DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion that the cited prior art does not teach-wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement-
Wang teaches wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam (MAC CE comprising a SSB index (Section 0149), Wang’s system is related to beams (Abstract) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SSB index corresponds to a given beam). Islam, which also teaches the use of SSB indexes, teaches an SSB index that satisfies an MPE requirement (Section 0155, SSB maintains MPE regulations thus SSB index maintains MPE regulations). Luo teaches the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams (the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific). The combination of Luo, Wang, and Islam teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2024/0007973) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2021/0243778) in view R2 in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0022065) and in further view of Islam et al. (US 2019/0053271)
Regarding Claim 10, Luo teaches a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit a beam-specific maximum permitted exposure (MPE) report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific, typical mobile terminals comprise transmitters, receivers, and processors); the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams (the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific); and a processor that controls transmission of the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC-CE based on the first RRC parameter (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo does not teach radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group, a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams; and a processor that controls, when the MPE report is triggered for the given beam, transmission of the beam-specific MPE report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based on the first RRC parameter, and starts or restarts the timer based on the second RRC parameter, wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Takeda, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches a radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group (Section 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Luo with the above features of Takeda for the purpose of providing simultaneous PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions as taught by Takeda.
Luo in view of Takeda does not teach a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered.
R2, which also teaches MPE reporting, teaches a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered (Page 8, 2.4 RRC Parameters, “Reporting prohibit time”, timer for MPE reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda with the above features of R2 for the purpose of preventing the sending of excessive reports thus reducing signaling overload as indicated by R2.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 does not teach wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam.
Wang, which also teaches the use of beams, teaches wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam (MAC CE comprising a SSB index (Section 0149), Wang’s system is related to beams (Abstract) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SSB index corresponds to a given beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 with the above features of Wang for the purpose of providing efficient beam management, which is a benefit of SSB indexing.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang does not teach a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Islam, which also teaches the use of SSB indexes, teaches an SSB index that satisfies an MPE requirement (Section 0155, SSB maintains MPE regulations thus SSB index maintains MPE regulations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang with the above features of Islam for the purpose of supporting different configurations for message content and transmission in a random-access procedure as taught by Islam. The combination of Luo, Wang, and Islam teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement.
Regarding Claim 15, Luo teaches a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising: receiving a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit a beam-specific maximum permitted exposure
(MPE) report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific); the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams (the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific); and controlling transmission of the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC-CE based on the first RRC parameter (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo does not teach radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group, a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams; and a processor that controls, when the MPE report is triggered for the given beam, transmission of the beam-specific MPE report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based on the first RRC parameter, and starts or restarts the timer based on the second RRC parameter, wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Takeda, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches a radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group (Section 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Luo with the above features of Takeda for the purpose of providing simultaneous PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions as taught by Takeda.
Luo in view of Takeda does not teach a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered
R2, which also teaches MPE reporting, teaches a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered (Page 8, 2.4 RRC Parameters, “Reporting prohibit time”, timer for MPE reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda with the above features of R2 for the purpose of preventing the sending of excessive reports thus reducing signaling overload as indicated by R2.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 does not teach wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam
Wang, which also teaches the use of beams, teaches wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam (MAC CE comprising a SSB index (Section 0149), Wang’s system is related to beams (Abstract) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SSB index corresponds to a given beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 with the above features of Wang for the purpose of providing efficient beam management, which is a benefit of SSB indexing.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang does not teach a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Islam, which also teaches the use of SSB indexes, teaches an SSB index that satisfies an MPE requirement (Section 0155, SSB maintains MPE regulations thus SSB index maintains MPE regulations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang with the above features of Islam for the purpose of supporting different configurations for message content and transmission in a random-access procedure as taught by Islam. The combination of Luo, Wang, and Islam teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement.
Regarding Claim 16, Luo teaches a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit a beam-specific maximum permitted exposure (MPE) report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific, typical base stations, which is the network side, comprise transmitters, receivers, and processors); the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated to a terminal out of a plurality of beams (the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific); and a processor that controls reception of the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE), the beam-specific MPE report being transmitted based on the first RRC parameter (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo does not teach radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group, a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams; and a processor that controls, when the MPE report is triggered for the given beam, transmission of the beam-specific MPE report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based on the first RRC parameter, and starts or restarts the timer based on the second RRC parameter, wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered that satisfies and MPE requirement.
Takeda, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches a radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group (Section 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Luo with the above features of Takeda for the purpose of providing simultaneous PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions as taught by Takeda.
