DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 6/7/2023 has been entered.
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are as previously presented.
Claims 7-8 have been amended.
Claims 11-17 have been added.
Claims 1-17 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 9 being independent.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim 2:
“unit” in “an active differential unit, configured to detect the change rate of the oscillation voltage of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and output a high-level signal when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than a preset threshold” is being interpreted as an active differential module (see claim 3 interpretation below) and a comparator, and equivalents thereof [i.e., conventional electrical components arranged to detect a voltage (e.g., a conventional voltage divider arrangement; p. 11) and output a logic signal (i.e., the conventional practice of generating a signal as an index of a relevant parameter (i.e., corresponding to the voltage, e.g., a value thereof, a frequency/rate of change thereof) to be received by a controller, e.g., without causing damage to the controller), e.g., diodes, resistors, capacitors, voltage regulators, operational amplifiers, comparators, etc., selected and arranged according to the requirements of the given application; pp. 2-3; see fig. 3, showing active differential unit 25 comprising D1, Z, C3, C4, R4, R5, R6, U1, U2]
Claim 3:
“module” in “wherein the active differential unit comprises: an active differential module and a comparator, wherein the active differential module is configured to detect the change rate of the oscillation voltage of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator” is being interpreted as capacitors, resistors, operational amplifiers, and equivalents thereof [i.e., conventional electrical components, selected and arranged according to the requirements of the given application; p. 2; fig. 3].
Claim 9:
“detecting” in “detecting a change rate of an oscillation voltage of the series LCC oscillator or the series LC oscillator” is being interpreted as capacitors, resistors, operational amplifiers, and equivalents thereof [i.e., conventional electrical components, selected and arranged according to the requirements of the given application; p. 2; fig. 3]
“generating” in “generating a high-level signal when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than a preset value” is being interpreted as a comparator, and equivalents thereof [comparator U2; p. 12; fig. 3]
“determining” in “determining an oscillation frequency of the series LCC oscillator or the series LC oscillator according to an interval of the high-level signal” is being interpreted as a controller, and equivalents thereof [i.e., the conventional practice of calculating an index of a process according to measurements of the process using a controller, e.g., calculating frequency from measured voltages; p. 2; fig. 2]
Claim 10:
“adjusting” in “adjusting the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency” is being interpreted as a controller, and equivalents thereof [i.e., the conventional practice of adjusting the frequency of the voltage supplied to the oscillator so as to change an output of the oscillator, e.g., wherein a controller adjusts the activation of transistor switches supplying the alternating current to the oscillator; pp. 6-10]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-6, 12-13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5:
the limitation “the ground” in line 10 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. In view of the common practice of establishing a ground in circuits, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…and a second end of the fourth resistor is connected to ”
Claims 8, 10, and 14-17:
the term “or basically close to” in “to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In view of the common practice of operational tolerances (e.g., supply voltages need not be exactly a particular voltage, and may deviate from the suggested supply voltage value by an acceptable amount, e.g., plus/minus some value), the claims will be interpreted as striking “or basically close to”
Claims 6, 12-13, 16-17 are rejected due to dependence on a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18255107 (submitted 10/10/2025) in view of Abi Aoun (US 20200037402 A1). While the instant claims describe determining an oscillation frequency according to a change rate of an oscillation voltage, and copending claim 1 describes detecting a peak voltage of the oscillator, Abi Aoun teaches that these are known methods with regards to controlling an aerosol generation device.
