DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/05/2025 for response of the office actions mailed on 08/05/2025. Independent claims 16, 29-30 and 35 are amended. Claims 17-18, 31 and 33 are cancelled. Claims 1-15 were previously cancelled. Therefore, claims 16, 19-30, 32 and 34-35 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim 16, 19-25, 29-30, 32 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (2021/0315049), Wei hereinafter, in view of Shi et al. (2023/0038013), Shi hereinafter.
Re. claims 16 and 29, Wei teaches a processor (Fig. 18, 1808) for wireless communication (Fig. 6/Fig. 8-9), Comprising: at least one controller (Fig. 18, 1808) coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 18, 1802) and configured to cause the processor (Fig. 18, 1808) to, and a User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 6/Fig. 8-9, UE/Fig. 18) for wireless communication (Fig. 6/Fig. 8-9), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 18, 1802); and at least one processor (Fig. 18, 1808) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (Fig. 18 & ¶0296 -¶0303) to: receive a configuration comprising a plurality of logical channel (LCH) mapping restrictions for one or more LCHs (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0060 - In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS…..the BS may indicate to the UE to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state by including a specific configuration in the RRC release message … The specific configuration may be a suspend configuration (or “SuspendConfig,”) that contains the information needed by the UE to maintain its AS context during the RRC_INACTIVE state. The configuration for small data transmission (or “SD_Config,”) may contain the information needed by the UE to perform (small) data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0063 - SD_Config may include one or more of the indicators (e.g., the first to tenth indicators)/configurations described in the following sections (A) to (L). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - the SD_Config may contain a first indicator that indicates one or more UL BWPs on which small data transmission is allowed to be performed via a set of CG resources configured by a CG. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE ) procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0124 - An LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the BS. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.); apply a first set of LCH mapping restrictions of the plurality of LCH mapping restrictions, wherein the first set of LCH mapping restrictions is for uplink (UL) transmissions when the UE is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state; (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0124 - An LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure;); receive an RRC Release message containing a suspend configuration comprising a second set of LCH mapping restrictions for the one or more LCHs, the RRC Release message indicating a set of LCHs that are configured for small-data transmission (SDT); (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0060 - In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS…..the BS may indicate to the UE to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state by including a specific configuration in the RRC release message … The specific configuration may be a suspend configuration (or “SuspendConfig,”) that contains the information needed by the UE to maintain its AS context during the RRC_INACTIVE state. The configuration for small data transmission (or “SD_Config,”) may contain the information needed by the UE to perform (small) data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0062 - Based on whether the configuration for small data transmission (SD_Config) is included in the suspend configuration (SuspendConfig), the UE may determine to which RRC state it should transition and perform the data transmission. For example, the UE may enter the RRC_INACTIVE state and perform data transmission via a CG or an RA procedure while operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the UE determines that the SD_Config is included in the SuspendConfig. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - CG resource may be configured on multiple UL BWPs. In order to balance the system load balancing among the UL BWP(s), it may be beneficial to allow the BS (e.g., gNB) to restrict a UE to perform an UL data transmission (e.g., small data transmission) via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state on a specific UL BWP(s). The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or the RRC_IDLE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.), apply a third set of LCH mapping restrictions for the UL transmissions when the UE is in an RRC inactive state(Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config), wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a subset of the first set of LCH mapping restrictions and the second set of LCH mapping restrictions; (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE ). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0124 - An LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.);
Yet, Wei does not expressly teach multiplex data on an UL resource from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT while the UE is in the RRC inactive state.
