DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-14 and 29, without traverse in the reply filed is acknowledged. The non-elected Group II, claims 15-28 and 30, has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-8, 11-14, 34-35, and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the subset of the plurality of resource sets" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 7 recites “transmit, to the second UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration, used by the first UE”. It is unclear whether “used by the first UE” is referring to a) “an indication” or b) “the CSI-RS resource set” or c) “the CSI report configuration”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 8 recites “receive, from the second UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration, used by the second UE”. It is unclear whether “used by the second UE” is referring to a) “an indication” or b) “the CSI-RS resource set” or c) “the CSI report configuration”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 11 recites “CSI-RS measurement” in line 4. It is unclear whether it is referring to “CSI-RS measurement” in claim 1 lines 10-11. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the subset of the plurality of resource sets" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 35 recites “receive, from the first UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of an association between the CSI-RS resource set and a CSI report configuration used by the first UE”. It is unclear whether “used by the first UE” is referring to a) “an indication” or b) “the CSI-RS resource set” or c) “a CSI report configuration”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 38 recites “CSI-RS measurement” in line 4. It is unclear whether it is referring to “CSI-RS measurement” in claim 29 lines 10-11. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 12-14 and 39-41 are also rejected since they are depended on the rejected claims 11 and 38 set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 29, and 31-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2020/0313743 A1) in view of Li et al. (WO 2020/155166 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 1 and 42, Park discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) [see Fig. 14, 16, abstract, para. 169-263; transmitter UE], comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to [see Fig. 16, para. 234-247, 267; a processor executing instructions stored in a memory to cause the transmitter UE to]:
transmit, to a second UE, a trigger message on a sidelink channel to trigger a channel state information (CSI) report [see Fig. 14, step S1420, para. 169-176; a transmitter UE determines whether to transmit the SL CSI-RS to a receiver UE for which CSI reporting has been enabled, and the transmitter UE transmits information on whether the SL CSI-RS is to be transmitted to the receiver UE through a sidelink control information format ("SCI format"). The transmitter UE sets a value in an information region included in the SCI format, such as a CSI request field, according to determination on whether to transmit the SL CSI-RS. In order to acquire sidelink channel state information between the transmitter UE and a receiver UE, the transmitter UE transmits the SL CSI-RS to the receiver UE];
determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on an identifier [see para. 180-182, 217-231; determine, from a PSFCH resource pool, a PSFCH resource used for CSI reporting based on PSFCH sub-channel ID]; performing channel sensing on a resource set pool [see Fig. 11A, 11B, para. 139-146]; and
transmit or receive a CSI-RS in the determined CSI-RS resource set [see para. 180-182; receive a CSI report from the receiver UE in the determined PSFCH resource].
Park does not explicitly disclose determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on “performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof”.
However, Li teaches determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof [see abstract, pages 34-35, Example 13; A CSI RS resource set (or SSB resource) configuration and the CSI report configuration are determined by the report configuration identifier. With the transmission configuration indicator information and the CSI RS resource set, a UE can measure the channel accurately].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claims 2 and 43, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool [see Fig. 14, step S1420, para. 177-181, 217-231; transmit SL CSI-RS to indicate the PSFCH resource based at least in part on the PSFCH resource pool]; and performing channel sensing on a resource set pool [see Fig. 11A, 11B, para. 139-146].
Park does not explicitly disclose performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool.
However, Li teaches transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool [see abstract, pages 15-17, Example 2, pages 34-35, Example 13; see Fig. 4A, step 410; transmitting, from a first radio terminal to a second radio terminal, a configuration signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the CSI-RS resource set based on an identifier [see para. 180-182, 217-231; determine the PSFCH resource used for CSI reporting based on PSFCH sub-channel ID].
Park does not explicitly disclose determine the CSI-RS resource set based on “the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”.
However, Li teaches determine the CSI-RS resource set based on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both [see abstract, page 17, Example 2, pages 34-35, Example 13; determine the CSI-RS resource set based on UE-ID].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determine the CSI-RS resource set based on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a subset of CSI-RS resource sets from the resource set pool [see para. 220-225; determine dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource from the PSFCH resource pool]; transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the plurality of resource sets within the subset [see Fig. 14, step S1420, para. 177-181, 217-231; transmit SL CSI-RS to indicate the PSFCH resource based at least in part on the dynamic PSFCH resource and the semi-statically PSFCH resource]; and performing channel sensing on a resource set pool [see Fig. 11A, 11B, para. 139-146].
