DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
With respect to the claim objections, applicant amended claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 14-15 filed on 04/27/2026, which overcome the claim objection. Therefore the claim objections are withdrawn.
With respect to drawing objection, applicant amended claims 13-14 filed on 04/27/2026, which overcome the drawing objection. Therefore the drawing objection is withdrawn. However, new drawing objection is raised due to the claim amendment.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Reference [0027] of the application publication discloses “The control unit can be configured to determine the run-off time: by the sensed run-off temperature as such and/or by an evolution of the sensed run-off temperature that correspond(s) to (a) threshold value(s) or by a loop-control mechanism depending on the sensed run-off temperature, e.g. of a proportional and/or derivative and/or integrative type, e.g. linked to the control of the agitator; and/or by taking further into account variations of temperatures sensed by the temperature sensor prior to deactivating the heating surface”, which merely discloses the substantially same thing as the limitation. The actual algorithms of how the structure perform the function and the corresponding structures of “proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism”.
Therefore the claim rejection under 112(a) is respectfully maintained.
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), applicant amended claims makes the rejection moot. Therefore the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C.112(b) are withdrawn. However, new claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.112(b) is raised due to the claim amendment.
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), applicant’s argument is persuasive. Therefore the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C.112(d) is withdrawn.
With respect to the prior-art rejection, Applicant's arguments filed on 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Helf does not disclose that the control unit is configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface”.
Examiner respectfully disagree. Reference Helf discloses every limitation in claim 1. Paragraph [0069] discloses “a control unit 8 connected to a user-interface 80 for controlling device 20”, and device 20 comprises a heating surface 6 and an agitator 4. Hence, control unit 8 teaches the operation of device 20; wherein the operation of device 20 is inherently comprising the most basic activate/deactivate function. Therefore, Control unit 8 is capable to the deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface. In addition, Paragraph [0069] discloses “an electric heater 6′ for heating heating surface 6, e.g. an electric heater 6′ in the form of a printed resistor circuit or thick film heater or an inductively heated member; a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6; and an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81”, which clearly indicate that Control unit 8 is capable to the deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface based on temperature sensed by temperature sensor. Therefore the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“a proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism” in claim 3
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit connected to the temperature sensor and configured to control an activation of: the agitator to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the control unit is configured to determine the run-off time by the sensed run-off temperature as such by a proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism depending on the sensed run-off temperature” lacking support in the specification, because this limitation includes multiple complex functions and structure. It appear requires specific algorithms and structures. However, the specification only discloses the substantially same content of the claim language, without any details of the corresponding algorithms and structures.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the control unit is configured to determine the run-off time by the sensed run-off temperature as such by a proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism depending on the sensed run-off temperature” is indefinite. 1) The structure and the function of the proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism. 2) It is unclear how the function of “determine the run-off time” is performed by the control unit.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “different temperature levels, different temperature profiles” is indefinite. The definition of “different temperature profiles” is unclear and the difference between “different temperature profiles” and “different temperature levels” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helf (US 2018/0368621).
Regarding claim 1, Helf teaches a machine comprising:
a tank (cavity 21) for containing and processing a liquid food substance (see para.[0068], cavity 21 is capable to contain and process a liquid food substance.);
an agitator (agitator 4) for imparting a mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0068] “an agitator 4 for generating a flow of the food substance.”);
a heating surface (heating surface 6) configured to be in contact with and heating said liquid food substance in the tank (see fig.1, heating surface 6 is capable to contact and heating liquid food substance in cavity 21.);
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) for directly or indirectly sensing a temperature of the heating surface or of said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”); and
a control unit (control unit 8) connected to the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) and configured to control an activation of:
the agitator (agitator 4) to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface (heating surface 6) to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6, such as their operation.),
wherein to deactivate the agitator and the heating surface, the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later to deactivate the agitator at an end of a run-off time determined by the control unit based on a run-off temperature that is sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and that is acquired by the control unit (See para.[0101] “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”).
Regarding claim 2, Helf teaches the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) is configured to sense a temperature of a part in thermal communication with said liquid food substance in the tank. (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”)
Regarding claim 3, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to determine the run-off time by the sensed run-off temperature as such by a proportional-integral-derivative loop-control mechanism depending on the sensed run-off temperature (see para.[0028] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.”)
Regarding claim 4, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to continuously acquire the run-off temperature sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface is deactivated (see para.[0028] and [0060] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” Hence, Helf teaches the control unit controls the motor based on the sensed temperature after heating surface is deactivated, which implies the control unit is configured to continuously acquire sensed temperature.).