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses multiplex data on an UL resource from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT while the UE is in the RRC inactive state. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0016 - when the at least one logical channel includes multiple logical channels, some logical channels in the multiple logical channels support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, and the remaining logical channels do not support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, determining a second total data amount of the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels; and when the second total data amount is not greater than a second threshold, multiplexing, by the user equipment, the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels, and initiating, by the user equipment, the data transmission in the RRC inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0071 - The UE receives a network configuration message, and the configuration message can configure whether different DRBs support small data transmission; the UE decides whether to initiate small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state according to parameter configuration of different DRBs; when there is data to be transmitted for a certain logical channel of the UE in the RRC Inactive state, the UE determines whether the DRB supports small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state, that is, whether an indication parameter is configured. If the logical channel supports small data transmission, the UE initiates small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0115 - When a total size of data of logical channel # 3 and logical channel # 4 does not exceed a maximum size of small data indicated by the cell, the UE multiplexes the data 3 and logical channel # 4 for transmission in the RRC Inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0127 - the device further includes: a determination module 84, configured to determine a second total data amount of the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels when the at least one logical channel includes multiple logical channels, some logical channels in the multiple logical channels support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, and the remaining logical channels do not support data transmission in the RRC inactive state; and the transmission module 72 is further configured to multiplex the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels and initiate the data transmission in the RRC inactive state when the second total data amount is not greater than a second threshold. Also, see claim 10 & ¶0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a system and a method for PRACH resource determination And RA-RNTI computation in a wireless communication system to include Shi’s invention of a method and device for transmitting and receiving data in an inactive state in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in uplink data transmission in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Inactive state, in order to support different services corresponding to different Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configurations as different DRBs are corelated to transmitting various service types with different QoS (Quality of services) requirements in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0003, Shi)
Re. Claim 19, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform, while in the RRC inactive state, a small-data transmission (SDT) using an UL resource of a configured grant (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE) procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.), an UL resource assigned during a random access procedure, or an UL resource of a dynamic UL grant.
Re. Claim 20, Wei and Shi teach claim 19.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a configured grant configuration for SDT, wherein the second set of LCH mapping restrictions indicates a set of configured LCHs that are allowed to map data onto UL resources of the configured grant while the UE is in the RRC inactive state (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - In order to balance the system load balancing among the UL BWP(s), it may be beneficial to allow the BS (e.g., gNB) to restrict a UE to perform an UL data transmission (e.g., small data transmission) via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state …. on a specific UL BWP(s). The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s). For example, the SD_Config may contain a first indicator that indicates one or more UL BWPs on which small data transmission is allowed to be performed via a set of CG resources configured by a CG… Upon receiving the SD_Config, the UE may know that the small data transmission via a CG can be performed on the UL BWP(s) indicated by the first indicator contained in the SD_Config when operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state ...Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.).
Re. Claim 21, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Wei further teaches wherein to receive the configuration, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive the first set of LCH mapping restrictions for an LCH (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure); and receive the second set of LCH mapping restrictions for the LCH (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.).
Re. Claim 22, Wei and Shi teach claim 21.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive an RRC release message containing a suspend configuration; move from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to the RRC release message (Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - In action 602, the UE 620 operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. In action 604, the UE 620 receives an RRC release message from the BS 640 while operating in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The RRC release message may include an RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config, see ¶0060/¶0062) that provides information needed by the UE to perform small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Once the RRC layer of the UE 620 successfully receives the RRC release message, in action 606, the RRC layer may provide corresponding configuration(s) to the lower layer(s) (e.g., the PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP and/or SDAP layer(s)), and instruct the lower layer(s) to perform a reconfiguration process by applying the RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config). After that, the UE 620 leaves the RRC_CONNECTED state and enters the RRC_INACTIVE state in action 608.); and release the first set of LCH mapping restriction in response to the move from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state (Fig. 6 & ¶0118/¶0121 - The SD_Config in the RRC release message may include at least one of the following indicators/configurations … a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap may be associated with a radio bearer configured in the RRC_CONNECTED state….. and set to ‘0’ to indicate that the radio bearer corresponding to this bit should not be applied for small data transmission via a CG. Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - in action 606, the RRC layer may provide corresponding configuration(s) to the lower layer(s) (e.g., the PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP and/or SDAP layer(s)), and instruct the lower layer(s) to perform a reconfiguration process by applying the RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config). After that, the UE 620 leaves the RRC_CONNECTED state and enters the RRC_INACTIVE state in action 608).
Re. Claim 23, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive an RRC release message containing a suspend configuration; move from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to the RRC release message (Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - In action 602, the UE 620 operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. In action 604, the UE 620 receives an RRC release message from the BS 640 while operating in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The RRC release message may include an RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config, see ¶0060/¶0062) that provides information needed by the UE to perform small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Once the RRC layer of the UE 620 successfully receives the RRC release message, in action 606, the RRC layer may provide corresponding configuration(s) to the lower layer(s) (e.g., the PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP and/or SDAP layer(s)), and instruct the lower layer(s) to perform a reconfiguration process by applying the RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config). After that, the UE 620 leaves the RRC_CONNECTED state and enters the RRC_INACTIVE state in action 608); and disable the first set of LCH mapping restriction in response to the move from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state (Fig. 6 & ¶0118/¶0121 - The SD_Config in the RRC release message may include at least one of the following indicators/configurations … a bitmap, where each bit of the bitmap may be associated with a radio bearer configured in the RRC_CONNECTED state….. and set to ‘0’ to indicate that the radio bearer corresponding to this bit should not be applied for small data transmission via a CG. Fig. 6 & ¶0117 - in action 606, the RRC layer may provide corresponding configuration(s) to the lower layer(s) (e.g., the PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP and/or SDAP layer(s)), and instruct the lower layer(s) to perform a reconfiguration process by applying the RRC configuration (e.g., SD_Config). After that, the UE 620 leaves the RRC_CONNECTED state and enters the RRC_INACTIVE state in action 608).
