DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 08/14/2025 has been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14-15, 17-20, and 23-24 remain pending, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14-15, 17-20, and 23 have been amended, claims 6, 8-11, 16 are canceled, and claims 25-27 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objections
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states page 11 through page 13:
“Applicant has amended FIG. 1 to show the tuning and matching knob, and has amended FIG. 3 to show the adjusting screw rods of claim 7, the display interaction device 20 and the tuning and matching control device 30. Regarding the channel switching area of claim 6, please view the original FIG. 6 and the original FIG. 7 at the same time. The original FIG. 6 is a schematic display diagram illustrating a display panel, and the original FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram illustrating functional segmentation of a display panel. FIG. 6 and FIG, 7 corresponds to each other. The upper left region of FIG. 6 shows the coordinate system and curve (i.e., tuning and matching data), corresponding to the upper left region 221 of FIG. 7. The upper right area of FIG. 6 shows T1,M1, T2, M2 prompt icons, corresponding to the prompt area 223 of the upper right of FIG. 7. The lower region of FIG. 6 shows the [Stop tunning], [Next channel], [Previous channel], and [Exit tuning] buttons. According to paragraphs [0051] and [0057] of the specification as filed, it can be seen that the operation area used to operate and control the start, stop and switch of the tuning matching corresponds to the operation area 222 of below FIG. 7. In paragraph [0051] of the specification as filed, it is mentioned that "the channel selection button can be located in the channel switching area." [Next channel] and [Previous channel] buttons in FIG. 6 are "the channel selection buttons. It is understood that the area of the [Next channel] and [Previous channel] buttons in FIG. 6 is the channel switching area in the operation area 222.
Regarding the channel of claim7, according to paragraph [0051] of the specification as filed, the channel and the transmitting coil are integrated. The connection relationship between the transmitting coil 11, the tuning and matching circuit 32, and the adjusting screw rod 31 is shown in FIG. 4, so it is no longer necessary to display the channel separately.
For the problem that the components of FIG.1 and FIG.3 are not labeled or the image quality is low and cannot be clearly identified. Applicant has redrawn FIG. 1 and FIG. 3 to improve image clarity”.
In response, it is noted that while applicant notes that “Applicant has amended FIG. 1 to show the tuning and matching knob, and has amended FIG. 3 to show the adjusting screw rods of claim 7, the display interaction device 20 and the tuning and matching control device 30”, applicant has not labeled nor identified all structures that are illustrated in amended FIG. 1 filed 08/14/2025 and it is unclear to what structures the unlabeled/unnumbered structures correspond to in the specification as filed.
Regarding amended FIG. 3 filed 08/14/2025, it is unclear how FIG. 3, which illustrates “a display panel” (see [0017] of the PG pub), is able to show the “adjusting screw rods” when FIG. 3 is illustrating a digital display screen and not a physical component of the MRI coil system. The larger circular structure show in FIG. 3 still has not been labeled nor described by the applicant. It appears, although it is unclear, that applicant intends to limit their invention to the species described in the later portion of [0035] of the PG Pub which describes “The display interaction device 20 being arranged near the tuning and matching control device 30 may mean that the display interface of the display interaction device 20 may be arranged near part components (e.g., adjustment components of the tuning and matching control device 30) of the tuning and matching control device 30”. If this correct, the drawing is still unclear and does not adequately illustrate this species.
Regarding applicant’s comments directing to FIGS. 6-7, it is noted that both FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 are only showing graphical representations, with only FIG. 6 showing a graphical indicator of a channel, however, not the physical structural component required by the claim.
Additionally, applicant’s amendments to FIGS. 1, 3 do not resolve the existing issues with the drawings and instead add additional issues. Please see the updated drawing objections below.