Park does not explicitly disclose performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the subset.
However, Li teaches determine a subset of CSI-RS resource sets from the resource set pool [see pages 45-50, Example 18; determine periodic and aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resources from the CSI-RS resource set]; and transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the subset [see abstract, pages 34-35, Example 13; see Fig. 4A, step 410; see pages 45-50, Example 18; transmitting, from a first radio terminal to a second radio terminal, a configuration signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the periodic and aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resources].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit a signaling to indicate the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on performing channel sensing on the plurality of resource sets within the CSI-RS resource or the resource set pool”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the subset of CSI-RS resource sets from the resource set pool based at least in part on an association between the CSI report and the subset of the plurality of resource sets [see para. 217-225; determine the dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource from the PSFCH resource pool based at least in part on an association between the CSI reporting and the dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource].
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein the instructions to transmit the trigger message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine an association between a plurality of CSI report configurations and the plurality of resource sets [see para. 220-225; determine an association between a plurality of CSI report configurations (dynamic and semi-statically assigned) and the plurality of resource sets within the PSFCH resource pool]; and determine, based on the association, the CSI-RS resource set according to a CSI report configuration for the triggered CSI report [see para. 220-225; determine, based on the association, the PSFCH resource according to a CSI report configuration (dynamic or semi-statically assigned) for the CSI reporting].
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the second UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration, used by the first UE [see Fig. 14, step S1420, para. 177-182, 221-231; transmit, to the receiver UE via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication of the association between the PSFCH resource and the CSI report configuration].
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the second UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the association between the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI report configuration, used by the second UE [see Fig. 15, step S1510, para. 194-198, 221-231; receive, from the receiver UE via SCI, an indication of the association between the PSFCH resource and the CSI report configuration].
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: exchange, with the second UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, a first configuration for a first subset of the plurality of resource sets configured for the first UE and a second configuration for second subset of the plurality of resource sets configured for the second UE [see Fig. 14-15, para. 177-198; exchange, with the receiver UE via SCI signaling, a resource assigned for PSSCH transmission configured for the transmitter UE and a PSFCH resource configured for the receiver UE].
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate a sequence for the CSI-RS based at least in part on an identifier [see para. 180-182, 217-231; generate a sequence for the PSFCH resource based on PSFCH sub-channel ID].
Park does not explicitly disclose generate a sequence for the CSI-RS based at least in part on “the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”.
However, Li teaches generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both [see abstract, page 17, Example 2, pages 34-35, Example 13; generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on UE-ID].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, a configuration of the resource set pool associated with CSI-RS measurement, the resource set pool comprising the plurality of resource sets [see para. 177-181, 217-231; receive, from a base station, a configuration of the PSFCH resource pool associated with CSI reporting, the PSFCH resource pool comprising the plurality of resource sets].
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses wherein a frequency domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set spans a total resource pool associated with the sidelink channel [see Fig. 9B, para. 104-113, 217-231; a frequency domain allocation for the PSFCH resource spans a total resource pool associated with the sidelink channel].
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via sidelink control information or sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC), an indication that a frequency domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set spans a subset of subchannels of a resource pool associated with the sidelink channel [see Fig. 9B, para. 104-113, 217-231; transmit, via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication that a frequency domain allocation for the PSFCH resource spans a subset of subchannels of a resource pool associated with the sidelink channel].
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via sidelink control information, an indication of a time domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set [see para. 217-231; transmit, via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication of time resource allocation information for the PSFCH resource].
Regarding claims 29 and 44, Park discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) [see Fig. 15, 17, abstract, para. 169-263; a receiver UE], comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to [see Fig. 17, para. 248-262, 267; a processor executing instructions stored in a memory to cause the receiver UE to]:
receive, from a first UE, a trigger message on a sidelink channel to trigger a channel state information (CSI) report [see Fig. 15, step S1500, para. 185-193; receive, from a transmitter UE, a SL CSI-RS, which has been determined to be transmitted based on enabling information of CSI reporting];
determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on an identifier [see para. 195-197, 217-231; determine, from a PSFCH resource pool, a PSFCH resource used for CSI reporting based on PSFCH sub-channel ID]; and
transmit or receive a CSI-RS in the determined CSI-RS resource set [see Fig. 15, step S1510, para. 194-198; transmit a CSI report in the determined PSFCH resource].
Park does not explicitly disclose determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on “performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof”.