Re. Claim 24, Wei and Shi teach claim 23.
Wei further teaches wherein the first set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a predetermined set of mapping restrictions. (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. See table 1, for example, “TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 1 LogicalChannelConfig field descriptions allowedSCS-List If present, UL MAC SDUs from this logical channel can only be mapped to the indicated numerology. Otherwise, UL MAC SDUs from this logical channel can be mapped to any configured numerology. Only the values 15/30/60 kHz (for FR1) and 60/120 kHz (for FR2) are applicable. Corresponds to ‘allowedSCS-List’ as specified in TS 38.321.”).
Re. Claim 25, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Wei further teaches wherein the configuration comprises an indication for each LCH mapping restriction indicating whether the LCH mapping restriction configured for an LCH for the RRC connected state is to be applied for the RRC inactive state, and wherein the configuration further comprises an indication for each LCH mapping restriction indicating whether the LCH mapping restriction configured for an UL transmission in the RRC connected state is to be applied in the RRC inactive state.( Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE ) procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters …included in the SD_Config).
Re. claim 30 and 35, Wei teaches a method (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0060/¶0063-¶0064/¶0108/¶0124-¶0125) performed by a base station (Fig. 6/Fig.8, BS/Fig. 18), and a base station (Fig. 6/Fig.8, BS/Fig. 18) for wireless communication (Fig. 6/Fig. 8-9), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 18, 1802); and at least one processor (Fig. 18, 1808) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to a User Equipment (UE), a first set of logical channel (LCH) mapping restrictions for one or more first LCHs, wherein the first set of LCH mapping restriction is applicable for a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0060 - In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS…Fig. 5-14 & ¶0063 - SD_Config may include one or more of the indicators (e.g., the first to tenth indicators)/configurations described in the following sections (A) to (L). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - the SD_Config may contain a first indicator that indicates one or more UL BWPs on which small data transmission is allowed to be performed via a set of CG resources configured by a CG. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0124 - An LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state); transmit, to the UE, an RRC Release message containing a suspend configuration comprising a second set of LCH mapping restrictions for one or more second LCHs and indicating a set of LCHs that are configured for small-data transmission (SDT), wherein the second set of LCH mapping restriction is applicable for an RRC inactive state (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0060 - In action 504, the UE may receive an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS…..the BS may indicate to the UE to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state by including a specific configuration in the RRC release message … The specific configuration may be a suspend configuration (or “SuspendConfig,”) that contains the information needed by the UE to maintain its AS context during the RRC_INACTIVE state. The configuration for small data transmission (or “SD_Config,”) may contain the information needed by the UE to perform (small) data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0062 - Based on whether the configuration for small data transmission (SD_Config) is included in the suspend configuration (SuspendConfig), the UE may determine to which RRC state it should transition and perform the data transmission. For example, the UE may enter the RRC_INACTIVE state and perform data transmission via a CG or an RA procedure while operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the UE determines that the SD_Config is included in the SuspendConfig. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - CG resource may be configured on multiple UL BWPs. In order to balance the system load balancing among the UL BWP(s), it may be beneficial to allow the BS (e.g., gNB) to restrict a UE to perform an UL data transmission (e.g., small data transmission) via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state on a specific UL BWP(s). The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or the RRC_IDLE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.), wherein the second set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a subset of the first set of LCH mapping restrictions and at least one additional LCH mapping restriction (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE ). Fig. 5-14 & ¶0124 - An LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - An LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.);
Yet, Wei does not expressly teach receive, from the UE, while the UE is in the RRC inactive state, the SDT including data from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT.
