DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicants RCE filed on 12/10/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the invention claimed in claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 13, see 112 2nd paragraph rejection below, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite the following:
At the instant, it is still unclear how the claimed invention works since the specification, and the drawings poorly describe and illustrate the invention. There are so many movements, switching and functions not clearly described and illustrated so one of ordinary skill in the art will understand the invention.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a very broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
As to claim 2, it is still unclear how and what is claimed by the limitation that the closing device is received in the motor vehicle at least in regions of the motor vehicle. Also, what are these regions claimed. Correction is required.
As to claims 8 and 9, the claims require certain limitations that are not clearly described and/or illustrated in order to allow one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the invention as claimed.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a very broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
As to claim 12, the claim requires that the closing device includes an electric device. At the instant, it is unclear what is claimed here since claim 1, as amended, already requires the limitation. Therefore, cancellation of the claim is required.
As to claim 13, the limitation “drive mechanism” has no antecedent of basis. Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 4,848,031 to Yamagishi et al (Yamagishi).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Yamagishi discloses a motor vehicle lock that comprises a locking mechanism (A) with a catch (14) and a pawl (16), wherein a rotary movement of the catch is locked in a locked position by the pawl.
The locking mechanism is movable between an unlocked position (fig 7), a pre-ratchet position (fig 6), and a main ratchet position (fig 5), wherein the rotary movement of the catch is locked by the pawl.
A drive device (27, 30, 35) that drives the pawl to transfer the pawl from a blocking position where the pawl holds the catch in the main ratchet position (fig 5) to a release position where the pawl is spaced from the catch for the unlocked position of the locking mechanism (fig 7).
A closing mechanism (19, 39, 42) that transfers the locking mechanism from a pre-ratchet position (fig 6) into a main ratchet position (fig 5).
An opening mechanism (C) that has a raising element (69), wherein actuation of the opening mechanism moves a movable component (door) into an open position via the raising element.
A coupling element (29) controlled by the drive device in a switchable manner so as to be mechanically connected to either the closing mechanism or the opening mechanism, and wherein the drive device switches the mechanical connection of the coupling element.
A closing device with an electric drive (26) for actuating the closing device, wherein the closing device is operatively connected to the coupling element (29) such that the closing device is operatively connected to the closing mechanism via the coupling element or is operatively connected the opening mechanism via the coupling element to actuate the opening mechanism (when 20 engages SW5).
As to claim 5, Yamagishi discloses that the door is configured to be hold by an erector (69) of the raising device.
As to claim 6, Yamagishi discloses that the erector is engageable with a “lock holder” if the motor vehicle (any surface that the end 67 of the plunger 69 engages to open the door).
As to claim 7, Yamagishi discloses that the closing mechanism (19, 39, 42) transfers the catch from the release position into the main latching position.
As to claim 8, Yamagishi discloses that the closing mechanism is directly engageable with the catch (19 with the catch 14).
As to claim 9, Yamagishi discloses that the coupling element (29) comprises a mechanical coupling with a sliding element (54, 55).
As to claim 13, Yamagishi discloses that the drive device includes a gear (27) that is configured to move the pawl from the blocking position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 4,848,031 to Yamagishi et al (Yamagishi) in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20180106081 to Bendel.
Yamagishi discloses a housing (12, 24), wherein the locking mechanism, the drive device, the closing mechanism, and the coupling element are located.
Yamagishi fails to disclose that the housing also includes the opening mechanism. Yamagishi discloses that the opening mechanism comprises his own housing (60).
Bendel teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an opening mechanism (9) integrated with a locking mechanism (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the opening mechanism described by Yamagishi, integrated with the locking mechanism, as taught by Bendel, in order to concentrate all elements together as a unit, and leave space for accommodating any other desired device in the door.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 4,848,031 to Yamagishi et al (Yamagishi) in view of US Pat No 5,732,988 to Mizuki.
Yamagishi fails to disclose that the closing device (26) is connected to the coupling element (29) by a Bowden cable. Yamagishi discloses a mechanical coupling using gears (27).
Mizuki teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a connection with the closing device using a Bowden cable (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connection of the closing device described by Yamagishi, as a Bowden cable, as taught by Mizuki, in order to provide a simpler connection and flexible connection between the elements.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the drawing objection and the 112 2nd paragraph rejections, the arguments are not persuasive.
Here is the invention:
First, where can you see the 3 positions of the locking mechanism 10 and then the drive device 15 moving the pawl as claimed?
Second, where can you see the closing mechanism 17 transferring the locking mechanism 10 from the claimed positions.
Third, where can you see what actuates the opening mechanism to operate the raising device 11.
Fourth, where can you see the coupling element switching to mechanically connecting to either the closing or opening mechanism as claimed.
Finally, where can you see the electrical drive now claimed.
As explained during the course of the examination, no one with ordinary skill in the art, by looking at the drawings, can expect to understand the invention as claimed.
Therefore, the drawing objection and the 112 2nd paragraph rejection is maintained.
As to the prior art rejection, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
At the instant, is the examiners position that Yamagishi discloses the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
January 21, 2026