DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This office action is in response to the preliminary amendments filed on 06/07/2023 and 02/12/2024. Per the amendment filed on 06/07/2023, the amendment to the specification has been considered and entered. Per the amendment filed on 02/12/2024, claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-22, and 25-26 are as currently amended; claims 2 and 8 are as previously presented; and claims 4, 10, 14, 16, and 23-24 are canceled. As such, claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15, 17-22, and 25-26 are pending in the instant application.
Specification
PCT Administrative Instruction Section 201 – Headings of the Parts of the Description recites the following:
The headings of the parts of the description should be as follows:
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(i), "Technical Field";
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(ii), "Background Art";
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(iii), "Disclosure of Invention" or "Summary of Invention";
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(iv), "Brief Description of Drawings";
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(v), "Best Mode for Carrying out the Invention," or, where appropriate, "Mode(s) for Carrying out the Invention" or "Description of Embodiments;
for matter referred to in Rule 5.1(a)(vi), "Industrial Applicability";
The disclosure is objected to as it fails to include the above headings (see PCT Rule 5.1 and PCT Administrative Instructions Section 204).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 12, 15, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 5) and all further recitations: “including first and second sensor windows” should read “including a first sensor window and a second sensor window” for clarity.
Claim 1 (lines 5-6) and all further recitations: “the first and second sensor window” should read “the first sensor window and the second sensor window” for clarity.
Claim 1, line 8: “the first window of the sensor portion of the enclosing wall” should read “the first sensor window” for clarity and consistency.
Claim 1, line 9: “the second window” should read “the second sensor window” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 2, lines 6-7: “the sensor position of the respiratory mask” should read “the sensor portion” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 2, line 8: “the first sensor window of the sensor portion of the enclosing wall” should read “the first sensor window” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 6, line 2: “the sensor portion of the respiratory mask” should read “the sensor portion” for consistency and clarity.
Claim 6, line 4: “the second sensor window” should read “the second sensor window.”
Claim 7, line 3: “the portion of the housing that accommodates the transmitter” should read “a portion of the housing that accommodates the transmitter” for clarity and to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 7, lines 3-4: “the portion of the housing that accommodates the receiver” should read “a portion of the housing that accommodates the receiver” for clarity and to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 9 (line 3), Claim 12 (line 3), and Claim 20 (line 4): “the wearer” should read “a wearer” for clarity and to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 15, line 6: “the external surface of the mask body” should read “an external surface of the mask body” for clarity and to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 18, lines 3-5: “relative to the remainder of any of, or any combination of, the mask body, the enclosing wall of the mask body, the external surface of the mask body, and the sensor portions” should read “relative to the remainder of the mask body, the enclosing wall, an external surface of the mask body, the sensor portion, or any combination thereof” for clarity and consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, 15, 20-22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamori (US 20080196715 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamori discloses a respiratory apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a sensor (5; Fig. 1) and a respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]), the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) comprising a mask body (body of nasal mask, see Fig. 1) having an enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) that defines an interior cavity (space enclosed between nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see Fig. 2), and the sensor (5; Fig. 1) having a transmitter of electromagnetic radiation and a receiver of electromagnetic radiation (see Annotated Fig. 1 below; [0033], where light is a form of electromagnetic radiation), wherein the enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) has a sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) including first and second sensor windows (4 has two windows 17, one window 17 of 4 is on the left side and is not shown in Fig. 1 due to the angle of the drawing, and a second window 17 located on the right side of 4; Fig. 1; [0031]), a portion of the interior cavity being defined between the first and second sensor windows (the space within nasal tubes 6 and attachment portion 4 is fluidly connected to the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see the first sentence of [0035] and Fig. 1, hence a portion of the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face is defined between the windows 17, where windows 17 are positioned on opposing sides of attachment portion 4), and the sensor (5; Fig. 1) being mounted relative to the sensor portion of the respiratory mask (5 is mounted relative to 4, see Fig. 1 and 3), such that electromagnetic radiation from the transmitter is transmitted, in use, through the first window of the sensor portion of the enclosing wall, through the portion of the interior cavity defined between the first and second windows, through the second window, to the receiver (light from the transmitter moves through a first window 17, located on a first side of attachment portion 4, through the portion of the interior cavity between windows 17 positioned on opposing sides of attachment portion 4, through a second window 17 – located on a second side of attachment portion 4, opposite the first side of attachment portion 4 – to the light receiver; see Fig. 1 and Annotated Fig. 1; [0033]).