Rejections under 35 USC 112
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As a preliminary matter, applicant has amended the claims filed 08/14/2025 to cancel claims 8, 9, and 16, which have rendered these specific rejections moot and they have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues in the last paragraph of page 13 through the fifth paragraph of page 16
“The Office Action, on page 5, alleges that there are no positively recited steps for the adjusting screw to be "currently rotated" nor are there positively recited steps for the "current tuning and matching" of the transmitting coil, and nor are there steps for a "prompt" being positively recited as being generated relating to a currently rotated adjusting screw rod nor the outputting of a prompt positively recited to correct adjusting screw rod in claim 7. Without conceding to the merits of the Examiners statement and solely to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 7 to recite…
The Office Action on page 6 also alleges that it is unclear if the shape of the tuning curve in claims 17 and 18 is meant to refer to the shape information in parent claim 15, and it is unclear if the range of the abscissa recited in claims 17 and 18 is meant to refer to the set information range recited in in independent claim 14.
Applicant has amended claim 15 to recite, in relevant part, "…
The Office Action on page 6 also alleges that in claim 23, it is unclear if the storage of the computer equipment is intended to be interpreted as a transitory computer storage, such as a signal temporarily stored.
Applicant has amended claims 17 and 18 to recite, in relevant part, ‘the storage includes non-volatile memory,’ thereby rendering the objection of claim 23 moot …”.
In response, it is noted that applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 08/14/2025, render the previous rejection of claim 14 moot. However, current amendments to claim 14 have introduced new issues and a new rejection under 112(b) has been issued below.
Regarding applicant’s argument that “Applicant has amended claims 17 and 18 to recite, in relevant part, ‘the storage includes non-volatile memory,’ thereby rendering the objection of claim 23 moot” it is noted that neither claim 17 nor 18 has been amended to recite “the storage includes non-volatile memory” and claim 23 is independent, not depending from either claim 17 nor 18. Nonetheless, applicant has amended claim 23 to recite “the storage includes non-volatile memory”, therefore, the previous rejection of claim 23 under 112(b) has been rendered moot and has been withdrawn.
However, the amendments to claims 7, 15, and 17-20 have not remedied the outstanding issues outlined in the prior rejections under 112(b). The newly file claim amendments introduced further clarity issues. Accordingly, the rejections have been updated below.
Rejections under 35 USC 102/103
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Nonetheless, in response to applicant’s specific argument starting at the end of page 16 through the first portion of page 18 that “Lazar fails to disclose the features of ‘the display interaction device includes a display panel’” in claim 2 and that “the output unit of Lazar refers to loudspeakers and/or patient headphones” – it is noted that while it is unclear, applicant’s arguments appear to be misdirected. The subject matter cited by the applicant of the abstract, paragraph [0031], and the subject matter found in claim 1 of Lazar was not cited in nor relied upon in any of the claims to teach nor disclose the display panel.
Contrary to applicant’s arguments and the body of the claim rejection(s), it is noted that the subject matter of Lazar that was relied upon to disclose the display panel was the display 22 (see [0095] of Lazar). Therefore, Lazar reads on the limitations cited to teach as presently claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the output unit of Lazar may also include “…loudspeakers and/or the patient headphones” in addition to the display panel as illustrated in FIG. 1 and described in [0086] and [0092] of Lazar, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Further in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, the claims remain rejected and the rejections have been made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the channel switching area in claims 1-2; the adjusting screw rods, the channels that correspond to two of the adjusting screw rods, the two adjusting screw rods adjust impedance matching and a resonant frequency of the channel of the transmitting coil, respectively, and a prompt area configured to output a prompt graphic of an adjusting screw rod, the adjusting screw rod which is currently being rotated and/or prompt area configured to output a prompt graphic to correct an adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched, and a prompt icon corresponding to a spatial arrangement position of each adjusting screw rod is arranged in the prompt area and a mark corresponding to the prompt icon is arranged on each adjusting screw rod and the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by highlighting or animation in claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the tuning and matching knobs in FIG. 1 (see [0032] of the PG Pub), the display interaction device 20 and the tuning and matching control device 30 in FIG. 3 (see [0035]), as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "31" and "32" have both been used to designate adjusting screw rods. Amended FIG. 3 filed 05/14/2025 illustrates reference character 31 as indicating the adjusting screw rods (see as described on page 11 of the response filed 08/14/2025), however, the specification