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses receive, from the UE, while the UE is in the RRC inactive state, the SDT including data from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0016 - when the at least one logical channel includes multiple logical channels, some logical channels in the multiple logical channels support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, and the remaining logical channels do not support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, determining a second total data amount of the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels; and when the second total data amount is not greater than a second threshold, multiplexing, by the user equipment, the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels, and initiating, by the user equipment, the data transmission in the RRC inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0071 - The UE receives a network configuration message, and the configuration message can configure whether different DRBs support small data transmission; the UE decides whether to initiate small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state according to parameter configuration of different DRBs; when there is data to be transmitted for a certain logical channel of the UE in the RRC Inactive state, the UE determines whether the DRB supports small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state, that is, whether an indication parameter is configured. If the logical channel supports small data transmission, the UE initiates small data transmission in the RRC Inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0115 - When a total size of data of logical channel # 3 and logical channel # 4 does not exceed a maximum size of small data indicated by the cell, the UE multiplexes the data 3 and logical channel # 4 for transmission in the RRC Inactive state. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0127 - the device further includes: a determination module 84, configured to determine a second total data amount of the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels when the at least one logical channel includes multiple logical channels, some logical channels in the multiple logical channels support data transmission in the RRC inactive state, and the remaining logical channels do not support data transmission in the RRC inactive state; and the transmission module 72 is further configured to multiplex the data to be transmitted in the multiple logical channels and initiate the data transmission in the RRC inactive state when the second total data amount is not greater than a second threshold. Also, see claim 10 & ¶0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a system and a method for PRACH resource determination And RA-RNTI computation in a wireless communication system to include Shi’s invention of a method and device for transmitting and receiving data in an inactive state in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in uplink data transmission in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Inactive state, in order to support different services corresponding to different Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configurations as different DRBs are corelated to transmitting various service types with different QoS (Quality of services) requirements in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0003, Shi)
Re. Claim 32, Wei and Shi teach claim 30.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive the SDT using an UL resource of a configured grant (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0108 - The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE) procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Also, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), an UL resource assigned during a random access procedure, or an UL resource of a dynamic UL grant.
Re. Claim 34, Wei and Shi teach claim 30.
Wei further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit a configured grant configuration for SDT, wherein the second set of LCH mapping restrictions indicates a set of configured LCHs that are allowed to map data onto UL resources of the configured grant while the UE is in the RRC inactive state. (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0064 - In order to balance the system load balancing among the UL BWP(s), it may be beneficial to allow the BS (e.g., gNB) to restrict a UE to perform an UL data transmission (e.g., small data transmission) via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state …. on a specific UL BWP(s). The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s). For example, the SD_Config may contain a first indicator that indicates one or more UL BWPs on which small data transmission is allowed to be performed via a set of CG resources configured by a CG… Upon receiving the SD_Config, the UE may know that the small data transmission via a CG can be performed on the UL BWP(s) indicated by the first indicator contained in the SD_Config when operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state ...Fig. 5-14 & ¶0109: ¶0111 - The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. Fig. 5-14 & ¶0125 - The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config.).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi, further in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 V16.2.1 (2020-09), 3GPP_38321 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 26, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Wei further teaches wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions prioritizes a first LCH configured for the SDT over a second LCH not configured for the SDT (Fig. 5-14 & ¶0081 - The SD_Config may include a second indicator that indicates a list of priorities of multiple BWPs. With the second indicator, the UE may determine the priority order of multiple BWPs. The multiple BWPs may be (or may not be) the UL BWPs configured for small transmission via a CG as described in section (a). For example, if the UE is configured with three BWPs (e.g., BWP.sub.1, BWP.sub.2 and BWP.sub.3) for small data transmission via a CG, the BS may provide a list of priorities of these three BWPs to the UE, allowing the UE to determine the priority order of these three BWPs. According to the priority order, the BWP with the highest priority may be prioritized to be selected for performing small data transmission via a CG.).
