DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: connected means in claim 39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-31, 38-39, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 30 is construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the second screw blade” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Since claim 31 depends upon an indefinite claim, that claim is construed to be indefinite by dependency. Claim 38 is construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the perforated tubes” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claim 39 is construed to be indefinite because the recitations “the rear head” and “the sprockets” lack a positive antecedent basis. Claim 42 is construed to be indefinite because the recitations “the outside,” “the other side,” “the drying apparatus,” “the condenser,” “the waste water,” “the water,” “the recirculation,” and “the drying apparatus” lack a positive antecedent basis. Claim 42 is further construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the expense” does not reference a particular structure or function from earlier in the claims or in the specfication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-28 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttner et al. (US 5,263,267) in view of Fan (US 12,048,910). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Buttner as teaching:
a screw conveyor (see title and abstract) comprising:
a helical element having a longitudinal axis and comprising:
a primary spiral comprising a plurality of turns; and
a secondary spiral comprising a plurality of turns, mounted on the primary spiral and rotatable with respect to the primary spiral around the longitudinal axis (shown in figure 4 and disclosed at column 20 lines 44-52). Buttner also discloses the claims 32-34 screw conveyor, in figures 4, 5 of Buttner since the preamble is not give patentable weight unless it breaths life and meaning into the claim. Buttner discloses the claimed invention, except for the recited set of elongate members spanning the primary and secondary spirals. Fan, another screw conveyor, discloses that feature in column 3 liens 27-45 and shown in figure 3. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Buttner with the teachings of Fan to provide elongate members connecting the spirals in a screw conveyor. Furthermore, although Buttner in view of Fan doesn’t disclose the claim 23 hinged attachment, claim 24 cylindrical hinge, the claim 25 slide joint, the claim 26 sliding guide, the claim 27 plurality of slots, or the claim 28 plurality of slots, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features, since the teachings of Buttner in view of Fan would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicant has not specified or claimed the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Double Patenting
Claims 22 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 32 and 39 of copending Application No. 18/546,998 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claim 22 is anticipated by copending claim 32 because all the structure and function in claim 22 is recited in copending claim 32. Likewise, claim 28 is anticipated by copending claim 39 because all the structure in claim 28 is anticipated by copending claim 39.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-31 and 35-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited in this application may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be proper or reasonable under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, N, O, P, cited with this action, are patent publications from the same inventive entity. References C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, L, L, Q, R, S, cited with this action teach screw conveyor type devices.
Monday, February 23, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753