Claims 2-8 and 10-17 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18255107 (submitted 10/10/2025) in view of Abi Aoun (US 20200037402 A1), Beidelman (US 20220183390 A1) and Liu (US 20200146353 A1), respectively. In this case, Abi Aoun, Beidelman, and Liu teach the conventional structures described in dependent claims 2-8 and 10-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abi Aoun (US 20200037402 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Abi Aoun teaches:
An aerosol generation device [para. 0002; fig. 1], configured to heat an aerosol generation product to generate aerosols for inhalation [para. 0003], and comprising:
a susceptor, configured to be penetrated by a variable magnetic field to generate heat, to heat the aerosol generation product [para. 0024];
a series LC oscillator or a series LCC oscillator comprising an inductance coil [a conventional oscillator comprising an inductor 108 in series with capacitor 106; fig. 2a], configured to guide a variable alternating current to flow through the inductance coil to drive the inductance coil to generate the variable magnetic field [para. 0062]; and
a circuit, configured to determine an oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator according to a change rate of an oscillation voltage of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator [conventional electrical components selected and arranged so as to determine a frequency of the oscillator according to voltages measured across the inductor and according to a supplied frequency/voltage, wherein a PHOSITA would recognize that frequency/voltage/current are all inter-related parameters that can be described in relation to one another according to the resistance/impedance of the given circuit and according to a given supply having its own frequency/voltage/current (e.g., Ohm’s Law); [paras. 0013-20: “The apparatus may be arranged to measure an electrical property of the RLC circuit as a function of the drive frequency; and determine the resonant frequency of the RLC circuit based on the measurement. The apparatus may be arranged to determine the first frequency based on the measured electrical property of the RLC circuit as a function of the drive frequency at which the RLC circuit is driven. The electrical property may be a voltage measured across an inductor of the RLC circuit, the inductor being for energy transfer to the susceptor… The apparatus may be arranged to determine a characteristic indicative of a bandwidth of a peak of a response of the RLC circuit, the peak corresponding to the resonant frequency; and determine the first frequency based on the determined characteristic.”; para. 0073].
In this case, since the resonant frequency/inductance of a coil may change [para. 0066], using the measured voltage response of the coil to determine the resonant frequency [i.e., a frequency at which the current through the coil would be at maximum, thus maximizing heat generation; para. 0045] allows for a more robust system.
Regarding claim 2, Abi Aoun teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1.
Abi Aoun also teaches:
wherein the circuit comprises:
an active differential unit [passive differential circuit 120c; fig. 2c], configured to detect the change rate of the oscillation voltage of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and output a high-level signal when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than a preset threshold [i.e., the known practice of using conventional electrical circuit components arranged to detect a voltage, and output a corresponding index of the process (i.e., signal, e.g., a signal corresponding to a voltage across the inductor) to a controller 114; para. 0073]; and
a controller, configured to determine the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator according to an interval of the high-level signal [i.e., the controller capable of comparing a measured value to a predetermined value as a function of a given supplied drive frequency; para. 0073].
Regarding claim 8, Abi Aoun teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 2.
Abi Aoun also teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Regarding claim 9,
Abi Aoun teaches:
An aerosol generation device control method [paras. 0002, 31; fig. 1], the aerosol generation device comprising:
a susceptor, configured to be penetrated by a variable magnetic field to generate heat [para. 0024], to heat an aerosol generation product [para. 0003]; and
a series LC oscillator or a series LCC oscillator comprising an inductance coil [a conventional oscillator comprising an inductor 108 in series with capacitor 106; fig. 2a], configured to guide a variable alternating current to flow through the inductance coil to drive the inductance coil to generate the variable magnetic field [para. 0062];
and the method comprising:
detecting a change rate of an oscillation voltage of the series LCC oscillator or the series LC oscillator;
generating a high-level signal when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than a preset value; and
determining an oscillation frequency of the series LCC oscillator or the series LC oscillator according to an interval of the high-level signal.
[conventional electrical components selected and arranged so as to determine a frequency of the oscillator according to voltages measured across the inductor and according to a supplied frequency/voltage, wherein a PHOSITA would recognize that frequency/voltage/current are all inter-related parameters that can be described in relation to one another according to the resistance/impedance of the given circuit and according to a given supply having its own frequency/voltage/current (e.g., Ohm’s Law); [paras. 0013-20: “The apparatus may be arranged to measure an electrical property of the RLC circuit as a function of the drive frequency; and determine the resonant frequency of the RLC circuit based on the measurement. The apparatus may be arranged to determine the first frequency based on the measured electrical property of the RLC circuit as a function of the drive frequency at which the RLC circuit is driven. The electrical property may be a voltage measured across an inductor of the RLC circuit, the inductor being for energy transfer to the susceptor… The apparatus may be arranged to determine a characteristic indicative of a bandwidth of a peak of a response of the RLC circuit, the peak corresponding to the resonant frequency; and determine the first frequency based on the determined characteristic.”; para. 0073].