Regarding claim 8, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and acquired by the control unit reaches a predetermined processing threshold value after the heating surface has been activated (see para.[0028], [0060], and [0101] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” See para “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”. Hence, the control unit is capable to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator when a temperature reaches a predetermined processing threshold value.)
Regarding claim 9, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later the agitator after a predetermined period of time after the control unit has activated the heating surface or the agitator (See para.[0101] “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.”).
Regarding claim 10, Helf teaches the control unit has a safety mode in which the unit is configured to deactivate: the agitator when reaching a cool-off safety time after the heating surface has been deactivated; and the agitator and the heating surface when reaching a processing safety time after the agitator and the heating surface have been activated (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6 when reaching a certain time.).
Regarding claim 11, Helf teaches the control unit is configured to activate the agitator or the heating surface to reach different temperature levels, different temperature profiles, or different agitator speeds during processing (See para.[0084] “The speed of agitator 4 may be changed between the above indicated speeds 41,42 when reaching a corresponding predetermined temperature threshold.”).
Regarding claim 12, Helf teaches a powered chamber containing the control unit (control unit 8) with a user-interface (user-interface 80) (See fig.1)
Regarding claim 13, Helf teaches a magnetic coupling (magnetic coupling 50) coupled with a motor (motor 52) to drive the agitator (agitator 4).
Regarding claim 14, Helf teaches a movable or removable lid (lid; see the annotation of fig.1) for closing a mouth of the tank via which mouth said liquid food substance is supplied into and/or dispensed out of the tank (See fig.1);
Regarding claim 15, Helf teaches a method for preventing or inhibiting burning of a liquid food substance, such as milk or a milk-based substance, at an end of processing in a tank of a machine comprising:
a tank (cavity 21) for containing and processing a liquid food substance (see para.[0068], cavity 21 is capable to contain and process a liquid food substance.);
an agitator (agitator 4) for imparting a mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0068] “an agitator 4 for generating a flow of the food substance.”);
a heating surface (heating surface 6) configured to be in contact with and heating said liquid food substance in the tank (see fig.1, heating surface 6 is capable to contact and heating liquid food substance in cavity 21.);
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) for directly or indirectly sensing a temperature of the heating surface or of said liquid food substance in the tank (see para.[0069] “a temperature sensor 81 for sensing a temperature of heating surface 6”); and
a control unit (control unit 8) connected to the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 81) and configured to control an activation of:
the agitator (agitator 4) to impart the mechanical effect on said liquid food substance in the tank; and the heating surface (heating surface 6) to heat said liquid food substance in the tank, the control unit being configured to deactivate the agitator and to deactivate the heating surface (see para.[0069] “an electric motor 52 for driving agitator 4, such as a motor having an output axle 51 and a magnetic coupling 50 for driving magnetically agitator 4. For example, chamber 5 contains a control unit 8 controlling the powering of motor 52 and of electric heater 6′ e.g. based on a timer and/or a temperature sensed by temperature sensor 81.” Hence, control unit 8 is capable to control the operation of the agitator 4 and heating surface 6, such as their operation.),
wherein to deactivate the agitator and the heating surface, the control unit is configured to deactivate the heating surface and then later to deactivate the agitator at an end of a run-off time determined by the control unit based on a run-off temperature that is sensed by the temperature sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and that is acquired by the control unit comprising the steps of: deactivating said heating surface; and then acquiring by the control unit the run-off temperature sensed by the sensor after the heating surface has been deactivated and determining by the control unit said end of the run-off time based on the run-off temperature; and then deactivating by the control unit the agitator at the end of the of the run-off time. (see para.[0028], [0060], and [0101] “a control unit controlling the powering of the motor and of the electric heater e.g. based on a timer and/or the temperature sensor.” “Maintaining the agitator in movement after the heating surface is no more heated, e.g. because the target temperature has been reached, will provide the release of heat (that is at a maximum) from the heating surface into the food substance with no or minimal local overheating.” “Agitator 4 may be moved prior to heating of the heating surface 6, such as for a period of time of 3 to sec, e.g. 5 to 10 sec, before the heating of the heating surface; and/or after heating of the heating surface has ended, such as for a period of time of 0.1 to 5 sec, e.g. 0.5 to 2.5 sec., after the heating has ended.” Hence, Helf teaches the control unit deactivating and heating surface, continuously acquire sensed temperature, and then deactivating the agitator.)
Regarding claim 16, Helf teaches the agitator has mobility in the tank when activated (see para.[0035] “The agitator typically rotates about an axis of rotation”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761