DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the salt of lithium" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Lithium salt is first introduced in non-connected claim 5.
Double Patenting
Claims 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 16, 15, 18, 20, 21 of copending Application No. 18/256,264 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound formula choices overlap with those of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 18, 19, 22, 23, 27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (PGPub 2019/0185402).
Considering Claim 1, Smith discloses a nonaqueous battery electrolyte formulation (battery electrolyte composition [0008, 0067, 0068]), comprising a compound of Formula (1) (general formula (1) [0076] or compounds such as Example 1 [0158] or Example 2 [0161] read on the compound of Formula (1) as the OR substituent group must read on the requirement of either cis- or trans-).
Considering Claim 2, Smith discloses a battery (lithium ion battery [0067, 0073]), comprising the battery electrolyte formulation according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Considering Claim 5, Smith discloses that the metal salt is a salt of lithium such as lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis (trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide ([0069]).
Considering Claim 6, Smith discloses an additional solvent such as propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate ([0072]), and because this is mixed with the hydrofluoroolefin compound that makes up at least 25% by weight [0076], this reads on the liquid component of between 0.1 wt% to 99.9 wt% of the liquid component.
Considering Claim 8, Smith discloses a compound such as Example 1 [0158] or Example 2 [0161], which reads on the formula of R being C1-6H0-13Z0-13.
Considering Claim 18, Smith discloses a method of reducing the flammability of a battery and/or a battery electrolyte comprising adding to the battery and/or battery electrolyte the battery electrolyte formulation according to claim 1 (adding the compound to battery electrolyte used for nonflammability requirements [0008, 0017]).
Considering Claim 19, Smith discloses a method of powering an article comprising a battery, the method comprising adding to the battery the battery electrolyte formulation according to claim 1 (electrolyte added to battery for outstanding cycle life [0067], used to power electronic articles such as computers, power tools, automobiles [0075]).
Considering Claim 22, Smith discloses mixing a compound of Formula (1) with the additional solvent and with the salt of lithium so as to produce the formulation ([0067]).
Considering Claim 23, Smith discloses that a capacity of the battery and/or charge transfer within the battery is improved relative to a battery without the formulation (the electrolyte composition provides outstanding cycle life at a maximum charge voltage of at least 4.5V and up to 6.0V [0067], contains same formulation as outlined in claim 1).
Considering Claim 27, Smith discloses an additional solvent such as propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate ([0072]), and because this is mixed with the hydrofluoroolefin compound that makes up at least 25% by weight [0076], this reads on the liquid component of between 0.1 wt% to 99.9 wt% of the liquid component.
Considering Claim 29, Smith discloses a compound such as Example 1 [0158] or Example 2 [0161], which reads on the formula of R being C1-6H0-13Z0-13.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amine et al. (PGPub 2011/0076572).
Considering Claim 10, Amine discloses a formulation (non-aqueous electrolyte composition [Abstract]) comprising a metal ion (includes metal ions [0071]), a compound of Formula (1) (non-aqueous electrolyte includes two or more including a fluorinated ether [0008], fluorinated ether can include F3CFC=CFOCH2F; F3CFC=CFOCHF2; F3CFC=CFOCF3, etc. [0013, 0063] that read on Formula (2) and the requirements of R1, R2, R3, and OR4), optionally in combination with a solvent ([Abstract]); and
OR is cis- or trans- to any vicinal group (because Amine discloses a compound with a formula identical and/or substantially identical to the claimed Formula (1), including the same double bond, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that said OR is at least cis- or trans- to any vicinal group, lacking any further distinction thereof).
Considering Claim 11, Amine discloses a battery (battery [0016]), comprising the formulation according to claim 10 (see claim 10).
Considering Claim 12, Amine discloses that in Formula (2), R has the formula C1-6H0-13Z0-13 wherein Z is F (fluorinated ether can include F3CFC=CFOCH2F; F3CFC=CFOCHF2; F3CFC=CFOCF3 [0013, 0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 20, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (PGPub 2019/0185402).
Considering Claim 3, Smith discloses that a lithium electrolyte salt is employed at a concentration of 1.0-2.0 M such that the conductivity of the electrolyte composition is at or near its maximum value [0071]. As the weight percentage is directly proportional to the molar concentration, routinely experimenting with and coming up with a weight range of 0.1 wt% to 20 wt% to achieve such a maximum electrolyte conductivity would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 20, Smith discloses that the electrolyte composition provides outstanding cycle life at a maximum charge voltage of at least 4.5V and up to 6.0V [0067], so partially replacing or supplementing an electrolyte to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 24, Smith discloses that a lithium electrolyte salt is employed at a concentration of 1.0-2.0 M such that the conductivity of the electrolyte composition is at or near its maximum value [0071]. As the weight percentage is directly proportional to the molar concentration, routinely experimenting with and coming up with a weight range of 0.1 wt% to 20 wt% to achieve such a maximum electrolyte conductivity would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 26, Smith discloses that the metal salt is a salt of lithium such as lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis (trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide ([0069]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (PGPub 2019/0185402) and further in view of Bartelt et al. (PGPub 2010/0209600).
Considering Claim 21, Smith discloses a nonaqueous battery electrolyte formulation (battery electrolyte composition [0008, 0067, 0068]), comprising a compound of Formula (1) (general formula (1) [0076] or compounds such as Example 1 [0158] or Example 2 [0161] read on the compound of Formula (1) as the OR substituent group must read on the requirement of either cis- or trans-).
However, Smith is silent to an alcohol reaction for producing the compound.
Bartelt discloses an ether compound composition [Abstract]. The composition may be prepared by contacting a perfluoroalkene such as perfluoro-3-heptene with an alcohol in the presence of a strong base [0024]. The preparation and compound present non-flammability with little or no environmental impact [0006].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrolyte composition of Smith with the preparation method of Bartelt in order to present non-flammability with little or no environmental impact [0006].
Claims 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amine et al. (PGPub 2011/0076572).
Considering Claim 13, Amine discloses that the ionic electrolyte salt is present from about 0.01 M to about 1.5 M so as to provide an adequate number of carrier ions in the electrolyte [0072]. Because the amount of electrolyte salt provides an adequate number of carrier ions in the electrolyte [0072], routinely experimenting with and coming up with an amount of 0.1 to 20 wt% relative to the total mass of the battery electrolyte formulation to achieve such would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Amine discloses that the metal electrolyte salt is a salt of lithium, sodium, magnesium, calcium (salt of lithium, sodium, magnesium, calcium [0071]).
Considering Claim 15, Amine discloses that the metal electrolyte salt is a salt of lithium selected from the group consisting of lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) (LiPF6 [0090]).
Considering Claim 16, Amine discloses an additional solvent (further includes a carbonate compound solvent [0008]) selected from the group consisting of dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate ([0014]), or dimethoxyethane ([0067]), sulfolane ([0010]). Because these compounds are included [0008] for the purpose of good wetting stability, low viscosity, high ionic conductivity, and oxidative durability [0039], routinely experimenting with and coming up with an additional solvent liquid component weight of 0.1 wt% to 99.9 wt% would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725