In this case, since the resonant frequency/inductance of a coil may change [para. 0066], using the measured voltage response of the coil to determine the resonant frequency [i.e., a frequency at which the current through the coil would be at maximum, thus maximizing heat generation; para. 0045] allows for a more robust system.
Regarding claim 10, Abi Aoun teaches the aerosol generation device control method according to claim 9.
Abi Aoun also teaches:
further comprising:
adjusting the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 11-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abi Aoun (US 20200037402 A1) in view of Beidelman (US 20220183390 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Abi Aoun teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 2.
Abi Aoun also teaches:
wherein the active differential unit comprises:
an active differential module [i.e., the known practice of using conventional electrical circuit components arranged to detect a voltage; para. 0073]; and
the controller when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than the preset threshold [i.e., the known practice of using conventional electrical circuit components arranged to output a corresponding index of the process (i.e., signal, e.g., a signal corresponding to a voltage across the inductor) to a controller 114 via passive differential circuit 120c; para. 0073].
However, although Abi Aoun discloses that the controller may be a conventional electrical component [i.e., a processor; para. 0097], it may be argued that Abi Aoun does not explicitly disclose a comparator- specifically:
a comparator configured to perform comparison operation on the change rate of the oscillation voltage and the preset threshold, and output the high-level signal to the controller when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is greater than the preset threshold
Beidelman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a comparator as an equivalent electrical component [para. 0095].
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select and arrange a comparator as an electrical component in the active differential unit of Abi according to the requirements of the given application, such that a comparator is configured to perform the comparison operation, and signal output to the controller, e.g., according to the inherent features of the corresponding parameter measured, i.e., voltage, frequency of voltage, etc.
Regarding claim 4, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 3.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman also discloses:
wherein the active differential module comprises:
a first capacitor, a first resistor, a second capacitor, a second resistor, and an operational amplifier, wherein
a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and a second end of the first capacitor is connected to a first end of the first resistor;
a first input end of the operational amplifier is connected to a second end of the first resistor, and an output end of the operational amplifier is connected to the comparator;
a first end of the second capacitor is connected to the second end of the first resistor, and a second end of the second capacitor is connected to the output end of the operational amplifier; and
a first end of the second resistor is connected to the second end of the first resistor, and a second end of the second resistor is connected to the output end of the operational amplifier.
In this case, since Beidelman also teaches capacitors, resistors, and operational amplifiers as equivalent electrical components usable in detecting process [e.g., current, voltage; paras. 0142, 175, 177; figs. 12, 13], similar to the inclusion of the comparator, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select and arrange a first capacitor, a first resistor, a second capacitor, a second resistor, and an operational amplifier as electrical components in the active differential unit of Abi according to the requirements of the given application, such that “a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and a second end of the first capacitor is connected to a first end of the first resistor; a first input end of the operational amplifier is connected to a second end of the first resistor, and an output end of the operational amplifier is connected to the comparator; a first end of the second capacitor is connected to the second end of the first resistor, and a second end of the second capacitor is connected to the output end of the operational amplifier; and a first end of the second resistor is connected to the second end of the first resistor, and a second end of the second resistor is connected to the output end of the operational amplifier”, e.g., according to the inherent features of the corresponding parameter measured, i.e., voltage, frequency of voltage, current limitations, etc.
Regarding claim 5, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 3.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman discloses:
wherein the active differential unit further comprises:
an access module, comprising a first diode, a third resistor, and a fourth resistor, wherein
a first end of the first diode is connected to the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and a second end of the first diode is connected to a first end of the third resistor and is configured to only allow a current to flow from the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to the third resistor;
a second end of the third resistor is connected to the active differential module; and
a first end of the fourth resistor is connected to the second end of the third resistor, and a second end of the fourth resistor is connected to the ground.
