DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 4 and 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 1: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed “an expression (i)” with “an Expression (i)” to be consistent with “Expression (i)” recited later in the same claim.
As to Claim 4: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed “chromatograph” with the term “chromatography”.
As to Claim 9: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed phrase “obtained by employing” with the new phrase “obtained by crosslinking” consistent with paragraph [0084] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0042800.
As to Claim 10: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed phrase “are formed using the polymer composition” with the new phrase “are formed from the polymer composition”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1: It recites, among other thing, “composition ratio (molar ratio)” (Emphasis added). It is not clear from the cited claim or the present specification whether or not “molar ratio” is required by the claim due to the use of the parenthesis.
It is further noted that since claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1, they are rejected along with claim 1 because they incorporate all the limitations of claim 1, including those that are indefinite for the reasons provided above.
Accordingly, the scope of these claims is deemed indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADACHI et al. (WO 2020/02039841; utilized US 2022/02513512 as its English Equivalent) in view of Minagoshi et al. (US 2003/0069345).
It is noted that ADACHI et al. (WO 2020/0203984) is used for date purposes, and all paragraph numbers cited below refer to its English equivalent, namely US 2022/0251351 since WO 2020/0203984 is in Japanese.
As to Claims 1-10: ADACHI et al. disclose a polymer composition comprising a rubber component containing a conjugated diene-based polymer (A), wherein the polymer satisfies formula (i) when a composition ratio (molar ratio) of structural units represented by formulae (1)-(4) are p, q, r, and s, respectively, a value α represented by formula (i) of 0.80 or more and 0.97 or less:
(Paragraphs [0008]-[0011] and see also abstract). The value α of 0.80 or more and 0.97 or less taught by ADACHI et al. overlap with that presently claimed, i.e., 0.75 ≤ (p+(0.5 x r))/(p + q + (0.5 x r) + s) ≤ 0.95. ADACHI et al. also disclose that the polymer is used in an amount of 10% by mass or more (Paragraph [0009]), which overlaps with the amount of 50% by mass or more recited in present claim 2, has a glass transition temperature of -25°C or lower (Paragraph [0063]), which is encompassed by the glass transition temperature of -40°C or lower recited in claim 3, and a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 1.0x105 to 2.0 x106 in terms of polystyrene measured by gel permeation chromatography (Paragraph [0062]). ADACHI et al. further disclose that their composition also contains at least one thermally expandable component selected from the group consisting of a foaming agent, thermally expandable microcapsules, and thermally expandable graphite (Paragraph [0067]) as required by present claim 6, a crosslinking agent (Paragraph [0077]) as required by claim 8, and various reinforcing fillers including carbon black and silica (Paragraph [0069]) as required by present claim 7. Moreover, ADACHI et al. disclose that their composition is used to prepare a cross-linked product such a tire in which one or both of a tread and a sidewall (Paragraphs [0084] and [0085]).
However, ADACHI et al. do not specifically mention the addition of a filler having a Mohs hardness of 5 or more in their composition useful for preparing tires as required by the claims of the present application. They also do not specify this filler as including alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond as required by present claim 5.
Nevertheless, Minagoshi et al. disclose the use of fillers including those having a Moh’s hardness of at least 5, such as alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond, in a composition useful for preparing a tire having a tread with improved performances on icy and snowy roads (Paragraphs [0009], [0011] and [0019]-[0021]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fillers having the claimed Mohs hardness of 5 or more including alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond taught by Minagoshi et al. in the composition of ADACHI et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a tire having a tread with improved performances on icy and snowy roads.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,479,982 (hereinafter referred to as “the patent”) in view of Minagoshi et al. (US 2003/0069345).
The claims of the patent and the present application are directed to a crosslinked product obtained from a polymer composition that comprises a conjugated diene-based polymer and a crosslinking agent. The claims of the patent and the present application also recite that its cross-linked product is used to prepare a tire comprising a tread and/or sidewall. The claims of the patent also recite that the conjugated diene-based polymer comprises a polymer that satisfies an expression when composition ratios (molar ratios) in the conjugated diene-based polymer of structural units represented by formulae (1)-(4) are p, q, r, and s, respectively, a value α represented by formula (i) of 0.80 or more and 0.97 or less:
The value α of 0.80 or more and 0.97 or less recited in the patent overlap with that presently claimed, i.e., 0.75 ≤ (p+(0.5 x r))/(p + q + (0.5 x r) + s) ≤ 0.95. The claims of the patent further recite that the polymer is used in an amount of 10% by mass or more (which overlaps with the amount of 50% by mass or more recited in present claim 2) and has a glass transition temperature of -45°C or lower (which overlaps with the glass transition temperature of -40°C or lower recited in claim 3). See MPEP section 2144.05 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
However, the claims of the patent do not specifically mention the addition of a filler having a Mohs hardness of 5 or more as required by the claims of the present application. They also do not specify this filler as including alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond, as required by present claim 5.
Nevertheless, Minagoshi et al. disclose the use of fillers including those having a Moh’s hardness of at least 5, such as alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond in a composition useful for preparing a tire having a tread with improved performances on icy and snowy roads (Paragraphs [0009], [0011] and [0019]-[0021]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fillers having the claimed Mohs hardness of 5 or more including alumina, silicon carbide, boron carbide and diamond taught by Minagoshi et al. in the composition of the patent, with a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a tire having a tread with improved performances on icy and snowy roads.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764
1 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 06/06/2023.
2 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 06/06/2023.