Luo in view of Takeda does not teach a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered.
R2, which also teaches MPE reporting, teaches a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered (Page 8, 2.4 RRC Parameters, “Reporting prohibit time”, timer for MPE reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda with the above features of R2 for the purpose of preventing the sending of excessive reports thus reducing signaling overload as indicated by R2.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 does not teach wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam
Wang, which also teaches the use of beams, teaches wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam (MAC CE comprising a SSB index (Section 0149), Wang’s system is related to beams (Abstract) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SSB index corresponds to a given beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 with the above features of Wang for the purpose of providing efficient beam management, which is a benefit of SSB indexing.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang does not teach a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Islam, which also teaches the use of SSB indexes, teaches an SSB index that satisfies an MPE requirement (Section 0155, SSB maintains MPE regulations thus SSB index maintains MPE regulations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang with the above features of Islam for the purpose of supporting different configurations for message content and transmission in a random-access procedure as taught by Islam. The combination of Luo, Wang, and Islam teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement.
Regarding Claim 17, Luo teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit a beam-specific maximum permitted exposure (MPE) report using a power headroom reporting (PHR) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific, typical mobile terminals comprise transmitters, receivers, and processors): the MPE report is triggered for a given beam that is indicated by a base station out of a plurality of beams (the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific); and a processor that controls, based on the RRC parameter, transmission of the beam- specific MPE report using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE), and the base station comprises: a processor that controls reception of the beam-specific MPE report (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE, typical base stations, which is the network side, comprise transmitters, receivers, and processors).
Luo does not teach radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group.
Takeda, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches a radio resource control (RRC) parameter per cell group (Section 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Luo with the above features of Takeda for the purpose of providing simultaneous PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions as taught by Takeda.
Luo in view of Takeda does not teach a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered.
R2, which also teaches MPE reporting, teaches a second RRC parameter indicating a timer that is started or restarted when the MPE report is triggered (Page 8, 2.4 RRC Parameters, “Reporting prohibit time”, timer for MPE reporting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda with the above features of R2 for the purpose of preventing the sending of excessive reports thus reducing signaling overload as indicated by R2.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 does not teach wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which an MPE report is triggered or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which an MPE report is triggered.
Wang, which also teaches the use of beams, teaches wherein a MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam (MAC CE comprising a SSB index (Section 0149), Wang’s system is related to beams (Abstract) thus rendering a scenario wherein the SSB index corresponds to a given beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 with the above features of Wang for the purpose of providing efficient beam management, which is a benefit of SSB indexing.
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang does not teach a synchronization signal block (SSB) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index corresponding to the given beam that satisfies an MPE requirement.
Islam, which also teaches the use of SSB indexes, teaches an SSB index that satisfies an MPE requirement (Section 0155, SSB maintains MPE regulations thus SSB index maintains MPE regulations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo combination with the above features of Islam for the purpose of supporting different configurations for message content and transmission in a random-access procedure as taught by Islam. The combination of Luo, Wang, and Islam teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies an MPE requirement or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) index of the given beam for which the MPE report is triggered and that satisfies the MPE requirement.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam, as applied to Claim 10 set forth above, and further in view of Go et al. (US 2022/0167335)
Regarding Claim 11, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam does not teach a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating whether to support the beam-specific MPE report.
Go, which also teaches the use of MPE reporting, teaches a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating whether to support the MPE report (Section 0258, Table 10, the maxUplinkDutyCycle is the capability information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam with the above features of Go for the purpose of transmitting an uplink signal that satisfies the MPE limitation and prevents problems such as reduction of uplink coverage and throughput degradation as taught by Go.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam, as applied to Claim 10 set forth above, and further in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2022/0110071)
Regarding Claim 12, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam does not teach wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE.
Hosseini, which also teaches the use of PHR MAC CEs, teaches wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE (Section 0062, octets associated with the serving cells thus rendering the scenario of wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam with the above features of Hosseini for the purpose of providing PHRs of simultaneous or parallel PUCCHs and PUSCHs on different component carriers as taught by Hosseini.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam, as applied to Claim 10 set forth above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2022/0104222)
Regarding Claim 13, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Luo further teaches wherein the PHR MAC CE includes one or more beam-specific MPE reports (the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam does not teach wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable.