discloses that the adjusting screw rod as being reference character 32 (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “31” has been used to designate both the adjusting screw rod (see amened FIG. 3 filed 08/14/2025, see page 11 of the response filed 08/14/2025) and the tuning and matching control device (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet s1hould include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” has been used to designate both the tuning and matching control device (see amened FIG. 3 filed 08/14/2025, see page 11 of the response filed 08/14/2025) and the prompt area (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "20" and "21" have both been used to designate the display interaction device. Amended FIG. 3 filed 05/14/2025 illustrates reference character 20 as indicating the display interaction device (see page 11 of the response filed 08/14/2025), however, the specification only discloses that the display interaction device as being reference character 21 (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate both the display interaction device (see amened FIG. 3 filed 08/14/2025) and the transmitting coil (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22” has been used to designate both the display panel (see amened FIG. 3 filed 08/14/2025) and the control host (see [0028] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 1 shows elements which are not labeled, therefore, the elements in the drawing are not visually discernible as to what these elements may be. FIG. 3 shows elements 31 and 22 as sub-elements of a larger unlabeled structure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “100” has been used to designate both the tuning and matching circuit (see [0028] of the PG pub), “rack” (see 100 as labeled in FIG. 5 originally as filed ) and the gantry (see [0053]-[0054], [0063]-[0064] of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “201” has been used to designate both the gantry (see [0028] of the PG pub) and the console (see FIG. 5 as filed, [0045], [0072], [0075], of the PG pub). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 30 in FIG. 4; 11, 20, 30 in FIG. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 32, 100 in FIG. 4; 22 in FIG. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 22, 221, 222, 223, 31, 20, 32, 11, 100, T1, M1, T2, M2 in FIG. 6, as described in [0046]-[0049], [0054]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the positive-intrinsic-negative (PIN) diode and the at least one adjustable capacitor, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show subject matter described in [0053] including, but not limited to “[t]he tuning and matching control device 30 may include adjusting screw rods 31 and a tuning and matching circuit 32. The adjusting screw rods 31 may be connected to the transmitting coil 11 (which is the volume transmitting coil in an optional embodiment), the transmitting coil 11 may be arranged in a gradient coil in the gantry 100, and the adjusting screw rods 31 may extend out of the gantry 100”, in [0054] “[t] he display panel 22 being arranged near the adjusting screw rods 31 may mean that the display interface of the display panel 22 may be near the adjusting screw rods 31, such that the staff may also view the tuning and matching data when adjusting the adjusting screw rods 31”, “[t] he plurality of display panels 22 may be arranged on a same side of the gantry 100, or the display panels 22 may be arranged on different sides of the gantry. In one embodiment, the display panel 22 may be arranged on a rear side of the gantry 100. During manual tuning and matching, the transmitting coil 11 may enter a scanning cavity from the rear side of the gantry, and an operator may rotate the adjusting screw rods 31 on the rear side of the gantry” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14-15, 17-20, 23-26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 has been amended to recite “the plurality of functional areas further include: a prompt area configured to prompt an adjusting screw rod which is currently rotated, and/or prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched” and “the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by highlighting or animation” in lines 6-9 and 14-15, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the functions of the adjusting screw being “currently rotated” and the channel of the transmitting coil “currently being tuned and matched”, as there are no positively recited steps for the adjusting screw to be “currently rotated” nor are there positively recited steps for the “current tuning and matching” of the transmitting coil. Nor are there steps for a “prompt” being positively recited as being generated relating to a currently rotated adjusting screw rod nor the outputting of a prompt positively recited to correct adjusting screw rod. Therefore, the limitations have been interpreted as intended use and are not required by the claim. It is also unclear how and why the prompt icon is “prompt[ing]” a channel that is already “currently to be tuned and matched by highlighting or animation” or if applicant meant to recite that that the prompt icon is prompting the current of a channel that is to be tuned and matched “using the prompt icon to highlight the correct location of the channel on the display screen” or “to animate the prompt icon over the correct location of the channel on the display screen”.
The term “standard” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “standard” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the shape of curve included in the set information range has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “standard”.
