DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 5 May 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection of claim 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The first portion of claim 1 is configured to receive a transducer. Figure 1C shows a first portion 121 configured to receive a transducer 127. The actuator 127 is also known to be a transducer as stated by paragraph 32. The second portion has an orifice through which the elongate element extends through as described by paragraph 36. Paragraph 36 teaches, “actuator 127 and rod 129 may be housed in housing 121 with flexible conductor 131 exiting housing 121”. Figure 1C teaches of an implanted first and second portion as by items 121 and & 150 that is in mechanical communication with the elongate element 135.
Examiner also points out that claim 1 is an apparatus claim and thus the elongate portion needing to be in mechanical communication prior to the housing is functional language and is given only limited patentable weight when examining the claim. With this in mind, Examiner does interpret the device of Van Gerwen is capable of the elongate portion needing to be in mechanical communication prior to the housing.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner points out that paragraph 27 of Van Gerwen teaches the use of different materials for a sheath to attain a desired acoustic function. Examiner holds that this language teaches a vibration isolation material as achieving a desired acoustical function would include isolating the vibration transmitted.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The language of the claim suggests that the mechanically compliant portion should be spaced along the length of the elongate portion 135. Examiner holds that the member 314 of figure 3 as described in paragraph 52 of Van Gerwen teaches of a mechanically complaint portion along the length of the elongated member.
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 22 in view of claim 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0136197 hereinafter Van Gerwen.
In regards to Claim 1: An apparatus comprising:
a first portion configured to be implanted at a first location on or within a recipient's body and configured to receive a transducer (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 127); and
a second portion configured to be implanted on or within the recipient's body and configured to be mechanically coupled to the (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 36; “As illustrated, actuator 127 and rod 129 may be housed in housing 121 with flexible conductor 131 exiting housing 121.”) and an elongate element extending through the orifice (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 37), the elongate element (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 129 & 131) configured to be in mechanical communication with a second location on or within the recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 135), the second location spaced from the first portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 107 Vs. 127), the first portion and the second portion configured to be implanted with the elongate element in mechanical communication with the second location prior to the first portion receiving (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 121 & 150) (Van Gerwen, Examiner interprets the elongate portion to have a first end being coupled to Item 544 and a second portion positioned near item 112),.
In regards to Claim 2: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first portion is configured to extend at least partially within a channel or cavity in a skull bone of the recipient, and the second portion is configured to be positioned at least partially within the channel or cavity (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 532; Paragraph 69).
In regards to Claim 3: wherein the second portion comprises a plate with the orifice extending therethrough and the elongate element comprises a rod or wire configured to contact the second location (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 121, Item 129 & 131; Paragraph 36; “As illustrated, actuator 127 and rod 129 may be housed in housing 121 with flexible conductor 131 exiting housing 121.”).
In regards to Claim 4: wherein the elongate element is configured to be affixed within the orifice after being slidably adjusted within the orifice such that an end of the elongate element contacts the second location (Van Gerwen, Paragraphs 27 &37; Examiner interprets that if conductor can be selected from different lengths, the lengths must be installed by sliding them through the orifice.).
In regards to Claim 5: wherein the first portion is configured to be affixed to a skull bone surface (Van Gerwen, Figure 1 Item 119; Paragraph 36), and the second location is in an inner or middle ear region of the recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Figure 1 Item 105; Paragraph 29).
In regards to Claim 6: wherein the second location is on a cochlea and/or within a cochleovestibular region of the recipient's body (Van Gerwen Figure 1C. Items 140 & 133).
In regards to Claim 7: wherein the second portion is configured to be separate from the first portion while the first portion is being implanted at the first location and the second portion is configured to be affixed to the first portion after the first portion has been implanted at the first location (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C.; Examiner Interprets the device shown in figure to have the ability to be installed in the orientation described).
In regards to Claim 8: wherein the second portion is attached to the first portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C Item 131) while the first portion is being implanted at the first location (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C Item 121).
In regards to Claim 9: further comprising vibration isolation material between the first portion and the second portion and/or between the first portion and the first location (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 27).
In regards to Claim 10: wherein the transducer is configured to generate mechanical vibrations that propagate through the elongate element to the second location (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 32; “Transducer”).
In regards to Claim 11: wherein the first portion has a longitudinal axis along which the first portion is configured to extend at least partially through bone tissue (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C; Paragraph 36 “into Bone”).
In regards to Claim 12: wherein the elongate element extends substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 129).
In regards to Claim 13: wherein the elongate element extends along a direction at a non-zero angle relative to the longitudinal axis (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 131).
In regards to Claim 14: An apparatus comprising:
a fixation portion configured to be implanted on or within a recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Figure 3 Item 311);
an elongate portion having a first end portion configured to be in mechanical communication with a transducer and having a second end portion configured to be in mechanical communication with a target portion of the recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Figure 1C. Item 129) (Van Gerwen, Examiner interprets the elongate portion to have a first end being coupled to Item 544 and a second portion positioned near item 112),, the elongate portion extending at least partially through the fixation portion and configured to transmit vibrational energy from the transducer to the target portion and/or from the target portion to the transducer (Van Gerwen, Figures 1 & 3 Item 311; Paragraph 52); and
at least one mechanically compliant portion between the fixation portion and the first end portion of the elongate portion, the at least one mechanically compliant portion configured to (Figure 3 Item 314).
