Detailed Action
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant is advised that should Claims 1-2 be found allowable, Claims 13-14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicates thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). (The phrases “the dose of brivaracetam is lowered” and “with caution” are unclear and do not serve to further limit their respective claims. See 35 USC § 112(b) section below.)
Claim 3 should spell “generalisation" generalization.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 and 14-15 recite “the dose of CBD [or BRV] is lowered”. First, the claims lack antecedent basis as no “dose” is described or mentioned in the independent claims. Second, it is unclear with respect to what amount the dose is lowered. Is the amount administered lowered compared to a monotherapy? Compared to an initial dose? The claims to not set forth clear metes and bounds of what “lowered” means in the context of the dosing claims. Claims 3-12 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 12 recites “brain abnormalities”. It is unclear what brain abnormalities means in the context of epilepsy. Does applicant mean to refer to physical structural abnormalities of the brain? Or does the phrase also include mutations and other biochemical and genetic abnormalities of the brain? Does the term capture all possible forms of epilepsy which would then not further limit Claim 1 at all? The metes and bounds of the limitation are not clear in view of applicant’s disclosure.
Claim 13 recites “with caution”. The term is not defined in applicant’s specification. It is unclear what caution entails aside from those examples detailed in Claims 16-18. Is caution describing some physical step or merely a general approach to administration?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 5 requires CBD be synthetic. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113 (I). Synthetic CBD is the same compound as naturally occurring CBD. The structure of CBD does not change depending on its source. However, CBD in the form of a natural extract as described in Claims 4 and 6-7 also comprises other trace phytocannabinoids and natural products from the sourcing plant.
Claim 8 reads “the CBD is used in combination with one or more…AED”. However, Claim 1 which depends on Claim 8 already requires that the CBD is administered with BRV, an AED, concomitantly. Claim 9 recites compounds which expand the scope of the single AED recited in Claim 1. It is suggested applicant use more precise claim language like “further comprising administering/using” and “additional” or “secondary” to clarify that the “one or more…AED” is in addition to the BRV and CBD of Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klotz (Front Neurol. 2019 Dec 10;10:1313. 1-8, cited in 1/22/2024 IDS).
Klotz teaches combination therapies comprising 5-50mg/kg/day of CBD and antiepileptic drugs (AED) (Abstract). AEDs tested include brivaracetam (BRV) (Page 5, Right Col.). Patients are monitored for side effects, resulting in at least two discontinuations (Page 6, Right Col.). Synthetic CBD was used and well-tolerated (Page 6, Right Col.).
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs (Epilepsia. 2019;60.e74-e77, cited in 1/22/2024 IDS, first author Klotz).
Jacobs teaches CBD as a treatment for Lennox-Gastaut and Dravet syndromes with BRV (Abstract; Page e74, Introduction). Patients being treated with 5-50mg/kg/day CBD were concomitantly treated with additional AEDs including clobazam (Page e75, Methods). BRV dosage amounts were reduced from initial amounts due to increased plasma BRV and side effects associated therewith (Page e75, Results).
Claims 1-2, 5, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukunda (WO2016160542, published 2016, cited in 1/22/2024).
Mukunda teaches “methods for treating seizure disorders such as epilepsy in humans and animals using, the combination of a non-barbiturate anti-epileptic drug (NAED), phytocannabinoid cannabidiol (CBD); and a lipophilic fatty acid such as alpha linolenic acid (ALA)” (Abstract). NAEDs include BRV among two others named (Para 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klotz (Front Neurol. 2019 Dec 10;10:1313. 1-8, cited in 1/22/2024 IDS).
Klotz teaches combination therapies comprising 5-50mg/kg/day of CBD and antiepileptic drugs (AED) (Abstract). AEDs tested include brivaracetam (BRV) (Page 5, Right Col.). Epilepsy types include Dravet syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome, and Seizure types include tonic seizures (Page 4, Table 1; Page 6, Table 3). Most patients are treated with two or more AED, among those other AEDs named is clobazam (Page 5, Discussion).
Patients are monitored for side effects, resulting in at least two discontinuations (Page 6, Right Col.). Regarding Claim 18, a practitioner in the art would advise patient of said side effects before administration to achieve informed consent of the patient in need thereof, reducing danger to the patient and the liability of the practitioner.