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Yamamori discloses a kit of parts (Fig. 1, where the kit of parts has already been assembled) comprising a sensor (5; Fig. 1) and a respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]), the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) comprising a mask body (body of nasal mask, see Fig. 1) having an enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) that defines an interior cavity (space enclosed between nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see Fig. 2), and the sensor (5; Fig. 1) having a transmitter of electromagnetic radiation and a receiver of electromagnetic radiation (see Annotated Fig. 1 below; [0033], where light is a form of electromagnetic radiation), wherein the enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) has a sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) including first and second sensor windows (4 has two windows 17, one window 17 of 4 is on the left side and is not shown in Fig. 1 due to the angle of the drawing, and a second window 17 located on the right side of 4; Fig. 1; [0031]), a portion of the interior cavity being defined between the first and second sensor windows (the space within nasal tubes 6 and attachment portion 4 is fluidly connected to the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see the first sentence of [0035] and Fig. 1, hence a portion of the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face is defined between the windows 17, where windows 17 are positioned on opposing sides of attachment portion 4), and the sensor (5; Fig. 1) being mountable relative to the sensor portion of the respiratory mask (5 can be mounted relative to 4, see Fig. 1 and 3), such that electromagnetic radiation from the transmitter is transmitted, in use, through the first sensor window of the sensor portion of the enclosing wall, through the portion of the interior cavity defined between the first and second sensor windows, through the second sensor window, to the receiver (light from the transmitter moves through a first window 17, located on a first side of attachment portion 4, through the portion of the interior cavity between windows 17 positioned on opposing sides of attachment portion 4, through a second window 17 – located on a second side of attachment portion 4, opposite the first side of attachment portion 4 – to the light receiver; see Fig. 1 and Annotated Fig. 1; [0033]).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the sensor is a gas composition sensor ([0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein each of the first and second sensor windows have an interior surface and an exterior surface (it would be well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that both windows 17 have an exterior surface – in contact with associated light transmitter and light receiver – and an interior surface – in fluid contact with expiratory gases flowing through attachment portion 4 via nasal tubes 6; Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 5, wherein the sensor (5; Fig. 1) is mounted relative to the sensor portion of the respiratory mask (5 is mounted relative to 4, see Fig. 1 and 3) with the transmitter disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of the first sensor window and the receiver disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of the second sensor window (see [0033] and Figs. 1 and 3, where the transmitter and receiver are located on outer surfaces of windows 17, hence it would be readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the light transmitter can be disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of a first window 17 and the light receiver can be disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of a second window 17).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 6, wherein the sensor (5; Fig. 1) comprises a housing (housing of sensor, see Fig. 1) which accommodates the transmitter and the receiver (housing of sensor 5 accommodates the light transmitter and light receiver; Fig. 1; [0033]), and the portion of the housing that accommodates the transmitter and the portion of the housing that accommodates the receiver both project outwardly of the remainder of the housing (see Annotated Fig. 1 below), such that the transmitter is disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of the first sensor window and the receiver is disposed adjacent to the exterior surface of the second sensor window (see claim 6 above).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 8, Yamamori discloses a respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) for use with a sensor (5; Fig. 1; [0031]) having a transmitter of electromagnetic radiation and a receiver of electromagnetic radiation (see Annotated Fig. 1 below; [0033], where light is a form of electromagnetic radiation), the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) comprising a mask body (body of nasal mask, see Fig. 1) having an enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) that defines an interior cavity (space enclosed between nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see Fig. 2), the enclosing wall (1; Fig. 1) having a sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) including first and second sensor windows (4 has two windows 17, one window 17 of 4 is on the left side and is not shown in Fig. 1 due to the angle of the drawing, and a second window 17 located on the right side of 4; Fig. 1; [0031]), a portion of the interior cavity being defined between the first and second sensor windows (the space within nasal tubes 6 and attachment portion 4 is fluidly connected to the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face 12, see the first sentence of [0035] and Fig. 1, hence a portion of the space between the nasal mask shell 1 and the user’s face is defined between the windows 17, where windows 17 are positioned on opposing sides of attachment portion 4).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 11, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) further comprises an inspiratory gas inlet port (2; Figs. 1-2) for delivering inspiratory gas to the wearer ([0029], lines 5-8), and the sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) is formed separately from the inspiratory gas inlet port (see Figs. 1-2, where attachment portion 4 is formed separately from inlet 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) further comprises an inspiratory gas inlet port (2; Figs. 1-2) for delivering inspiratory gas to the wearer ([0029], lines 5-8), and the sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) is spaced from the inspiratory gas inlet port (see Figs. 1-2, where attachment portion 4 is spaced from inlet 2).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the sensor portion is a discontinuity in the enclosing wall of the mask body (Fig. 2; first sentence of [0031]), and/or wherein the enclosing wall of the mask body has an external surface that forms the exterior of the mask body, and the sensing portion projects, either inwardly or outwardly, relative to the external surface of the mask body (see Fig. 1 and Annotated Fig. 2 below, where the attachment portion 4 projects inwardly, and it projects inwardly within the interior cavity, relative to the external surface of the mask body and groove 3).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 15, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first and second sensor windows are transmissive of the electromagnetic radiation transmitted by the transmitter (light from the transmitter is transmitted through both windows 17 to be received by the receiver, see claim 1 above, hence both windows 17 are transmissive of the light transmitted by the light-transmitter; [0033]).