Claim 14 has been amended to recite “if determining that the curve information of the target tuning curve is not within a set information range, adjusting layout information of the target tuning curve in the display interface…” in lines 13-17, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if applicant is referring to the curve information of either the first tuning curve or the second tuning curve and if the target tuning curve for which the tuning curve
Claim 15 has been amended to recite “wherein the curve information of the target tuning curve includes position or shape of the target tuning curve” in lines 1-3, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if applicant meant that the information of the target tuning curve includes a position of the target tuning curve or a shape of the target tuning curve, and if the shape of the target tuning curve is meant to refer to the standard shape of the curve of the information range set recited in parent claim 14, or if applicant meant to recite another limitation other than recited in the parent claim.
All dependent claims are also rejected by the nature of their dependency.
Claim 17 has been amended to recite "the shape information of the target tuning curve" and "the shape information of the target tuning curve" in in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim, nor claim 15, nor claim 15 via claim 15, on which claim 17 depends, does not prior recite shape information of the target tuning curve as including a shape of the target tuning curve.
Further, claim 17 has been amended to recite “the shape information of the target tuning curve includes the shape of the target tuning curve” and “if determining that the shape of the target tuning curve is not the standard shape, adjusting a range of an abscissa of the tuning target curve in the display interface” in lines 12-3 and 7-9, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how “the shape information of the target tuning curve” functionally is able to include “the shape of the target tuning curve”, e.g., it is unclear what information, and what aspect thereof, and in what format about the “shape” of the target tuning curve is “included” in the shape information” and how that selected or determined aspects of the shape are functionally “included” in the “shape information”; further, it is unclear if the shape of the tuning curve in the immediate claim is meant to refer to the shape information in parent claim 15. Similarly, it is unclear if the range of the abscissa recited in the immediate claim is meant to refer to the set information range recited in in independent claim 14, on which claim 17 is dependent via claim 15.
Claim 18 is also rejected for reciting the same and/or similar limitations outlined above.
Claim 18 has been amended to recite “if determining that the position of the target tuning curve is not within the set interval” in lines 8-9, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the position of the tuning curve in the immediate claim is meant to refer to the position of the target tuning curve in parent claim 15. Similarly, it is unclear if the set interval recited in the immediate claim is meant to refer to the set information range recited in in independent claim 14, on which claim 18 is dependent via claim 15. It is also unclear if the set interval is meant to refer to the set interval of the curve recited in parent claim 14, or if applicant refers to a different set interval.
Claims 19-20 are also rejected for reciting the same and/or similar limitations outlined above.
Claim 19 has been amended to recite “obtaining a first distribution interval of the target tuning curve along a first direction according to position information of the tuning target curve” in lines 7-8, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the tuning target curve for which a first direction according to position information thereof, is meant to refer to the target tuning curve recited earlier in the claim.
All dependent claims are also rejected by the nature of their dependency.
The term “near” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the arrangement of the display interaction device in relation to the tuning and matching control device has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “near”.
Further, claim 27 recites “wherein the display interaction device is arranged near the tuning and matching control device, so that a staff views the tuning and matching data when adjusting the tuning and matching control device” in lines 2-4, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how and by what mechanism the display interaction device is arranged “near” to the tuning and matching control device. It is also unclear if the viewing of the tuning and matching data by a staff and the adjusting the tuning and matching control device by a staff is required by the claim or is intended use. If this limitation is required by the claim, it would appear that this claim would not be subject eligible under 35 USC 101. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to clearly recite active steps being claimed that are performed by the processor that has been specifically configured for performing claimed limitations and to cancel subject matter drawn to steps performed by a human operator or that claim a human operator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holland (US4703275).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Holland teaches a tuning and matching device for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) equipment and teaches a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) equipment (title, column 3, lines 12-23), wherein the MRI equipment includes a transmitting coil (RF coils 20 in FIG. 1), and the tuning and matching device includes:
a tuning and matching control device which is connected to the transmitting coil and configured to perform tuning and matching on the transmitting coil (column 3, lines 15-18, the adjustable resistor-capacitor circuits allows/controls the shape of the modified pulse signal to be tuned, and the adjustable amplifiers allow/control the gain to be modified to match the sensed signal); and
a display interaction device which is arranged in a scanning room and configured to display tuning and matching data (oscilloscope 67 in FIG. 1, see FIGS. 4A-4D for the tuning and matching data profiles); wherein the display interaction device includes a display panel, the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching (column 5, lines 3-5, see the integrator output 64 being input to one channel of a dual channel oscilloscope 67 in FIG. 1, a summed output 59 in FIG. 2 of the summing amplifier 58 is input to a second channel of this oscilloscope 6, thus reading on the limitation of the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching); but does not explicitly disclose the display interaction device includes a display panel.
