DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “that” at line 6 should be “than”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101/112
The claimed invention of claim 15 is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e. results in a claim which is not a proper process claim
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8 and 9, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites “(CAS: [68515-73-1]): within parenthesis and it is not clear if the phrase is a limitation of the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “mixture of branched and linear saturated C15-C19 alkanes is more than 80% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably more than 90% by weight, most preferred more than 92% by weight” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 2 recites the broad recitation “less than 10% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably less than 8% by weight, most preferred more than 5% by weight” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 3 recites the broad recitation “more than 50% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably more than 60% by weight, even more preferably more than 70% by weight” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 6 recites the broad recitation “between 1:15 and 5:1”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 1:10 and 4:1, more preferably between 1:8 and 3:1” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 8 recites the broad recitation “C14-C18 fatty acid”, and the claim also recites “particularly a linear C14-C18 fatty acid, most preferably palmitic acid” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 9 recites the broad recitation “between 3 and 20”, and the claim also recites “particularly between 8 and 16” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 10 recites the broad recitation “more than 2.5”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 2.7 and 3.5, more preferably between 28 and 3.4, most preferably between 2.8 and 3.2 per glucose unit” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 11 recites the broad recitation “molecular weight between 8,000 and 16,000 Da”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 9,000 and 13,000, more preferably between 10,000 and 11,500 Da” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 14 recites the broad recitation “10 or higher”, and the claim also recites “preferably of 20 or higher, more preferred of 30 or higher, even more preferred 50 or higher” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation; and
claim15 recites the broad recitation “a mixture”, and the claim also recites “preferably in combination with an ester of a fatty acid and dextrin” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation
claim 15 recites the broad recitation “saturated C15-C319 alkanes is more than 80% by weight”, and the claim also recites “preferably more than 90% by weight, most preferred more than 92% by weight” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorant et al. (US Patent Pub. 2021/0177719) in view of Galle et al. (US Patent Pub. 2023/0310291).
Lorant et al. disclose a cosmetic emulsion composition having an increased sun protection factor (ABSTRACT). Lorant et al. disclose the composition comprises an UV-screening agent, such as Tinosorb M®, which meet the limitation of the UV filter of formula (I) at a concentration of 0.1% to 45% of the composition ([0163] and [0274]). Lorant et al. disclose the composition comprises an oil including a mixture of C15-C16 branched alkanes, such as Emogreen L15, at a concentration of 0.5 to 70%, which meets the limitation of the alkanes of instant claims ([0410]). Lorant et al. disclose a composition comprising dextrin palmitate ([0461]). The weight ratio of the UV filter of formula (I) to the ester of a fatty acid and dextrin would be meet when the components are within the formulation at 1% for each component. Lorant et al. disclose the composition comprises gelling agents, which would provide a gel formulation ([0422]). Lorant et al. disclose the specific UV screening agents and the amount used determine the sun protection factor desired ([0003]).
Lorant et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the C15-C19 alkane.
Galle et al. disclose photoprotective compositions C15-C19 alkanes, i.e. Emogreen L15 and Emogreen L19 (Examples). Emogreen L19 meets the limitation of the C15-C19 of the instant claims.
The prior discloses compositions containing an ester of a fatty acid and dextrin; a mixture of branched and linear saturated C15-C19 alkanes and an UV-filter of formula (I). Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the ester of a fatty acid and dextrin to contain the properties as claimed in the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition to have the claimed SPF since the references teaches the amount of UV Filter and the kind determines the SPF of the formulation.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612