In regards Claim 15: wherein the at least one mechanically compliant portion comprises at least one flexible material and/or at least one resilient member (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 52; “a sleeve of a material that absorbs vibrations and may be slid over flexible conductor 131 and positioned at an appropriate intermediate position along flexible conductor 131. Member 314 may have an opening through which screw 312 may be inserted.”; Examiner interprets the sleeve material as flexible due to most well-known noise dampening material are flexible.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 & 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0136197 hereinafter Van Gerwen in view of US 6,255,951 hereinafter Kuzma.
In regards to Claim 16: Van Gerwen teaches of a method comprising:
at least partially implanting an assembly on or within a recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 550, the assembly comprising a fixation portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 544; Paragraph 63), and an elongate portion extending at least partially through the fixation portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 531; Paragraph 61), the elongate portion having a first end portion and second end portion spaced from the first end portions (Van Gerwen, Examiner interprets the elongate portion to have a first end being coupled to Item 544 and a second portion positioned near item 112), said at least partially implanting comprising affixing the fixation portion to a first location of the recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 63; Figure 5 Item 544);
while the fixation portion is affixed to the first location, adjusting a position and/or orientation of the elongate portion such that the second end portion of the elongate potion is the second location spaced from the first location (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 68 Figure 5 Item 535).
However, it does not teach while the elongate portion is in operative communication with the second location of the recipient's body, operatively coupling the first end portion of elongate portion with a transducer and/or operatively coupling the first end portion of the elongate with a reservoir configured to contain at least one medicament.
Kuzma teaches while the elongate portion is in operative communication with the second location of the recipient's body, operatively coupling the first end portion of elongate portion with a transducer and/or operatively coupling the first end portion of the elongate with a reservoir configured to contain at least one medicament (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 14-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the reservoir configured to contain medication taught in Kuzma to the hearing prosthesis taught in Van Gerwen, the motivation being to inhibit tissue growth and stop the body from rejecting the implant over time.
In regards to Claim 17: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, and during mechanically coupling the elongate portion to the fixation portion (Van Gerwen Paragraph 11).
In regards to Claim 18: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, and wherein operatively coupling the first end portion of the elongate portion with a transducer first end portion of the elongate portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 529).
In regards to Claim 19: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, and wherein operatively coupling the elongate portion with a transducer and/or a reservoir comprises affixing the reservoir to the fixation portion and/or the elongate portion such that the reservoir is in fluidic communication with the elongate portion (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 23-30).
In regards to Claim 21: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, and wherein at least partially implanting the assembly comprises affixing the fixation portion to the first location, the first location is at a skull bone surface, and the second location of the recipient's body is at an inner ear region; in a middle ear region, or within a cochleovestibular region of the recipient's body (Kuzma, Figure 5 Items 544 & 535; Paragraph 36 & 37).
In regards to Claim 22: Van Gerwen teaches of an apparatus comprising:
a fixation bracket configured to be affixed at a first location on or within a recipient's body (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 52, Figure 3 Item 311); and
an elongate fluid conduit configured to be at least partially within the fixation bracket, the elongate fluid conduit (Van Gerwen, Paragraph 52, Figure 3 Item 131).
However does not teach of a first end portion configured to be in fluidic communication with a reservoir configured to contain fluid and comprising at least one medicament;
a second end portion configured to be in fluidic communication with the first end portion and with a second location on or within the recipient's body and spaced from the first location, the fixation bracket and the elongate fluid conduit configured to be implanted on or within the recipient's body prior to the reservoir being in fluidic communication with the first end portion.
Kuzma teaches a first end portion configured to be in fluidic communication with a reservoir configured to contain fluid comprising at least one medicament (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 23-30; Column 5 Lines 14-22); and
a second end portion configured to be in fluidic communication with a second location on or within the recipient's body and spaced from the first location, the fixation bracket and the elongate fluid conduit configured to be implanted on or within the recipient's body prior to the reservoir being in fluidic communication with the first end portion (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the reservoir that is in fluid communication with a second location taught in Kuzma to the hearing prosthesis taught in Van Gerwen, the motivation being to provide means to deliver medication to ensure the device is not rejected by the user.
In regards to Claim 23: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 22, and wherein the apparatus further comprises the reservoir and the fluid, (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 23-30).
In regards to Claim 24: wherein the fixation bracket is configured to at least partially contain the reservoir (Kuzma, Column 5 Lines 14-30) (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Item 544).
In regards to Claim 25: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 22, and wherein the first location is outside an inner ear region and a middle ear region of the recipient's body and the second location is within the inner and/or middle ear region (Van Gerwen, Paragraphs 36 & 37).
In regards to Claim 26: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, and after adjusting the position and/or orientation of the elongate portion, mechanically coupling the elongate portion to the fixation portion (Van Gerwen, Figure 5 Items 531 & 544; Paragraph 61; Examiner interprets the elongate portion 531 to be mechanically coupled to the fixed portion).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0136197 hereinafter Van Gerwen in view of US 2,259,951 hereinafter Kuzma in further view of US 2001/0152991 hereinafter Dadd.
In regards to Claim 20: A modified Van Gerwen teaches all of claim 16, but does not teach wherein affixing the elongate portion to the fixation portion comprises mechanically deforming one or both of the elongate portion and the fixation portion and/or applying an adhesive to one or both of the elongate portion and the fixation portion.
Dadd teaches wherein affixing the elongate portion to the fixation portion comprises mechanically deforming one or both of the elongate portion and the fixation portion and/or applying an adhesive to one or both of the elongate portion and the fixation portion (Dadd, Figure 8A Item 814; Figure 8D Item 830).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the fixing mechanism taught in Dadd to the hearing prosthesis of a modified Van Gerwen, the motivation being to provide a to ensure that the device does not gain additional tension upon growth of the user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791