Regarding claim 3, Holland teaches wherein the display interaction device is further configured to* start tuning and matching (claim 1, providing an initial/start correction signal).
*For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in the alternative, requiring the display interaction device is further configured to start tuning and matching; or the display interaction device is further configured to stop tuning and matching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14-15, 17-20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN104181365, hereafter “Zhang”), in view of Holland.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a display interaction device and a method for adjusting display of a curve, comprising:
a display panel configured to display a curve (200); and
a controller (103) configured to:
obtain curve information of the curve (abstract, obtaining current zoom information about the curve); and
if determining that the curve information of the target curve is not within a set information range ([0108], step 702, determining if the level is within a preset level range), adjust layout information of the target curve in the display interface ([0110] step 703, updating/adjusting the current zoom), and display the adjusted target curve in the display interface ([0118] the curve is returned to the waveform display interface, which reads the newly saved as the current adjusted zoom factor), but does not explicitly disclose the curve as expressly being a of a tuning curve, nor discloses wherein the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching.
However, in solving the same problem, Holland teaches a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen);
wherein the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching (column 5, lines 3-5, see the integrator output 64 being input to one channel of a dual channel oscilloscope 67 in FIG. 1, a summed output 59 in FIG. 2 of the summing amplifier 58 is input to a second channel of this oscilloscope 6, thus reading on the limitation of the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display interaction device and the method for adjusting display of a curve disclosed by Zhang with the tuning curve and wherein the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching as taught by Holland in order to provide a signal related to the difference between the magnetic field that is sensed and a desired magnetic field (column 2, lines 48-50 of Holland).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a method for adjusting display of a curve, comprising:
obtaining curve information of the target curve (abstract, obtaining current zoom information about the curve) according to operations including:
obtaining a control instruction for adjusting display of the curve (see FIG. 5);
if the control instruction is an automatic trigger control instruction, determining the curve information of the curve as curve information of a curve to be displayed (claim 9, a keying function is used to trigger the instruction, therefore it is interpreted to read on the limitation of an automatic/automated trigger); and
if the control instruction is a manual trigger control instruction, determining the target curve information of the target curve as target curve information of a target curve in the display interface (abstract, can be performed by the user, therefore the control instruction is interpreted to be manual): and
if determining that the curve information of the target curve is not within a set information range ([0108], step 702, determining if the level is within a preset level range), adjust layout information of the target curve in the display interface ([0110] step 703, updating/adjusting the current zoom), and display the adjusted target curve in the display interface ([0118] the curve is returned to the waveform display interface, which reads the newly saved as the current adjusted zoom factor), but does not explicitly disclose the curve as expressly being a of a tuning curve, nor discloses wherein the set information range includes a standard shape of the curve and a set interval of the curve.
the display panel includes a plurality of functional areas, the plurality of functional areas include an operating area, and the operating area includes a channel switching area configured to switch channels of the transmitting coil for tuning and matching.