Yet, Wei does not expressly teach wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions prioritizes data of data radio bearers over Medium Access Control (MAC) control elements (MAC-CEs),
However, in the analogous art, 3GPP_38321 explicitly discloses wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions prioritizes data of data radio bearers over Medium Access Control (MAC) control elements (MAC-CEs), (§5.4.1 - For the MAC entity configured with lch-basedPrioritization, priority of an uplink grant is determined by the highest priority among priorities of the logical channels with data available that are multiplexed or can be multiplexed in the MAC PDU, according to the mapping restrictions as described in clause 5.4.3.1.2. The priority of an uplink grant for which no data for logical channels is multiplexed or can be multiplexed in the MAC PDU is lower than either the priority of an uplink grant for which data for any logical channels is multiplexed or can be multiplexed in the MAC PDU or the priority of the logical channel triggering an SR.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a system and a method for PRACH resource determination And RA-RNTI computation in a wireless communication system and Shi’s invention of a method and device for transmitting and receiving data in an inactive state in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include 3GPP_38321’s invention of uplink-shared channel data transfer in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in prioritizing between uplink data and scheduling request in the wireless communication system. (§5.4.3, 3GPP_38321)
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi, further in view of Loehr et al. (2018/0309660, appears to be the same inventor, but published more than a year before the EFD of the instant application), Loehr hereinafter.
Re. Claim 27, Wei and Shi teach claim 16.
Yet, Wei does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: stop an update of a token bucket related parameter associated with an LCH upon moving to the RRC inactive state; and initialize a token bucket related parameter to zero upon moving to the RRC inactive state.
However, in the analogous art, Loehr explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 3, 305) is configured to cause the UE to: stop an update of a token bucket related parameter associated with an LCH upon moving to the RRC inactive state; and initialize a token bucket related parameter to zero upon moving to the RRC inactive state (Fig. 1-7 & ¶0094 - the logical channels 530, 535, and 550 may be associated with token buckets, used to control uplink transmissions. Here, the MAC entities 540-545 maintain a variable Bj for each logical channel j, Bj representing the status of the token bucket for that logical channel, e.g., the amount of tokens accumulated for that logical channel. In various embodiments, the token bucket status Bj is initialized to zero when the related logical channel is established, and incremented by the product PBR×TTI duration for each TTI, where PBR is Prioritized Bit Rate of logical channel j. In certain embodiments, the UE 205 initializes Bj for a previously “inactive” logical channel j to zero when duplication is activated (e.g., sets the number of tokens in the bucket of logical channel j to zero). In certain embodiments, the value of Bj may be initialized to zero for an “inactive” logical channel when duplication is deactivated. In various embodiments, the UE 205 does not maintain the token bucket status of a “inactive” logical channel j when duplication is deactivated, e.g., the UE 205 stops incrementing the token bucket status Bj. Also, see ¶0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Wei’s invention of a system and a method for PRACH resource determination And RA-RNTI computation in a wireless communication system and Shi’s invention of a method and device for transmitting and receiving data in an inactive state in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include Loehr’s invention of efficient scheme for Packet Duplication in 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in activating and deactivating PDCP (Packet Data Convergence Protocol) duplication for both CA (carrier aggregation) and DC (Dual Connectivity) based architectures in the in 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0036, Loeh)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 28 – wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive downlink control information ("DCI") while in the RRC inactive state, and wherein the DCI indicates whether an LCH not configured for small-data transmission (SDT) is allowed to map data onto an UL resource while the UE is in the RRC inactive state.
Response to Arguments
Earlier claim objections for claims 16,18, 20 and 29, have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 12/05/2025.
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 12-14 for independent claim 16, applicant argues that Wei fails to teach, “receive an RRC Release message containing a suspend configuration comprising a second set of LCH mapping restrictions for the one or more LCHs, the RRC Release message indicating a set of LCHs that are configured for small-data transmission (SDT).”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Wei discloses that UE may receive in step 504 of Fig.5, an RRC release message including an RRC indicator and a configuration for small data transmission from the BS………the BS may indicate to the UE to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state by including a specific configuration in the RRC release message … The specific configuration may be a suspend configuration (or “SuspendConfig,”) that contains the information needed by the UE to maintain its AS context during the RRC_INACTIVE state. The configuration for small data transmission (or “SD_Config,”) may contain the information needed by the UE to perform (small) data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state…based on whether the configuration for small data transmission (SD_Config) is included in the suspend configuration (SuspendConfig), the UE may determine to which RRC state it should transition and perform the data transmission. For example, the UE may enter the RRC_INACTIVE state and perform data transmission via a CG or an RA procedure while operating in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the UE determines that the SD_Config is included in the SuspendConfig. See ¶0060/¶0062 along with Fig.5-14.
Wei further discloses that CG < Configured Grant > resource may be configured on multiple UL BWPs. In order to balance the system load balancing among the UL BWP(s), it may be beneficial to allow the BS (e.g., gNB) to restrict a UE to perform an UL data transmission (e.g., small data transmission) via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state on a specific UL BWP(s). The BS may indicate to the UE that a small data transmission via a CG (in the RRC_INACTIVE state and/or the RRC_IDLE state) can only be performed on a specific UL BWP(s)…… The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure…. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config. See ¶0064/¶0108/¶0125 along with Fig.5-14, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at 12-14 of remarks as submitted on 12/05/2025.