However, Li teaches determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof [see abstract, pages 34-35, example 13; A CSI RS resource set (or SSB resource) configuration and the CSI report configuration are determined by the report configuration identifier. With the transmission configuration indicator information and the CSI RS resource set, a UE can measure the channel accurately].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determine, from a plurality of resource sets within a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a resource set pool, a CSI-RS resource set used for CSI measurement based on performing channel sensing or based on a first identifier of the first UE, a second identifier of the second UE, a CSI report configuration identifier, or any combination thereof”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claims 31 and 45, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a signaling that indicates the CSI-RS resource set [see Fig. 15, step S1500, para. 185-193, 217-231; receive SL CSI-RS that indicates the PSFCH resource].
Regarding claim 32, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the CSI-RS resource set based on an identifier [see para. 194-198, 217-231; determine the PSFCH resource used for CSI reporting based on PSFCH sub-channel ID].
Park does not explicitly disclose determine the CSI-RS resource set based on “the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”.
However, Li teaches determine the CSI-RS resource set based on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both [see abstract, page 17, Example 2, pages 34-35, Example 13; determine the CSI-RS resource set based on UE-ID].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determine the CSI-RS resource set based on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 33, Park discloses wherein the instructions to determine the CSI-RS resource set are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a subset of CSI-RS resource sets from the resource set pool [see para. 220-225; determine dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource from the PSFCH resource pool]; receive a signaling that indicates the CSI-RS resource set from among the subset of CSI-RS resource sets [see Fig. 15, step S1500, para. 185-198, 217-231; receive SL CSI-RS to indicate the PSFCH resource from among the dynamic PSFCH resource and the semi-statically PSFCH resource].
Regarding claim 34, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the subset of CSI-RS resource sets from the resource set pool based at least in part on an association between the CSI report and the subset of the plurality of resource sets [see para. 217-225; determine the dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource from the PSFCH resource pool based at least in part on an association between the CSI reporting and the dynamic PSFCH resource and semi-statically PSFCH resource].
Regarding claim 35, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the first UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, an indication of an association between the CSI-RS resource set and a CSI report configuration used by the first UE [see Fig. 15, step S1500, para. 185-198, 221-231; receive, from the transmitter UE via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication of an association between the PSFCH resource and the CSI report configuration].
Regarding claim 36, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: exchange, with the first UE via sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, a first configuration for a first subset of the plurality of resource sets configured for the first UE and a second configuration for a second subset of the plurality of resource sets configured for the second UE [see Fig. 14-15, para. 177-198; exchange, with the transmitter UE via SCI signaling, a resource assigned for PSSCH transmission configured for the transmitter UE and a PSFCH resource configured for the receiver UE].
Regarding claim 37, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate a sequence for the CSI-RS based at least in part on an identifier [see para. 217-231; generate a sequence for the PSFCH resource based on PSFCH sub-channel ID].
Park does not explicitly disclose generate a sequence for the CSI-RS based at least in part on “the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”.
However, Li teaches generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both [see abstract, page 17, Example 2, pages 34-35, Example 13; generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on UE-ID].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate a sequence for the CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on the first identifier of the first UE, the second identifier of the second UE, or both”, as taught by Li, into the system of Park so that a UE can measure the channel accurately [see Li, page 35].
Regarding claim 38, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity, a configuration of the resource set pool associated with CSI-RS measurement, the resource set pool comprising the plurality of resource sets [see para. 185-204, 217-231; receive, from a base station, a configuration of the PSFCH resource pool associated with CSI reporting, the PSFCH resource pool comprising the plurality of resource sets].
Regarding claim 39, Park discloses wherein a frequency domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set spans a total resource pool associated with the sidelink channel [see Fig. 9B, para. 104-113, 217-231; a frequency domain allocation for the PSFCH resource spans a total resource pool associated with the sidelink channel].
Regarding claim 40, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via sidelink control information or sidelink Radio Resource Control (RRC), an indication that a frequency domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set spans a subset of subchannels of a resource pool associated with the sidelink channel [see Fig. 9B, para. 104-113, 217-231; receive, via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication that a frequency domain allocation for the PSFCH resource spans a subset of subchannels of a resource pool associated with the sidelink channel].
Regarding claim 41, Park discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via sidelink control information, an indication of a time domain allocation for the CSI-RS resource set [see para. 217-231; receive, via SCI, a PSFCH resource indication of time resource allocation information for the PSFCH resource].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganesan et al. (US 2023/0284136 A1), Fig. 7-11, para. 4-13, discloses sidelink control information based sensing.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469