However, in solving the same problem, Holland teaches a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen);
wherein the set information range includes a standard shape of the curve (see FIG. 4A) and a set interval of the curve (see horizonal axis of FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display interaction device and the method for adjusting display of a curve disclosed by Zhang with the tuning curve and the set information range includes a standard shape of the curve and a set interval of the curve as taught by Holland in order to provide a signal related to the difference between the magnetic field that is sensed and a desired magnetic field (column 2, lines 48-50 of Holland).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses wherein the curve information of the target curve includes* position of the target curve ([0015] displayed data to the horizontal coordinate in the waveform display interface, the sequence according to the display data acquisition time are equably distributed from left to right being in the horizontal direction), and specifically, Holland discloses a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen), and specifically, Holland teaches a target tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
*For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in the alternative, requiring the curve information of the tuning curve includes position of the target tuning curve; or requiring the curve information of the tuning curve includes shape of the target tuning curve.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses wherein the if determining that the curve information of the curve is not within a set information range, adjusting layout information of the curve in a display interface, and displaying the adjusted curve in the display interface includes:
if determining that a shape of the curve is not a standard shape, adjusting a range of an abscissa of the curve in the display interface ([0046] the horizontal coordinate interval of each two adjacent display data d is fixed, different scaling factor C, the adjacent two display data d of the cross coordinate interval is changed, the scaling factor c will be larger, so that the horizontal coordinate interval is, the smaller the scaling factor c, the abscissa interval is smaller, therefore, according to coordinate of display data d drawing waveform curve as a different presentation of zoom factor c transverse (x-axis) is enlarged or reduced), and displaying the adjusted tuning curve in the display interface ([0003] displaying trend/shape waveform display in a waveform A trend waveform display unit for data and a real-time waveform display unit for displaying real-time waveform display data in a waveform manner), and specifically, Holland discloses a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses wherein the if determining that the curve information of the curve is not within a set information range, adjusting layout information of the curve in a display interface, and displaying the adjusted curve in the display interface includes:
if determining that a position of the curve is not within a set interval ([0046]),
adjusting a range of an abscissa of the curve in the display interface, and displaying the adjusted curve in the display interface ([0046] the horizontal coordinate interval of each two adjacent display data d is fixed, different scaling factor C, the adjacent two display data d of the cross coordinate interval is changed, the scaling factor c will be larger, so that the horizontal coordinate interval is, the smaller the scaling factor c, the abscissa interval is smaller, therefore, according to coordinate of display data d drawing waveform curve as a different presentation of zoom factor c transverse (x-axis) is enlarged or reduced), and specifically, Holland discloses a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses wherein before the operation of if determining that the curve information of the target curve is not within the set information range, adjusting layout information of the target curve in the display interface, and displaying the adjusted target curve in the display interface, the method further includes:
obtaining a first distribution interval of the target curve along a first direction according to position information of the target curve ([0015] displayed data to the horizontal coordinate in the waveform display interface, the sequence according to the display data acquisition time are equably distributed from left to right being in the horizontal direction); and
if the first distribution interval is within a first set interval, determining that the curve information of the target curve in the display interface is not included in the set information range ([0073] the current zoom factor remains unchanged if the function key 102 does not generate key information within the time interval of the regular refresh in order to determine the display number N of the display data), and specifically, Holland discloses a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen), and specifically, Holland discloses the target tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses wherein before the operation of if determining that the curve information of the target curve is not within a set information range, adjusting layout information of the target curve in the display interface, and displaying the adjusted target curve in the display interface, the method further includes:
obtaining a second distribution interval of the target curve along a second direction according to the position information of the target curve, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction ([0068] according to the minimum value and maximum value of the measurement data in the each display data in the waveform display interface of longitudinal coordinate includes searching the display maximum value data and the minimum value according to the maximum value and minimum value calculating step of waveform display interface longitudinal coordinate according to the maximum value, minimum value and a step calculating each one display data vertical coordinate in the waveform display interface, which is perpendicular to the first interval in the horizontal direction); and
if the second distribution interval is within a second set interval, determining that the curve information of the target curve in the display interface is not included in the set information range ([0073] the current zoom factor remains unchanged if the function key 102 does not generate key information within the time interval of the regular refresh in order to determine the display number N of the display data), and specifically, Holland discloses a target tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses computer equipment, comprising a storage and a processor, wherein the storage includes non-volatile memory, the storage stores computer programs, and when executing the computer programs ([0062]-[0088] the data reading unit 403 reads the measurement data a from the storage unit 101 during the data acquisition process), the processor implements the method for adjusting display of the curve ([0062]-[0088], FIG. 5) of claim 14 (see above cited disclosure for claim 14), and specifically, Holland discloses the curve as a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang, in view of Holland, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Zhang discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (storage unit 101), storing computer programs executable by computer equipment, wherein when the computer programs are run on the computer equipment [0062]-[0088] the data reading unit 403 reads the measurement data a from the storage unit 101 during the data acquisition process), the computer equipment executes the method for adjusting display (see FIG. 5) of the curve of claim 14 (see above cited disclosure for claim 14), and specifically, Holland discloses the curve as a tuning curve (column 3, lines 8-9, the tunable circuit can be adjusted for any pulse input by viewing the oscilloscope screen).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holland, in view of Lazar et al. (US20150253395, hereafter “Lazar”).