Applicant further asserts that Wei fails to teach, “apply a third set of LCH mapping restrictions for the UL transmissions when the UE is in an RRC inactive state”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Wei discloses that the LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A procedure for preparing/generating a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG, the MAC entity of the UE may only select the LCH that is configured with the smalldata allowance to join the M&A and LCP procedure. The SD_Config may include a set of configurations providing information needed by the UE to perform a MAC procedure/process for completing small data transmission via a CG. The MAC procedure/process may include at least one of the following: an LCP procedure; an UL shared channel data transfer procedure. See ¶0108-¶0111 along with Fig. 5-14. Wei further discloses that the MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG < Configured Grant > in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config., See ¶0125 along with Fig. 5-14, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at 12-14 of remarks as submitted on 12/05/2025.
Applicant further asserts that Wei fails to teach, “wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a subset of the first set of LCH mapping restrictions and the second set of LCH mapping restrictions”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Wei discloses that the SD_Config may include a configuration of an LCP restriction (e.g., smalldata allowance) for at least one LCH configured for the RRC_CONNECTED state. The LCP restriction may be configured by the BS per an LCH basis via the SD_Config. For example, when the UE operates in the RRC_INACTIVE state and is performing an M&A (Multiplexing and Assembly MAC Medium Access Control MAC CE). See ¶0108 along with Fig. 5-14. Wei further discloses that an LCH may be configured by different LCH configurations for different RRC states. For example, an LCH may be configured by a first LCH configuration for the RRC_CONNECTED state and configured by a second LCH configuration for the RRC_INACITVE state. The MAC entity may release at least a portion of the first LCH configuration and apply the second LCH configuration when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state…. an LCH may be associated with a first radio bearer indicated by the B S. The first radio bearer may be applied by the UE for performing small data transmission via a CG. Before receiving an RRC release message including the SD_Config, the MAC entity of the UE may apply a first set of LCP-related parameters (e.g., priority, prioritisedBitRate and/or bucketSizeDuration) and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters (e.g., allowedSCS-List, allowedServingCell, allowedCG-List, allowedPHY-Prioritylndex and/or maxPUSCH-Duration) when the UE operates in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The allowedCG-List may be used to set the allowed CG(s) for transmission for the configured LCH. The allowedPHY-PriorityIndex may be used to set the allowed PHY priority index(es) of a CG for transmission. The MAC entity of the UE may apply a second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters when performing small data transmission via a CG in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The second set of LCP-related parameters and/or LCP-restriction-related parameters may, but not limited to, be included in the SD_Config. See ¶0124-¶0125 along with Fig. 5-14, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at 12-14 of remarks as submitted on 12/05/2025.
The applicant further contends that Wei fails to teach, “multiplex data on an UL resource from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT while the UE is in the RRC inactive state”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Shi et al. (2023/0038013[Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference) discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 29-30 and 35.
Regarding arguments in pages 14-15 for dependent claim 26, 3GPP_38321 disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claim and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by 3GPP_38321 as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that 3GPP_38321’s reference does not disclose anything pertaining to the limitation “wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a subset of the first set of LCH mapping restrictions and the second set of LCH mapping restrictions”, which is taught by Wei as disclosed supra. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the dependent claim 26 is unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi, further in view of 3GPP_38321. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding arguments in pages 14-15 for dependent claim 27, Loehr disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claim and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by Loehr as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that Loehr’s reference does not disclose anything pertaining to the limitation “wherein the third set of LCH mapping restrictions comprises a subset of the first set of LCH mapping restrictions and the second set of LCH mapping restrictions” or “multiplex data on an UL resource from the set of LCHs configured for the SDT while the UE is in the RRC inactive state”, which are taught by Wei and Shi (2023/0038013[Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference) respectivley as disclosed supra. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the dependent claim 27 is unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi, further in view of Loehr. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 16 and 29 are unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi et al. (2023/0038013[Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 30 and 35 are unpatentable over Wei, in view of Shi et al. (2023/0038013[Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 16 and 30, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babae et al. (2021/0259040); See ¶0328-¶0072 along with Fig. 38-55.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467