Ahn, which also teaches the use of the PHR MAC CE, teaches wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable (Section 0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam with the above features of Ahn for the purpose of providing efficient performance of transmission and reception in a wireless communication system as taught by Ahn.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam, as applied to Claim 10 set forth above, and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0007299)
Regarding Claim 14, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Luo further teaches wherein the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC CE is configured (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, RRC is used thus there will be a RRC parameter that is configured), the processor controls transmission of the beam-specific MPE report (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam does not teach a third RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report, the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Rahman, which also teaches the use of MPE reports, teaches an RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, RRC is used thus an RRC parameter is configured, UE-specific), the processor controls transmission of the terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, UE-specific).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam with the above features of Rahman for the purpose of properly aligning spatial beams at the base station and the UE as taught by Rahman. The combination of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam and Rahman teaches the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go, as applied to Claim 11 set forth above, and further in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2022/0110071)
Regarding Claim 18, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 11. Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go does not teach wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE.
Hosseini, which also teaches the use of PHR MAC CEs, teaches wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE (Section 0062, octets associated with the serving cells thus rendering the scenario of wherein a number of octets in different serving cells is the same in the PHR MAC CE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go with the above features of Hosseini for the purpose of providing PHRs of simultaneous or parallel PUCCHs and PUSCHs on different component carriers as taught by Hosseini.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go, as applied to Claim 11 set forth above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2022/0104222)
Regarding Claim 19, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 11. Luo further teaches wherein the PHR MAC CE includes one or more beam-specific MPE reports (the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go does not teach wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable.
Ahn, which also teaches the use of the PHR MAC CE, teaches wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable (Section 0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Islam in view of Go with the above features of Ahn for the purpose of providing efficient performance of transmission and reception in a wireless communication system as taught by Ahn.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini, as applied to Claim 12 set forth above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2022/0104222)
Regarding Claim 20, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Luo further teaches wherein the PHR MAC CE includes one or more beam-specific MPE reports (the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE (Section 0082), the beams are in relation to the MPE (Section 0040) thus the MPE report will be beam-specific).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini does not teach wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable.
Ahn, which also teaches the use of the PHR MAC CE, teaches wherein the size of the PHR MAC CE is variable (Section 0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini with the above features of Ahn for the purpose of providing efficient performance of transmission and reception in a wireless communication system as taught by Ahn.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Go, as applied to Claim 11 set forth above, and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0007299)
Regarding Claim 21, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Go teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 11. Luo further teaches wherein the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC CE are configured (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, RRC is used thus there will be a RRC parameter that is configured), the processor controls transmission of the beam-specific MPE report (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Go does not teach a third RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report, the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Rahman, which also teaches the use of MPE reports, teaches an RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, RRC is used thus an RRC parameter is configured, UE-specific), the processor controls transmission of the terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, UE-specific).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Go with the above features of Rahman for the purpose of properly aligning spatial beams at the base station and the UE as taught by Rahman. The combination of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Go and Rahman teaches the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini, as applied to Claim 12 set forth above, and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0007299)
Regarding Claim 22, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 12. Luo further teaches wherein the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC CE are configured (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, RRC is used thus there will be a RRC parameter that is configured), the processor controls transmission of the beam-specific MPE report (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini does not teach a third RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report, the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Rahman, which also teaches the use of MPE reports, teaches an RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, RRC is used thus an RRC parameter is configured, UE-specific), the processor controls transmission of the terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, UE-specific).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini with the above features of Rahman for the purpose of properly aligning spatial beams at the base station and the UE as taught by Rahman. The combination of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Hosseini and Rahman teaches the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Ahn, as applied to Claim 13 set forth above, and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 2022/0007299)
Regarding Claim 23, Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Ahn teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 13. Luo further teaches wherein the first RRC parameter indicating whether to transmit the beam-specific MPE report using the PHR MAC CE are configured (Section 0072, MPE event is indication of whether to transmit an MPE report, RRC is used thus there will be a RRC parameter that is configured), the processor controls transmission of the beam-specific MPE report (Section 0082, the MPE report is a response to the MPE event and is sent using the PHR MAC-CE).
Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Ahn does not teach a third RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report, the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report
Rahman, which also teaches the use of MPE reports, teaches an RRC parameter corresponding to a terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, RRC is used thus an RRC parameter is configured, UE-specific), the processor controls transmission of the terminal-specific MPE report (Section 0191, UE-specific).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Ahn with the above features of Rahman for the purpose of properly aligning spatial beams at the base station and the UE as taught by Rahman. The combination of the Luo in view of Takeda in view of R2 in view of Wang in view of Ahn and Rahman teaches the processor controls transmission of both the terminal-specific MPE report and the beam-specific MPE report.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
July 28, 2026