Regarding claim 4, Holland discloses wherein the MRI equipment further includes a gantry (12 in FIG. 1), but does not explicitly disclose the display interaction device includes a display panel that is arranged on the gantry.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lazar teaches discloses a display interaction device includes a display panel that is arranged on the gantry (see display 22 on gantry 2 in FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tuning and matching device disclosed by Holland with display interaction device includes a display panel that is arranged on the gantry as taught by Lazar in order to display to the operator by the output signal an approximation of an actual resonant frequency to a predefined tolerance frequency range located around an average required resonant frequency, a required resonant frequency (claim 8 of Lazar).
Regarding claim 5, Holland substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specially, Holland discloses wherein the plurality of functional areas further include:
a display area configured to display the tuning and matching data (see display screen on oscilloscope 67 in FIG. 1, see tuning and matching data in FIGS. 4A-4D); and
the operating area configured to input* tuning and matching start information (claim 1, providing an initial/start correction signal, see input knobs and controls in FIG. 1).
*For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in the alternative, requiring the operating area configured to input tuning and matching start information; or the operating area configured to input tuning and matching stop information.
Claim(s) 7, 25, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holland, in view of Lazar, further in view of Mizuno et al. (JP2003028942, hereafter “Mizuno”) and Zhang.
Regarding claim 7, Holland does not explicitly disclose wherein the tuning and matching control device includes: adjusting screw rods, each of the channels corresponds to two adjusting screw rods, and the two adjusting screw rods adjust impedance matching and a resonant frequency of the channel of the transmitting coil, respectively; and the plurality of functional areas further include: a prompt area configured to prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lazar discloses wherein the tuning and matching control device includes: adjusting screw rods, each of the channels corresponds to two adjusting screw rods ([0053], [0063], [0090] the adjustment tool being a screwdriver used to adjust the trimmer capacitors is used for tuning a plurality of resonant frequencies of two RF feed channels of an RF coil), and the two adjusting screw rods adjust impedance matching and a resonant frequency of the channel of the transmitting coil, respectively ([0017], [0035]-[0036], [0046] the resonant frequency of each RF/transmitter coil of the coil arrangement is an adjustment parameter, the resonant frequency is set within a certain tolerance range using impedance and by using trimmer capacitors for each corresponding RF channel for the RF/transmitter coil); and
the plurality of functional areas further include: a prompt area configured to prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched ([0049]-[0050], FIG. 1, the displaying to a user the adjusted changes in resonant frequency as a result of tuning).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tuning and matching device disclosed by Holland with the tuning and matching control device including adjusting screw rods, each of the channels corresponds to two adjusting screw rods, and the two adjusting screw rods adjust impedance matching and a resonant frequency of the channel of the transmitting coil, respectively, and the plurality of functional areas further including a prompt area configured to prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched as taught by Lazar in order to display to the operator by the output signal an approximation of an actual resonant frequency to a predefined tolerance frequency range located around an average required resonant frequency, a required resonant frequency (claim 8 of Lazar).
