a connection request (Fig. 5, 502 radio resource control procedure; Fig. 9-RRC connection request) from the remote device and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request; and
determining a second cause for performing a connection establishment or a connection resumption with a base station (Fig. 5, 102 Base station) by the relay device (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 9) according to the first cause.
As concerns claim 13, a method for connection establishment, performed by a remote device, the method comprising:
communicating with a base station (Fig. 5, 102 Base station) through a relay device (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 9); and
sending connection-related information (Fig. 5, 502 radio resource control procedure; Fig. 9-RRC connection request) to the relay device,
wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicated a connection request (Fig. 5, 502 radio resource control procedure; Fig. 9-RRC connection request) from the remote device (Fig. 5, 107), and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request.
As concerns claim 14, the method of claim 13, wherein sending the connection-related information to the relay device comprises:
in response to the relay device being in a non-connected state, sending the connection related information to the relay device through a sidelink (0120).
As concerns claim 18, a relay device (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 9), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3, 302); and a memory (Fig. 3, 306) for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:
receiving connection-related information (Fig. 5, 502 radio resource control procedure; Fig. 9-RRC connection request) from a remote device (Fig. 5, 107), wherein the connection-related information is configured to indicate a connection request (Fig. 5, 502 radio resource control procedure; Fig. 9-RRC connection request) from the remote device and the connection-related information comprises a first cause of the connection request; and
determining a second cause for performing a connection establishment or a connection resumption with a base station (Fig. 5, 102 Base station) by the relay device (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 9) according to the first cause.
As concerns claim 19, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 3, 302) of a relay device (Fig. 5, 106; Fig. 9), caused the relay device to perform the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
As concerns claim 20, a remote device (Fig. 5, 107) comprising: a processor (Fig. 3, 302); and a memory (306) for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
As concerns claim 21, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 3, 302) of a remote device (Fig. 5, 107), causes the remote device to perform the method of claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Xu et al. ‘807 do not disclose:
a first cause of the connection request and a second cause for performing a connection establishment or connection resumption.
Lee et al. ‘951 teach:
a first cause (0007-indicator indicating a purpose associated with the RRC connection request; 0100-purpose associated with RRC connection request; 0087-cause values; 0091-cause values, field value RRC, emergency, highpriorityaccess, mt-access, mo-signalling, mo-data) of the connection request and a second cause (0087-different cause values) for performing a connection establishment or connection resumption (0087-connection resumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Xu et al. ‘807 with a cause value, as taught by Lee et al. ‘951, in order to distinguish between messages and limit number of messages (0087).
Lee et al. 951 further teach:
As concerns claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: in response to the connection establishment being triggered by the connection- related information from the remote device, the connection-related information indicating a connection resumption request of the remote device, and the first cause in the connection resumption request being a radio access network (RAN) area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure), determining that the second cause for performing the connection establishment with the base station by the relay device is a third cause (second cause being a “third” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the third cause is related to the RAN area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure).
As concerns claim 3, the method of claim 2, wherein the third cause is a user-initiated signaling (0006-0007-UE intends to connect, thus “user-initiated”).
As concerns claim 4, determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: in response to the connection-related information indicating a connection re-establishment request of the remote device, determining that the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device is a fourth cause (second cause being a “fourth” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the fourth cause is related to a connection re-establishment (0087-RRC connection reestablishment request message).
As concerns claim 5, the method of claim 4, wherein the fourth cause is a user-initiated signaling (0006-0007-UE intends to connect, thus “user-initiated”).
As concerns claim 6, the method of claim 4, wherein the fourth cause is re-establishment (0087-RRC connection reestablishment request message).
As concerns claim 8, the method of claim 1, determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: determining the first cause as the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption (first cause being a “second” cause, is merely relabeling; 0087-connection resumption ).
As concerns claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises: determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is relay (Fig. 5, “via relay”).
As concerns claim 11, the method of claim 10, wherein determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is the relay comprises: determining that the second cause for performing by the relay device the connection establishment or the connection resumption is relay (Fig. 5, “via relay”) for the remote device.
As concerns claim 12, the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending the second cause to the base station while sending a connection establishment request or a connection resumption request (0087-RRC connection resumption request) to the base station.
As concerns claim 15, the method of claim 13, wherein the connection request comprises at least one of: a connection establishment request, a connection re-establishment request or a connection resumption request (0087).
As concerns claim 22, the relay device of claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to: in response to the connection establishment being triggered by the connection- related information from the remote device, the connection-related information indicating a connection resumption request of the remote device, and the first cause in the connection resumption request being a radio access network (RAN) area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure), determine that the reason second cause for performing the connection establishment with the base station by the relay device is a third cause (second cause being a “third” cause, is merely relabeling), wherein the third cause is related to the RAN area update (0087-RAN notification area update procedure).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0394807 to Xu et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0160951 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0100123 to Liang.
Xu et al. ‘807 as modified do not disclose:
As concerns claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises:
determining a service type corresponding to the connection request of the remote device indicated by the connection-related information; and
determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption according to the service type.
Liang ‘123 teach:
As concerns claim 9, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption with the base station by the relay device according to the first cause comprises:
determining a service type (0011-access category) corresponding to the connection request of the remote device indicated by the connection-related information; and
determining the second cause for performing the connection establishment or the connection resumption according to the service type (0011-mapping between access category and connection establishment reason).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Xu et al. ‘807 with a service type, as taught by Liang ‘123, in order to provide service specific control (0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 23, 2025 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the newly amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451