DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence filed on 06/07/23. Claims 1-7 are still pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-7 recite various additional elements to Claim 1, which are phrased in a manner that renders it indefinite as to whether or not they should be treated as further limitations or as a “shortcut” independent claim directed to a different statutory class, so to speak.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Examiner notes that if these dependent claims are treated as further limitations of Claim 1, then they would be reasonably understood as directing the claims to two separate statutory classes of invention.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 5 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because if these claims are treated as independent claims, then they would be reasonably understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to at least encompass purely software embodiments; thus, are directed to software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alakuijala et al. (2019/0251444).
Claim 1: Alakuijala et al. discloses a method for optimizing a network architecture of an artificial neural network comprising:
determining resource needs of the network architecture of the artificial neural network as a function of a target hardware(descriptive data of neural networks, evaluating the connections and/or edges) [page 2, paragraphs 0024-0025 & 0027 & 0031];
pruning the network architecture for obtaining a pruned network architecture, resource needs of the pruned network architecture being smaller than the resource needs of the network architecture [page 3, paragraphs 0037-0038]; and
adding at least one connection to the pruned network architecture to obtain an expanded network architecture(adding/supplementing neural network with additional edges) [page 3, paragraph 0039 | figure 3].
Claim 2: Alakuijala et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: training the network architecture as a function of training data after the determining the resource needs of the network architecture(retrain) [page 6, paragraph 0091].
Claim 4: Alakuijala et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: pruning the expanded network architecture in order to obtain an optimized network architecture(reduce resource requirements with minimal degradation) [page 2, paragraph 0023].
Claim 5: Alakuijala et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a computer program is configured to carry out the method [page 8, paragraph 0113].
Claim 6: Alakuijala et al. discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the computer program is stored on a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium [page 8, paragraph 0113].
Claim 7: Alakuijala et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a device is configured to carry out the method [page 8, paragraph 0113].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yan et al. (2022/0172059).
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435