Response to Election/Restriction filed on August 4,2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-5, 15-26, 28-32, 34, 36-37 and 46-48 are pending in this application.
No foreign priority
Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 (claims 1, 3-5, 15-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37) and election with traverse of the species for the FULLY DEFINED compound of formula I:
in the reply filed on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not explained how the specifically claimed compound of formula Ama-R1 fails to make a contribution over the cited reference, nor has the Examiner identified any teaching in Nixon et al. of the particular structural features recited in the claims. This is not found persuasive because instant claims and elected invention is drawn to a compound of formula I. Nixon et al (US 2017/0360954) teach formula (I)
wherein the formula (I) encompasses instant formula I and the elected species
. Nixon et al teach the same compound of formula I. Therefore, the lack of unity of invention has been established. Furthermore, in regard to the election of species and the species lacking unity, the species for example of a linker moiety lack unity of species since the linkers do not share a common core structure/sequence due to the different type of linkers (i.e., stable linker vs cleavable linker vs self-immolating moiety). Therefore, the lack of unity of species has been established. Applicant did not elect a species of a linker. The Examiner has elected to search a cleavable linker and the species was found in the art previously cited.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 46-48 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 16, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to nonelected species found in the art. Claims 1, 3-5, 15, 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Non-compliant amendment
The claim amendment filed on December 19, 2023 is non-compliant. The claim filed on June 6. 2023 had the following for claims 1 and 2:
. In the claim amendment filed on December 19, 2023, claim 2 had been incorporated into claim 1 and claim 2 has been cancelled as follows:
. Claim 1 amendment is non-compliant since the figure I (the structure) is not underlined. Additionally, the structure of formula I of claim filed on June 6, 2023 is
and structure of formula I of claim filed on December 19, 2023 is
. Thus, in the claim amendment filed on December 19, 2023, the structure of formula I is attached to a line, while the structure of formula I of claim filed on June 6, 2023 has a free methyl. Therefore, the structure of formula I in the claim amendment is different than the structure of formula I in the claim 2 filed on 6/6/2023. Therefore, the amendment filed on December 19, 2023 is non-compliant. Applicant is required to correct these errors in response to this office action.
Objections
6. The abstract is objected to for the following minor informality:
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
In the instant case, the abstract recites, “This application relates to amatoxin analogs...” at line 1 of the abstract. Further, at line 6, the abstract recites, "The application also relates to uses of such..." Applicant should correct these informalities. See MPEP 608.01(b). For example, the abstract at line 1 may be amended to recite, “Amatoxin analogs…are described.”
7. The drawings are objected to because some of the figures are missing the X and/or Y axis labels (see for example, FIGS. 1-8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
8. Claim 1 is objected to for the following:
. Claim 1 recites that R1 is not OH at line 3 and line 7 of the claim. Therefore, it appears that R1 is redundant. Applicant is required to correct this error.
Rejections
U.S.C. 112(b)
10. Claims 1, 3-5, 15, 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
11. Claim 1 recites:
. It is unclear if the R1 recited at lines 1-3 in the preamble of the claim is the same as the R1 recited at line 7 (after the structure of Formula I). Because claims 3-5, 15, 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 depend from indefinite claim 1 without clarifying the point of confusion, these claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted that R1 is the same throughout claim 1.
12. Claims 15, 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites, “A compound-linker construct, comprising: the compound of claim 1 coupled to a linker, wherein the linker comprises a reactive group R10 for conjugating the compound-linker construct to a target-binding moiety.” The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Claim 15 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites the following:
. It is unclear where the linker is attached to the compound of formula I. A clear definition of the structure of the compound-linker structure is not defined. Because claims 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 depend from indefinite claim 15 without clarifying the point of confusion, these claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
13. Claim 24 recites, “The compound-linker construct of claim 22, wherein Ama comprises a…moiety and the linker is coupled to the compound via a cyclic acetal obtained from reaction of the hydroxyl groups of the…” Claim 24 recites both a product and a method. Inventions. A claim cannot have more than one invention. Therefore, claim 24 has been interpreted as a product claim.
14. Claims 25 and 28, “The compound-linker construct of claim 24, wherein R1 is -CN” (claim 25) and “The compound-linker construct of claim 15, wherein R1 is -NH2” (claim 28). It is unclear what R1 Applicant is referring to. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. Applicant is required to clearly define what R1 is referring to.
15. Claim 30 recites the limitation "wherein n is 4" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 30 depends from claim 15. Claim 15 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites
. Claim 1 does not recite a variable “n” in the claim. Therefore, there is lack of antecedent basis.
U.S.C. 102
18. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 15, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nixon et al (US 2017/0360954, cited in the previous office action).
