DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and reply filed March 17, 2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claim 21 is added; claims 1 – 21 are pending; claims 13 – 20 are withdrawn; claims 1 – 12 and 21 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 17, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn due to clarifying the botulinum toxin in claim 3; and deleting previously identified indefinite phrases in claims 5 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 and 21 are/remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villani (US 2010/0297095) and Dake et al. (US 2005/0196414).
Regarding claim 1, Villani teaches a method for treating skin conditions in a subject comprising applying to the skin a composition comprising Spongilla (abstract, 0035 – 0036) wherein the Spongilla particles are ground to particles having a size of 1 mm, 0.5 mm or 0.2 mm (0091 – 0094) or 200 – 500 μm, which significantly overlaps with the claimed range of “an average length of about 200 um – 350 um.”
Dake teaches a method for treating skin conditions in a subject comprising applying to the skin a composition comprising botulinum toxins (abstract, 0014).
At the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administered both ingredients for their known benefit of treating skin conditions, as disclosed by the cited references above, since each is well known in the art for their claimed purpose. This rejection is based on the well established proposition of patent law that no invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. (MPEP 2144.06 I) The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Regarding claims 2 – 4, Dake teaches the botulinum toxin may be selected from types A, B, C (interpreted to include C1 and C2), D, E, F and G, such as BOTOX™ (onabotulinumtoxinA) (0044).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Villani teaches the methods may treat acne, excessive sebum production, inflammation; stimulate cell growth, elastin, and collagen; improve skin tone, texture and hyperpigmentation (luminosity, brightness, overall skin quality) (0035, 0060, 0065, examples 2 - 9); while Dake teaches the methods may treat acne, sebaceous glands, fine lines and wrinkles (0019, 0047, 0055, 0156). These are interpreted as negative skin conditions.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the references do not teach the claimed results. However, the method steps obtained by the teachings of the combined references are the same as that claimed by applicant, e.g., applying Spongilla and botulinum toxin to the skin of a subject. In this regard, when practicing the method obtained by the combined teachings, one would also achieve the claimed results.
Regarding claims 9 – 10, Villani teaches administering Spongilla monthly (once per month) or weekly (or once per week) (0035); while Dake teaches administering botulinum toxin in a series of periodic treatments at a rate and frequency that produces desired results (0058). Since both references indicate these components as the active, they are considered result effective variables. As such, when practicing the method obtained by the combined teachings of Villani and Dake, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the application frequency to obtain the desired result as a matter of routine practice and as indicated by Dake.
Regarding claims 11 – 12, Villani teaches the Spongilla composition may include 0.1 – 100% or 1 – 1.5 grams of Spongilla; 0.001 – 50% of excipients such as 0.1 – 10% hydrogen peroxide; 5 ml of 3% hydrogen peroxide; or saline (0042 – 0045, 0096 – 0097, example 4), which overlap with the claimed amounts of “about” 2 grams or 6 mL.
Regarding claim 21, since the particles of Villani may ultimately be sieved to particles with a maximum of 0.2 mm, it would follow that any particles smaller than 0.2 mm are included in the product as they are not sieved out. In this regard, one of ordinary skill in the art would have concluded that the average diameter would be less than 0.2 mm. As such, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the diameter of the particles as a matter of routine practice and experimentation, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective composition to treat skin conditions.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 – 12 of copending Application No. 17/546 001 are withdrawn due to cancellation of the claims in the reference application.
Claims 1 – 12 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6, 8 – 12 of copending Application No. 18/954 103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to treating skin conditions by applying Spongilla and botulinum toxin to the skin of a subject. The toxins are the same type, both methods require improvements in the condition, require weekly treatment and administer the same amount of Spongilla in the same carriers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 5 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 2 of copending Application No. 17/298 918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to treating skin conditions by applying Spongilla and botulinum toxin (a protein) to the skin of a subject. Because the methods are administering the same components to the skin, they are both treating at least luminosity, brightness, skin pore size, skin pore count, sebum production, sebum composition and overall skin quality.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 5, 11 – 12 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 – 17 and 23 – 27 of copending Application No. 17/546 001 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to compositions comprising Spongilla having the same particle length and diameter and the same botulinum toxin. The compositions are for treating the same conditions and include the actives at the same amount.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach Spongilla particles with an average length of 200 – 350 μm but particles with a maximum of 0.2 mm (200 μm) thereby teaching away from the claimed range.
However, the claimed range includes an average length of 200 μm which may include particles larger and smaller than the specific length. Villani teaches grinding particles to 0.2 mm (200 um) (0093 – 0094) which is interpreted as an “average” of 200 μm as claimed. In addition, Villani specifically teaches particles having 1 mm, 0.5 mm and 0.2 mm (or 1000, 500 or 200 μm), which further overlaps with the claimed range average.
Applicant argues that the claimed particle size and characteristics are necessary for the intended use of the composition. Specifically, particles with longer spicules are more beneficial in delivering botulinum toxin, as supported by Meng. Applicant argues that since Meng teaches the average epidermal thickness is about 0.2 mm (200 μm), the particle size of Villani (not higher than 200 μm) would not penetrate the dermis, rendering the particles inoperable for their intended use.
However, rather than applicant providing objective evidence that the claimed size of Spongilla is critical to its function of delivering botulinum toxin, applicant relies on a document that merely investigates epidermal thickness. The reference fails to link epidermal thickness to penetration of any therapeutic let alone Spongilla, botulinum toxin or the combination thereof. In this regard, the reference fails to provide objective evidence that the claimed size of Spongilla particles is critical to delivering botulinum toxin. Nor does the reference render Villani inoperable as argued.
Applicant argues that Dake does not cure the deficiencies of Villani, in that it does not use Spongilla to deliver botulinum toxin; does not disclose a successfully treatment with topical botulinum toxin; and that the prior art does not deliver a commercial product.
However, these arguments fail to persuade in that the rejection is not based on a single reference, but the combination of both Villani and Dake. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (MPEP 2145 IV). In addition, Dake exemplifies successful delivery of topical delivery of botulinum toxin. Lastly, the teachings of the prior art are not dependent on whether a commercial product is available, but are valid for all of the teachings therein.
Applicant requests that the obvious double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699