Regarding claim 20, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the mask body (body of nasal mask, see Fig. 1) further comprises a nose cavity portion (see Figs. 1-2, where user’s nose 11 is within the body of the nasal mask) and an inspiratory gas inlet port (2; Figs. 1-2) for delivering inspiratory gas to the wearer ([0029], lines 5-8), the inspiratory gas inlet port being formed in the nose cavity portion (inlet 2 is formed withing the body of the nasal mask positioned about the user’s nose 11, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) is formed in the mask body (see Fig. 2, where 4 is formed within the mask body) in a region of intersection between an expiratory flow from a wearer's nose and an expiratory flow from a wearer's mouth (4 is positioned in the mask body in between the user’s mouth and the user’s nose, see Fig. 2, hence 4 is located in a region of intersection between expiratory flow from the user’s nose and expiratory flow from the user’s mouth).
Regarding claim 22, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the enclosing wall of the mask body (1; Figs. 1-2) has an external surface that forms the exterior of the mask body (the exterior surface of 1 forms the exterior surface of the mask body, see Figs. 1 and 2), and the sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) comprises a pair of side walls that are angled relative to the external surface of the mask body (see Annotated Figs. 1-2 below), wherein the first and second sensor windows are formed in the pair of side walls (windows 17 are formed in the side walls of attachment portion 4, see Annotated Figs. 1-2 below).
Annotated Fig. 1
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 25, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the sensor is releasably engageable with the sensor portion ([0009]; [0031], lines 6-7).
Regarding claim 26, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the respiratory mask (nasal mask, see Fig. 1; first sentence of [0029]) is for protective purposes (protecting the user from sleep apnea events and potential respiratory failure, see [0001]; protecting the user from accumulating a hazardous concentration of carbon dioxide gas during therapy, see [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori (US 20080196715 A1) in view of Miller (US 20140238400 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. Yamamori further discloses an expired gas outlet (16; Fig. 1) for delivering expiratory gas from the user ([0031], first sentence of [0035]), but is silent to the expiratory gas outlet port being arranged to connect to a gas outlet, or having a gas outlet integrally or detachably connected thereto, and wherein the sensor portion is formed separately from the expiratory gas outlet.
However, Miller teaches an analogous respiratory mask (see Fig. 1) with exhalation openings (18; Fig. 2; [0041] and [0046]) located on the mask body (10; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mask body taught by Yamamori (see claim 1 above) with the exhalation openings taught by Miller (Miller 18; Figs. 1-2; [0041] and [0046]) such that the expiratory gas outlet port (16; Fig. 1) being arranged to connect to a gas outlet (Yamamori 16 is fluidly connected to Miller 18 via the interior cavity; Yamamori Figs. 1-2; Miller Fig. 2; Miller [0041] and [0046]), and wherein the sensor portion (4; Fig. 1) is formed separately from the expiratory gas outlet (Miller 18 is formed within the respiratory mask body taught by Yamamori, hence Yamamori 4 and Miller 18 are formed separately; Yamamori Figs. 1-2; Miller Fig. 2; Miller [0041] and [0046]) to allow exhaled gases to exit the interior cavity and minimize rebreathing of exhaled gases (Miller [0018], lines 6-11; Miller [0046], lines 1-3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori (US 20080196715 A1) in view of Haveri (US 20140330154 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1. Yamamori further discloses a light transmitter and receiver, but does not explicitly disclose infrared radiation transmitted by the transmitter and received by the receiver.