In this case, since Beidelman also teaches diodes as an equivalent electrical component usable in detecting process [paras. 0145], similar to the inclusion of the comparator, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select and arrange a first diode, a third resistor, and a fourth resistor as electrical components in the active differential unit of Abi according to the requirements of the given application, such that “a first end of the first diode is connected to the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, and a second end of the first diode is connected to a first end of the third resistor and is configured to only allow a current to flow from the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to the third resistor; a second end of the third resistor is connected to the active differential module; and a first end of the fourth resistor is connected to the second end of the third resistor, and a second end of the fourth resistor is connected to the ground.”, e.g., according to the inherent features of the corresponding parameter measured, i.e., voltage, frequency of voltage, current limitations, etc.
Regarding claim 7, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 3.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman discloses:
wherein the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0.
In this case, since Abi Aoun teaches that the method of determining the frequency is not be limited [paras. 0098-0101], including maximum and minimum peaks [para. 0100], it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a particular value to compare to a measured value, according to the requirements of the given application, i.e., such that “the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0”, e.g., according to expected frequency response of the circuit and the way it was measured [para. 0100].
Regarding claim 11, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 4.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman discloses:
wherein the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0.
In this case, since Abi Aoun teaches that the method of determining the frequency is not be limited [paras. 0098-0101], including maximum and minimum peaks [para. 0100], it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a particular value to compare to a measured value, according to the requirements of the given application, i.e., such that “the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0”, e.g., according to expected frequency response of the circuit and the way it was measured [para. 0100].
Regarding claim 12, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 5.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman discloses:
wherein the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0.
In this case, since Abi Aoun teaches that the method of determining the frequency is not be limited [paras. 0098-0101], including maximum and minimum peaks [para. 0100], it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a particular value to compare to a measured value, according to the requirements of the given application, i.e., such that “the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0”, e.g., according to expected frequency response of the circuit and the way it was measured [para. 0100].
Regarding claim 14, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 3.
Abi Aoun also discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Regarding claim 15, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 4.
Abi Aoun also discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Regarding claim 16, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 5.
Abi Aoun also discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Claims 6, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abi Aoun (US 20200037402 A1) in view of Beidelman (US 20220183390 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20200146353 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 5.
However, although Abi Aoun discloses that the controller as a conventional electrical component, and Beidelman additionally discloses op-amps and comparators as conventional electrical components, it may be argued that Abi Aoun and Beidelman do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the access module further comprises a voltage stabilizing tube, wherein a first end of the voltage stabilizing tube is connected to the second end of the third resistor, and a second end of the voltage stabilizing tube is connected to the second end of the fourth resistor.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a voltage regulator tube (i.e., a voltage stabilizing tube) as a known electrical component usable in a detecting process [i.e., second diode D2; figs. 11, 13: para. 0076].
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select and arrange a voltage stabilizing tube as an electrical component in the active differential unit of Abi and Beidelman according to the requirements of the given application, such that “a first end of the voltage stabilizing tube is connected to the second end of the third resistor, and a second end of the voltage stabilizing tube is connected to the second end of the fourth resistor”, e.g., according to the inherent features of the corresponding parameter measured, i.e., voltage, frequency of voltage, etc., or to prevent pins of the electrical components from being burnt out due to over-high collection voltage [para. 0076].
Regarding claim 13, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman and Liu discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 6.
Abi Aoun as modified by Beidelman and Liu discloses:
wherein the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0.
In this case, since Abi Aoun teaches that the method of determining the frequency is not be limited [paras. 0098-0101], including maximum and minimum peaks [para. 0100], it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a particular value to compare to a measured value, according to the requirements of the given application, i.e., such that “the preset threshold is an output value of the active differential module when the change rate of the oscillation voltage is 0”, e.g., according to expected frequency response of the circuit and the way it was measured [para. 0100].
Regarding claim 17, Abi Aoun in view of Beidelman and Liu discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 6.
Abi Aoun also discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to adjust the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator, to cause the oscillation frequency of the series LC oscillator or the series LCC oscillator to be equal to or basically close to a preset frequency [abstract: “The apparatus may be arranged to control a drive frequency of the RLC resonance circuit to be at the determined first frequency in order to heat the susceptor.”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gutierrez (US 20100181306 A1), in the same field of endeavor [i.e., a method for controlling induction heating] teaches monitoring at least one electrical parameter of a resonant circuit and the benefits of assessing the occurrence of non-zero voltage switching or non-zero current switching and adjusting the control accordingly [abstract].
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761