19. Nixon et al teach a compound of formula that encompasses instant formula I
(see paragraphs [0035]-[0050], [0142]-[0171], for example). This is the same as instant formula I wherein R9 of Nixon is H, ORC or ORD, X of Nixon is -S-, -S(O)- or -SO2-, and R2 of Nixon is H, OH, ORC or ORD. This meets the limitation of instant claims 1 and 3-4. Nixon et al further teach that conjugates may include a linker between the two molecules bond to one another. Examples of linkers that can be used…include peptide-containing linkers…a linker may be cleaved, for example, by enzymatic hydrolysis, photolysis, hydrolysis under acidic conditions, hydrolysis under basic conditions, oxidation, disulfide reduction…(see paragraph [0283] for example), meeting the limitation of instant claims 15, 17 and 19. Because Nixon et al teach ALL of the active components of instant claims, Nixon et al anticipates instant claims 1, 3-4, 15, 17 and 19.
20. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 15, 17, 19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (EP 3735987, filed with IDS).
21. Zhu et al teach a toxin conjugate of structural formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(see paragraphs [0006]-[0007]). Since the R1 of the compound of structural formula (I) of Zhu et al is not OH, and the conjugate comprises a cleavable or non-cleavable linker comprising, for example,
, this meets the limitation of instant claims 1, 3-4, 15, 17, 19 and 21-22.
U.S.C. 103
26. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 15, 17, 19 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz et al (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 6/7/2020, 59: 11390-11393, filed with IDS) in view of Nixon et al (US 2017/0360954, cited in the previous office action) and Zhu et al (EP 3735987, filed with IDS).
27. Lutz et al teach alpha and beta amanitin
(amatoxin analogs) (see Scheme 1). Lutz et al teach a method for the total synthesis of an amatoxin of instant claim 1.
The difference between Lutz et al and instant claims is that Lutz et al does not teach R1 is not OH (as can be seen from the structure above, R1 is OH in Lutz et al).
28. However, Nixon et al teach
(see paragraphs [0035]-[0050], [0142]-[0171], for example).
29. Additionally, Zhu et al teach
(see paragraphs [0006]-[0007], for example). Zhu et al teach that the conjugates are stable in blood plasma and decomposes into a drug as an active ingredient in a specific biological environment, thereby maximizing the activity on target cells and minimizing toxic side effects on non-target cells (see abstract, for example).
30. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lutz et al, Nixon et al and Zhu et al to arrive at the amatoxin analogs of instant formula I, since all of the references teach amatoxin analogs and method of making the analogs. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success, since both Nixon et al and Zhu et al teach that R1 is not OH, and Zhu et al teach that conjugates can be made with a cleavable and non-cleavable linker. Zhu et al further teach that the conjugates are stable in blood plasma and decomposes into a drug as an active ingredient in a specific biological environment, thereby maximizing the activity on target cells and minimizing toxic side effects on non-target cells. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would make the amatoxin analogs wherein R1 is not OH and conjugates comprising different linkers, including
, with a reasonable expectation that these analogs will be more stable.
DOUBLE PATENTING
32. Claims 1, 3-5, 15, 17, 19, 21-26, 28-32, 34 and 36-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,544,419 in view of Nixon et al (US 2017/0360954, cited in the previous office action) and Zhu et al (EP 3735987, filed with IDS).
33. Instant claims are drawn to:
.
34. US Patent claims are drawn to:
.
The difference between the US Patent claims and instant claims is that in the instant claims R1 is not OH.
35. However, Nixon et al teach a compound of formula that encompasses instant formula I
(see paragraphs [0035]-[0050], [0142]-[0171], for example). This is the same as instant formula I wherein R9 of Nixon is H, ORC or ORD, X of Nixon is -S-, -S(O)- or -SO2-, and R2 of Nixon is H, OH, ORC or ORD. This meets the limitation of instant claims 1 and 3-4. Nixon et al further teach that conjugates may include a linker between the two molecules bond to one another. Examples of linkers that can be used…include peptide-containing linkers…a linker may be cleaved, for example, by enzymatic hydrolysis, photolysis, hydrolysis under acidic conditions, hydrolysis under basic conditions, oxidation, disulfide reduction…(see paragraph [0283] for example).
36. Further, Zhu et al teach a toxin conjugate of structural formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof:
(see paragraphs [0006]-[0007]). Since the R1 of the compound of structural formula (I) of Zhu et al is not OH, and the conjugate comprises a cleavable or non-cleavable linker comprising, for example,
. Zhu et al teach that the conjugates are stable in blood plasma and decomposes into a drug as an active ingredient in a specific biological environment, thereby maximizing the activity on target cells and minimizing toxic side effects on non-target cells (see abstract, for example).
37. Therefore, since both Nixon et al and Zhu et al teach amatoxin analogs wherein R1 is not OH, and conjugates thereof, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make analogs wherein R1 is not OH. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the analogs wherein R1 is not OH, since both Nixon et al and Zhu et al teach that it is successful and altering the R1 will not alter the activity of the amatoxin analogs.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
9/2/2026