However, Haveri teaches an analogous sensor (2; Figs. 4-5) with a radiation source (40; Fig. 4) transmitting infrared radiation (first sentence of [0031]), where the infrared radiation from the radiation source (40; Fig. 4) is received by a detector (41; Fig. 4; first sentence of [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the light transmitter and light receiver taught by Yamamori (see claim 1 above) with the radiation source and detector taught by Haveri (see above), such that the electromagnetic radiation transmitted by the transmitter (Haveri 40; Fig. 4) and received by the receiver (Haveri 41; Fig. 4) is infrared radiation (first sentence of Haveri [0031]) as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute one know electromagnetic radiation transmitter and receiver for another electromagnetic radiation transmitter and receiver to measure the composition of expiratory gases (see MPEP §2143(I)).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori (US 20080196715 A1) in view of Rich (US 5693944 A).
Regarding claim 18, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but is silent to the first and second sensor windows are of a reduced thickness relative to the remainder of any of, or any combination of, the mask body, the enclosing wall of the mask body, the external surface of the mask body, and the sensor portions.
However, Rich teaches an analogous sensor portion (center section 126, see Fig. 1) to measure the concentration of a gas (Abstract) where the windows (142 and 144; Figs. 1 and 3) have a reduced thickness relative to the remainder of the sensor portions (see Fig. 1 where window 144 is recessed in retainer ring 176 due to the window’s reduced thickness relative to the walls of center section 126; see Fig. 3, where windows 142 and 144 have a reduced thickness relative to center section 126; col. 8, lines 64-67 and col. 9, lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the windows taught by Yamamori (see claim 1 above) with the window taught by Rich (142 and 144; Figs. 1 and 3), such that the first and second sensor windows (Rich 142 and 144; Rich Figs. 1 and 3) are of a reduced thickness relative to the remainder of any of the sensor portions (see Rich Fig. 1 where window 144 is recessed in retainer ring 176 due to the window’s reduced thickness relative to the walls of center section 126; see Rich Fig. 3, where windows 142 and 144 have a reduced thickness relative to center section 126; Rich: col. 8, lines 64-67 and col. 9, lines 1-4) to provide a flush fit between the windows and the inner surfaces of the sensor portion side walls to minimize errors that may occur due to debris collecting and obscuring the light transmitted from the light transmitter (Rich col. 9, lines 31-37).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamori (US 20080196715 A1) in view of Yamamori et al. (JP 2003315264 A), hereinafter Yamamori ‘264.
Regarding claim 19, Yamamori discloses the invention as set forth in claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose the mask body comprises a mouth cavity portion and the sensor portion is formed in the mouth cavity portion.
However, Yamamori does incorporate the sensor (5; Fig. 1) from Yamamori ‘264 (see Yamamori [0033]), where Yamamori ‘264 teaches the sensor (Yamamori ‘264: 1; Fig. 2b) being attached to an outer surface of a full face oxygen mask (Yamamori ‘264: mask 20; Fig. 9) to measure the composition of carbon dioxide gas in the air exhaled by the user (Yamamori ‘264: [0049], see provided translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mask taught by Yamamori (see claim 1 above) with the mask taught by Yamamori ‘264 (Yamamori ‘264: mask 20; Fig. 9), such that the mask body (body of mask 20 taught by Yamamori ‘264, see Yamamori ‘264 Fig. 9) comprises a mouth cavity portion (portion of Yamamori ‘264 mask 20 retaining the user’s mouth, see Yamamori ‘264 Fig. 9 and provided translation of Yamamori ‘264 [0049]) and the sensor portion is formed in the mouth cavity portion (attachment portion 4 is within the interior cavity, see Fig. 2, hence the attachment portion 4 is within an interior cavity of the mask 20 taught by Yamamori ‘264, where the user’s mouth is also retained in the interior cavity of the mask 20 taught by Yamamori ‘264, see Yamamori ‘264 Fig. 9) as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute one know type of mask, such as the nasal mask taught by Yamamori, with another known type of mask, such as the face mask taught by Yamamori ‘264, to supply air to the user and measure the composition of carbon dioxide gas exhaled by the user (see MPEP §2143(I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Takatori et al. (US 20110094513 A1): Regarding an oxygen mask with an detachable optical sensor to measure the concentration of expired gas.
Pedro et al. (WO 2016201358 A1): Regarding a ventilation mask with a mouth cavity portion, a nasal cavity portion, and a sensor to monitor CO2 concentration.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785