DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 are under examination.
Response to Applicants Amendments
Applicants have significantly amended the claims. As a result of the claim amendments, the former rejection is withdrawn and a new rejection is put forward. Although AURKA expression was originally the type of expression chosen in the species election, the examiner has decided to rejoin DOCK2 with AURKA as a species of gene expression based on the recent claim amendment and additional searching completed by examiner. The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn because of the recent claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai (US 20200392454) in view of Riordan (US 20180214489)
Chai teaches producing mesenchymal stem cells with therapeutic purposes (Abstract). Chai teaches that therapeutic mesenchymal stem cells can be generated by culturing mesenchymal stem cells in induction/selective medium (Abstract). Chai teaches that mesenchymal stem cells cultured in a specific medium, Medium D, have an excellent therapeutic value because they promote: tissue development (proliferation), cell signaling, and localization (Paragraph 44 of Chai). Such a culture medium induces the cells to express genes (such as DOCK2) that are related to tissue development (proliferation), cell signaling, and/or localization (Claim 8) as in instant Claims 1 and 3.
Chai does not teach an additional purification step in which the cells are further purified/sorted using their expression markers. Riordan teaches that mesenchymal stem cells can be selected based on the expression or lack of expression of various markers (Paragraph 14 of Riordan). Paragraph 15 of Riordan states that, “in one embodiment, the invention teaches the selection of MSC, a desired population can be purified/selected for based on markers found in specific donors which naturally possess higher levels of markers associated with activity, or selecting for cells which have higher expression of MSC markers associated with activity.”
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have further purified the mesenchymal stem cells. An artisan would have been motivated to have purified therapeutic cells based on gene/protein expression because it can isolate a desired population of cells which have the ability to inhibit unwanted clinical progression, stabilize disease activity, or reverse disease activity (Paragraph 15 of Riordan). Since DOCK2 is expressed in the desired cell population, it would have been obvious to have used it to select for cells as taught in Riordan as in instant Claim 1.
Dependent Claims taught by Chai
Chai teaches that the mesenchymal stem cells can be from umbilical cord (Paragraph 3) as in instant Claim 2.
Chai teaches a preferred therapeutic population of mesenchymal stem cells that have increased expression for DOCK2. DOCK2 is a recognized marker in this desired population. Chai does not state specifically that the cells can be purified by choosing them based on the expression level or activity level of DOCK2 being higher when compared to a control group of mesenchymal stem cells having low self-maintenance ability. However, an artisan would have been motivated to have used a recognized marker to purify a desired cell population because Riordan teaches that such a method can better isolated a desired therapeutic cell population (Paragraphs 14-15 of Riordan). Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007)). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in molecular biology and placental implant preparation. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638