Synthetic CBD was used and well-tolerated and similar to plant derived CBD (Page 6, Right Col.). With respect to Claims 4 and 6-7, one of skill in the art using the plant-derived extract would therefore minimize non-CBD cannabinoids like THC and CBDV and increase purity to above 95% CBD to more closely approximate the safe, tolerated synthetic CBD because both CBDs are “chemically identical” (Page 7, Right Col.).
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims
Of Patent App. No. (Checketts)
1-14
18005838
1-14
18005841
1-14 and 16-24
18005843
1-14
18005845
1-13
18005847
1-14
18005848
1-14
18005851
1-14
18005852
1-14
18005853
1-14
18005868
1-14
18005959
1-14
18005960
1-14
18005961
1-13
18006121
1-14
18006125
1-13
18006127
1-13
18006129
15-27
18006131
1-14
18006133
1-14
18311221
1-11
18912442
in view of Klotz (Front Neurol. 2019 Dec 10;10:1313. 1-8, cited in 1/22/2024 IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating epileptic seizures of various types comprising administering 5-50mg/kg/day of 95% or 95% pure CBD and an AED.
Checketts does not teach the use of BRV as the AED.
However, Klotz teaches combination therapies comprising 5-50mg/kg/day of CBD and antiepileptic drugs (AED) (Abstract). AEDs tested include brivaracetam (BRV) (Page 5, Right Col.). Epilepsy types include Dravet syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome, and Seizure types include tonic seizures (Page 4, Table 1; Page 6, Table 3). Most patients are treated with two or more AED, among those other AEDs named is clobazam (Page 5, Discussion).
Patients are monitored for side effects, resulting in at least two discontinuations (Page 6, Right Col.). Regarding Claim 18, a practitioner in the art would advise patient of said side effects before administration to achieve informed consent of the patient in need thereof, reducing danger to the patient and the liability of the practitioner.
Synthetic CBD was used and well-tolerated and similar to plant derived CBD (Page 6, Right Col.). With respect to Claims 4 and 6-7, one of skill in the art using the plant-derived extract would therefore minimize non-CBD cannabinoids like THC and CBDV and increase purity to above 95% CBD to more closely approximate the safe, tolerated synthetic CBD because both CBDs are “chemically identical” (Page 7, Right Col.).
One of skill in the art would therefore find it obvious to select BRV as the concomitant AED for its known and tested combination use with CBD as well as other AEDs.
The copending apps teach more narrow varieties of epilepsy related to mutations or different disorders; however, these subspecies of disease are not precluded by the instant claims.
Since both applications teach the treatment of epileptic seizures comprising administering both CBD and an AED, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of the copending applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
NONPROVISIONAL:
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
Claims
of Patent No. (Checketts)
1-19
10583096
1-24
10709671
1-32
10849860
1-25
10918608
1-22
11065209
1-21
11311498
1-28
11357741
1-19
11679087
1-28
12064399
in view of Klotz (Front Neurol. 2019 Dec 10;10:1313. 1-8, cited in 1/22/2024 IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a are directed to a method of treating epileptic seizures of various types comprising administering at least 95% pure CBD and an AED.
Checketts does not teach the use of BRV as the AED.
However, Klotz teaches combination therapies comprising 5-50mg/kg/day of CBD and antiepileptic drugs (AED) (Abstract). AEDs tested include brivaracetam (BRV) (Page 5, Right Col.). Epilepsy types include Dravet syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome, and Seizure types include tonic seizures (Page 4, Table 1; Page 6, Table 3). Most patients are treated with two or more AED, among those other AEDs named is clobazam (Page 5, Discussion).
Patients are monitored for side effects, resulting in at least two discontinuations (Page 6, Right Col.). Regarding Claim 18, a practitioner in the art would advise patient of said side effects before administration to achieve informed consent of the patient in need thereof, reducing danger to the patient and the liability of the practitioner.
Synthetic CBD was used and well-tolerated and similar to plant derived CBD (Page 6, Right Col.). With respect to Claims 4 and 6-7, one of skill in the art using the plant-derived extract would therefore minimize non-CBD cannabinoids like THC and CBDV and increase purity to above 95% CBD to more closely approximate the safe, tolerated synthetic CBD because both CBDs are “chemically identical” (Page 7, Right Col.).
One of skill in the art would therefore find it obvious to select BRV as the concomitant AED for its known and tested combination use with CBD as well as other AEDs.
The copending apps teach more narrow varieties of epilepsy related to mutations or different disorders; however, these subspecies of disease are not precluded by the instant claims.
Since both applications teach the treatment of epileptic seizures comprising administering both CBD and an AED, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of the above patents.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627