DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foerster WO 2020/094760, citations are made to English language equivalent US 2021/0396167.
Regarding claim 1 and 20-21, Foerster teaches a:
“[w]all-flow filter for removing particles from the exhaust gas of internal combustion engines, which comprises a wall-flow filter of length L and at least one catalytically active coating Y and/or Z, wherein the wall-flow filter comprises channels E and A, which extend in parallel between a first and a second end of the wall-flow filter and are separated by porous walls, which form surfaces OE and OA, respectively, and wherein the channels E are closed at the second end and the channels A are closed at the first end, the coating Y is located in the channels E on the walls of the surfaces OE, wherein the coating on the walls of the surface OE extends from the first end of the wall-flow filter to a length of less than the length L, the coating Z is located in the channels A on the walls of the surfaces OA, wherein the coating on the walls of the surface OA extends from the second end of the wall-flow filter to a length of less than the length L” (Claim 1).
The coating Z may include palladium or rhodium (Paragraph [0021]) and a cerium/zirconium oxide mixture (Paragraph [0024]).
The coating Y of Foerster corresponds to the coating F of the instant claims (Fig. 2). The layer Y of Forester may consist of highly porous aluminum oxide, which is a coherent layer of a ceramic membrane without a noble metal (Examples 1-4).
Foerster does not expressly state the thickness of coating Y. However, the concentration of the aluminum oxide on the substrate may be, for example, 10 g/L (Example 4). This concentration is within the range of concentrations of for coating F described in the instant specification, which states that the concentration may be 5 to 130 g/L (Instant Specification, Paragraph [0039]). Thus, the layer formed in Forester would inherently have a thickness within the range of 1 to 150 microns because the layer has the same mass content and is made of materials substantially similar to the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the coating Z may extend 90 to 50 % of the length L (Paragraph [0026]) from the second end (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, the coating Z may extend up to 100% of the length L (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, coating Z may include a combination of palladium and rhodium (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, coating Z may include a combination of palladium or rhodium without platinum (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 6-9, Foerster teaches:
“the coatings X and Y along with Z (if present) comprise lanthanum-stabilized aluminum oxide, rhodium, palladium or palladium and rhodium, and an oxygen storage component comprising zirconium oxide, cerium oxide, yttrium oxide and lanthanum oxide. In other embodiments of the present invention, the coatings X and Y along with Z (if present) comprise lanthanum-stabilized aluminum oxide, rhodium, palladium or palladium and rhodium, and an oxygen storage component comprising zirconium oxide, cerium oxide, praseodymium oxide and lanthanum oxide.” (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 10 and 11, layer Y, which corresponds to layer F in the instant invention may be made of aluminum oxide (Examples).
Regarding claim 12, Foerster teaches in Example 3 that the concentration of Z is 100 g/L and the concentration of Y, which relates to instantly claimed F is 10 g/L, which equates to a ratio of 10 (Example 3).
Regarding claim 13, Foerster does not expressly state the ratio of substrate thickness to layer thickness of Y. However, the concentration of the aluminum oxide on the substrate may be, for example, 10 g/L (Example 4). This concentration is within the range of concentrations of for coating F described in the instant specification, which states that the concentration may be 5 to 130 g/L (Instant Specification, Paragraph [0039]). Thus, the layer formed in Forester would inherently have a ratio of substrate thickness to layer thickness of Y within the range recited in instant claim 13. Also, the proportions shown in the Figure 2 of Foerster are within the claimed ratio (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Foerster teaches that the filter may also have a coating X, which would correspond to the claimed coating Y (Figure 6). Coating X is placed on channel OE (Figure 6) and may be different from layer Z and Y. Coating X may include platinum (Paragraph [0021]) and may include a carrier other than cerium/zirconium mixed oxide (Paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, coating X, which corresponds to instantly claimed coating Y, may extend between 50% and 100% of length L (Figure 6).
Regarding claim 16, Foerster teaches the coating Z and Y, which corresponds to the instantly claimed coating F, may extend up to 100% of the length L (Paragraph [0019]). Coating Z may include lanthanum-stabilized aluminum oxide, rhodium, palladium or palladium and rhodium, and an oxygen storage component comprising zirconium oxide, cerium oxide, yttrium oxide and lanthanum oxide (Paragraph [0026]).
Foerster does not expressly state the thickness of coating Y. However, the concentration of the aluminum oxide on the substrate may be, for example, 10 g/L (Example 4). This concentration is within the range of concentrations of for coating F described in the instant specification, which states that the concentration may be 5 to 130 g/L (Instant Specification, Paragraph [0039]). Thus, the layer formed in Forester would inherently have a thickness within the range of 1 to 150 microns because the layer has the same mass content and is made of materials substantially similar to the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, Foerster teaches the length of Y in channel e may be 50 to 100 % (Fig. 6).
Forester does not expressly state the pore volume ratios recited in claim 19. However, “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2112.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Foerster reference requires that the layer Y, which corresponds to instantly claimed layer F requires a precious metal, which falls outside the scope of the claim. In response, the precious metals are the catalytically active metals and the Foerster expressly states that the article includes “at least one catalytically active coating Y and/or Z” (Claim 1 and Paragraph [0014]). Thus, the scope of the Foerster clearly in includes embodiments wherein the Z is active and Y is not catalytically active. If Y is catalytically active is cannot contain precious metals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES A FIORITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731