DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because it depends on a claim 0 that does not exist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the method of claim 0" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2019/375902 A1) in view of Kutsovsky (WO 2020/247663 A1, attached to a prior Office action). All references have been cited in a prior Office action.
Regarding claims 1-18, Xiong teaches a method of producing a composite by providing a first dispersion of silica in a liquid, and combining it with a second dispersion of elastomer latex and carbon black, and mixing the dispersions (claim 70). The composition becomes solid when mixed (p. 1, [0008]). A combination of natural rubber, polybutadiene, and styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) may be used (p. 13, [0093]). The carbon black and silica may be initially dry, and rewetted, or added as wet slurry, with no drying step, in water (claim 71; p. 3, [0036]). The combined filler slurry may have up to 90% by weight of aqueous fluid (p. 3, [0032]). The mixer may further be charged with a coupling agent in any of the steps (p. 13, [0116]; p. 14, [0121]). Filler may be combined with the solid product after the solid masterbatch is formed (p. 13, [0120]).
The ingredients may be mixed using a rotor-stator mill (p. 19, Ex. 4). This reads on the claimed mixer having one or more rotors.
The composite formed may contain at least 25 phr silica and at least 10 phr carbon black in elastomer such as natural rubber (p. 15, [0127]). The method may be modified to generate a material having below 2 wt% of moisture, which is equivalent to below 2 wt% total liquid content where water is used as the sole liquid (p. 16, [0140]). No further ingredients are required (e.g. rubber chemicals as defined by the instant specification at p. 27, [0083]). These prior art ranges overlap the claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
However, Xiong is silent as to the temperature at which the composite may be formed.
In the same field of endeavor, Kutsovsky teaches mixing under temperature control where the temperature control means is set to a temperature ranging from 5-150*C (p. 37, [0104]). This prior art range overlaps the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Xiong and the temperature control means of Kutsovsky to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve improved filler dispersion, as taught by Kutsovsky (p. 36, [0098]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Xiong in view of Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Xiong further teaches that the composite may be combined with a curing agent (p. 13, [0120]). Kutsovsky further teaches curing the composition to form a vulcanizate (p. 69, [0204]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach mixing a liquid masterbatch in solid form with a wet filler. However, the masterbatch of Xiong may take solid form, as discussed above in reference to claim 1. Selecting Kutsovsky’s wet carbon black filler for mixing with Xiong’s solid masterbatch, as suggested by Xiong, is equivalent to the claimed method.
Applicant teaches that the combination of Xiong and Kutsovsky does not achieve the claimed invention because Kutsovsky teaches against use of a liquid masterbatch in solid form. However, Kutsovsky is not relied upon for its method. Rather, Kutsovsky’s filler is selected for use in the method of Xiong, which does not contain such teaching. The rejection is maintained, and is updated above for clarity. All of Applicant’s arguments are believed to have been addressed in full above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762