DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “and/or” in claims 1, 3, 9, 11, and 14-15 should read “or”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“a mobility in the tank when activated… one or more of magnetic and ferromagnetic elements; a configuration to impart the mechanical effect to said liquid food substance in the tank by rotating in the tank at a rotational speed; a configuration to impart the mechanical effect to said liquid food substance in the tank substantially permanently when the heating surface heats said liquid food substance in the tank; and a configuration to impart the mechanical effect to said liquid food substance in the tank prior to activating the heating surface” in claim 13
“at least one obstacle that interferes with a flow of said liquid food substance in the tank during processing; and a central axis that forms a central axis of a or said processing cavity of the tank which processing cavity contains the liquid food substance during processing” in claim 14
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit connected to the temperature sensor and configured to control an activation of: the agitator to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation in claim 3 is lacking support in the specification, because this limitation includes multiple complex functions and structure, such as “an evolution of the sensed run-off temperature”, “a loop-control mechanism”, “account variations of temperatures”. It appear requires specific algorithms and structures. However, the specification only discloses the substantially same content of the claim language, without any details of the corresponding algorithms and structures.
Claims 3, 5-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation in claim 3 is indefinite, because it is unclear what is required for “an evolution of the sensed run-off temperature”, “a loop-control mechanism”, “account variations of temperatures”. The specification does not provide any details of how to perform the functions and what is required for the structure.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation of claim 3 is interpreted to the control unit is configured to determined the run-off time by the sensed run-off temperature.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "for instance" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “changes over time at a rate that is below a threshold value, for instance a threshold value that is below 0.5° C./sec” is interpreted to “changes over time at a rate that is below a threshold value, the threshold value that is below 0.5° C./sec”.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation in claim 6 is indefinite, because it is contradicted with the limitation of claim 1, such as the run-off time is the time that deactivating the agitator and is before the time of the heating surface is deactivated; on the other hand, claim 6 defines the run-off temperature is after the heating surface is deactivated. Hence, the definition of “run-off time” is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the term “run-off time” is understood to be the definition on claim 1.
Regarding claims 7, the claim are rejected due to their dependency on an indefinite claim as shown above.
Regarding claims 11, the limitation in claim 11 is indefinite. It is unclear what kind of parament the phrases “different levels” and “different profiles of activation” refer to, temperature? Frequency? Current? Power? The metes and bounds of the limitation is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the term “different levels” is understood to different levels of temperature.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 2, the scope of the limitation is broader than claim 1. Therefore, the limitation of claim 2 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helf (US 2018/0368621).
Regarding claim 1, Helf teaches a machine comprising:
a tank (cavity 21) for containing and processing a liquid food substance (see para.[0068], cavity 21 is capable to contain and process a liquid food substance.);
an agitator (agitator 4) for imparting a mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0068] “an agitator 4 for generating a flow of the food substance.”);
a heating surface (heating surface 6) configured to be in contact with and heating said liquid food substance in the tank (see fig.1, heating surface 6 is capable to contact and heating liquid food substance in cavity 21.);
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) for directly or indirectly sensing a temperature of the heating surface and/or of said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”); and
a control unit (control unit 8) connected to the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) and configured to control an activation of:
the agitator (agitator 4) to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface (heating surface 6) to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6, such as their operation.),
wherein to deactivate the agitator and the heating surface, the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later to deactivate the agitator at an end of a run-off time determined by the control unit based on a run-off temperature that is sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and that is acquired by the control unit (See para.[0101] “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”).
Regarding claim 2, Helf teaches the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) is configured to sense a temperature of a part in thermal communication with said liquid food substance in the tank. (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”)
Regarding claim 3, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to determine the run-off time: by the sensed run-off temperature as such; and by taking further into account variations of temperatures sensed by the temperature sensor prior to deactivating the heating surface (see para.[0028] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.”).
Regarding claim 4, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to continuously acquire the run-off temperature sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface is deactivated (see para.[0028] and [0060] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” Hence, Helf teaches the control unit controls the motor based on the sensed temperature after heating surface is deactivated, which implies the control unit is configured to continuously acquire sensed temperature.).
Regarding claim 8, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and acquired by the control unit reaches a predetermined processing threshold value after the heating surface has been activated (see para.[0028], [0060], and [0101] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” See para “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”. Hence, the control unit is capable to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator when a temperature reaches a predetermined processing threshold value.)
Regarding claim 9, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator after a predetermined period of time after the control unit has activated the heating surface and/or the agitator (See para.[0101] “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”).
Regarding claim 10, Helf teaches the control unit has a safety mode in which the unit is configured to deactivate: the agitator when reaching a cool-off safety time after the heating surface has been deactivated; and the agitator and the heating surface when reaching a processing safety time after the agitator and the heating surface have been activated (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6 when reaching a certain time.).
Regarding claim 11, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to activate the agitator and/or the heating surface to reach different levels and/or to follow different profiles of activation during processing (See para.[0084] “The speed of agitator 4 may be changed between the above indicated speeds 41,42 when reaching a corresponding predetermined temperature threshold.”).
Regarding claim 12, Helf teaches a powered chamber containing the control unit (control unit 8) with a user-interface (user-interface 80) (See fig.1)
Regarding claim 13, Helf teaches the agitator has a mobility in the tank when activated (See para.[0035] “The agitator typically rotates about an axis of rotation”)
Regarding claim 14, Helf teaches a movable or removable lid (lid; see the annotation of fig.1) for closing a mouth of the tank via which mouth said liquid food substance is supplied into and/or dispensed out of the tank (See fig.1);
Regarding claim 15, Helf teaches a method for preventing or inhibiting burning of a liquid food substance, such as milk or a milk-based substance, at an end of processing in a tank of a machine comprising:
a tank (cavity 21) for containing and processing a liquid food substance (see para.[0068], cavity 21 is capable to contain and process a liquid food substance.);
an agitator (agitator 4) for imparting a mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0068] “an agitator 4 for generating a flow of the food substance.”);
a heating surface (heating surface 6) configured to be in contact with and heating said liquid food substance in the tank (see fig.1, heating surface 6 is capable to contact and heating liquid food substance in cavity 21.);
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) for directly or indirectly sensing a temperature of the heating surface and/or of said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”); and
a control unit (control unit 8) connected to the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) and configured to control an activation of:
the agitator (agitator 4) to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface (heating surface 6) to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6, such as their operation.),
wherein to deactivate the agitator and the heating surface, the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later to deactivate the agitator at an end of a run-off time determined by the control unit based on a run-off temperature that is sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and that is acquired by the control unit comprising the steps of: deactivating said heating surface; and then acquiring by the control unit the run-off temperature sensed by the sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and determining by the control unit said end of the run-off time based on the run-off temperature; and then deactivating by the control unit the agitator at the end of the of the run-off time. (see para.[0028], [0060], and [0101] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.” Hence, Helf teaches the control unit deactivating and heating surface, continuously acquire sensed temperature, and then deactivating the agitator.)
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761