Holland does not explicitly disclose wherein a prompt icon corresponding to a spatial arrangement position of each adjusting screw rod is arranged in the prompt area; and a mark corresponding to the prompt icon is arranged on each adjusting screw rod.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mizuno teaches wherein a prompt icon corresponding to a spatial arrangement position of each adjusting screw rod is arranged in the prompt area ([0014] the display having a function of displaying at least the latest detection content of the unit or a function of changing the detection condition/spatial arrangement of the unit via the communication unit for detecting the tuning state of the tuning probe/screw); and a mark corresponding to the prompt icon is arranged on each adjusting screw rod ([0006] operate the meter gain button and meter gain knob so that the bar display is at a height that is easy to see. These two operations were alternately repeated, and the tuning dial is adjusted to the condition that the reflected wave from the NMR probe/tuning screw becomes small).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tuning and matching device disclosed by Holland with the prompt icon corresponding to a spatial arrangement position of each adjusting screw rod is arranged in the prompt area; and a mark corresponding to the prompt icon is arranged on each adjusting screw rod taught by Mizuno in order to detect the state of the tuning operation during when the NMR probe is tuned (abstract of Mizuno).
Holland does not explicitly disclose wherein the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by animation**.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by animation** (FIG. 7, step 704, a warning message box may pop up/animation on the screen display interface).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tuning and matching device disclosed by Holland with the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by animation taught by Zhang in order to the zoom display of the present invention, the user can not only observe the horizontal and vertical variation trends of the waveform curve, but also observe the details of the waveform curve (abstract of Zhang).
It should be noted, that the limitations of “prompt an adjusting screw rod which is currently rotated”, the “screw rod” which is “currently rotated”, “prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched”, and “the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched” are considered functional limitations of the device; the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus/device claim from the prior art; See "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Therefore, the device of Holland as modified, would be capable of performing all the functions as recited.
*For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in the alternative, requiring prompt area configured to prompt an adjusting screw rod which is currently rotated; or requiring a prompt area configured to prompt a correct adjusting screw rod corresponding to a channel of the transmitting coil currently being tuned and matched.
**For the purposes of examination, the limitation has been interpreted in the alternative, requiring the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by highlighting; or requiring the prompt icon prompts a channel currently to be tuned and matched by animation.
Regarding claim 25, Holland, in view of Lazar, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Lazar discloses the display interaction device includes a display panel, and the display panel is arranged on the gantry (see display 22 on gantry 2 in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Holland, in view of Lazar, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Lazar discloses wherein the tuning and matching control device includes at least one adjustable capacitor ([0004] trimmer capacitor), and the tuning and matching control device is configured to adjust a resonant frequency and impedance of the transmitting coil by changing capacitance of the at least one adjustable capacitor ([0023], [0046]-[0047] adjustment parameters may be a resonant frequency by using a resonant circuit with electrical components such as, for example, capacitors, inductors and impedances of an RF coil, so that by changing the capacitance of the trimmer capacitor, an actual resonant frequency is brought into a tolerance frequency range predefined around an average required resonant frequency via changing a number of electrical variables affecting the resonant circuit including: capacitance, impedance).
Regarding claim 27, Holland, in view of Lazar, substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention, specifically, Lazar discloses wherein the display interaction device is arranged near the tuning and matching control device ([0092] display 22 on gantry 2 in FIG. 1), so that a staff views the tuning and matching data when adjusting the tuning and matching control device.
It should be noted, that the limitations of “so that a staff views the tuning and matching data” and “when adjusting the tuning and matching control device” are considered functional limitations of the device; the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus/device claim from the prior art; See "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Therefore, the device of Holland as modified, would be capable of performing all the functions as recited.
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holland, in view of Lazar, Mizuno, and Zhang, further in view of Findeklee (US20140139218, hereafter “Findeklee”).
Regarding claim 27, Holland does not explicitly disclose wherein the tuning and matching control device is switched through a PIN diode based on transmitting and receiving of an RF signal, and the PIN diode is a switching element.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Findeklee teaches wherein the tuning and matching control device is switched through a PIN diode based on transmitting and receiving of an RF signal, and the PIN diode is a switching element ([0019] the impedance matching network is controlled by a pin diode as an example of electronic control or it may be controlled for instance by adjustable capacitors, which, in turn is an example of a mechanical adjustment of the impedance matching network).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tuning and matching device disclosed by Holland with the tuning and matching control device is switched through a PIN diode based on transmitting and receiving of an RF signal, and the PIN diode is a switching element as taught by Findeklee in order to remotely adjust the impedance matching network (abstract of Findeklee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798